0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Audio-Technica ATH-M2X Mid-size Open-back Dynamic Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M2X Mid-size Open-back Dynamic Headphones?

Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M2X Mid-size Open-back Dynamic Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Columbus December 19, 2015Music Background:
    Intermediate

    Audio Technica ATH-M2X Headphones

    I like to practice with accompany music. In the past, I have used typical closed back headphones. Then I discovered this type of headphone. Gang, if you play to accompany music or want to hear other singers, plus your music, this is a must. For the instrument player, wanting to hear their instrument, plus the accompaniment track at the same time, these are the bomb. A real bonus is the 12' of cord that is flat, not coiled. This allows you to move about freely, without the worry of a coiled cord popping them off your head. I wish, I could have found out about these years ago.

  • from Bayside, NY November 16, 2015Music Background:
    Church Choir Director

    Great value, great deal!

    Rich bass & treble but comfortable to my ears. never thought I could get this quality headphone for 28$.

  • from Clinton, ME April 16, 2014Music Background:
    Just a hobbyist but asked to join a band

    Can't imagine needing more than these

    I purchased two pairs of Headphones, mostly for practicing guitar without disturbing the household. These were very inexpensive so I figured even if they weren't much, they didn't cost much.
    Wow, was I ever surprised. These are very clear, compact, comfortable with a nice rich tone. They sound as nice as playing with the speakers on with no static or break-up when cranking up the volume.
    These are perfect for my needs. I had planned on keeping these in the bedroom and later getting a nice, expensive pair. Not going to happen now, these are my nice pair. If anything, I will get another set of these.
    I like that they are so compact, comfortable on the head, rich sounding and the cable is nice and long. The other set I bought had a very short cable, I prefer this set. They are sitting on my speaker now, just waiting to be used.

  • from Mission Viejo, CA January 22, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro, game developer that makes his own music

    Best $30 headphones

    I was looking for something light and cheap to work with when doing beat making and melodies for game apps I develop. I usually do this work after the kids go to bed or on the go. I was using high end Sony ear buds but not getting enough bass response. I also own AKG 240 and Senn 280 HD headphones but prefer to use those when mixing and tracking. The cord is really long but is much better then too short. These will give you excellent bass response at low volumes with a small amount of mid and high frequency loss. If you are looking for headphones with great bass that are super comfy and CHEAP, look no further.

  • from Kodiak Island,AK June 6, 2012Music Background:
    NONE

    LOVE THESE HEADPHONES

    June 6th, 2012
    To Whom This Concerns!
    I bought this headset back in the later part of 2009! All I can say id that they are the bomb, especially if you Love Stereo and a beautiful bass and fulness!!!! not now like those cheap headphones that does not give you such a beautiful rich full sound with a very excellent base!
    You will not be reget owing this head !!!!
    Polae 2[Eya-Andrea]

  • from Houston, Texas December 14, 2016

    Great Value

    This was one of the best values that I have come across in a long time, Great Sound for the money you will not be disappointed. I like them so much I bought a set for work as well as home.

  • from The Midwest December 29, 2014Music Background:
    Rocker

    The Audio-Technica ATH-M2X On-Ear Headphones - Open

    I bought these for a specific purpose: a low-cost alternative to earbuds in the office environment. I have come to dislike sticking anything into my ear - except proper earplugs - and I need to be aurally connected to the workplace. An open-back headphone is one solution. It certainly is an improvement over my usual compromise of working music-free.

    I went for a low-cost model for two reasons - first, to demonstrate whether the concept works, and if somebody swipes it out of my cubicle I can shrug off the loss. Could happen.

    They don't sound great. They sound OK and that's fine with me. I have some great sounding cans, like the ATH-M50x and the workhorse MDR-7506. The ATH-M2X isn't going to replace those. It sounds OK - good enough.

    As to proof of concept - exactly as predicted. I can maintain a groovy state of mind while staying aware of my surroundings.

    Construction is utilitarian. They've been stuffed in and out of my backpack enough times now that if they were going to break, they probably would have.

  • from Lakewood, WA December 1, 2015

    Very good for $30!

    Let's face it, you generally don't get much for 30 bucks these days. I would say that these are one of the best inexpensive pairs of headphones I have purchased recently. The build quality isn't anything spectacular, but the sound quality is actually pretty good!

  • from Farmingville, NY March 19, 2017Music Background:
    Gigging/session

    Cheap

    The price is good on these and they're better than using earbuds but they really aren't anything worth singing praises about. The padding on the ear pieces is comfortable but they're clumsy when adjusting them to fit. The sound quality is pretty bad, fizzy and crackly on playback.

    The price and open back are good and they're handy to have as a spare set in the studio but if you're doing anything serious I definitely recommend spending a little more money.

Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M2X Mid-size Open-back Dynamic Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway