0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Lexicon Alpha Reviews

4.0 stars based on 39 customer reviews
Questions about the Lexicon Alpha?

Questions about the Lexicon Alpha?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Carlos
    from Raleigh, NC May 20, 2016

    Does a great job!

    Budget friendly and works perfectly with Amplitube on my PC with fantastic results both as a stand alone or plugin! Cubase 5 also works great along with the Pantheon reverb plugin! Great product and highly recommended.

  • Craig Lawrence Taylor
    from Delaware May 4, 2016Music Background:
    Solo recording artist/multi-instrumentalist/sound engineer

    Low Budget? Very Smart Purchase.

    Clear audio. Loud headphone output. Tough. Reliable. And Lexicon has an incredible support team out there in Utah.

  • Tim
    from Naperville, IL September 23, 2015

    So easy

    Paired up with a set of Behringer 50USB monitors, setting up everything took about 5 minutes. Once everything was plugged in, I hooked up the USB cable to the Alpha and I was rockin'. No driver issues, no fuss. Just sweet tunes. I couldn't be more pleased with the Alpha. It works exactly how I want it to with zero issues or troubleshooting. My sales engineer, Rob Kramer, was extremely helpful in finding the right interface with the monitors we had picked out. Great purchasing experience!

  • Chuck M
    from Maine April 3, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Audio Technologist and Musician

    Regarding Review: "This unit is NOT full duplex! (2x2)"

    What was said in that review is NOT true. I use this for precision, dual FFT measurements with it. This REQUIRES what could be called "full duplex (2x2)" operation. One channel outputs the test signal which is patched directly back into its corresponding input. The other output channel sends the signal to the device under test and its signal (or that of a microphone if measuring a loudspeaker) is returned to the other input. During a measurement the software sends out a frequency sweep to both outputs while simultaneously recording both signals from the inputs during the frequency sweep. In other words it is playing back while simultaneously recording.

    If it's crashing doing that then it is a driver or software problem. It is NOT the Alpha hardware. For what it's worth it uses the asio4all driver for my software that supports asio; otherwise it uses the Windows WDM audio drivers.

    I also use the Alpha for playing music and test signals from my laptop for testing loudspeakers and for music and FX playback in live musical theater productions. It has worked flawlessly and transparently for these and several other uses since I bought it several years ago. My only "beef" is that its analog level controls cannot provide repeatable calibrated measurement levels. However, it is very rare I have needed this capability. When I do, I do a one-time level calibration for that use.

  • Carl
    from Miami, FL May 22, 2014Music Background:
    Retired Pro Musician

    Lexicon Alpha

    I've used a variety of recording software and equipment, and this one is the best. It is user-friendly, versatile, high quality, professional and priced right. I use a MXL V250 and an ART tube preamp with upgraded tube from Sweetwater. This is an ideal combination for my home studio. I've had the Alpha for a few weeks now, and it is taking my craft to the next level. Paired up with the Cubase LE and Pantheon, this combination really hits it out of the park. Definitely go this route, and you will not be disappointed.

  • Vince Mangone
    from January 28, 2014

    Great Interface

    Works as advertised. Rock solid too.
    I had experimented with this on an old single core laptop with only 1 gig of ram - and I must say, it performed great. On a single track in Cubase 5 using Amplitube, Guitar Rig & JamVox, I experienced no percievable latency. Sound quality was excellent as well.
    I can't wait to hook it up to my 3 core HP this weekend. I have no doubt it will do well. Set up was quick and easy. Drivers loaded fast, and I was recording test tracks within 10 minutes. Great Job. Customer service was great too.

  • Charlie Busch
    from Kernville/Bakersfield, CA September 27, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer, Radio broadcaster.

    Great Company!

    Nobody could offer better service than Sweetwater. I have made a few purchases lately and the personal attention I received was second to none. Austin was right on it every step of the way. Sweetwater will the first source I look to for my future purchases. They have earned my loyalty.

  • PSL
    from August 25, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Lexicon Quality, Price, Versatility

    For the price, to have Balanced TRS outputs alone is worth it. The sound quality has been great since Day 1 and it has worked effortlessly with Windows 8 and OSX. The build quality is also good with the metal frame on the bottom.

  • Jeremiah Saint
    from Death Valley, CA June 28, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Endineer, Musician

    Works great

    Works GREAT I have used it on 10 albums

  • Alex Dickson
    from Lawton, OK USA September 17, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist working to pro

    Perfect for my needs!

    I've had this for almost a year now. It is wonderful, simple, and easy to use. I really only use it to get the sound to my speakers, but it REALLY does the job for the price. I'm pretty much a simple bedroom producer using FL Studio, a Midi Controller, Headphones, and a set of monitors. I haven't really tried recording through it because I don't have a mic at the moment, but I soon plan to do so. :)

  • C. Watkins
    from Nashville, TN July 26, 2011Music Background:
    Former performer, currently songwriter and hobbyist homerec'er

    Excellent value

    First, I want to state that I purchased my Alpha just a couple of weeks ago to replace a (multi-owner) Omega that was slowly dying. I decided that I wanted to separate my MIDI from my audio, so I went with the Alpha, especially for the price.

    The first thing I noticed was that the pre-amp in the Alpha seems much better than in the Omega. Now, I don't know production dates so I don't know what tech was changed when in these units, and my Omega was used when I got it, but I know I get much better sound through the XLR of this unit while using the same mic and same cables as I used before. (It was kind of nice to have to pull back to get some headroom instead of fighting to register a signal.)

    It uses bus power, which is a huge plus. It generates no noticeable heat and it's one less thing to plug in. (I'm pretty sure the Omega died because it ran really hot.) The tradeoff is no phantom power, so if you're not using a standard dynamic mic, you'll need a separate phantom power unit.

    If you have duplex issues check for battling audio drivers / devices / applications. The ASIO driver can only be in so many places at a time, and what looks like a driver crash can actually be another application "stealing" control of the device. I fix this by routing non-latency-critical apps (Sound Forge and Acid, since I don't record on those) to the regular Windows audio, then route the soundcard LO output to my monitor mixer's aux input so I don't have to change headphones around and I can control what I'm hearing from each. Reaper gets the Alpha (and the ASIO driver) all to itself, and I run the L/R rear outputs through a Y cable into my monitor mixer's main input.

    It's hard to beat this unit in terms of bang for the buck. I'm very happy with it.

  • Frank-No-More
    from USA December 6, 2015Music Background:
    Private DJ, Producer and Performer

    Lexicon Alpha

    For the price and with good cables from the gear to the Lexicon, I am very impressed. I recently got the KOMPLETE KONTROL S61 and needed a way to get a Roland Fantom-S into FL Studio 12 quietly. Aaron Hoff, my rep, suggested the Alpha and I was recording wonderful riffs with in the hour. Its small and I barely notice it minus the soothing blue light it emits. Extremely reasonable for the signal quality. Nuff said...

  • Bill
    from Georgia January 14, 2015Music Background:
    Vocals.

    Lexicon Alpha

    I had used an Alpha in 2013, so I was familiar with the unit.
    Bought this one Dec 2014, as I needed a reliable interface for home recording ... I would recommend this unit as it delivers an excellent quality signal with 24 Bit / 48Khz, its very reliable ... just plug in the USB and its quickly activated and ready to go.. Top marks for its VERY low latency.. With the Alpha, what you hear is what you get... There have been no latency problems for me at all with this unit.. You can also adjust how much ratio of your vocal/Instrument (input) signal to hear when mixed with say a playback track to get the preferred balance you want to hear. There's a Headphone master control, a Monitor / Mix knob & a mono / stereo input select button on the front. On the rear, a XLR jack input, 2 x 1/4 inch jack inputs 1 and 2 Channels & 2 outputs L and R channels (RCA Jacks) There's a 1/4 jack on front for instrument in, with its own volume db knob, the XLR input on the rear is also controlled by its own volume / db knob on the front.. There are no led lights to monitor the signals as such (as you would get on a mixer for instance..) but there are two small, but very useful LED input lights each located at the lower right of the two input volume knobs on front.. If these light up red then you know your signal is too high or clipping.. so I all I do is lower the input signal and avoid clipping / distortion. The Alpha is a beautiful piece of equipment that has been well designed with interference free circuits, fast response and that very low latency (non existent on my setup) I mentioned earlier. Comes boxed with LE5 Cubase recording software and Pantheon Reverb .. Took some time to get the Cubase registered online but once done, its a veryversatile rec software package..I use it in conjunction with Audacity ....the free rec software ...as LE5 takes some time to master all the features 5.. Audacity is a LOT simpler to use and delivers a powerful set of home rec. features, effects, multi tracks etc for working fast to get tracks laid down .. Cubase gives more versatility and is for the more experienced user who knows how to get the best out of the software. I'm still learning, but it is a superb rec suite. The Pantheon Reverb is used in many studios around the world.. I listened to all pre set effects in the package and they are quite stunning.. vocal room, stadium, hit vocal, live room etc.. loads of them, each one can be adjusted and saved to suit your preferences.

    The Alpha is a very good value package. I paid less than $60 brand new with the all above bundled software. Very clean sound, superb low latency, a quality USB interface with an excellent set of features all in one compact , lightweight, very affordable unit.

  • Ronnie Fields
    from United States September 25, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Excellent Product

    When I received this via Fedex I was having problems loading the Cubase LE and found out by Steinberg that is was not compatible with Windows 8.1, so I thought I was doomed. However, I already had Cakewalk Music Creator 6 touch on my PC, and the Lexicon Alpha works perfectly with it!!

  • Randy Martin, Studio151
    from Eatontown, NJ November 15, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer, Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Studio Owner

    Lexicon Alpha

    My church was using a patch cord from their Mackie board right into the sound card on their computer to record services in Audacity...it worked, but it wasn't pretty. I suggested the Lexicon Alpha for 2 reasons, 1) it was bound to sound better than the computer's stock sound card, and 2) the Alpha ships with a copy of Cubase LE, a software that has much more capability than what they had been using. The Alpha's drivers loaded onto the Win 7 desktop without a hitch and within a short time we were recording through a real audio interface on semi-pro recording software!

    The Alpha had just the inputs we needed - 2 1/4" TRS ins and 2 1/4" outs (we feed the line out to a Zoom H4N for redundancy), a mini headphone jack and a 1/4" instrument input. The controls are simple and just what we need, nothing more.

    From a sound perspective the Alpha delivers clean gain into Cubase and we couldn't be more pleased with the results! I recorded our praise band the other night and it was so good we could almost go right to CD without a lot of EQ or other dynamics!

    The bottom line is that for the price of this unit you can't go wrong! Lexicon is part of the "Harmon" group of audio manufacturers and a little bit of their pro line gear spills over into everything they do. If this configuration is all you need then look no further!

  • Cyreen Yahya
    from Nashville, TN USA November 12, 2013Music Background:
    High School Student, Beginner Musician

    Really Affordable and Good in Quility

    This is my first audio interface and so far i'm happy with it. Its a good quality audio interface but it doesn't have phantom power. The tech support for this item is really great, i had a promblem with m shipment and there were able to fix it fast

  • Cameron
    from Las Vegas, NV June 26, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Audio Student

    Exactly what I needed

    This thing has 1 mic input, 1 instrument input, and 2 line inputs. If you need more, don't get this. However, if you're like me and only need to record one thing at a time, then GET THIS! Simple as that! Sound quality is great! PLENTY of gain. The normal sized headphone jack is a plus (no more 1/4" adapters!) It's not incredibly durable, but will definitely survive a good fall. Tip for Win 7 64bit users, the drivers will not install off the CD. Just go to Lexicons website and download the drivers. It worked perfectly after that. It comes with Cubase LE4 which is amazing. If you're thinking about getting this, just get it! And Sweetwater has the best service on the planet so buy it here!

  • dennis
    from Webberville Michigan April 20, 2016

    more than i expected...

    Have had this unit about a week now and I'm one of those who shuns reading the manual. Discovering on my own is preferable for me. What I have discovered is that utilizing this unit is straightforward and the performance meets my needs. Oh,and the price is right.Chose this over a new soundcard and could not be happier.

  • Charles E. Rowe, Jr.
    from USA November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Production Producer

    Lexicon Alpha

    Excellent unit and working very well at this time in the new studio build configuration.

  • Scott
    from South Carolina March 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Bringing DAW recording to the masses

    I needed a low cost interface, since I'm just a hobbyist. I use this with reason essentials 2 and it does the job nicely. If you (like I did) encounter dreaded latency, there may be settings in your DAW that can fix it. In reason essentials, it was the sample speed. I set it at minimum and the latency disappeared. I didn't use the Cubase software or the reverb thingy, so I can't speak on those. All I can say is: well worth the price, does what it says it does. Customer satisfaction achieved.

  • Karen
    from Williamsport, PA USA December 26, 2013Music Background:
    none

    Awesome

    This was a Christmas gift for my son and he is very well pleased with piece of equipment.

  • cb
    from Illinois September 13, 2013Music Background:
    Part time pro musician/Hobbyist at recording

    Very Happy with it

    Easy to use for a beginner like me. I did have to return the first one I got because it was noisy but sweetwater took good care of me and sent another right away. Problem solved.
    The cubase software can be a bit frustrating at first setting it up if you're a newb like me, but search out some youtube tutorials, getting on home recording forum oh and yeah reading the manual it's worth the effort.

  • John E. Lawton
    from Craig, Colorado USA March 27, 2013Music Background:
    Amateur Recording Engineer, Professional Live Sound Engineer, Hobbyist Musician

    I Love My Lexicon Alpha

    Except that it has only one XLR/mic (loss of 0.5 stars) input (compared to two for the piece of equipment that it is unexpectedly) and has no option for an external power supply (loss of 0.5 stars), I absolutely love this little thing. It was originally intended as a low-cost mixer to interface a netbook PC (for playback of practice tracks), a Galazy AS-900/Shure SE215 IEM setup, and a Audio-Technica wireless mic. Now, the piece of USB equipment it replaced (which cost me THREE times as much) is now going to be semi-retired and used as the IEM/Wireless/Netbook mixer and the Alpha is going to be my bedroom/practice-vocals/make-practice-recordings mixer. In fact, I may not have to buy one of two other prospective USB or FireWire mixers at 8-10 times the cost, if the XLR mic pre-amp is as clean as it appears to be on quick aural-"inspection". (But, I have yet to put a DAW meter on it to see the actual noise-levels.)

    Yahoo!!! :)

  • Steve T.
    from Houston March 4, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound engineer, pro musician, 20yrs

    Lexicon Alpha

    Works well once you get through the Cubase LE Installation. Would give this a 5 star rating if the installation would have gone smoothly. The hardware works fine. Installation of Cubase LE was very cumbersome. It took far longer to install this than necessary. I bought this to use as a simple method of self evaluation of vocals for practice in my home office, avoiding using the studio. Cubase took a good solution and fouled it up with an unnecessarily complex installation procedure.

  • Alvaro Pareja-Lecaros
    from United States October 3, 2012Music Background:
    Student, Audio Enthusiast, Audio/Recording Engineers brother

    Definitely a Great Buy!

    Current setup: M-Audio BX5, Sony MDR-7506 to a laptop. I'll hopefully be pairing it up with the matching subwoofer. Using it as a dac and pre-amp currently, I can definitely hear the immense difference this interface has done. I listen to a wide range of genres, mainly metal and electronica and I tested it out with all other genres expect country and it makes everything significantly clearer and more enjoyable to listen to. This interface is worth buying if you are a Audio Enthusiast on a budget!

  • Kenan Forte
    from Dallas, TX May 10, 2012Music Background:
    Performance of a variety of music with instrumentation being guitar and drums.

    What you read is what you get!

    This item was an upgrade from what I had before and I like the fact it has monitor mix and an output level knob. This box is nothing extremely fancy, but Cubase LE 5 came with it which is also an upgrade from what I was using before. According to the documentation, it's suppose to have LE 4. I assume they may have just kick that idea out of the windows and just decided to upgrade it. The Pantheon reverb plugin sounds great if you can tweak it out; I was never good at mixing sounds and mainly used pedals. The knobs on this box are very stiff and sturdy. Like the other reviews said........this box is not going to last for he long haul, but atleast it can take you where you wanna go.

  • Aaron Olsen
    from Rexburg, ID September 22, 2011Music Background:
    Recording

    Great little box!

    Perfect for on the go recording. I love the portability - no batteries or power cord needed. Has a decent sound to it, too.

  • Boyd Collings
    from wa, usa November 18, 2014Music Background:
    sound contractor

    Happy

    It met all my expectations and performs like I would expect from lexicon. I was attracted by having all the IO connections out of the way on the back. I wish it had phantom on microphone input but we all have preamps laying around the closet.

  • Alex
    from Ft Lauderdale, FL USA February 25, 2012Music Background:
    Home recordist, sound engineering student, musician

    Nice little box for simple applications.

    When I purchased a Lexicon Alpha, it was my first ever audio interface. All I really wanted was a way to plug my electric guitar and a mic into my computer to record into GarageBand and get some musical ideas down. It worked great for me, and it was really inspiring to be able to record with all the capabilities of a DAW, rather than an unfriendly TASCAM digital 8-track. (It's also nice to have a Hi-Z input, so if you don't have a great amp or a decent room, you can still get workable guitar sounds via software amp modeling.)

    I've also had nice results using it as a simple monitoring hub when playing live with a drummer; I use loops (i.e. phrase sampling) when I play so the drummer needs to hear my signal clearly to follow along in time, so I plugged an SM57 into the Lexicon, mic'd up my amp, and piped the signal to his headphones. Just what I needed.

    However, there are several limitations that have driven me to upgrade to a higher-quality interface:
    1. No phantom power. This is pretty limiting, since you'll probably want a condenser mic for vocals. It would also be handy to use a condenser as a single drum overhead, if you wanted to track some demo drums with this thing, but as is, you'll have to use a dynamic mic, which gives pretty sub-par results. It'll work fine if you're mostly recording guitar amps though.
    2. Only one mic preamp. It may have two inputs, but you're only gonna be able to get one mic in there unless you have an external preamp, so it's not the most versatile 2x2 setup. Also, as a side note, I didn't find the preamp to be of stellar quality---it's workable, but compared to the ART MPA Pro II tube preamp I recently upgraded to, it can be somewhat uninspiring.
    3. No option for stand alone operation. It's very convenient that it is bus-powerable, but I would love the ability to just plug it in and use it as a simple stand-alone monitoring system. There are other small, portable interfaces that offer this option, like the Echo Audiofire 4 or MOTU Ultralite MkIII. I felt a bit silly bringing my laptop to the gig for the sole purpose of powering the monitoring system...
    3. Relatively cheap build. The housing is sturdy enough to be dropped or stepped on without literally breaking, but after using my Lexicon heavily for a couple years, some parts have started to degrade in quality. The headphone volume pot is very crackle-y now when I turn it, and sometimes the headphone jack doesn't transmit a clear signal unless I wiggle my headphone plug a bit. No big deal, but don't expect this guy to last long enough to be passed on to your kids or anything.

    So, all things considered, I would recommend this unit to someone looking to get their feet wet in digital recording without the budget to buy a high-quality interface. I would also recommend it to someone who only needs a simple hub for monitoring, sending software instrument signals out from your computer to a P.A. or amp, etc. But if you're more interested in making an investment that will stick around for a while, I would recommend spending a few more dollars to get an interface with more functionality and expandability.

  • Jason
    from Michigan December 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbiest

    Decent interface, but know this if you use a Mac

    The hardware interface is good. The chassis is plastic, but it seems to be pretty high-quality. The knobs feel good. The thing sounds nice and quiet. By itself, it's worth the money.

    Note that if you use a recent version of OSX, all you're getting is the interface. The Cubase LE5 that this comes with will not install on Yosemite. Also, it's important to note that the included Lexicon reverb plug-in will only work with this software and not in any other digital audio workstation software. So, for OSX, your money gets you the interface only.

    It's still a good value. Under OSX, it's plug-and-play. You don't need to install drivers or anything. I use it with Reaper, and it's a very nice setup.

  • Chris
    from Detroit March 7, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Good value

    I needed a USB interface and didn't have a big budge, so I zeroed in on the Lexicon Alpha ... all in all, a good value. No bells or whistles, but it's doing the job, namely, providing decent guitar and voice interface with my iMac and Garage Band. At first I noticed that, according to the VU meters, input values I was getting with the Lexicon were not matching those of tracks I was importing for elsewhere, but the output seemed to be just fine ... I don't know if that is quirk of Garage Band or what, but the results are good. I'm not running a professional studio here, just trying to create music tracks I can share with friends, and the Lexicon is up to the task.

  • Melvin
    from San Diego,CA December 18, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Lexicon Alpha

    The unit works well and has improved my recording and playing with my computer. The only thing is that the instructions go back to earlier Windows
    OS. General user information would also have been a plus. Over all I am please with the product.

  • Customer
    from September 11, 2016

    No Win10 support

    I use this as my main recording interface and had no issues until upgrading to Win 10. Harmon's site STILL has a message saying they are "working on Win 10 drivers" but it's been almost a year with no release or new info. I can't recommend this as Win 10 is being forced onto machines. So until Harmon finally gives us a driver for this OS we are screwed. Tldr: DO NOT PURCHASE IF YOU INTEND TO USE WIN 10!

  • rick
    from October 14, 2015Music Background:
    guitar player for 40 years

    time consuming

    while it has some potential..be advised..it is very difficult to use in the beginning.i also felt that tech support for this item was not good.it has some compatibility issues with windows 10 as well.

  • loser
    from madison, wi August 25, 2014

    useless

    August 2014: the Cubase LE software IS NO LONGER SUPPORTED and the Pantheon Reverb WILL NOT work properly WITHOUT the outmoded CUBASE LE being upgraded. This is the proprietary reality of this 2007 soundcard. There is more than one company involved in selling you this so they wrote in software locks in order to ensure they get their money but that you do not.
    You can fix this by spending more money in their direction. Good luck.

  • Michael
    from Jacksonville, FL April 20, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    This unit is NOT full duplex! (2x2)

    Unlike the specs listed here, I have tried using this unit in full duplex mode and it crashes the drivers. The manufacturer specifies that you cannot record and playback at the same time. So the specs listed here are not correct! Apart from this glaring defect, the device is a decent audio interface.

  • Customer
    from March 26, 2015

    VERY ANNOYING

    I had it for maybe 8 yrs now, and i'm still using it. But one year after i bought it, the volume control started making loud static noise when u turn it up and down. I ends up using my computer volume control to control the output from this audio interface.

  • GLENN
    from SAN DIEGO February 4, 2017Music Background:
    TONS

    STOPPED WORKING WITH MAC SIERRA

    BEEN USING THIS ALPHA FOR SEVERAL YEARS, UPGRADED TO OS X SIERRA AND IT WONT WORK NOW. ON LEXICON WEBSITE NO DRIVERS FOR ALPHA AVAILABLE. LEXICON LEFT US MAC USERS DEAD IN THE WATER...

  • Customer
    from July 12, 2016

    Sucks

    Has no phantom power to power a professional studio microphone such as the Mxl 770 and etc. This brand is special built for computer mics and non professional recording. I'm definitely getting my money back. If I were you I would look up another interface for better sound.

Questions about the Lexicon Alpha?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway