0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Audio-Technica ATH-M30x Closed-back Monitoring Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M30x Closed-back Monitoring Headphones?

Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M30x Closed-back Monitoring Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from North Carolina May 3, 2017Music Background:
    playing guitar since 1987

    great headphones!

    Wow - from the minute you open the box, you KNOW these are quality headphones. The isolation is amazing. The sound is excellent and balanced, not overly bass-heavy like mainstream "listening" headphones. I like that the cord is quite long - I can easily stay plugged in as I get up from my desk to grab a guitar or whatever... There is also a 1/8" to 1/4" adapter for different sized connections. The included draw-string bag is a nice touch too. I am very satisfied with my purchase.

  • from Massachusetts November 22, 2016Music Background:
    Shred

    Good price, good quality

    This is my first pair of decent closed back headphones. I am not sure how I have been listening to music all these years without these. I have nothing to compare them too as they are my first endeavor into headphones, but they sound great, and I'm hearing things I've never heard before.

  • from Northeast Connecticut March 16, 2016Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Great headphones

    I bought these for my son and have to admit they're pretty sweet. His older brothers were tired of him borrowing their Beats but personally, I think these sound better. Can't go wrong for the money!

  • from Western Mass November 27, 2015

    More than expected

    I got these for tracking guitars, but they sound fantastic for home use as well. Very rich bass and excellent clarity.

  • from San Jose, CA August 1, 2014Music Background:
    none

    Audio-Technica ATH-M30x Monitoring Headphones - Closed : GREAT

    Very good quality and sound. Great value.

  • from Round Rock, TX May 7, 2014Music Background:
    Long-time Picker

    Great Product and Customer Srevice

    Sweet..These are really well performing headphones and at a budget anyone can afford. Thanks Sweet!

  • from January 3, 2017

    The Audio-Technica ATH-M30x closed- back Monitoring Headphones

    I love the crisp, clear balanced (left and right) sound levels in both ears I hear when I use them.
    There is an excellent even, solid, balanced in the low, mid and high sound levels;
    plus excellent sound level panned in the center I hear in vocals and instruments (piano, guitar, bass, horns, vocals).

    I appreciate and love that the padded left and right ears are collapsible, comfortable on my ears and the headphones easily fit into the drawstring carrying pouch for convenience.

  • from November 6, 2016

    Great cans

    Great for mixing translates very well

  • from Marion, IN. November 11, 2015Music Background:
    35 years gigging musician

    Good headphones for the money

    I bought these primarily for monitoring while recording. These are relatively inexpensive headphones, so you can't expect them to perform like the pricey ones do, but they are quite adequate for my purposes. They have good bass response.The folding design is nice and compact when folded in the included storage bag. Construction is mostly plastic, so they might not be best for heavy use situations. With proper care, they should have a long lifespan. They are comfortable to wear for extended periods. I am happy with them overall.

  • from Illinois USA September 2, 2014Music Background:
    Audiophile / Hobbyist

    A high quality bang for the buck product from Audio Technica - as usual

    Ive had my ATHM30X headphones for a few days now and I am very satisfied overall. As has been suggested they did benefit from a break in period. Having not bought a new set of phones in literally decades I had no idea just how they would sound. The build quality is very
    good as expected with good comfort and the sound platform is as described by the Audio Technica spec. info. The sound is very good, no muddy bass, no distortion or weak areas and all sounds are heard clearly across the range - but - I believe my old age hearing may be at fault here when I say I wished for a bit more crispness on the high end, -- to be fair im 54 years old with much loud music under my belt and I suspect my upper range is much lower these days, its the same when I listen to speakers - and as the AT info states, these are tuned to be flat across the audio spectrum with a slight emphasis on the midrange, which I knew before buying. With that in mind I have to say near as I can tell - they easily meet or exceed the given specs and claims, and then some. The headphones are efficient and easily driven, they don't require a huge input to get decent volume, at least from my Harman Kardon HK3475 receiver - a bit over 1/4 on the volume gives more than enough clean volume in the headset. And the bass, while not overboosted is definitely there, as well as accurate and solid with no distortion. If youre an extreme basshead these probably aren't for you, but if your an audiophile that wants good quality full range sound representation with a somewhat enhanced midrange, accurate solid bass and this is your price range, the M30x is a top contender - hard to go wrong here, Audio Technica is a brand Ive always trusted and one of the few companies that hasn't sold out and went downhill over the years. Overall im satisfied and feel these phones are a great bang for the buck.

  • from Boulder CO March 26, 2014Music Background:
    Professional player and teacher

    Killer for the price

    Really good for the price. They do a really good job at blocking outside sounds. Good bass response. Very happy I bought these.

  • from May 10, 2017

    Not bad at all

    After watching several reviews saying these were great (especially for the prince) I decided to purchase these for myself. The frequency response is surprisingly flat. Some would think the bass is a little low, but I think that's just because people are so used to the low end being cranked up in most headphones.

    I use these for mixing in Reason and even an hour or two into a track when I have up to a dozen instruments going at once, they all seem to shine through clearly. Listening to tracks I've only heard on my speakers through these made all the difference. Lots of voices and tones came through that I never heard before.

    Great headphones for the price, just don't expect to be blown away.

  • from January 28, 2017

    Very nice for the price

    Good solid headphone for the price,happy with them for what i need them for

  • from May 2, 2016

    crisp clean sound

    delivers more than i expected!

  • from Davenport, IA August 29, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar player with personal home studio/ Audio aficionado

    Mixed feelings

    I have mixed feelings on this headset. They are very comfortable for long use. They sound great. The problem I have found is that you can't just set them down and pick them back up and just put them back on. There are two hinged points which seems to cause a specific problem. They have an uncanny ability to flip the ear pieces into every combination that puts them into a "See if you can get these back into wearable configuration in under two minutes" mode. It is annoying as hell. Now if you are compelled to set them down perfectly EVERY TIME and pick them back up perfectly, then you will have no problem. Same perfection needed if using a hanger. You CANNOT set them down and pick them up one-handed and get them back on without using two hands, without being annoyed or think they are going to break. For those people that have time to be meticulous about how you handle your headphones, these should not be a problem. If you don't have time to mess with this situation, you'll want to pass on these. I'm thinking about super gluing the first hinge joint. I believe this will stop the problem. But that just seems inappropriate to have to super glue a brand new set of headphones. The extra hinge point does not enable you to fold one ear piece in for single ear listening as that configuration is not wearable.

  • from Texas February 10, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Hobbyist

    Almost Great

    These are great sounding headphones for the price. I selected these because of the good reviews but I had a problem wearing them for longer than 15 - 20 minutes because they were not very comfortable. Could be that I just have big ears. If not for the comfort issue, I would have rated them the full 5 stars. Probably can't beat the sound anywhere for this price point.

  • from August 17, 2016Music Background:
    Mixer

    Fine for tracking, can't mix on them though

    I've owned these headphones for over a year. They sound fine for tracking, but they color sound by adding lots of 1k area. They unfortunately makes everything sound somewhat harsh and annoying. Just don't try and mix on these and you'll be fine. I'd give 5 stars for tracking, and maybe 1 star for mixing as it would be impossible to generate a descent mix unless you EQ'd the headphones.

  • from Austin June 8, 2016Music Background:
    Video Editor

    Not Comfortable

    I am not a fan of these headphones. They do sound pretty good, but not GREAT! They are a good deal, but I have heard more bass, and clearer highs from headphones at the same price. The major downside for me is how much they hurt/ fatigue my ears after wearing them for more than about 10 minutes. I cant even take it, and always go back to ear buds. its a shame.

Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M30x Closed-back Monitoring Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway