0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Ibanez ATK805E Premium - Walnut Flat, 5-string Reviews

4.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
  • from Bay Area August 11, 2015Music Background:
    Live and Studio Session Bassist, Audio Engineer

    An Incredible Instrument

    May this bass never leave my collection. It's been such an incredibly important asset for the past couple of years. On stage, it doesn't attract a lot of attention, but in the studio it never stops getting positive comments from fellow musicians and engineers. The preamp and pickup configuration allows for a number of very usable tones; Always cool, always tight, always able to fit in the mix.

    To those who haven't played one of these already, let me try to describe the feel: The neck is quite chunky. In no way is this bass a fast playing instrument. If you have very large hands, you'll get by Sir Duking it around the neck all night, but for everyone else, keep your play-style intentions in mind. The string spacing is somewhere between Soundgear tight and Fender 5-string jazz wide; Very manageable. The body is well balanced.

    The electronics are interesting. Each pickup has a distinctive sound when A/B'd, but there isn't a whole lot of room to play where blend is concerned. The blend knob could have well been a 3-way switch for how much it does. The bridge pickup switch offers subtle differences in tones, but again, it's not incredibly useful as designed. What I end up doing is playing with the EQ section to vary the tones, which thankfully does a lot. Active EQs are tricky to balance, especially as a bassist that leans towards passive electronics, but there's a lot of power in it. With it you can shape the tone from the CAP pickups with a very large palette of options, which along with that bright maple gives you an incredible instrument.

    It's absolutely not a perfect instrument for everyone, but I've found that it's got a ton of character, and when it comes time to consider what has to stay in my collection, character is the most important trait I value in an instrument. It sits next to basses that cost more than twice what Ibanez is asking for and it absolutely deserves to be there.

  • from Toronto, Ontario May 8, 2015Music Background:
    30+years

    Pleasantly surprised

    First off, this bass looks and feels so much better than the pictures look. Such a beautifully crafted and styled instrument. Even the metal plate seems to work with the esthetics on this bass. Very nice.

    Playability is awesome. I was very surprised at just how well this bass handles any type of sound I want to pull out of it. Again, very well done, Ibanez. I don't have a single thing to complain about.

  • from October 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist 20yrs - played several bands, regular church worship bassist

    ATK805E Premium

    I love this bass - it has more tonal possibilities than I will ever use. The sound guy at church loves it - says it has a great sound even with everything set flat - said something about a lovely 'clank'? Our musical director loves it too. A small tweak makes a big difference on this bass as far as tone goes - it's very powerful and full but defined, even set flat. Auditioned for a band this week and this bass sounded so much better on a rig that I had used previously with other basses, got the gig too :). It looks so much better in the flesh than I had anticipated. My first 5 string so I can't comment on the B string by comparison to others, but I have no issue with it - using a 0.130 a present. For the money it's a dream deal... if you're thinking about this bass I don't believe you'll be disappointed. The Sweetwater guys were fantastic also - more than helpful! I love this thing!!

  • from St Louis November 24, 2012Music Background:
    28yrs experience

    Outstanding instrument!

    I bought my 5-string ATK 805E from Sweetwater about 2 months ago. All I can say is WOW! There is a ton of tones available from this instrument. The coil tap switch along with the added neck pickup gives you Jazz bass tones, stingray tones, and thick P-bass like tones. As the other reviewer noted, the fretwork is impeccable! This allows for incredibly low action if that is your thing. I've had this on many gigs since owning it & it delivers powerful, and amazing sounding tones from my GK bass rig. One of the best bass purchases I've ever made. Extremely & highly recommended! This is a professional, top-notch instrument you will love!

  • from Alaska October 4, 2012Music Background:
    Pro

    Great bass!

    If i had to pay double for this bass id still be able to justify it, the fretwork is so good i got it down to "Roscoe" standards and it still plays like butter. Sounds alot like a stingray, wih better action and tighter spacing, and the preamp has more headroom than you would ever need. The bridge pickup selector switch makes such a difference i end up using it more than the pickup blend knob.

  • from Clovis, CA USA May 31, 2014Music Background:
    Bassist, Hobbyist

    crystal clear bottom end sound

    unbelievable sound clarity, very trebly though, you may wanna cut the treble a little or all you'll hear are clanky metallic sounds, im wondering if i could fix that by changing to flat wounds, i was able to set it up to my liking with low action but can't lower the pickups anymore it was at its lowest point already when i received it. lots of sustain coming out from this guy. it is light compared to other basses and it's a beauty. B string rings like a piano. those guys in indonesia are doing a good job with bass guitars now maybe because this guitar was made in their ibanez premium factory. i give it a 4, only because i played some basses before that have faster necks and that im stuck with the pickup height. otherwise buy it, you'll love it

  • from Elkins, WV March 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist 20

    Ibanez.......why??

    I have owned ATK's since their introduction in 1995 and currently own 4. I thought I would continue the tradition with the new 805 . Well.... EVERYTHING is different. I LOVED the tones you could squeeze from it....but that's where it stopped.... The neck profile is totally different, smaller frets, and they shrunk her big body!!! In a nutshell....it was like a pair of pants that didn't fit for me... Pretty, well built, and sounded AWESOME.....just not my old faithful 305 or 405.

Questions about the Ibanez ATK805E Premium - Walnut Flat, 5-string?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway