0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Ultimate Support APEX AX-48 Pro - Black Reviews

3.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Ultimate Support APEX AX-48 Pro - Black?

Questions about the Ultimate Support APEX AX-48 Pro - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Charles Stoykovich
    from Belleview, FL. January 3, 2017Music Background:
    Professional Musician/Songwriter

    Great keyboard stand

    I have been using Ultimate Support Stands for many years. They are durable and well built. The APEX AX-48-Black is sleek and suits my needs.

  • Roger Barrett
    from Watertown Tn. March 21, 2016

    Apex AX-48 Pro - Black

    The Apex AX 48 Pro keyboard stand is awesome its well work the extra money it cost compared to the other stands on the market. This stand is the best you can buy a must have if you want a great keyboard stand. quality made, easy to assemble, and easy to take down to store and carry. Glad I got mine. Great product from a great company and as always great support from folks at Sweetwater. Thanks to Joe Shafer at Sweetwater

  • Don Thomas
    from February 19, 2016

    Awesome equipment

    When this stand fist came out years ago I used it on tour with Cheap Trick, Journey, and REO.
    I still have my original excellent condition, and now bought this one for my southern studio. Great improvements!
    These stands are an amazing invention.

  • Customer
    from August 18, 2015

    Awesome

    So, it's an APEX. The thing's reputation speaks volumes, no review of the stand is really needed.

    What SHOULD be noted, however, is the ABSOLUTELY AMAZING customer service offered by Sweetwater. I had a few questions about how this functions, how I can add a third tier, laptop stand, etc. and the attention I received was outstanding.

    Keep doing what you're doing, you've definitely gained a permanent life long customer.

  • Customer
    from August 7, 2015

    Ultimate Support

    Excellent product!!!

  • Emerson
    from July 13, 2015

    Great Keyboard Stand

    I got my keyboard stand and it is an amazing product. Just as describe. I got a lot of compliments on my new stand. They said that it looks more professional and very clean (referring to the cables). I am real happy with it. Service from Sweetwater.com it was real good. My product got here in the time frame that it was promise.

    Thanks guys!!!!!

  • Mark King
    from in an LA recording studio January 17, 2014Music Background:
    engineer, geek, guitar player, keyboard player

    Apex Keyboard Stands are the BEST!

    I've been using these stands for years. The latest versions are coming from China but they are still Ultimate all the way. I have five tiers on one of these (I know they say only use two but the keyboards are light lol) and it's still rock solid. USS makes great stands, Sweetwater makes them affordable.

  • Customer
    from March 21, 2017

    Much needed

    After using two separate single stands, this is really what I needed....what took me so long to get it.

  • Ken
    from Long Island November 20, 2016Music Background:
    Cover band and original synth project player.

    Nice...very easy.

    Replaced my USS three tier A frame with this, added a third tier...got the bag too, but that tore completely after the first use. Was replaced immediately without any problem.
    Only complaint, which is more an observation, is, if you're tall, like me, over 6', the lowest keyboard is a bit too low. And, the lower boards are covered up by the ones above it...but....
    A fair trade for the convenience. I custom built a three tier out of A frame parts and a speaker stand Tripod base, and it is the best stand I've ever had, but it cost $ when I add up all the spare parts I bought along the way...

  • Rob
    from Atlanta February 7, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Solid

    Great Stand. Using a yamaha S70XS on the bottom which is heavy. I recommend the mic adapter as well.

  • Trevor
    from November 21, 2012

    A classic stylish stand

    The Apex is a classic and stylish keyboard stand. I bought the very first model over 20 years ago and other than a slight rounded profile instead of the older triangular shape and longer arms on the bottom it's pretty much the same. Very solidly built, stable and easy to transport. I loved it so much I bought a new one to replace the one I sold 15 years ago!

  • Jonathan
    from Roanoke, VA December 7, 2011Music Background:
    Live Performances, studio performances

    Cool Stand

    Taking some use to get used to. Love the low profile of it. It can get shaky if you play hard (ie: blues piano, boogie, etc). Also, the brace has a tendency to become uneven as you play. Careful when folding up the legs at the bottom so that the button doesn't go too far into the stand. Otherwise, neat compact design. Enjoying it as a two tier keyboard stand.

  • David Benson
    from April 9, 2016Music Background:
    Pianist, Composer

    Effective for smaller sized keyboards.

    Not particularly effective for very large and non-standard keyboard sizes (my Kurzweil k2600). But it works really well for my Lil Phatty and other keyboard controllers. Never gigged with it, so the wobbles may be somewhat of an issue if you really like to bang out notes.

  • Jerry
    from Dahlonega, GA January 4, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    Not Perfect

    I've used the same APEX stand for 15 years and broke one of the foot locks. When I went to replace it I chose the same company because it was a great product. However, I was disappointed because one of the plastic grips that holds the bars wasn't drilled properly and was impossible to attach. I finally used the one from my old stand and it works fine. That being said, I the design change was moderate enough that I was also able to use my old boom mic attachment and save some money. I like the new round design, and it is a solid, safe stand for my keyboards. But ... when you buy a luxury car, you expect the radio to work...

  • Customer
    from March 30, 2017Music Background:
    Playing in bands for over 40 years, music products industry veteran of 40 years, with international touring experience.

    Would prefer function over sexiness

    I've been using Apex stands since their inception, but I'm disappointed with the current design. The original (I still have one for rehearsal, it's too beat up for on stage) has a flat surface at the top of the stand, making it suitable for angling the top keyboard, which is my preference as I am on the taller side (6'2"). The latest incarnation has a curved surface on top, making it unstable when tilting the top keyboard. I have to use my wallet across the top to provide a safe, secure surface for my top keyboard, which is either a 40th Anniversary Minimoog Voyage or a John Bowen Solaris. Both are too valuable to risk setting on an unstable stand. I've also found the 3-point base on the newer models to be problematic... it's just not as stable as what I became accustomed to playing the original design for years. I'll be switching to the K&M Spider. It's way more expensive, but I'm willing to pay more for superior stability at both the top and the bottom of the stand.

  • Corey Mast
    from Burbank, CA June 29, 2016Music Background:
    Full time

    Apex 48-pro

    I wouldn't recommend this if you have a heavier keyboard such as the Korg Kronos or a cat. My 5 lb cat got on the Kronos and toppled the whole thing over. Luckily she survived. It's not a matter of if this thing is going to crash but when. If a 5 ld cat can knock over your keyboard stand then there's something up with the stand. The build quality and setup is good but it just doesn't hold the heavier keyboards. Yes I read the instructions and removed the piece to allow for heavier keyboards.

  • Brian McKenzie
    from St. Louis, MO November 18, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician

    Looks great, but that is all.

    The AX-48 Pro is the most stylish keyboard stand on the market by far. It will accommodate a number of tiers and a great deal of height adjustment, accessories, etc.

    Unfortunately these are its only positive qualities. At first glance it appears incredibly solid, but is little more stable than any $40 stand. The 'keyboard stabilizer' on mine doesn't even reach the floor. The tiers tilt back at a weird angle which makes the controls on some gear very hard to see. You cannot adjust the width of the tiers, so forget about mounting your drum machine or desktop synth. At first I thought I'd set it up incorrectly but further inspection reveals no error on my part, although it's difficult to tell because there is almost no contrast in the user manual illustrations. You would never want to gig with it - why drag along a stand as heavy as this when any decent x-stand would do?

    If style is your only concern, go with this.

  • Kasha
    from IN January 8, 2012Music Background:
    semi-professional keyboardist

    Great Look but just mediocre

    I guess this stand appealled to me in many ways, not just for the professional look on stage but for the ease of use with 2 keyboards, versus a folding stand. I'm not as happy with it as I expected I would be, after over a full year of regular use. The first thing that happened with this stand was one of the tri-bars broke off on the end one day. The second thing I dislike is that the top cap never stays shut when you turn the stand upside down to close the bottom legs. I guess I should start pulling the tri-bars out and then placing them to the side instead of in the top cap until I close the legs on the bottom of the stand. The third thing I dislike is that the little plastic "stabilizer" on the bottom of this stand broke after about 11 months. Since then, I just decided this stand is really not as great as I imagined it would be. Ultimate Support did work with me and send me a new tri-bar and a new top cap. The new bar hasn't broken and I've also bought an extra pair of tri-bars in case they are needed, which I have to keep elsewhere (in my crappy bag I bought for it). But the top cap they sent me does the same thing the first one did....falls open all the time. It falls open in transit, in the bag, and it falls open everytime you flip it over w/tri-bars in it. So I guess I just can't win with this stand. Glad I didn't buy the newer model stand and spend extra money to just be disappointed some more.

  • Customer
    from Nanuet, NY April 30, 2016

    OK stand, but profoundly poor customer support

    My APEX broke on the very third gig I took it on. One leg wouldn't lock into place.

    However, these stands are very popular and I believe failures like the one mine had are probably rare. So that is NOT the reason for my low rating. It's a decent stand, but the custom service experience I had was profoundly an inexcusably poor.

    It took them WELL MORE THAN A YEAR to get the problem resolved and replace the stand. And after making me wait more than a year, they insisted I give them back the (new) carrying case that came with the replacement stand. Why? because my case has a tear where the handle joins the bag.

    That tear happened after three gigs. Is that also NOT a "defect"? Should a handle tear after only three gigs? (I assure you it was not abused.) And even if it wasn't, after making me wait well more than a year, wouldn't it have been a reasonable gesture to just give me a new case.

    To me, this is exceptionally poor customer service.

  • Customer
    from Arizona September 8, 2016

    Great Idea - Defective Plastic Parts

    I bought this stand in April of 2015. I gig about 100 nights a year and I loved the idea of the compact portable stand that would hold my rig. Unfortunately the idea did not translate to fact.

    Within 2 month, the plastic carry handle broke off. Not a big deal..it was just a luxury. 6 months later the mic boom developed stripped threads and would not catch. It was useless. Next a plastic front foot stabilizer designed to stop the stand from falling forward broke off of its anchors in the stand rendering this aspect of stability useless. Finally, in the left leg, a plastic spacer designed to keep the leg locked in tight broke off and rendered the entire stand useless (the left leg would no longer lock into place).

    The worst thing was Ultimate's support of their defective workmanship.

    Admittedly, I did not know about the limited lifetime warranty on the stand when I purchased it. When I logged on to Ultimate support website to try an order replacement parts to fix the stand, I discovered the warranty and registered my product (including my proof of purchase with date). I also supplied photographic proof of the defective parts.

    Ultimate stated that because I did not register the product for warranty right away (it was about a year later) that no warranty requests would be honored despite my proof of purchase and proof of defective parts.

    Be wary...this stand looks great...but it will fall apart. If you buy it...register it immediately with Ultimate and immediately report any defects.

    My suggestion is not to buy this product. It is built with cheap plastic parts for the most integral supportive elements of the stand. Ultimate's support of their products is non existent. If you are a regularly gigging musician...it will not last.

Questions about the Ultimate Support APEX AX-48 Pro - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway