0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

MXR M234 Analog Chorus Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 35 customer reviews
Questions about the MXR M234 Analog Chorus Pedal?

Questions about the MXR M234 Analog Chorus Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from June 18, 2017

    Fantastic!

    I didn't realize what I was missing out on until I hooked this pedal up. Such an amazing analog chorus. Perfect for... anything. From subtle accents to full blown army of guitars. Sounds is clean, controls are great. Highly recommend. I will never NOT have this in my loop now.

  • from April 13, 2017

    MXR Analog Chorus

    Awesome...love this pedal!!!

  • from January 26, 2017

    MXR M234 Analog Chorus

    At the present time I have not used this chorus in a band situation, so you may want to take this review under advisement. Nonetheless, before I bought an mxr, I mainly used a Boss CH-1 Super Chorus but I believe Boss made a CE-2 Chorus back in the day if I'm not mistaken and it was the old boss chorus sound that I was looking for. I tried the MXR M234 Analog Chorus because I had always been curious about the MRX sound in general. I remember seeing other guitarists use their pedals back in the mid to early 1970's. In any case, I know now that the present MXR Brand is now owned/and or made by a different company. Having said all that, I really like the sound of this chorus pedal. It reminds me of the chorus sound in New Wave music circa 1978-1981 or somewhere around that time. I mainly play a vintage style strat Fender '62 Reissue and a VVT Lindy Fralin II Amp (not to be confused with the VVT Lindy Fralin Amp currently made by Jim Hiill) so the chorus may sound quite different in your set up, but I do like and the price for this pedal is fairly reasonable so if you have the money and this is the sound you're looking for you may want to check into this pedal.

  • from December 13, 2016

    Better than TC!

    If it were just a box I'd be happy. Heavy metal, solid knobs and awesome sound.

  • from Seattle, WA November 15, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Tweaker's delight!

    This is such a versatile chorus pedal! It has the usual knobs for level, rate, depth, but also a low and high cut to fine tune how bright or warm the end tone is. If you want to keep your Fendery shimmer, you got it. If you want it dark, muddy and swirly, you got that too.

    This product is more than capable of 4-star "close enough" chorus tones for classic CE-2, CE-5, and Small Clone sounds. It plays equally well with clean or distorted tones. I added an extra half star for the price.

    The one downside is true of any unusually tweakable pedal: it's super easy to tweak yourself into no man's land. Sometimes you get something out of that journey, and sometimes it can be maddening.

  • from November 12, 2016

    Pretty good pedal

    This chorus pedal really brings any clean tone to life. What's great about this particular chorus pedal is there are low and high eqs. It sound especially great when you turn the highs up because it gives you a really nice shimmering tone. It still doesn't beat the classic boss ce 2 chorus circuit but it's still a great pedal. The only reason it's 4 stars instead of 5 is because the blue light is extremely blinding. But it's a solid pedal to say the least.

  • from Ct October 10, 2016Music Background:
    30+ years

    Excellent

    Like all MXR boxes: high quality sound and well built .
    Lots of tweaking available on this one .
    Well worth the money.

  • from Mexico August 23, 2016Music Background:
    Record producer

    Best chorus ever

    As a guitarist, I've tried virtually every chorus in the market. This pedal sounds excellent, from organic to crispy clean. Thanks to Ted my sales engineer, MXR rocks!

  • from May 10, 2016

    Bland

    Rather bland sounding chorus. Pedal is well made and low noise, just don't expect anything exceptional in terms of tone

  • from April 27, 2016Music Background:
    Pro player of 40 years

    MXR M234

    This is an awesome pedal, does everything it says it will do!

  • from April 23, 2016

    Perfect Light Chorus

    Exactly the sound I was looking for. Delivered in a timely manner and followed up with exemplary customer service.

  • from Jackson April 9, 2016Music Background:
    Musician/ Sound engineer

    Best Chorus

    I researched, listened too, and have tried other expensive chorus pedals. Mxr did it right with this guy. I use an Oknob with the rate and with a very deep depth setting to go from shimmer to Leslie. The bass, treble, and mix controls really rock this thing.

    It is an always on pedal for me and is the least expensive pedal on my board.

    P.S The build quality is bomb proof. I don't think it can be broken.

  • from The Colony Texas March 18, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Studio Musician

    MRX M234

    Exactly what I was looking for.

  • from AZ February 28, 2016

    Nice

    I use a lot of pedal FX: chorus, delay, flanger. reverb, compression, OD, distortion, whah

    Got to have a chorus pedal in the mix, I would say the effect is subtle, like a reverb, you know it there, but it's not overly noticeable, (unless you turn it all the up).

  • from Fargo ND January 1, 2016Music Background:
    Composer/ home recording DIY'er

    Awesome Chorus, awesome price, amazing company

    This is a fantastic effect, it is incredibly versatile, works great with distortion and sounds great with an acoustic guitar, just beautiful! And for the price you just can't afford to not add this to your collection!

  • from NW Indiana November 11, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, writer, producer

    MXR Analog Chorus

    For the money this chorus is OK. Chorus for me is an effect that is sparingly used and this does the job.

  • from Anderson, IN November 4, 2015

    Great Chorus

    I bought this as my first chorus pedal several years ago. It caught my eye due to the price, and the fact that I'd had good experiences with MXR pedals in the past. I plugged in and was instantly blown away. The versatility, lushness, and just good tone are absolutely stunning. You'd be hard pressed to find a better chorus pedal in this price range.

  • from El Paso October 29, 2015

    Should be called Amazing Chorus

    It really should be. Easily, the best chorus I've tried. Best one in its price range. The buffer bypass is pretty good too, helps you maintain a good tone. Its Super versatile. Super well built. Trust the reviews. There is a very good reason as to why there isn't a bad one. Would've gladly paid more for this and been just as happy. Does classic vintage chorus to modern chorus to flanger like and whacky sounds. Buy it. You definitely will like it.

  • from June 1, 2015

    Lovin' it!

    Fantastic pedal, versatile, silky smooth, transparent. Does not add tone (if you don't want it to), just puts that beautiful watery effect on top of what you're doing. Highly recommended!

  • from Oviedo FL April 24, 2015

    Awesome Sound

    The MXR analog chorus pedal is a very high quality effect pedal. It doesn't have that artificial digitally processed sound like many others. It sounds very smooth. The service provided by Ed Nystrom at Sweetwater is unparalleled. He made certian that when I opened the package that I had everything that I needed to plug and play. I am a Sweetwater customer for life! I have purchased two guitars and two MXR effects now. Oh, and their financing makes your gear acquisition syndrome dreams come true.

  • from April 14, 2015

    Simple and Effective

    Bought this pedal mostly because it is on Eddie Van Halens' and Slashs' Guitar rigs, and it is a MXR pedal.
    Everything from watery, bright cleans to warm gushy or nice and tight on distortion and overdrives tones. This little blue guy is gonna get the job done...right.It is also bufferd which a good thing(my opinion).Easy to use.Need I say more?

  • from United States March 6, 2015Music Background:
    Student/Hobbyist/Church Praise Band/R&R, R&B

    Pedal Board MUST

    Still building up my pedal board and I consider Chorus a gotta-have item. I let Mike B. talk me up to this pedal from a simpler, less-expensive model and I'm really glad he did. The flexibility/range of this unit is all I will ever need. Clean, compact, simple to use, this is a keeper!

  • from Lynn, Ma. March 2, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician

    MXR 234

    Great sound, great price, great service! Adds a nice rolling chorus to my sound that I like, lots of features to tweek if needed.

  • from Palos Hills, IL February 13, 2015

    Lushes

    Great chorus. Very warm and transparent. Doe not affect my tone at all. Run 2 distortions with it and sounds great.
    Luke Herian, as always you are awesome!

  • from Cincinnati, Ohio January 8, 2015Music Background:
    Producer/writer

    Dreamy

    This pedal is quickly becoming a huge part of my sound, I almost always have it on when playing clean. Being analog, it does have a tendency of getting extra crazy on certain rates, especially high rates. The top two knobs are essential, and act as an EQ. This allows the pedal to go that extra mile with the effect while compensating for the tonal fluctuations. I play a Strat through a modified Fender Hot Rod Deluxe and every time I click the silver button on the M234 it feels like I'm sending my signal through a dream. I usually like the depth and level cranked around 75%+ and the rate around 28%-38%. The eq depends on your guitar and amp tone/eq. The one downfall is the blue power light. It is so bright I had to cover it up in order to read the knob labels. Still, sound takes priority and this is a purchase I don't regret a bit. Sweetwater had it shipped quickly, the longest I've ever waited on a package from them was a week, during the holidays. Usually it's 2-3 days. I'm satisfied!

  • from Ringgold, Georgia October 5, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur

    Excellent Chorus

    This is the chorus I was looking for . Has so much more depth than other brands I have tried. As always, Thanks Phil for all your help. I don"t buy from anyone else!

  • from Monterey, CA June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    MXR M234 Analog Chorus Pedal

    This is the best chorus pedal I've ever used. It does everything from a very subtle wavy touch to full blown warble. I use it in my effects loop and feel it handles distortion well. Can't beat Sweetwater's customer service. Shout out to my sales rep, Ray Leach! If you want the best customer service, ask for Ray.

  • from Leesburg, VA February 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very nice Chorus

    I purchased this pedal to replace a digital multi chorus that died. I'm a hobbyist player in a jam band that covers a lot of different music so my goal for my pedalboard was to help me get "close enough" for a wide range of music. That is why initially chose the digital chorus that had several types of sounds available. However, when that pedal died, I decided to weight toward a more robust pedal and my other MXR products have been bullet proof. Therefore my choice became this or the Zakk Wylde chorus which is actually identical except for the paint job. I decided to go for the non-signature product as I don't really attempt to sound like anyone else, and ZW would be among the last I would try to emulate if I did. Anyway, this is a very, very nice chorus. It sounds great both clean and with O/D or Distortion. Very easy to dial in lush, liquidy cleans or really thicken up you distorted lead tone. I'm very happy with the pedal and expect it to be as long lived as my other MXR stuff. If I have a complaint, its that the blue LED is massively bright, but you can tape over it if its distracting.

  • from October 25, 2013Music Background:
    Semi pro guitarist in a cover band

    Very good sounding pedal

    This is probably one of the best chorus pedals on the market. Very versatile and very good, warm, analog sound. Sounds awesome with my MXR Carbon Copy analog delay.

  • from Burbank, CA July 10, 2013Music Background:
    LA studio musician / producer

    Good pedal!

    I'm liking this pedal.
    It's built to live on the floor and be abused, no fuss analog controls, great sound. It's able to take the signal level from an effects loop, which is important to me, it'll get a lush, spacey sound for ethereal clean passages and a tight chorus for funk rhythm; the wild slow sweep with the depth cranked (if you're into that) AND the rate goes high enough to get a rotary speaker effect.

  • from October 28, 2012Music Background:
    Home Studio Enthusiast, Pedalboard Designer/Builder

    Great Sounding Chorus!

    I've been looking for a chorus pedal to add to a new pedalboard I'm building for myself for quite some time. I build boards for other local musicians and have been able to try out many different chorus pedals over the years. I'm definitely partial to the analog chorus sound. I've tested several vintage pedals (Boss CS-2, Ibanez CS9) and even tried the newer Boss CE-5 (not a fan) along with a Small Stone and Nano Stone from Electro-Harmonix. If price were not an issue, I would shell out for a minty vintage Boss CS-2 ($170-$200) which I have on another board of mine. But I wanted to see what was out there and gave this one a try. In the end, it came down to either the MXR Analog Chorus or the EH Small Stone. The MXR ended up winning out - I could match the same tone of the Small Stone plus dial in many other flavors. And it takes up less space on the board and is built like a tank. This is an excellent pedal for the price and IMO really stands up to my favorite, the Boss CE-2. Anyone looking for a great sounding analog chorus that can pretty much do it all can't go wrong with the MXR!

  • from New Haven area, Connecticut. August 11, 2012Music Background:
    self taught on guitar, vocal, songwriting, recording

    Nice Analog Chorus Effects...

    I recently bought the MXR Chorus Pedal M-234. So far I use my chorus pedal on occasion. I have a Roland JC-120 stereo guitar amplifier. The perfect amp for this chorus pedal, you might say. But currently I have equipment scattered about. I'm working on downsizing my pedal board. I still find my best description of the "chorus" effect to be of a Carousel-like effect or "similar to the sound of music coming through several speakers rotating at slightly different speeds". An example of a typical and pleasant chorus effect would likely be with the rate and depth knobs set between 2:00 and 3:00. Run one cable out of the "mono" jack on the pedal to one amplifier. Run the other cable out of the "thru" jack to a second amplifier. Or using a stereo amplifier run one cable out from the "mono" output on the pedal to the Left stereo channel of the amplifier, and run the second cable from the "thru" output of the pedal and into the Right stereo channel. Stereo hookup is not necessary for hearing the effect but only a stereo hookup will animate and create a sense of movement within the effect. It's a real pretty effect. I use it with one cord out from the MONO jack. All Analog. Bucket Brigade Technology. Same size as a Dyna-Comp or Dist+. There's a lot of pluses there. That's why I bought it. Unless you want an over-the-edge-digital that will do chorus to the 5th power,.. this in a real comfortable, nice looking, pretty sounding pedal with a small footprint. I recently bought
    a American Deluxe Strat. 'n ask my sales rep. to tack this on too.

  • from Los Angeles July 6, 2012Music Background:
    Bassist/Composer/Engineer/

    MxR Analog Chorus

    Very responsive low and high levels i actually use this for Bass and Responds better than my Bass chorus!

  • from Los Angeles, CA August 10, 2011Music Background:
    Producer

    Classic sound with lots of tweakability!

    Bought this primarily to use with old analog synths, but also with my DSI Tetra, to warm up some of the pads and strings with some Juno-60 style chorus. The sound is great and with so much control you can dial in pretty much any chorus effect you want from mild to extreme. My only gripe - and this goes for all MXR pedals - is that it is too easy to overload the pedal if you come out of a synth. I have to really turn the level down to almost silent to avoid clipping the pedal, whereas with other brands like BOSS and Moogerfoogers they just work.

  • from jefferson city missouri August 4, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    mxr-234 analog chorus

    I have owned different chorus pedal,but this one sounds better and haves alot of options for adjustments.that the other simply dont have.Good job mxr.

Questions about the MXR M234 Analog Chorus Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway