0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Audio-Technica ATH-M50S - Pro Studio Headphones w/ Straight Cable Reviews

4.5 stars based on 30 customer reviews
  • from USA October 25, 2013Music Background:
    Touring Musician, Mixing Engineer, Producer

    Beautiful sub bass response.

    I bought these headphones as a beginner to mixing about 3 years ago not knowing what to look for in a set of monitoring headphones. Now about 3 years later with the knowledge and experience I've gained , I can definitely say these headphones are phenomenal for the small price you pay.

    Most say to never mix solely in headphones, but if that's all you can afford, these are your best friend. All I had to mix with are these headphones and taking my mixes out to other systems, I was pleasantly surprised how well these allowed me to get my mixes where I want them.

    THE LOW END IS BEAUTIFUL!
    Producing and mixing music that demands a very low sub bass is a dream with these headphones, you can definitely FEEL that sickening sub bass pressure.

    A++

  • from Prior Lake, MN July 15, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar hobbyist, audiophile

    Awesome headphones

    Before purchase I did a lot of checking. Read many reviews. The headphones live up to their reputation. Require a short break in period. The sound is detailed, rich and above all else accurate. I am using mine in place of an audiophile headphone that sells around $90. These will do duty in my hi-fi rig as well as any recording duties that come along. Love the clean powerful bass. Very much recommended.

  • from West Virginia May 5, 2013Music Background:
    working pro for 40 years

    Buy these heaphones!!!

    Way beyond my expectations! The low end was so solid I thought I left the subwoofer on.......it wasn't.

  • from Long Island, New York January 4, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Absolute Steal!!!

    I have tried and owned tons of headphones over the years, and these are by far the best you can get in this price range. They are even superior to headphones more than twice the price!! Definitely try these before spending a lot more money on headphones.

  • from Rapid City, SD USA December 29, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent headphones

    I've tried three standard headphones for my studio to date: The Ultrasone, audio-technica ATH-M20, and the Anniversary 50th that I got from Sweetwater and I like the 50th the best. Good sound and nice to have on thy fit sung.

  • from United States December 11, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Review of Audio Technica ATH-M50 Headphones

    This headset my Audio-Technica has great low end broad and deep while satisfying my need for high end clarity. I'm completely pleased with this headset and its' solid construction.

  • from VA, IL, IN October 31, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Drummer

    Buy These You Won't Be Sorry

    I wanted to get more expensive headphones cause I thought they would be better boy was I wrong. These sound great and for less than half. They have great bass response and great highs, I can wear them all day and I do, and what I hear is what I get. Honestly these will be the only headphone in the mixing booth.

  • from Hyde Park, NY July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Musician and luthier

    absolutely amzing

    There are a number of headphones in this price range, so I was unsure which choice to make. The reviews consistently pointed to the ATH-M50 phones, and man were they right! These are super comfortable, they fold up into a compact, stable bundle, but most importantly, they sound FANTASTIC! I use them to run a guitar amp through an attenuator with a phones out jack. The sound is clean, balanced, not ice pick-y like less expensive phones get. Through a stereo, the sonic imaging is simply unbelievable! In this price range, you just can't go wrong.

  • from Puerto Rico January 11, 2012Music Background:
    Producer

    The best!

    Want a set of professional quality headphones? this are the ones! Cant go wrong with this item!

  • from November 20, 2011

    Wow

    After they burn in (few days of music/pink noise) the clarity really comes through. Unlike the Senn 280 it has a nice low end presence. Best in class for the money.

  • from United States October 28, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    amazing cans

    amazing once burnt in. so much better than the beats. everything sounds amazing in these. for 160. i dont have any complaints. thanks sweetwater!

  • from The Woodlands, TX USA September 26, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Audio-Technica Rocks

    I hadn't ordered headphones in quite a while and needed a good quality sound at a reasonable price. This pair of headphones is over the top in sound quality and comfort. The clarity is absolutely amazing!

  • from Chicago September 21, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    These Cans Rock

    WA said it all. But gotta add my 2 cents.
    Had problems with the Sony's leaking into vox mix too much.
    Didn't want to edit in the mix so had to get some new cans.
    Crystal is all I can say, superiour isolation.
    Awesome!

  • from USA June 14, 2011Music Background:
    Music lover, Headphones collector.

    Exellent Closed-Back Headphones.

    I am using this for listen music from my Laptop and this headphones get loud and the sound is clean and balance compere to the Sony MDR V-6 that I also have. They are realy comfy in my head and I been wering them for hours with no trouble. Compere this with the V6 and I think those are more balance.

  • from Brooklyn, NY December 22, 2010Music Background:
    Porfessional Musician

    The NEW STANDARD

    I have owned several well known headphones in the last 15 years: AKG240s, DT990s, HD280s, Sony 7509s, the ATH-M50s are far more superior in all aspects than all of these former studio workhorses. I`ve been using the ATH-M50s for a year and they have dramatically improved the sound of my mixes.

    My advice with all gear is to audition all of it and see for yourself. I`m not a fan of bright sounding headphones like the Sony 7506s or the HD280s. The DT990s sound great but they cannot handle loudness w/o breaking up. The 240s are still a great purchase and I still use them for referencing but again, the ATH-M50s give me everything: balance, loudness, construction, comfort.

  • from January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Recording engineer, electronic production, Musician (drums, bass, keys)

    Incredible Imaging

    These headphones have the best stereo imaging of any headphones I've ever heard. Lately I've been listening to songs and albums that have been in collection for 10 years + and I'm hearing LOADS of sonic information that I've never heard before. It's not just WHERE sounds sit in the stereo image, it's how DETAILED those sounds are in their place. Great for mixing material that you want to create a wide space with.

    I've been using a pair of Sennheisers for last few years, and for the money they were pretty good. Compared to those, the ATHM50s are a bit brighter. There is definitely enough high and low shelf information to make a balanced mix, but not so crazy hyped that your mixes translate mid-heavy. Forget about spending $500 on Dre's Beats. These headphones, at way less than half the price, DESTROY the Beats.

    ATHM50s are balanced enough to mix with, but bold enough to listen to music with. From the iPod to the multi-million studio, these are a winner. YOU CAN'T LOSE.

  • from NC, USA November 13, 2013Music Background:
    recording engineer

    Best studio headphones

    These phones truly sound great and are generally tough enough for studio abuse! I gave them 4.5 stars because I have had cable failures on rare occasions, but on the other hand, I realize nothing is completely indestructible. You can use these for critical applications, too. They are very comfortable and provide plenty of isolation but they don't feel cumbersome or heavy. The best all around!

  • from Indianapolis, IN USA November 1, 2013

    Perfect for our FOH desk in sanctuary.

    Great headphones for checking the record mix bus feed. Closed backs and good seals work well to isolate the PA and ambient noise. Quick on and off, along with pivoting design lets me only use one ear easily.

  • from Bay City, MI August 20, 2013Music Background:
    Writer/Producer

    For Seriously

    These things just rule. I've been using SHR840's, DT770's HD380's, and these things just crush all of them. The only thing that is a bit of a gripe for me is that the cabe isnt detachable. Oh well, big deal. The fact that they crush everything above it's price point makes it worth it to be a little more carful when storing. Get these.

  • from June 21, 2013

    Great headphones

    Excellent headphones for the price!

  • from California April 18, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbist,Performer,educator.

    Great stuff you must have!

    ***ATH-M50S sounds great and works with any studio project.
    It's loud enough to hear every detail and quality is excellent. I will buy
    again from audioTechnica.***

  • from Conroe, TX, USA April 4, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    ATH-M50S

    I love the balanced sound with tight bass. It's very comfortable and on budget.

  • from Scotts Valley, CA May 3, 2012Music Background:
    Electronic Producer, Plug-in Software Engineer

    Great value

    Nice construction and design, great spectrum coverage, especially in the low end. Low impedance means they can be driven from a wide variety of sources at high volume. They can handle extreme levels. I use these in conjunction with AKG-k702s, which I use for clarity and accuracy, and these for bass and high-volume applications. For the price I have no problem gigging with these as well. Great product, very pleased.

  • from Australia October 6, 2011Music Background:
    Professional Songwriter/Producer

    ATH_M50S

    Love it! Good even response. Helps a lot when checking and comparing final mix between Near Field Speakers and Headphones.

  • from Seattle, WA December 15, 2010Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    Good cans

    I own several pairs of the Sony MDR-7506, which are my #1 reference headphone. I love them except they don't isolate outside sounds as well as I'd like for live concert tracking. This lead me to try out some other headphones.

    The problem I have with most headphones -- even very expensive "pro" models -- is very uneven midrange, and a ~250 Hz resonance that makes the mid-bass sound muddy. I tried Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro (80 ohm version), Ultrasone models (seriously disappointing), and Shure's $99 cans (truly horrible sounding -- why would they put their name on that??).

    Then I alighted upon the ATH-M50S. They are larger than the Sony headphones, more comfortable, more isolating, and sound almost as good!

    These headphones are great to listen to, as they have a fuller mid-bass than the Sony (too full for accuracy, but nice to listen to), and a bit more of a relaxed upper-mid. When switching between these and the Sonys, the Sonys started sounding peaky and harsh in the upper mids. The Audio Technicas, to my ears, actually sound better with classical/symphonic material. The sound is very pleasing. When I show a mix off to someone using my MP3 player, I had them these headphones rather than the Sony... It gives them that "wow" factor.

    These are a very worthy headphone, with good isolation, a nice, heavy-duty plug and plug adapter... Scratch that, the whole headset is rugged!

    Recommended.

  • from KCMO December 5, 2013Music Background:
    40+ years in the Music Business

    AT ATH-M50S great for vocal work

    Audio Techmica ATH-M50S are great headphones for use by vocalist for original tracking or overdubs.

  • from Orlando, FL July 14, 2012Music Background:
    Voice Over Professional

    ATH-M50S

    Not quite as noise cancelling as I thought, though for the price I am still quite satisfied. Real issue is angle of phones to clip. The head clip feels like it's too close to my forehead, just a weird angle. But they do have sharp clear playback sound, so overall is great.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA October 13, 2012Music Background:
    Producer

    Decent

    Highs are a bit tinny for my liking.

  • from Concord CA USA January 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist but also do audio work for my software development company.

    Ok, not great not bad.

    I was hoping for better and a neutral headphone for mixing ... but these aren't them. They sound good, but too much emphasis on the upper frequency range.

    As for comfort, they make my ears hot pretty quick ... not suitable for long durations.

  • from Mt. Vernon IN April 3, 2013Music Background:
    22 years as a recording engineer in Nashville TN

    Bad cable

    These sound great. However, right after the warranty ran out , they crapped out due to the weak hard wired cable connection to the cup. Headphones of this caliber and price should have a cable that can be easily unplugged and replaced.

Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M50S - Pro Studio Headphones w/ Straight Cable?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway