0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Audio-Technica ATH-M40x Closed-back Studio Monitoring Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 29 customer reviews
Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M40x Closed-back Studio Monitoring Headphones?

Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M40x Closed-back Studio Monitoring Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Saint Louis, MO April 24, 2017Music Background:
    Live Audio Production

    Beats the M50x hands down

    After listening to everything I can get my ears around, I think the M40x's are the best all-around sounding closed back headphones you can buy. (without being filthy rich)

  • from Saint Louis, MO April 24, 2017

    Beats the M50x hands down

    After listening to everything I can get my ears around, I think the M40x's are the best all-around sounding closed back headphones you can buy. (without being filthy rich)

  • from California February 27, 2017Music Background:
    Post-Metal

    You will not regret buying these

    I was initially hesitant to buy these and considered spending the extra $50-60 for the popular m50x's.. and let me tell you; you do not need to go any further than these. These extremely balanced headphones have great low and high freq response and are honest when it comes to your mix. I produce rock/metal music and immediately noticed many flaws in my mixes using these headphones. They are extremely comfortable and come with a detachable cable(s), which is awesome (I don't even think the m50x's have this feature).

    I've been listening to artists from Royksopp and Bjork to Gojira and Meshuggah with these headphones, and once again - these headphones don't lie. Clarity, balance, and comfort is what you get. Buy these now!

  • from January 28, 2017

    audio technica headphones

    Great set of headphones

  • from Pennsylvania December 2, 2016Music Background:
    DJ, Music Lover

    Superb sound at a ridiculously low price!

    There are several great headphones around this price point but the M40x is one of the best, if not the best. They are very easy to drive and sound great. If you haven't tried replacing the M40x stock ear pads with a pair of ZMF cowhide angled ear pads, I highly recommend doing it. The sound and comfort levels are raised significantly. I also own a pair of the M50xMG that have the ZMF angled cowhide ear pads and I think the M40x sounds as good and possibly better. Regardless, I can't recommend the ZMF ear pads enough and the M40x's are a steal at the low price you pay.

  • from September 9, 2016

    Great product, highly recommend

    These headphones fit well over the ear, they produce a great range of sound, they're comfortable and they do a very good job of drowning out ambient noise. For $100, they're a great value. You don't need to spend $300 to get high quality headphones.

  • from San Mateo, CA August 31, 2016Music Background:
    Performer and Recording artist

    Fit my head and fit the bill!

    I love the sound of these headphones, but especially how they close out the ambient room noise, which is what I needed most for recording. Lightweight, they are also comfortable for listening.

  • from Pesotum, IL July 13, 2016

    Great Headphones

    I got these at 50% off while attending Gearfest 2016. What a great buy. They sound awesome, they"re comfortable and they block outside noise very well. They are a little warm to wear but that's what you get with the closed design. No regrets!

  • from New York April 3, 2016

    World Class Performance and Value

    I own a lot of headphones... including 6 pairs of m30xs, a pair or m50s, m50x, and m70x (as well as a variety of Shure, Beyerdynamic, and Sennheiser cans). In my opinion, these are the gem of the mXXx line. I wish I had bought them sooner. The price is closer to the m30x, but with a replaceable cable which is worth every penny. The sound is truer than the m50/x, but doesn't lack for anything, except for extreme highs and maybe a bit of clarity in busier mixes, but it is far less harshly analytical than the m70x (which I'm still not sure how I feel about). It is something of a cross between the Beyerdynamic DT880 and m50x in both sound and application. They won't replace my 880s for mixing or my SRH1540s for critical listening, but they will definitely be my walking around headphones for a good while and could easily replace my m50/x and SRH840pro for monitoring and field recording for less cost. A complete no-brainer.

  • from September 1, 2015

    Great price, customer service & the headphones are quality

    I really like the ATH-M40x headphones. I have had them for about on a year. I am not a musician, but I can actually distinguish the various instruments being played in song, which is something I could not do with any of the other headphones I previously owned. What really makes me feel ok with spending $99 on set of headphones is the customer service I received. By far, Sweetwater's customer service is top-notch.

  • from USA August 5, 2015Music Background:
    50 YEARS A MUSICIAN

    straight and coil cord, great sound.

    Comfortable cans, the female vocalist is now focusing on her vocal, not on "they don't feel quite right on my head". she accidentally steps on the cable pulling it out but it plugs right back in, no time wasted taking the cans apart & soldering the cable back in. they sound as good as anyone could hope for in this price range. a straight & coiled cable arrive with each set of phones. home run so far as i'm concerned.

  • from Kingsford, MI United States March 1, 2015Music Background:
    Performing keyboardist and vocalist, hobby studio musician. Grower of gray hair!

    Great separation!

    I've been a performing musician for more years than I would like to admit. Let's just say at 54 yrs old my hearing is not the best anymore. When I put the headphones on in my studio, the clarity and separation of each tone was amazing,....even to these ears. Well worth every penny, and then some. Highly recommended.

  • from February 24, 2015

    Best Headphones I've Ever Bought

    These headphones were worth every penny. I only use them for when I have to do work on my laptop in public settings and they do an excellent job of shutting the world out. Through these headphones it sounds like I'm hearing everything for the first time.

  • from Anchorage, AK USA November 1, 2014Music Background:
    Home recording hobbiest, weekend warrior, live sound

    Best $99 spent in a long time!

    I was in the market for a set of ATH M50x as kind of an all-around daily use headphone that I could use use in the studio. After much research and hand-wringing, I decided to go in a different direction for my studio phones. I still needed a set of headphones for "general listening" and decided to give these a shot. The comfort, build quality, weight plus the convenience of being able to keep a cord plugged in at my studio while I take my headphones on the road with the shorter cable, make these headphones, at this price, unmatched by any other sub $100 headphone on the market, in my opinion.

  • from Albany, OR October 1, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Great headphones for the price!

    I bought these being used to apple earbud heaphones and let me tell you now this is how music should sound! These headphones are super comfortable and have a very thick leather padding. I love how you can replace the earcups for a cheap price. It really shows that they want you to use these for a while and aren't "throw away" headphones. The sound quality is flat of course, that's what the 40x's are and I like that. I'll probably get the 50x's next when the price drops below 150. The x series did just come out this year so that might be a while. My only complaint with these headphones is that after long periods of time I get a headache due to the pressure on my glasses. Simple solution, take off the glasses! If you have worse vision than me though, they're basically reading glasses that sharpen things from far away, then you may wanna be careful with these. I haven't broken them in yet though so after 30+ hours of use they will probably stretch out. I love the detachable cables! I used the coiled for commuting to college. I got really great service from Sweetwater too. I've actually had this good of customer service. I even got called on my phone to ask about my headphones from a really nice guy named Matt McKible. You won't regret ordering these headphones or from Sweetwater.

  • from July 6, 2014

    Love at first Purchase

    First of all let say this is my first Sweetwater purchase and I'm loving it.
    Great price, service, shipping etc etc Kudos all around guys!
    Now for the headphones
    The Pros:
    Light weight
    comfort
    interchangeable cables
    Balanced sound (lows, mids, highs)
    Cons:
    These headphones don't insulate sound as well as other closed headphones. At a loud Starbucks I can here the lyrics from the song being played. Not a big con for me but if you will be using these in a loud environment you need to consider insulation

  • from NYC June 1, 2017Music Background:
    Independent Artist

    These Are All Right!

    I bought these headphones in order to monitor myself when I am doing voice over. I also write, record and mix my own music. I was looking at a lot of headphones and settled on these after looking at the M50x. All the reviews said there is not much difference. These sound great. Here are some insights regarding things said about these...

    Build- They aren't tanks, but if you don't manhandle them, they seem fine. I wouldn't let the uninitiated use them in a studio. Unfolding them doesn't need to be gingerly done, but there are a few cro-magnons out there who think the only way to solve a problem is to pull or smash. These are not the cans for them. (You know who you are.)

    Comfort- When I'm not wearing glasses I have no prob and can wear the the M40x's for hours. Glasses it's a different story. I sometimes wear thick frames (so fashionable!) and after an hour the pressure hurts. You shouldn't wear headphones that long anyway, but after a break, the law of diminishing returns kicks in.

    Fidelity- I've compared my mixes on other devices and found the flat response translated to nice mixes.

    All in all, after a few weeks, they are holding up fine and are helping me get more work done, all at a great price. Daddy like!

  • from Huntington, NY, USA November 22, 2016Music Background:
    Musician, Recording/Sound/Video Engineer.

    Happy Ears

    Super happy with these for recording sessions. Light weight, good fit on all heads, excellent sound. Bonus - two cords - one straight, one curly. I hate curly cords - always tangling! But some folks prefer them, so it's great to have both.

  • from Rochester NY October 1, 2015Music Background:
    Keyboard, synth, live sound.

    ATH-M40x, Hear everything

    These are one of the nicest sets of headphones I have ever put on my head. In addition to being very comfortable even over long periods, the sound balance is beautiful. You can hear everything, even very dim/underlying background/synth lines, with great clarity. Covers the full range without any frequencies overpowering the rest. In addition, the inclusion of cables for both 3/4 inch and 3.5 mm is very convenient. Overall, for the price, a very good product.

  • from July 14, 2015

    Looking for flat-frequency headphones for $100-$300? This is the one to get

    If you're looking for flat-frequency headphones that you want to use for monitoring or production work within the $100-$300 price range, I've got to say, this is the one to get; especially when paired with a good amplifier.

    It's very sturdy, built to last, and works amazingly well in most types of environments. From Audio-Tech's new lineup of MX headphones, this is definitely the one to beat. Its' frequency response is much flatter compared to that of the flagship model's, ATH-M50X, which I feel was made for a more commercialized market population due its' emphasis on the bass freq's. So basically, you're paying extra for a slightly better build/quality and more bass (which is what I was not looking for).

    I use this in the studio all the time, and when I need to take my production work with me on the road. The only cons I would point out are that these are closed back, so sound spacing and stage presence aren't the best compared to open back headphones, and your ears tend to get a little hot after prolonged usage.

    That doesn't deter me much though.
    So would I recommend these to anyone? Yes. yes. yes. yes.

  • from South Louisiana May 23, 2015Music Background:
    Producer/Arranger/Guitarist

    Great Rival to Sony 7506

    I bought the AT4033Cl/ATH-M40x package from Sweetwater when it was on sale at the time of this writing. I'd been eying the 4033 for a while and when the headphones were included with no addition charge- basically ($399 is what the mic usually costs), I decided to jump on it. Frankly, I was reticent about the headphones. I bought some AT40's (not sure if it's the exact model of the predecessor of these) and to this day I believe the tweeters were left out of those cans! There was nothing above 3K that I could hear- nasty! Unbelievably nasty, in fact! When these came in I thought, "hmmmm... let's check this out..." I put them on right after wearing a pair of vintage 7506's I've owned for 14 years- that still sound great- and was nicely pleased with what I heard! They aren't quite as bright as the Sony's but that's probably a good thing because those headphones have been known for being a bit on the bright side. There's ample bass response and the top end is nice- very nice for $99 headphones! I'd recommend them!

  • from Chicago, IL USA November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, home studio

    best bang for your buck

    Simply the best in this price range!

  • from March 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best Under $100 Headset

    I own the Ath M50, T500,Pro700 (GOLD), SONY MDRV6, PHILIPS X1.KRK 8400..plus others that I sold away.
    The M40X gives you clarity, separation, decent deep bass, slightly better open sound compare to the M50, it sounds 90% like the M50 at almost half the price. And yes, it can be used for studio monitoring. Skip the M20/30X …. The M40X has the best value for price ratio. The M50X will may be offer users a better built design with stronger bass. But for those who wish to find the best headset below $100…at 15Hz-24kHz, the M40X is a Winner !

  • from Huntington Beach June 3, 2015Music Background:
    Play for fun

    Great headphones for the price

    I did a ton of research and these are the best headphones for the price, Their great for mixing and recording. Overall pretty these headphones are pretty awesome.

  • from April 19, 2015

    Audio-Technica Headphones

    Far better than the others I've tried.

  • from Missouri March 18, 2015Music Background:
    DJ

    Audio Technica ATH-M40X

    I bought these because my old audio technical M40fs that I had for 3-4 years finally 1 side of head phone has played out. I had great expectations on the M40X thinking that they was a upgraded version. What's better is the Head band is more sturdy, I'm not expecting it to shred off like the M40fs. The Headphones fold up & the ear cups rotate more. Those are the upgraded parts. The con is that the ear cushions seem to be a little harder than the M40fs that might make the headphones more noise cancelling or maybe I haven't broke them in yet but the M40fs cushions was very soft from the day I bought them. I've used them maybe 5 or 6 times for approximately 30 hours they still haven't soften up. The sound quality is the same as the M40fs.

  • from pittsburgh, pa October 11, 2014Music Background:
    recording engineer

    great noise cancelling, maybe a little bit tight around the ears

    These are a far cry over my last set of headphones. Great quality. They are a little bit clench-y on the ol' ears, though that's after hours and hours of them being on my head.

    I like how they're "swivel earcups" allow for it to be easily stored and makes it somewhat awkward-damage proof.

  • from December 6, 2016

    Swivel is annoying!

    I've had these for a few months in my studio and while they sound great, the swivel ears cups are really annoying. None of my clients can figure them out and everyone thinks they are breaking them when trying to get them to fold out properly. I bought a pair of the ATH-M30s. Practically the same design but with no swivel. I like them much more and would recommend those instead.

  • from February 27, 2017Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Sounded good, but . . .

    I would give these a 5 star rating if they didn't break from a flawed design and became useless. They do have great sound for their inexpensive price. But . . . where the ear pieces swivel, the plastic has way too much stress on it (poor engineering) and will crack and break off in time, rendering them useless. With mine, one side broke off completely and the other side is cracked in the same identical spot. If I could still use them, it too would break off soon. How long were they cracked before one of them broke off, I don't know, as I never suspected them to do so and wasn't checking for cracks in the plastic. If I had seen the cracks before the one side broke off, there isn't anything I could have done to prevent it anyway. I never dropped them, nor abused them, and always hung them on a hook to protect them, as I really loved them until they broke. Audio Technica's Customer service was very quick to respond to my request to buy the broken parts, but wanted me to ship them to them for repair. With MY cost for 'return' shipping, plus their repair cost, I might as well go for a new pair and keep the broken one for spare parts. That said, I would not buy these again however, as I would not want to go through the disappointment again of the plastic breaking into two pieces. If I didn't use them much, they might have lasted forever, but as I use them on a daily basis in the studio, it was just a matter of time before the plastic cracks, breaks off, and they no longer can be used. A perfect example of "a chain being only as strong as its weakest link". Audio Technica will kindly offer to repair them, though spending the time to fix the poor engineering might be time better spent. As I really liked them before they broke, I had recommended them to several of my sound engineering buddies as a good inexpensive investment. Hopefully they didn't buy them, as I don't want to be responsible when their's eventually snap into two pieces like mine sadly did.

    I have noticed other reviewers with the same exact problem. That is not hard to believe considering the problem. Whether it is flawed engineering, or the plastic's fault, please be warned, this might and probably will happen to you if you buy this product, unless you just buy it and hardly ever it.. It really is a shame, as they were nice until they snapped in two, from no fault of mine.

Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M40x Closed-back Studio Monitoring Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway