0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Audio Ease Altiverb 7 Plug-in Reviews

5.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Audio Ease Altiverb 7 Plug-in?

Questions about the Audio Ease Altiverb 7 Plug-in?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Charleston, SC July 29, 2016Music Background:
    Producer/musician

    Everything it's advertised to be!

    If you're looking for a reverb that can impart a lot of vibe, this is the one. With the "positioner" function, altiverb has become a big part of my workflow. Like eq, volume, and pan, this has the ability to ensure each instrument has it's own "place."Get it.

  • from Louisiana September 1, 2015Music Background:
    Film Production

    Post Production Reverb

    The Audio Ease Altiverb 7 is the best reverb that I have ever used by far. I do sound mix for film and the realism of this unit is amazing!

    The small room reverbs were always impossible to create with other units (in my opinion), Altiverb 7 nails this.

    I have not yet gotten around to using the IR to create my own reverbs because the presets (and ability to tweak them to taste) are fantastic.

    I'm sure that for music this reverb would be phenomenal because the larger verbs are so lush and convincing, but like I said, it's the small reverbs that won me over.

  • from Northern Country July 17, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Songwriter, Producer, Engineer

    Very very good!

    This plug-in is incredible. All the detail of my dry recorded tracks are preserved and the spaces you can achieve are inspiring. When playing mixes back through various sound systems, Altiverb really allowed those rooms and spaces to be heard in amazing realism without any harshness or phasing. Highly recommended.

  • from Kenora, On February 3, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Mixer, Post Audio, Bass Player

    Excellent

    This is one of the most important tools I have. It is always quick and efficient to get exactly the ambiance that you require without delving through thousands of tiny parameters and flipping through a million presets. The stock impulses are excellently organized and very fast to navigate. Excellent sounding impulses and a very nice variety to choose from.

  • from NYC,NY March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Mixing Engineer

    ALTIVERB ITB MUST HAVE

    I was using Altiverb 6 at a previous studio I was doing work out of in NY. I am also a Waves Horizon Owner. Most professional mixing Engineers will tell you they have a starting lineup of plug-ins that they must have, well Altiverb 7 is one of them starters. I can not dispute how real to the hardware pieces they actually sound, nor do I have the time to compare. But, I will say if you are a professional level or an entry level engineer and this doesn't make your starting line up your in the wrong business very user friendly, extensive amount of very useful features. THIS IS A MUST HAVE.

  • from Delaware, USA September 21, 2012Music Background:
    Composer TV/FILM

    Easy To Use Convoverb

    This is a fantastic convolution reverb. It is very easy to use, and when you're in a frenetic work environment, you can't beat the speed at which the plug does it's job. Especially noteworthy is that there is no pause between patch changes. Instant a/b of convos to compare. More extensive plug in controls via the 'drawers' that pull out under the corresponding sections. Photos of spaces make it clear where you're putting the source material. New convos added on a regular basis.

    K, now go buy it.

  • from Corona, CA June 25, 2012Music Background:
    Composer

    Altiverb &

    Makes all my sounds blend together more cohesively. Adds life and character to any patch. Doesn't sound artificial, like so many reverbs. Makes your patches sound authentic. Spacial positioning for patches is an added bonus. You can bring your audio patch or vocal to the front for presence or move it back for a more ethereal effect.

  • from Oklahoma City May 1, 2012Music Background:
    Who Cares

    The Absolute Best Reverb Plugin

    I've tried Reverb Processors (i.e. PCM 92, TC Electronic, etc.) they are way to time consuming to work with and frankly they sound less than desirable in fact given the high price of those items the presets are pretty bad. I've also tried every reverb plugin known to man. None of which is satisfying for my vocal tracks mainly. Then I got altiverb 7 and the amount of impulse responses, presets, etc., is astonishing absolutely no limit to what you can do and its quite simple to work. The best part all you have to do is add the plugin to your track(s). No complicated junk like the reverb processors that cost so much more. Now Altiverb is not perfect but it is the best.

  • from St. Louis, MO January 31, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Musician

    A Verb for EVERYTHING

    I have owned Altiverb since ver5, and have always enjoyed it for it's lush variety of classic and interesting spaces. However, primarily doing music production seemed I shy'd aware from it over the years and used it primarily for specialty verbs. With the latest update from ver6 to ver7 I have become a believer once again. First, the program used to be a bit of a resource hog, but now it is barely a blip on my radar. The controls are much more intuitive and the response just sound cleaner and more polished. I was hesitant to update, but I am really glad I need. Oh, and if you do post or voiceover work, then really is NO other option for a clean verb.

  • from January 30, 2015Music Background:
    Producer, Recording Artist, Field Recordist

    Excellent Reverb - but not without issues

    I purchased Altiverb 7 for Windows 7 (64) specifically for creating my own binaural impulse response (IR) reverbs, and am certainly thrilled to have a new powerhouse convolution reverb in my arsenal. Convolution reverb captures the “impulse response” of real spaces and has a realism and complexity missing from other algorithm-based reverbs. A leader in this field, Altiverb has also taken steps to address the only major criticism of convolution reverb -- the static nature of convolution reverb -- by adding an optional algorithm-based reverb "sheen" on top of the IR-based reverbs.

    In my use so far, the results with Altiverb have been excellent, rewarding and fulfilling. But there are a couple quirks with the software that I hope Audio Ease will resolve.

    1. The first issue is a nuisance and a bit of a time waster. When demo-ing different IRs,(reverbs), it's always helpful to start-and-stop playback within the DAW to hear the tail of a reverb fade and then quickly switch to different IRs and do the same. But Altiverb’s IR browser (which is required to change reverbs) does not "stay on top" when starting-and-stopping the DAW (I am using Nuendo). Each time I want to stop playback, I need to first make the Nuendo program window active (either by clicking on the Nuendo transport or by clicking anywhere in Nuendo to be able to use the spacebar), but then the Altiverb browser vanishes requiring me to click on the Altiverb plug-in window again to make it active which brings back the IR browser so I can then select a different IR. Very irritating. I have seen this issue fixed with other brand plug-ins before, and hope Audio Ease will deal with this bug very soon.

    2. This is a really weird issue and it took me a while to find a work around. When you have created your own IR WAV file, you can ONLY drag-and-drop the file onto the plug-in. Believe it or not, there is no way to "browse" to the file’s location on your computer (that is sooooooo strange!!!). Drag-and-drop appears to work wonderfully in the video tutorial using a Mac, but on Windows, Altiverb vanishes as soon as any other window outside of the DAW is active. So when you open Windows Explorer to locate the IR WAV file you have created, and that window is then active, Altiverb vanishes and there is nowhere visible to drop the file. It took me a while to solve this problem, and I am now getting better at dragging the WAV file half-way from Explorer, then selecting "alt+tab" to activate Nuendo (which brings Altiverb back) while still right-clicking the file “mid-drag,” and then finally dropping the file onto the plug-in. Is that crazy or what?

    As I said, the reverb in Altiverb is top notch. Yes, it seems a costly plug-in for a reverb as we have all become accustomed to the availability of pretty good yet inexpensive reverbs. And yes, Altiverb is not the only kid on the convolution block. But Altiverb exudes quality justifiable of the cost. And for those with specific needs such as needing unique spaces for post, or a passion for rare space, or in my case, binaural space, Altiverb may be the best (and in some cases, the only) choice.

    The founder of the program seems obsessed with the sound of space and with gathering ever more IRs from around the world. I respect that, and I believe this obsession shows in the quality of Altiverb’s reverbs. I certainly have no regrets.

    Unfortunately, there has been no answer from Audio Ease to my post-purchase email about the issues described above, which is disturbing -- when a company only replies to emails before purchasing, it may create the impression that you're not a priority once they have your money. I personally don't think this is the case, and suspect rather that this is a small shop and the owner is busy collecting more IRs (which may also explain the remaining niggles).

  • from Concord, CA July 11, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, engineer, recording artist

    Love the Altiverb 7!

    really nice deal for the money especially since there are so many reverb image impulses available for it online. Does my real Emt plate sound better?........yeah but this is quicker and easier to use and it has way more variety.

  • from Johnson City, TN May 29, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Producer, Educator, Engineer.

    Lots of options

    Very good sounding reverb with lots of options. I would not say that these convolutions sound "precisely" like the real thing (for example, the Fender amp spring reverb certainly sounds very close, but it does not respond exactly like the real thing). You will find all of the verbs to be quite useful and I find myself gravitating toward certain rooms or gear that work well.

Questions about the Audio Ease Altiverb 7 Plug-in?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway