0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Elixir Strings Nanoweb 80/20 Acoustic Guitar Strings .012-.053 Light Reviews

4.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Elixir Strings Nanoweb 80/20 Acoustic Guitar Strings .012-.053 Light?

Questions about the Elixir Strings Nanoweb 80/20 Acoustic Guitar Strings .012-.053 Light?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Cody Crawford
    from Salem Oregon, Oregon State Hospital November 24, 2015Music Background:
    Lead singer/ Guitar of the OSH patient Band/ solo act and harmonicas too!

    3 Months till the coating came off

    I am rough on my acoustic, beat the **** out of it. These strings are my favorite for jamming.

    *Minimal finger noise
    *Great tone
    *Last maybe 2-3 times longer

    -Not really as good as advertised ,or the electric ones. I love the nano web electric strings
    -Cost
    -The coating on my a and d string started to come off from the 1'st fret to the 4'th/ and I play without rings or slides.

    Would I buy these again?
    +Yes; the reasons are numerous, including the minimal wear and tear on my frets because the coating is not metal. I was having major fret wear before I switched to these strings. I am satisfied.

  • Jeffry Siewert
    from Kernersville, NC September 16, 2015

    Great strings

    I have tried many brands and types of strings over the years and have found these to be the best I have used. They last longer than many other strings I have tried. The tone stays consistent for a long time. They are worth every penny!

  • Bilmo
    from Lumberton NJ February 26, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Still Looking but can't find anything better

    I put these Elixir strings on my Martin ever other stringing. I like to try new strings in between. There are other strings out there that are brighter out of the box but for longevity and still getting a nice rich bass and mid Martin is known for I go with the Elixir Nanoweb even over the Martin Lifespan. I prefer the Martin light bronze over the lifespan actually. Pay twice the price and get three times the playability.

  • Dennis O. Wasnich
    from Montpelier, OH January 11, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I don't see (hear/feel) it.

    I've only experienced Elixirs because they came on 4 different Taylor guitars I purchased and in all 4 cases I was not happy with the sound of the guitar until I took off the Elixir strings and replaced with D'Addarios. In one case, the coating came off the Elixirs under pick contact in a short period of time and they looked "Fuzzy" as well as sounded bad and felt bad. They discolor quickly and just don't feel right under my left hand fingers.
    The Taylor guitars' only "bad rap" that I've seen is that some people think they sound toneless and overly bright which is exactly what I didn't like about the Elixirs and was immediately cured on the Taylors with the D'Addarios. So in my opinion the knock on Taylors is 100% a knock on Elixir strings.
    I know most people love these strings, but I don't think they sound good, feel good, look good, or last longer (or even as long!) as a decent set of regular strings at half the price and less.

  • Charles Drake
    from Upstate N.Y. December 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist 30 years

    Elixir 11052 Nanoweb strings

    These are the only strings I use on my Taylor 710 ce the sound is so great and last so long

  • Carlos
    from Las Cruces, NM March 19, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician

    Great Strings!

    These are my favorite acoustic strings. I love them and use them on all of my acoustics. Great tone and quality!

  • Mikey Brown
    from San Jose, California June 29, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    They Last Longer!

    These strings are awesome. Before, I was using GHS Light Phosphor Bronze. My friend used GHS Light 80/20 Bronze, and they sounded way brighter than my guitar did. So, I read some reviews on Elixir Strings, and decided to try them myself. I went to the store, picked up a pack of these, and slapped them onto my guitar a couple of days later. They sound fantastic! Now let me tell you, I own an old Yamaha. Just a couple of years old. It's very crappy, has the worst pickup ever, and just doesn't sound good at all, especially plugged-in. But from reverting from GHS to these Elixirs, I have fallen in love with a new set of strings. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars, is because it tends to kind of tear after a while. Not while the strings are still good, but when the strings start to die. I have had them on for almost four months now, and by the third month, I started seeing little hair-like things sticking out from the strings, but I don't think that will effect the sound of the guitar in any way. These strings are especially spectacular for recording. If you're looking for that big brightness, fullness, and enthusiasm, give these strings a try.

  • curtis
    from Texas March 19, 2013Music Background:
    songwriter, engineer

    Great strings

    I love these strings. Especially if you have a Taylor because these are the strings that they currently use in manufacturing. They're more expensive but yes, they actually last 2 or 3 times as long as other strings I've used. They stay in tune well and have a bright yet full tone. Recommended.

  • David
    from Japan January 31, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Not as expected... on THIS Guitar

    I'm not an accomplished player- and usually don't go nuts over what strings I'm playing. I've used Martin strings for years just because they sounded good. Never done much comparison. I bought these earlier to put on my Ovation Balladier because my acid hands were just killing strings to quickly. On the Ovation, the strings sounded great and intoned well (as well as a 25+ year old Ovation can?). I was very pleased with them and reviewed them with 5 stars.

    Fast forward to now- I put a set on my Wechter Pathmaker (awesome guitar) and they sounded like wet noodles. They sound like new strings that somebody rubbed down with glue or something. Absolutely unacceptable... took them off immediately. Again, I'm not a player who needs to hear every subtle nuance and these sounded bad to even my ear.

    My advice would be this- don't be afraid to experiment with these but be prepared for them to sound totally different on different guitars. But for me- when they sound this bad on one guitar I can't help but think they're holding down my Ovation that's just got the boom to overcome it. I'll probably just go back to playing Martins on everything.

Questions about the Elixir Strings Nanoweb 80/20 Acoustic Guitar Strings .012-.053 Light?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway