0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

M-Audio AV-30 Reviews

3.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
  • Jonathan Ramos
    from Vero Beach, FL June 6, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Artist

    Awesome

    My first set of speakers for my studio but I have to say they are awesome!!! I'm happy with my purchase and would recommend these speakers.

  • Hal C. Thomas
    from Cincinnati, OH December 3, 2013Music Background:
    full time studio teacher, primarily voice, some piano, extensive performance experience in opera, musical theatre, theatre and broadcast and educational media.

    GREAT HELP TO STUDENTS

    These speakers provide quality sound for the recordings I make of my students in my studio. They provide a wonderful music "mirror" so my singing students can appreciate their progress and challenges.

  • Marc Snow
    from June 4, 2013Music Background:
    Lead Guitarrist, Home Studio

    Little Giant

    Best pair of monitors for the price.
    Great power, thunderous sound!
    Great frequencies range.
    Excellent choice!

  • Seth Bova
    from Columbus, OH July 8, 2014

    Great Little Speakers

    Very high quality for the price. I have these set up on some ISOacoustic stands, tweeters at ear level and get very good quality highs, lows, and mids. They can get really hot if you leave them on too long which I'm sure is not good for them but i've used them 4+ hours no issues just make sure you hit the power switch when you're done using them.

  • Chris
    from Atlanta, GA January 11, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist, Studio Engineer

    Little Thumpers

    Got a pair as small desktop monitors for my bedroom studio a few months ago. They are set up with dual 1/4" outs - they can definitely hit the gamut of sound ranges in all types of genres and can get VERY LOUD. Could use as makeshift PAs for a small show. Bad response below 80 Hz, but they can definitely push sound and thump. The highs are crystal clear. They would make great mini monitors for bigger studios esp. for mastering to smaller audio devices. The aux and headphone in the front are perfect additions, it allows a ton of options for routing audio from the computer and lets someone easily plug in an iphone for music. If you are planning on using this as a supplemental connection for recording I would recommend a better shielded 1/8" male-to-male cable, I was picking up radio background. All in all I'm extremely happy with these speakers.

  • Suzi Bloemker
    from Naples, Florida April 22, 2015Music Background:
    Music Fan and beginner piano student

    Nice, Simple Speakers

    I received a small turntable for Christmas that has a built in speaker that is horrible. But it does have RCA jacks in the back. I wanted a small set of speakers for a small room that would make listening to my records bearable. These speakers fit the bill. Very easy to hook up and I like the switch in the back of one to turn them on and the knob on the front to turn the sound up or down. Perfect! Thanks also to the nice Sweetwater employee who took a lot of time to listen to my wants and help me decide.

  • Marc
    from Sudbury, On Canada March 22, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, Composer

    Good for the price.

    I did not get these from sweetwater, but I have them. I use them mainly as computer speakers and not as much as studio monitors. I built custom stands for them and that improved the sound a bit. For the price, I think they sound GREAT and they are decently loud. They are a bit muddy in the low mids, but the stands helped believe it or not.

    Bottom line: If you're on a budget and need decent sounding monitors, these are pretty good.

  • Zac
    from Santa Barbara, CA October 16, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist, Student, Engineer

    Clean, Crisp as you can get for the money.

    These are a great starter set of monitors. I use these for my small home studio rather than the real one with nice monitors at my school. This is about as good as it gets in this price range. They pick up each nuance of the sounds produced, and can handle even the most detailed live recordings and techno/house.

  • Tom
    from Louisville, KY January 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist/semi-pro

    Great for home studio

    A lot of bang for your buck on these. They sound good and have a minimal footprint which is great for small, home studio setups. These would be ideal as a second set of reference monitors as well. Very pleased with the AV-30s so far. Although obviously not top of the line, they're a great value; thanks Sweetwater and M-Audio!

  • Andy M
    from MA, USA March 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    You Get What You Pay For

    Given their low cost it wouldn't be fair to complain too much. I have had the AV-30's for about 3 years now and am finally ditching them. I just can't get a good mix out of them - they are consistently muddy and dull (compared to my Sampsons). When one considers how much money one invests in DAWs, DAW upgrades and decent plugins - let alone hardware - having a $100 pair of speakers at the end of the chain doesn't make any sense.

  • Customer
    from June 9, 2013

    Muddy Sounding

    Pretty much everything below 400hz and above 1K hz sounds muddy or unclear.

  • Joshua
    from Bakersfield CA February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar/bass prog drums and rookie rec engineering

    Inaccurate sound not good for mixing/mastering

    Picked these up for my mini desktop recording studio and they were super muddy loads of bass I got some foam to go under them to try and clear up the low end but still made even the best recordings (animals as leaders) sound muddy ..they come with all the connections you need and a headphone jack great feature most monitors don't have I kept them for tv and gaming and invested in better monitors for recording. you get what you pay for

  • Wade
    from Chicago, IL October 19, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Hobbyist

    Terrible Quality - Stay Away!

    These monitors sound great - when they work. In less than 2 years the left (powered) speaker became noticably quiet compared to the right speaker. After some online research, apparently there is a design flaw causing the circuit board to overheat and blow capacitors. Do not buy these unless you want to replace them in a couple of years

Questions about the M-Audio AV-30?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway