0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Audio-Technica Limited Edition 50th Anniversary ATH-M50s - Straight Cable Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • from Rapid City, SD USA December 29, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent headphones

    I've tried three standard headphones for my studio to date: The Ultrasone, audio-technica ATH-M20, and the Anniversary 50th that I got from Sweetwater and I like the 50th the best. Good sound and nice to have on thy fit sung.

  • from VA, IL, IN October 31, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Drummer

    Buy These You Won't Be Sorry

    I wanted to get more expensive headphones cause I thought they would be better boy was I wrong. These sound great and for less than half. They have great bass response and great highs, I can wear them all day and I do, and what I hear is what I get. Honestly these will be the only headphone in the mixing booth.

  • from Riyadh July 22, 2012Music Background:
    Student

    How did I live without these?

    Superb headphones! After losing my beats I decided to buy the ATH-M50s and I'm so very glad I did. Everything sounds good. Everything! They are super comfortable and they look so much better in reality than they do in the pictures.
    If you're looking to hear optimum sonic sounds, I recommend this superior product.

  • from May 10, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Live Sound Engineer

    Impressed so far

    Just received my pair this afternoon, and so far, I'm really impressed with their performance. Sound quality is great, they're extremely easy to use, and comfortable even after hours of wearing.

  • from Atlanta April 24, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Rap Artist

    WOW Beats Who?

    I just got the headphones and HOLY **** these are sooooooooooooo much better than my Sennheiser HD280's. Great purchase, I'm glad I didn't get cheaper ones. I hear so much detail its crazy. I love these man. I produce beats and I can't believe I went so long without really hearing what was going on in my mix. I will never skimp on quality audio products again. If you are going to call yourself a professional you need the best and these are the best in this price range. Definitely better than the most expensive Beats (they are not as clear and too bass heavy). I haven't even broke these in yet.

  • from Lincoln R.I April 4, 2012Music Background:
    Student

    Amazing headphones!

    best headphones I have had so far, When I bought them I started hearing music and I got amazed because there are a lot of sounds that I can hear now it is so clear to me. Thank you Sweetwater and last but not least the shipping was perfect, really accurate the presentation of the product too!

    keep at it!

  • from ME USA March 31, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Recording Engineer

    Wicked awesome!

    Love the headphones! Don't have any complaints.

  • from Wichita Falls, TX February 20, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist musician

    Excellent choice for headphones

    Bought these as a means of listening to music and practicing guitar and bass without being too loud. Music sounds great through these and they can handle the low end of my 5 string bass.

    I can't say I'm an expert audiophile but I would recommend these to anyone looking for a well built, quality set of headphones

  • from San Juan, PR (USA) February 20, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist with 14 years experience...

    Worth Every Penny...

    These headphones are worth every penny. You will get the quality sound of the now legendary audio-technica ATH-M50, but the aesthetic touch of the LE. These in particular will help to differentiate them from other M50S ... that in the best studies use this headset as a reference. I can say ... the audio-technica people did an excellent job.

    In short? High definition, flat, durable, tough, looks good and just what you expect from an article in this price range.

  • from Minneapolis, MN March 13, 2012Music Background:
    Student, Studio Intern, Hobbyist

    Great Headphones

    I've tried four industry standard headphones extensively to date: Sennheiser HD 280 Pros, Shure SRH440s, Sony MDR-7506s, and now the ATH-M50s.

    The M50s are easily the most comfortable out of this selection, but by far the most bassy, although less so after burn-in. The sound is best described as heavy. I've read that a headphone preamp does tighten the bass to some extent. I run my computer's output through a 802-VLZ3 Mackie mixer, and plug the M50s into the mixer for use. I'm not sure if this is akin to using a preamp similar in effect to a headphone preamp, but through the mixer the bass seems a little too thick for any kind of effective bass monitoring. The mids and highs sound great; they're up close and personal, but not harsh. If you're an experienced mixer, you may be able to mix somewhat well with these, but due to the circumaural design, you're definitely listening in a vacuum. I could see these as effective when mixing mids, as they're much more defined when compared to the lows and highs.

    For those who enjoy long, relaxing listening sessions, the M50s are probably the best in this price range, along with the cheaper Sennheiser 280 Pros. I'm able to listen to these headphones for hours at a time, while the Shure SRH440s and Sony MDR-7506s scratch the outermost parts of my ears on the speakers when worn, and are both unmusical in their unforgiving flatness. The M50s are the least harsh in my current selection, but the Sennheiser 280 Pros deliver more crisp and pleasing highs.

    The M50s are simply amazing casual listening headphones, and for comparing your mixes on speakers other than your main monitors. Mixing, as is normal for most, if not all headphones, is not an ideal pursuit, and my personal notion on the matter does not change for the M50s.

    Eric

Questions about the Audio-Technica Limited Edition 50th Anniversary ATH-M50s - Straight Cable?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close