rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Audio-Technica ATM450 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Audio-Technica ATM450?

Questions about the Audio-Technica ATM450?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Wisconsin May 25, 2017Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Pianist, Songwriter

    Great alternative for live sound in grand pianos

    We are miking a Yamaha grand piano in a church for the purpose of both live and recorded sound. Having priced out a number of systems for picking up piano sound, this turned out to be a great (and more economical) alternative! We set up two mics by mounting them to the ribs above the strings, one above the higher register and one above the lower. The low-profile, side-address design allows us to keep the lid closed entirely, which has noticeably helped us prevent bleed from other sound sources.

    As far as setup goes, placement is crucial, so you'll have to experiment to find the right spot above the strings and the right balance mixed between the two channels. But once you nail down the location and lock it in, these mics deliver a really flat sound that mixes well. They're very forgiving, and don't seem to have any bad habits. I'd certainly recommend them for anyone looking for an alternative option for miking a grand piano.

  • from South Carolina September 28, 2016Music Background:
    studio owner/engineer/producer

    Great mic for overheads

    So far I've used these as overheads and on acoustic mandolin and I've got a new "go to" for both. They're excellent, grab a pair!

  • from June 8, 2016Music Background:
    Player/ producer

    Whoa

    This is a fantastic mic. I intern at one studio nearby and I set up for the engineers, most use this for cymbals. It took me a moment to hear the benefit of this over other mics but when I finally applied this a few months ago I was blown away by how it sounds. Sometimes I am inclined to use a little bit of compression to help the cymbals stand out when needed, but I never feel like I need to with the 450! I'll even use it as an OV in a bind. Getting more soon.

  • from Greensboro, NC December 17, 2014Music Background:
    LIve Sound Engineer - Recording Engineer

    Excellent Mic - that flys below the radar

    I started using these mics on a recommendation from a friend as overheads. They are the first out of the box for Hat and Ride mics, the mount and side address help with placement in some tight kit set-ups.
    I also use them in a stereo configuration for a brass quintet I have to re-reinforce a few times a year. This is the first mic I choose for micing bass cabinets - a lot of detail and tone.
    I own 5 and just ordered my 6th.

  • from Elon Nc April 22, 2012Music Background:
    Recording engineer, student, gigging bass player

    Not just for drums...

    I use this on my bass cab live' the results will blow you away! Super articulate with amazing response, just try it out and you will see what I mean. Also great for overheads and other acoustic instruments.

  • from Charleston, SC August 22, 2010Music Background:
    amateur performer and recording engineer

    ORTF results

    I use a pair for recording in ORTF for orchestra, concert band, and choral ensembles. Being cardioid it lacks the bottom end of an omni, as you would expect, but the complexities of loud passages with full percussion come through with great depth and openness. The form factor lends itself to AB or ORTF stereo. The published response curve does not show up sonically, as these seem spared of the typical harshness in the upper mids and low highs of a small condenser. The size helps with storage and for a low profile during concerts if those things matter. They handle loud transients very well, reminding me of more expensive mics. If I were a drummer, this would be my main road mic for snare and overheads. They are an optimal trade between quality and cost.

  • from Florida February 8, 2010Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Great All Around Mic

    Originally I just liked the fact that it was a side address mic, the specs were good too. But this mic does bring out really good detail for the price. I've been using these on toms so far and they sound great. I'm going to try one on a snare. Also, the pad and high pass filters are a plus.

  • from Montclair, NJ May 15, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Amazing Mic

    I bought one of these to mic a horn player and was blown away by its depth and overall sound. I since have bought two more and use them as overheads on a drum kit, acoustic guitar and all kinds of drums. Get at least one of these!

  • from New Orleans, La November 11, 2008Music Background:
    live sound engineer: Evanescence, Stone Temple Pilots, Zakk Wylde's Black Label Society

    Something i left out

    I forgot to mention that this mic is also amazing on snare drum. You can easily place it out of stick hitting range and get a great snare sound. Depending on the snare drum and player I've recently only been using this with no snare bottom mic.

  • from new Orleans, La September 2, 2008Music Background:
    live sound engineer: Evanescence, Stone Temple Pilots, Zakk Wylde's Black Label Society

    Amazing small diaphragm mic

    HI-hat, snare, acoustic guitar, cello, toms, overheads. If you need detail and a small profile mice this the way to go. I've never gotten a compliment on my hi-hat sound before using this mic......... which is a compliment right?

Questions about the Audio-Technica ATM450?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway