rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Audient ASP880 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Audient ASP880?

Questions about the Audient ASP880?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Cincinnati, OH May 14, 2017

    Warm Eight Channel Pre Amp

    This is the second Audient ASP880 preamp I have purchased from Sweetwater. I purchased my first one following a recommendation from my Sweetwater Engineer Nick LaMendola. I was so impressed with the quality, functionality and warmth of this pre amp that I had to have a second one to get 8 more channels. You get a lot for you money with these preamps. If you are still on the fence, checkout Sound on Sound reviews for this preamp. You will not be disappointed. Thanks for the recommendation Nick!

  • from Carlsbad, CA April 21, 2017

    Nice addition....

    Wanted to expand my apollo 8p to 16 preamps and for the price you can't beat this product. I bought this device primarily for drum tracking. I use my apollo preamps for the drum shells, the audient for cymbals and overheads. It merries nicely with the 8p, no clocking/sample rate issues whatsoever.

  • from Peoria IL April 5, 2017Music Background:
    Studio owner, Guitarist

    Fantastic Value

    I was looking for an 8 channel preamp/converter to expand my Apollo 8 to 16 channels. I have had the Focusrite, Presonus, Motu and several others in the past and was never satisfied with the quality. I wanted something that would be on par with the preamps and conversion of the Apollo and was convinced that it did not exist. I explained what I was looking for to my Sweetwater rep Ryan Sloan and he recommended the Audient ASP880. I could not believe that I had not seen this unit before as I had been all over the Sweetwater website. The price point was a little more than I was wanting to spend but after researching both the ASP880 and Audient I realized that it is a fantastic value for what you get. After getting the ASP880 and using it for the first time I was blown away! The preamps sound amazing and the quality is awesome. I wanted it mostly to record drums and with the high pass filters on every channel it is perfect for that. The only issue I had was with clocking through the ADAT cable with the Apollo. When I connected the word clock to the Apollo everything clocked perfectly. Another awesome feature is that you can just use the preamps separately if you want to use your converters. The preamps in this unit alone are worth the money.

  • from Cincinnati, OH February 5, 2017

    Full Featured Pre with Warm Sound

    This is a full featured 8 channel Mic preamp with warm analog sound. I am currently using this preamp to record directly into ProTools via ADAT light pipes through an RME Babyface Pro interface. I am delighted with the quality of sound I am able to record using the ASP880...quite amazing...and at a very competitive price point! Definitely a very nice addition to my Project Studio.

  • from Tampa, FL January 9, 2017

    Excellent solution for ADAT expansion

    The ASP880 was the perfect solution for expanding my number of preamps via ADAT. My main interface is a Focusrite Red4Pre. It has 4 great on board analog preamps and the ability to receive 4 more analog inputs via DB25 connection or 8 new ones if you bypass the Focusrite's 4 preamps to line in mode.

    I use a Toslink cable and a word clock cable to link the ASP880 and the Red4Pre. I have tested both protocols of master/slave clocking and am happy with both results. The converters on the ASP880 work well and are very stable and accurate. With my setup, I prefer the Red 4Pre to be the master clock source. The great thing is though - it is easy to toggle and calibrate these adjustments. The front panel of the ASP880 is well laid out and intuitive. There is no menu diving. Settings for all 8 channels are accessible right on the front panel with nice contrasting colors on the buttons to immediately show what is going on.

    Recording with the ASP880 has been great. The preamps have an extremely low noise floor, yet they are not 'clinical' sounding. They have a nice sound that can be warm and glued, somewhere in the middle, or bright and punchy. The three settings on the impedance levels for each of the 8 preamps are probably my favorite feature. Being able to quickly test out either the low, mid, or high levels with the flick of a switch is great for being able to audition different tones for microphones, synthesizers, drum machines, digital keyboards, and guitars. I haven't hooked up a full drum set to the ASP 880 yet, but other reviewers have strongly attested to that task being the sole purpose for acquiring these excellent rack-mounted unit.

    If you are looking to expand your number of preamps via ADAT, I strongly recommend looking at the Audient ASP880.

  • from Atlanta/Dallas/Los Angeles June 9, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Audio Engineer/Composer/Recording Studio & Post House Owner

    One of the best 8 Channel preamplifier modules on the market - In ANY price range.

    Where do I start...

    How about here: As the owner of a medium sized professional recording studio & post production facility, I've had a chance to see many pieces of equipment come and go. Over this period of time I've seen all of the following 8 channel pres come and some go: Focusrite ISA828, True Systems Precision 8, Seventh Circle Audio (w/ Neve 1073 clone/modules in all slots), Focusrite Octopre MKII, Millennia HV3D, and the Grace Design 908.

    I'm not exaggerating when I say it's my favorite out of all those listed above, with some notable praise for a few of them intact. Specifically, the Precision 8 is neck and neck with the ASP880 - But it's over twice the price. The Millennia also is a great product, but also falls into the pit of being prohibitively expensive - plus it does one thing - super clear - although it does it really well. For the money, the Octopre is also a smashing value at just under $500 and is also a one trick pony - however the quality of the pres are great considering the price, nearly as good as that of the ISA series. They're clean, don't have tons of gain, and might be a little sterile at times. They are great for upping your channel count quickly for little cash. I've tracked some very decent tracks on those pres.

    Now, back to my favorite - the ASP880.

    The pres are super clear and impart a lovely color at higher gain levels and/or Hi-Z settings; it's the kind of color that stays out of the way and doesn't mud up the mix when stacked - I'd describe it as coloration without sacrificing clarity or bite and is rich with plesant harmonic overtones. At lower gain settings, the preamps are clean and clear - definition for days, never sterile. The JFET DI's sound fantastic and are among the best in my studio for DI. I would readily describe the quality of the preamps themselves as on par with many popular single or dual channel reamps costing in excess of $1000 per channel (or even more).

    So the real moment when my head explodes is when I combine the quality of the preamps sound, the versatility, 8 channel count, two great JFET DI's and... yep, you read it right: Burr Brown Op Amp driven Analog to Digital converters... say WHAT?

    ::Head explodes::

    Seriously, go buy one.
    I recommend you deal with Sweetwater sales rep Jake Longardner; He's a pro and he will go out of his way to accommodate your requests and needs there at sweetwater. I'd never buy from another. Plus if you're not a fulltime audio pro like me, and want to learn more about the best gear for your next project, Jake knows his stuff front to back! Give him a shout.

    Also, do yourself a favor and demo one of these great 8 channel preamps; Audient is an awesome company and I'd encourage you to support them by purchasing this unit if you're in the market for a great 8 channel pre. I hope they stick around for a long time and keep creating great products well into the future.

    Best of luck to you in your recording adventures!

  • from EAST SIDE LONG BEACH March 4, 2016Music Background:
    I AM A PLAYA

    AWSOMELY AMAZING PREAMP A/D BOX

    HELLO EVERYBODY,
    IVE GOT THIS BADBOY PAIRED UP WITH A FOCUSRITE CLARETT 8 PREX INTO A MAC WITH PROTOOLS 12. THE AUDIENT PREAMPS ARE A LITTLE EASIER AND FASTER TO USE THAN THE CLARETT PRES, WHICH ARE ALSO VERY GOOD (READ MY REVIEW). THIS AUDIENT BOX IS SOO GOOD SONICLY AND LOGISTICLY THAT IVE ALSO ORDERED THE ASP800 TO WORK ALONGSIDE THESE TWO BAD MOFOS. HAVING THESE 3 BOXES WILL GIVE ME 24 CHANNELS AT 48K OR I CAN STILL DO 16 AT THE FULL 96K, AND THEN HAVE THE HMX AND IRON FOR ADDED COLOUR WHEN TRACKING,MIXING, OR EVEN MASTERING. SO I TRULY FEEL THAT THERE ARE NO LIMITATIONS WITH THIS AUDIENT GEAR WHEN PAIRED WITH A QUALITY INTERFACE. THE CONTROLS ON THE FRONT HELP ME TO FIND THE SOUND I WANT FOR EACH OF THE MICS THAT GO THROUGH IT. ITS TAKEN SOME TIME, BUT NOW IVE TRIED THEM ALL OUT AND AM GETTING MORE AND MORE FAMILIAR WITH HOW THEY WORK AND WHAT THEY DO FOR MY SOUND. ITS A VERY VERY WELL MADE PIECE OF GEAR THAT RESPONDS WELL TO THE TOUCH. I MOSTLY USE A SHURE SM7B IN ADDITION TO; SM57'S, AUDIX D2'S D4'S AND D6'S, & SENNHEISER 421,609,&906 DYNAMICS, SE 2200'S, 5P'S AND A PAIR OF X1-D CONDENSER MICS, AS WELL AS A SE VOODOO PASSIVE RIBBON MIC, AND ALL OF THEM HAVE WORKED FLAWLESSLY BETTER THRU THIS THAN ANYTHING ELSE THAT IVE OWNED OR HAD OPURTUNITY TO MESS AROUND WITH.

    EVERYTIME I'VE TRACKED DRUMS THROUGH THIS, THEY HAVE ALWAYS COME OUT VERY PROFFESIONAL SOUNDING AND READY FOR MIXING AND MASTERING (BETTER TO MY EARS THAN USING EASYDRUMMER2, AND I REALLY LIKE THAT PROGRAM, BUT NOTHINGS BETTER THAN REAL DRUMS). I REGULARLY USE THE 48V PHANTOM POWER, PHASE, AND A/D SWITCHES FOR DBX 160X'S ON KICKS AND SNARE, AND I HAVE ACHIEVED EVERY SOUND THAT IVE WANTED; FROM HAWAIIAN FOLK TO HIPHOP, JAZZ, ROCK, RAP, AND DETHMETAL. IVE BEEN STOKED! IM STARTING TO REALLY UNDERSTAND HOW IT ALL WORKS AND NOW SPEND MOST OF MY DRUM ENGINEERING TIME, TUNING DRUMS RATHER THAN SETTING UP MICS AND LEVELS AND SUCH. THANKS ALSO TO THE EXCELLENT AUDIX, SENNHEISER SHURE AND SE KICK AND OVERHEAD MICS THAT I USE TO CAPTURE MY TRUSTY DOUBLE BASS DW MAPLE COLLECTORS (AKA THE SILVER STALLION) AND ZILDJIAN K'S. I CAN NOW RECORD DRUMS THAT HAVE THE SOUND I DESIRE RATHER THAN MAKING COMPROMISES. IT SOUNDS THAT GOOD!

    IVE RECORDED MY OWN VOCALS ON MY OWN SONGS AS WELL AS A FEW OTHER DUDES THRU THE ASP880 AND ONE OF THE FOLLOWING; SM57,SM7B, SE VOODOO1, SE 2200 2C, SUPER 55, AND A JUNKY OLD BEATDOWN SM58, AND I HAVE ACHIEVED BETTER RESULTS THRU THE ASP880 THAN WITH ANYTHING THAT IVE PREVIOUSLY USED, AND IN MY OPINION EVEN BETTER THAN THROUGH SOME OF THE LARGE CONSOLE STUDIOS IN THE HOLLYWOOD/L.A. AREA THAT IVE SESSION'D AT.
    I'VE RECORDED MORE THAN A HAND-FULL OF FEMALE VOCALS THROUGH MY AUDIENT BOX, AND JUST ABOUT EVERYTIME I HAVE BEEN VERY EXTREMELY WELL PLEASED. THEY HAVE ALL COME BACK MULTIPLE TIMES AND GO ON AND ON ABOUT WHAT I OFFER THEM, SO THATS COOL I GUESS. TRACKING ACOUSTIC GUITARS WITH A PAIR OF SE 2200S HAS SUCH AN ORGANIC SOUND AND FEEL THAT IT HAS BECOME AN ABSOLUTE JOY, SAME WITH UKELELE. THIS IS SAYING ALOT AS I AM PRIMARILY AN ELECTRIC GUITAR PLAYA THAT USES LOTS OF EFFECTS AND GAIN!!! SPEAKING OF GUITAR CABS; I USUALLY USE 3 MICS ON A SPEAKER, EITHER: SM57,D2,906, 421, AND THE VOODOO RIBON TO ACHIEVE JUST ABOUT ANY SOUND I CAN THINK OF. IVE ALSO USED THE 2200'S AS ROOM MICS FOR ADDED AMBIENCE. IVE GOTTEN MUCH MORE COMPLEX WHEN DOING GUITARS AND THE CONTROLS ON THE FRONT PANEL OF THE 880 MAKE THIS ALL POSSIBLE WHILE AVOIDING PHASE ISSUES.
    THE REALITTY IS THAT, IM A MULTI-INSTRUMENTALIST SONGWRITER THAT WORKS WITH AS MANY OTHER MUSICIANS AS POSSIBLE, AS LONG AS ITS FUNN. SO LAST WEEK, IN AN OUT OF THE ORDINARY KINDA WAY. I TRACKED THIS CHICKS VIOLINS FOR ANOTHER CHICK THROUGH THE ASP880 USING THE SE LDC'S AND MY VOODO RIBBON MIC, I PLAYED WITH SOME IMPEDENCE AND HPF SETTINGS AND SET THE GAIN HOT BUT NOT TOO HOTT AND AND IT WAS AN AURAL EXPERIENCE THAT WAS ALSO EXTREMELY VERY WELL PLEASING. FINGERING THE SENSETIVE CONTROLS ON THE FRONT-PANEL IS A LITTLE DIFFICULT SINCE ITS A LITTLE TIGHT BUT WITH CARE AND FAMILIARITY IT HAS BECOME MUCH EASIER, ENJOYABLE, AND QUICKER TOO. I DI'D HER SYNTH WHILE I WAS AT IT AND AM WAITING FOR HER TO BRING HER OTHER FRIEND TO COME JOIN THE FUNN TOO.
    ALL IN ALL THE ASP880 IS HELPING ME TO MAKE RECORDINGS THAT ARE MUCH BETTER QUALITY THAN JUST DEMO, THEY ARE ALBUM READY, AS LONG AS THE PERFORMANCE IS THERE. THE ONLY LIMITING FACTORS ARE MY PRO-TOOLS, ENGINEERING, AND PRODUCTION SKILLS, AS WELL AS MUSICAL TALENT.
    TO SUM IT UP; I CANT THINK OF A BETTER 8-CHANNEL STUDIO SOLUTION FOR MY MUSICAL NEEDS.
    IN FACT I FEEL THAT I NEED THE OTHER AUDIENT BOX TOO!
    WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS TO A FRIEND?
    HECK YEAH
    ENJOY!

  • from Dothan, AL November 9, 2015Music Background:
    Composer and freelance engineer

    Sounds as good as $1000 per channel pre

    I have this unit along with an ADL600 preamp which was $2000 for two channels of audio. Although, obviously this unit isn't a tube preamp, it doesn't trail my ADL at all in quality. I can even run an SM7B into this pre and get good gain before noise ratio. The direct ins for instruments is exceptional and crisper and more in your face than any I've heard before. I run strait to an Apollo but I've also read the burr brown converters are stellar. Couldn't recommend this unit more. Was going to use for drum tracking but would absolutely put my lead vocal through this unit any day of the week.

  • from MN, Usa August 2, 2015Music Background:
    Profucer

    Amazing value

    I've put this pre against Millennia and Avalon and I really had to liisten carefully to motice the difference.
    Love it.

  • from South Carolin May 30, 2015Music Background:
    Sales Rep, Audio Engineer, Musician

    Excellent Mic Pre

    I have this unit in the rack right next to a RME Fireface UFX, and it is just as clean and open as the more expensive unit, but also a great compliment for added character in my studio. Doing a drum kit with this is the perfect exercise for this piece. I couldn't be happier with the purchase of this mic pre.

  • from Chicago, IL April 15, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    **AUDIENT ASP880 Major League Sound**

    Great Unit!

    - Built Very Solid.
    - 2 Jfet DIs
    - A/D is Top Notch, Really....
    - 3 Input Impedance choices.
    - Inserts on all 8 Ch. (most boxes don't even bother).
    - Mic Pres have lot of Tone, and are Transparent.


    I was expecting the Mic Pres to be clean and transparent along with good A/D, but what comes out of this 1U is nothing short of PROFESSIONAL. This Pre has the perfect amount of character and weight, but is still transparent and open. For 6 months now, I've been tracking with the ASP 880 80% of the time! With the Apollo (with/BLA Mod) it allows me to use this awesome unit and add a 1176 / La2a / Studer on the way in before printing.

    I believe this unit and the iD22 are a killer combo, if 10 channels are enough for you don't think about it twice! As a 8ch mic Pre and A/D it's a DREAM COME TRUE!

  • from Oakdale, California February 25, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician, amateur recording engineer.

    Amazing!!

    This thing blew me away. I can hardly believe they can make a product this high quality for the price. The preamps and conversion are crystal clear with plenty of headroom. The impedance switch gives your mic or instrument 3 different flavors. Very handy to have the high pass filter on board, and does much more. I'm very happy with mine, stands up to much higher priced preamps in my opinion/experience. And Sweetwater is always a very pleasant place to purchase gear from.

  • from Florida December 20, 2014Music Background:
    Classical Pianist, Christian Recording

    Amazing - Clean, Smooth, Beautiful front end for any DAW or multi-track project

    Are you kidding me….? This Audient unit you is ridiculous…ridiculously awesome! I hooked up one of the Bluebird mics I bought from Sweetwater to the new Audient running into my digi 002r….oh my goodness…smooth, smooth, smooth and detailed….it is a definite wow! Thanks so much to Paul x1246 for steering me in the direction of getting this. I will have awesome quality front-end conversion and solid state pres for years to come. Paul knows that I take a lot of time to decide when I buy things - but that’s because I want to make sure of my purchases - I like to have stuff that lasts. I always appreciate that he always just take it in stride and patiently answers all of my questions ahead of time (even with 50 emails back and forth!)…and he also makes sure to never push anything just for a sale but to make sure that he can give me a solid recommendation for my needs. New life was just breathed into my 002r and when I get ready to change computers down the road I will be able to hook this up to a new interface - which I’m sure Paul will help guide me with when the time comes.

    I’m so excited - it is really amazing….I sang through it, no EQ, no comp, de-essing or anything and it sounded 10x’s better than what I had been trying to achieve using all of that. No plosives, no s', absolutely no harshness….record quality. The vocal sounded just the way you would want it in a mix without hours of frustration. I also used the DI's for my keyboards - wow! Clean but warm at the same time with punchiness. I debated between this and the 2 channel Mico which only has one DI. I am so glad I went with this. Updated converters, two DI's, 8 amazing pres, straight A/D input if you want to use other pres....incredible. I've used SSL, Neve, Fern, Avalon - all great stuff. This is the real deal folks right up there with the big boys - also the same preamps and converters as in their $50,000 console which if you know how well the Audient consoles are liked out in the field is amazing at this price. You will not at all regret this purchase. It will instantly make your tracking a ton easier. 5 stars is easy to give this unit...

    Also, as always, Paul never ceases to amaze me with his expert advice and service. Have a blessed and Merry Christmas!

  • from Girard, Ohio January 19, 2017Music Background:
    Engineer, Vocalist

    Should Have Done It Sooner

    I received my Audient ASP880 (thanks Ryan) and used it two nights in a row to record drum tracks. This is not the first time I have recorded drums - but using the same mic's I always use (not placebo) dang did the mic's sound noticeably better running through the ASP880.

    It was easy to set my gains, pads, HPF and the recording was on. Utilizing the Audients ADAT connectors to my I/O and it was seamless.

    Only reason I am not giving this a "5" is haven't recorded anything else but drums. However, if the difference of my coming vocal recording is comparable or better (which I'm sure it will be) - I will repost this review with a five.

    Enough said - WHAT R U WAITING 4!!!!

  • from Arkansas August 23, 2015

    Great preamp

    Amazing sound quality with every mic my studio has. Direct inputs sound great, and impedance switches allow you to get the right sound every time. My only wish is that it had a on/off switch. You wont be disappointed.

  • from Odenton, MD March 9, 2015Music Background:
    Musician/Engineer/Producer

    Great Sound Audient!

    Fantastic value for the money. Solid construction, and no issues as of yet. Perfect for drums! Very glad I purchased this.

  • from Atlanta, Ga USA November 11, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Producer,Recording Engnineer

    Great Unit

    I decided that I would not review this preamp before doing at least ten to fifteen tracks through it. I must say, the more I've used it the better it sounds. With anything new to your studio you have to figure out where it fits. I've used this exclusively on drums and it just shines. Very fast transients, fat,warm and punchy.I also own Apogee converter so I really have the best to compare the converters too. They are not far behind. So for the money you can't beat this preamp..

  • from Atlanta, Ga USA March 25, 2017Music Background:
    Musician, Producer, Engineer

    ASP880

    I generally wait about a year to write reviews on products. Iv'e found out you don't know what you've got until about a year or two with it. As far as the ASP880 is concerned the unit sounds great I use it for drums. It has fast transients, its punchy ,tons of headroom and a nice touch of warmth. Thats the up side. Now the downside. The adat door is larger that all adat cables I can found. Which means they don't fit in snug, so if you're in a room like mine where the floor gives we clients stomp their feet you're going to have problems and you have to cycle thru the sample rate bottom several times to get it to lock. Other than that the unit is great.

Questions about the Audient ASP880?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway