0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

IK Multimedia AmpliTube 3 Software Suite (boxed) Reviews

4.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
  • Dale Bowles
    from United States September 5, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist and Songwriter since 1986

    Must hear to appreciate@

    I've been using this along with most of the add-ons for awhile and i can't count how many times i have been in disbelief over how good these models sound. If you set everything up right you will be impressed.

  • Scott Oliver
    from Vacaville, CA USA May 7, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician 40 + years

    "I like the tone I'm hearing in AMPLITUDE 3!"

    I give Amplitube3 five stars because of the 'tone' that comes out of my monitors and my MacBook Pro 10.6.8. I record through Ableton Live. Outside of a little time needed to properly register and activate the product, I have no disappointments thus far, but only amazement at how accurate this software is throughout the 51 stomp boxes, 31 Amps, and 46 Cabinets. Thus far I find no CPU issues to be concerned about. I began in the early 70's with the original hand wired Marshall Amps and Fender Reverbs. "I like the tone I'm hearing in this software!" I can't put it any simpler: with tone in mind, this software is what I've been waiting for. For those who are still wondering if the technology is really here that can, (sorry to say for the music stores), replace lots of stomp boxes and tube amps, I believe Amplitube3 is the new era and what's going to take over. I think it’s a short matter of time before investing in software like Amplitube3 with a strong computer and an elaborate 'active' PA system is going to be the most economic and convenient way to create and venue in a class act.

  • Ed
    from MD, USA March 1, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Spot on!!

    I own several hardware and software modelers at this point, and I have to say this one is so real it's scary! When I check a new one, I always go to the Vox AC30 emulation first. I own an original 1964 AC30/6 with the factory Top Boost mod, and it is the most unique amp I ever played through. No modeler, by anyone, ever got the real chime and glassy-ness of the original..... until now. The Hi-Gain and vintage amps are spot on. I've played through almost all of the amps they have modeled, and the tone (and more critically) the response is outstanding! I am giving this product the highest recommendation I have ever given to any software.

  • leon s.robinson II
    from kapolei hi November 16, 2011Music Background:
    touring , recording military musician

    a true convert

    as a bassist with almost 40 years experience, i'm not the kind that you can convince easily about so- called advances in guitar technology due to the fact that 99.9% of is not geared to bass players. especially modeling, for the most part was a real turn- off. but..... after i tried my friend's copy of this soft ware,i went and bought almost every kind they had. ( this was before i found out about the stealth pedal) my bass sounded better than i ever could remember, and i recently bought the pedal, the difference was night and day!!! the guys in the band went crazy after they heard the sounds my bass was getting !!!! the TE, GK, and the ampeg and fender also the acoustic and jazz chorus are simply remarkable. you can't tell the difference from the real ones. and the stomp boxes are truly incredible. most of them are true re-creations of the ones i used over 30 years ago. the best part of all is.....(drum roll, please) total portability, and NO repair bills!!!! you cant go wrong with this package, try it yourselves, and see ans HEAR the difference!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Ron
    from Tampa, FL March 26, 2010Music Background:
    Life long hobbiest

    Absolutely Great

    I own Line-6 Pod Farm and that sounds really good but not great. This sim sounds absolutely great!! I have been playing for decades and played a lot of different equipment and no amp sim compares to this sound and especially the feel. The Line6 gear doesn't really have a feel but Amplitube feels just like an amp that's easily set to kill. Absolutely sweet.

  • Customer
    from March 23, 2010Music Background:
    20 year guitarist

    Best tone out there

    If you want amp simulation that sounds like the real amp, you’d be crazy not to buy this. I own amp simulators from Boss and Line 6. While they sound good, they sound like an imitation of what you hear on a recording. Amp 3 literally sounds like I’m sitting right in front of the actual amps! SO much bigger, fuller, and more present. With 51 stomp-boxes and 17 racks Amp 3 has got all the effects. You can use them in any combination, in any order, and move them back and forth with ease - Unlike my other simulators.

    The only slight “ding” is the software uses a lot of CPU power. The good news is: going from the “Hi” mode to the power saving “Eco” mode cuts the power usage by about 2/3. And listening with a pair of $160 headphones, I can’t hear the difference! So, I tweak my amp settings in Eco mode, then switch to Hi and freeze the track. A small inconvenience for such great tone.

    Bottom line: Amplitube 3 and Amplitube Fender should be at the top of every guitarist’s list for plug-in amp simulators. (Yes, it’s worth owning both). I’m going to spread the word. I really wish I knew about Amplitube before I bought those other amp simulations.

  • Ven E Mus
    from Ft. Lauderdale, FL March 18, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Producer

    Sweet Plug-in

    Amazing replication.... modeling almost perfect. My new go - to plug for authentic amp modeling.

  • Dan Johnson
    from Denver, CO December 27, 2011Music Background:
    Professional singer/guitarist for assisted living spots

    Super Duper!

    I am quite impressed with the program. However, if I might offer a suggestion for an upgrade: one of the finest combo amps ever produced is the Magnatone 212. I have owned mine for 45 years. It gives the Lonnie Mack sound and its tremolo is like no other amp. Old school it is. I used to run it with my old Fender Pro.
    Keep up the good work.
    Dan

  • Grateful Floyd
    from May 7, 2011

    Oh yes it is worth it....

    I'm playing around with just the free version at the moment and it is awesome!!! I didn't realize how far this app had come since version one. Simply sweet and amazing how in depth and customizable it has become. The modeling sounds so much better and the custom shop, where you can add more vintage amps, cabs, mics, pedals, racks, etc, is just mind blowing! It's stand alone too so you could use it in a live gig. It sounds incredible for an amp simulator. I've heard nothing else that comes close to it. Thumbs up all the way!

  • Sci-Fi Lou
    from NY October 12, 2012Music Background:
    Songwriter/Producer

    Killer Patches and Presets

    As a keyboard player using VST instruments like Electric6ty virtual guitar patched through Amplitude 3 just makes for a great sound especially when you need those realistic hot rythm guitar riffs that just lacked something without Amplitude 3. Boy am I a happy songwriter now. Love the plugin those guys did their homework. Very easy to build a rich realistic guitar sound that will have your music amped up! Highly recommend Amplitude 3. High quality reliable plugin. What more can you ask for? Jimmy Page perhaps :)

  • johnny black
    from rome ga January 16, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist and guitar student

    great

    im really getting into the custom shop i like the jcm slash amp and tryed out the hiamp that is a hiwatt model and some fender amps and soldano amps a few orange anps still learning more about it going to get amplitube explained video thanks alan miller for all your great help sincerly johnny black

  • Lance Lindley
    from Ebina, Japan January 5, 2012Music Background:
    Overzealous Hobbyist

    I'm not really a fan of it

    Other than the Ampex SVX for bass -- which rules -- I'm not a fan of AmpliTube 3. I much prefer NI's Guitar Rig 5, and I say that as someone who is pretty angry with NI from a customer service standpoint. I just find AmpliTube's amps to be noisier and "thinner" than the Guitar Rig versions. It's hard to explain, they just feel "slapped on top of" my guitar sound, like a thin veneer, rather than the way Guitar Rig's sims feel like part of the real sound.

    I'm also put off by AmpliTube's "Custom Shop" interface for adding new amps, boxes, etc. It seems like a cool concept, you go into a little virtual music store from right there within your AmpliTube interface to shop for new gear. But I find it less user friendly than just going to a website, and AmpliTube's pricing system (which uses "tokens" to buy gear rather than money) is confusing to me, and strikes me as one of those suspicious ways that companies seek to make more money off you than you actually meant to spend. I.e., I have to go buy a batch of "tokens", the price of which can fluctuate, I suppose, and then I go to spend those tokens on gear. If I have some left over, of course I'm likely to go buy more so the extras won't go to waste, again and again until I end up spending exactly what I had. Meh. I don't like that. Just price the darn gear in dollars, let me buy it via my web browser instead of having a separate login via the interface, and quit making things complicated and confusing. Even when I get emails about amps, collections or whole brands going on sale, I log into the custom shop and can't understand what is and isn't on sale or a bargain, because everything is priced in "tokens." Is ten tokens a good deal for a Fender amp? I don't know... how much is one token? Finding that answer isn't as easy as you would think. You get the point.

    Your mileage may vary, and I see that other reviewers here love AmpliTube, but that's one of the reasons I wanted to make sure potential buyers also heard a different opinion. For me, Guitar Rig is far superior (especially with the Rammfire add pack for harder edge sounds). I haven't tried Waves GTR, but since you can demo that for free, I'd give that a shot, too. (And you can download a free version of AmpliTube 3 that will let you mess with some basic amps, too, so do that before you decide to buy!)

  • Mark Grey
    from North Haven, CT July 1, 2013

    Not recommended for high gain

    I got Amplitube 3 primarily to track rhythm guitar with. I was really sold on some of the samples I had heard on Youtube.

    I don't think the presets are particularly well suited for high-gain music. It might be a matter of my tastes, but most of the models seem to fizz up as the gain is dialed higher.

    I also feel the pay-for DLC model for the "amp store" is a little unacceptable. It doesn't make much sense to have to pay additional money just to get models that suit for your genre.

    There are some awesome built-in presets, but they are largely the kind of bizzare, one-off sounds that you could use creatively once and then nowhere else at risk of a gimmick. The patches are not very good for general use.

  • Customer
    from March 29, 2010

    not worth it

    cool at frist but it still doesnt capture a true amp sound.i was very dissapointed. not worth 300 dollars better of getting a real guitar amp

Questions about the IK Multimedia AmpliTube 3 Software Suite (boxed)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway