0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Audio-Technica ATH-M20x Closed-back Monitoring Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M20x Closed-back Monitoring Headphones?

Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M20x Closed-back Monitoring Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Farmingville, NY March 19, 2017Music Background:
    Gigging/session

    Best for the money.

    Really great headphones for the money, on par with my Sennheiser's but half the cost. They're really comfortable and provide great sound for mixing.

  • from December 31, 2016Music Background:
    No talent atall

    Head Phones

    I bought these headphones for my son, and he loves the fit and the sound quality of the Audio Technica ATH - M20x headset. Thank you so much for this awesome product! He is a happy bass man!

  • from Williamsburg VA December 6, 2016Music Background:
    Bass Guitar

    Great headphones.

    Used primarily for Bass guitar practice and they seem to handle the lows very well.

  • from Henderson, NV November 16, 2016Music Background:
    Musician

    The Best Bang for the Buck!

    I was simply amazed by the sound quality of these headphone I will be looking to purchase another pair soon! Thanks to Chris Lewis of Sweetwater!

  • from Crescent City, CA April 30, 2016

    Great Value

    Very comfortable, clear and well balanced, could use these all day. Just the thing when you have a neighbor calling the Sheriff at Mid-day and you're on a tight budget.

  • from May 22, 2015Music Background:
    Mixing/Mastering

    Best value for money - Best in its class

    Used for 7months and counting...I am extremely satisfied with these.

    The headphone is an excellent piece in terms of its build quality and sound clarity. I already own and have used extensively Sennheiser HD201 and HD202 II models. I was looking for an upgrade which I did to my expectations.

    The headphones are much louder when used with both PC and my iPod shuffle (as compared to HD201). My main purpose for choosing this product was music mixing and monitoring, and they do excellent job there. Every detail is reproduced as it should be, be it in any frequency range. Bass is crisp, not too boomy, mids and highs are crystal clear with no feel whatsoever of any part being attenuated. Yes, in almost every second song I heard, which I used to hear with HD201, I could find some of other place which was unheard before. The soundstage of these cans is much better than both the sennheiser cans.
    The ear cups are large and even big ears fit in very comfortably (as compared to HD202 ||, which is said to be over the ear, but is not so comfortable for long use).

    In out-of-home conditions, if it is bit hot, then I found bit of sweating in ears after use of half an hour or so, but in cold of AC/fan, these were extremely comfortable with no heat inside. I used them for 3 hrs at a stretch, multiple times, with no sign of discomfort on my head.

    These perform great in canceling the external sounds. In my office it becomes quite noisy at times, due to peers discussing something. I wearing this headphone, sometimes don't even realize if someone is around!

    Although very minimal yet there is some sound leakage from these headphones, which can be heard if I record my vocals using a good quality mic. But this leakage is not at all disturbing or annoying.

    Build quality is great too. Even after being dropped many times, they are still in same shape, no marks what so ever. Also I keep them loose in my backpack while traveling and they are good to go.

    In summary, :
    Build quality : Very good
    Comfort for long usage : Very good
    Sound Clarity : Excellent
    Sound stage : Good
    Noise cancellation : Good
    Sound Leakage: Good
    So overall this is the best in its class producing true sound which any sound mixing/mastering engineer can rely upon.

  • from Defiance ohio May 12, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar

    Audio technica

    Super nice sound great

  • from Kiev, UA October 17, 2014Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    Awesome deal

    if you are looking for a great set of earphones without breaking the bank, look no further. I was totally blown away by the quality and comfort. and the best of all, is Sweetwater's commitment to price and customer satisfaction.

  • from October 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Superb Headphones

    These headphones are very professional looking items plus the quality of the sound it delivers. The most important part is that they are very affordable!

  • from Colorado, USA May 31, 2014Music Background:
    Former touring musician, Recording engineer.

    Great, accurate headphones

    I've had these headphones for a few years now. They're my go-to for tracking and reference mixing. They're relatively even and flat, neither overly hyped in the lows, nor too sparkly in the highs. You really can't get any better for the price.

  • from United States April 24, 2014Music Background:
    Singer Songwriter/producer

    AWSOME HEADPHONES!!!!!

    GREAT HEADPHONES SPECIALLY FOR THE PRICE!!! I DEFF RECOMMEND THESE TO ANYONE

  • from January 30, 2017

    Great for the price.

    The sound quality is very good for the low price - I've heard headphones up to $ more that sound far muddier than these.
    The equalization is also good, as far as I can tell. It sounds flat to me, and captures a nice range of Hz.
    They fit snugly and only become uncomfortable when I've been wearing them for 6+ hours.
    I haven't encountered a problem with them yet, and if I do, I've got a one year warrenty.
    Also, if you like long cables for your headphones, you're getting one that is 10 feet long.
    Highly recommended!

  • from Southern NJ December 9, 2016

    Just Right !

    If you are looking for a decent priced headset, seeking quality sound and excellent comfort then this is for you. Even after hours of use the ATH-M20x still provides a comfortable fit with the right amount of grip to keep them firmly in place. All padded surfaces are quality material. The cord is soft and well placed. Very light weight .... feels like the weight of a ball cap hat on your head.

  • from MESA November 14, 2016Music Background:
    Beginner guitarist

    Nice sound! Very comfortable

    These headphones have exceeded my expectations for this price point. I would buy again.

  • from Pensacola, FL September 25, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter, guitarist, semi-pro musician, home studio owner

    Very Nice

    These are some very good headphones for the price. Very comfortable with a balanced sound response.

  • from Bismarck, MO April 11, 2016

    Fantastic comfort

    I am really surprised at the comfort of these headphone and the sound is great.
    I use them mostly to practice with my guitars or my Cigar box guitars.
    I wear glasses and I can use theses Audio Tech headphones for long periods of time without any discomfort on the ears.
    I have other headphones that I can only wear for maybe 30 minutes before I have to remove them. They fit very tight But, the Audio-Tech phones I can wear from an hour to two hours and have no issue.
    Great Comfort and sound and they block 90 percent of outside noise. Best headphones found for under 50 bucks.

  • from Las Vegas July 19, 2015

    Read this Review

    I am very impressed with these for the satisfying deep bass response they produce. A week or so ago I purchased the SHURE SRH550DJ phones. They have 50mm drivers which are 10 mm larger than these ATH-M20x, yet these are just as impressive to my ears. I purchased the 550DJ for exclusively for my Guitar / Bass amp practice. I was using them also for the television out jack to watch TV or play a video game to unwind in the other room, but I didn't want to keep unplugging and carrying them from room to room. So I figured I would spend an easy $50 and get a pair for specifically for my entertainment fix. The SHURE phones are priced at $100 and I feel they are worth that price point. Yet these are $50 cheaper and yield a sound experience that to my ears are comparable. While these ATH-M20x are around the ear and the SHURE phones are over the ear in style, to me they are both very satisfying to use. For now I can't think of much I'll need to buy except some strings or minor accessories from time to time, so I'll miss the great service that Sweetwater is known for, I guess I'll have to go down to the corner store to get something sweet if I get the urge. You can't beat the free shipping either. 4.5 is my rating for a really great pair of phones.

  • from February 2, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Production major

    Definitely go for it

    For a $50 pair of monitoring headphones these will do wonderfully. I am an audio production major and at least for now these are perfect. They're even, they sound great, and they're inexpensive. Had me sold and they get the two thumbs up MM

  • from Houston, TX March 10, 2014Music Background:
    Piano student

    Great Value

    I purchased these to use with my electronic keyboard for practicing while others are sleeping. They are much better than others I tried. Fast, excellent shipping from Sweetwater.

  • from February 23, 2017

    Great for use with guitar amp

    I use these when playing my electric guitar and do not want to disturb others. The headphones seem very well made, and are quite comfortable to wear for several hours at a time.

  • from February 6, 2017Music Background:
    Musician/ Song writer

    Awesome headset

    These did not disappoint me. Crisp and clean. What would of made these a five star rating is a coiled cord but other than that, I am very pleased. Great studio headphones.

  • from Georiga November 16, 2016Music Background:
    9127543246

    Headphones

    Great headphones for the price!!!!

  • from GEORGIA October 14, 2016

    TH-M20x

    Light and comfortable
    Price is not bad either
    Highly recommended

  • from mishawaka, in September 7, 2014Music Background:
    producer, engineer, and musician

    get the job done

    Gives good sound for mixing, but it needs more volume. Also it needs more bass. They do what they pose to, work for me.

  • from LA, CA March 15, 2014

    Not bad for the money

    These have got to be the best cans in this price range. Theyíre pretty comfortable, the sound is surprisingly less hyped than most of their competitors, and build quality is definitely not bad. These donít feel anything like the older audio technica headphones, for good or bad. They fit a little tighter than the old ones. But they arenít bad, sort of like if the MD7507 and HD280s had a baby. Good set for tracking, and at this price you could get enough for the whole band.

Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M20x Closed-back Monitoring Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway