0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Galaxy Audio AS-900 - 659.0MHz Reviews

4.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
  • Kim
    from Forney, Texas September 16, 2015Music Background:
    Piano Player & On The Praise Team

    Satisfied Customer

    They were very friendly when I placed the order, got it to me in just 4 days & the product is great!
    I highly recommend Sweetwater & we will be ordering more of their products for our church.

  • Scott Rock
    from NC November 6, 2014Music Background:
    Touring Bassist

    Lots of bang for the buck

    Clear and powerful response. No interference.

  • Kenny Ingram
    from August 23, 2014Music Background:
    Touring Musician

    Galaxy AS-900 In Ear Monitor System

    Wonderful product!

    I bought this system right before a tour when I realized that my normal wired system wouldn't be practical on stage. I took to this immediately! It sounds fantastic on stage every time!

    Now, this product is not without its faults... It would have made much more sense to put the antenna, inputs, and power adapter port on the FRONT. I keep it mounted during shows, which means the antenna is never up the way it should be, and I could probably be getting a better sound out of it.

  • Customer
    from May 30, 2012Music Background:
    Singer

    The Galaxy AS-900 (659.0 MHZ)

    This has exceeded my expectations and performed way better than I thought it would. Sound is clear and distortion free. A GREAT beginner setup!

  • Dean Powers
    from Toledo October 12, 2015Music Background:
    Vocalist

    very satisfied!

    This is my first foray into the world of IEMs so I have no frame of reference for comparison, but I love what I hear. The cost is inexpensive compared to other units. I can't attest to the quality of the ear buds since I went with most people's recommendations and purchased a set from Shure. I'm still getting used to using both buds at the same time (since audiologists frown on the "one in, one out" method) but it's nice hearing my vocals with all the extraneous sounds filtered out. I would highly recommend this unit to first-time IEM users like myself.

  • Marshall Leigh
    from The Road February 10, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Excellent - For those smart enough to understand it...

    This system is excellent and works well for ANY rig. Bass or otherwise. You must understand that the $5 earbuds that are included must not be used, especially to review this unit. Use a set of Shure or Wetstone earbuds. The system itself can handle anything and WILL get very loud. I actually prefer this unit to my higher end Shure system because it does not have a compressor/limiter so I get a constant overall volume not a suppressed one. Overall, this unit, with Shure 535 earbuds, is top notch! My only complaint... comes with the entire rack kit, except the wire from the unit to the rack ear.

  • Dylan Wellss
    from January 3, 2016Music Background:
    Live Sound Tech/ Instrument Player

    Awesome

    Great product overall, love the sound quality. I have been traveling around and playing in live settings and this is a road durable product. I have dropped the beltpack receiver multiple times and it sound as it did when I first got it. When the battery starts to get really low, the pack starts to get a crack sound. But when the battery is not low there is hardly any hum. This is what I needed when I wanted to buy in ear monitors. Amazing Product.

  • Customer
    from November 23, 2015

    Good for the money

    I have used this system for a few weeks only. Im a guitar player and monitor my guitar and entire mix. I am currently using Bose headphones which are probably not the best for this scenario in a worship situation at church. The sound very good. I am pleased and am very comfortable monitoring with this system.

    Pros: Price, convienience, descent sound after replacing earbuds.

    Cons: Earbuds suck. Replace with a good set (FYI-factory phone earbuds not good replacement) Expect to pay at least $100 for a good pair of earbuds. I have noticed some noise particularly when monitoring while playing the bass in the low frequencies. Not great for bass players.

  • Tyler Manship
    from Paoli, IN October 28, 2015Music Background:
    25 year drummer

    A game changer

    I'm a gigging drummer that has never used an IEM before. I am blown away. It has solved so many issues. Sometimes drummers have no room in clubs for a wedge; not a problem anymore. When I tested the range of the transmitter, I walked out of my building, down the drive about 125 yards before it got scratchy reception! My ears never ring anymore from the drums and monitors! As a drummer, I just want to hear the whole band, nothing crazy. So our sound guy just taps me out of the control room send (which he has a volume control knob on the board) and I can ultimately control the volume in my ears by the volume control knob on my wireless pack. It's life changing for me. Also with that mix, my drums are in it obviously, which keeps me from playing too loud in tight spots. I only gave 4 stars because I know there better more expensive models out there, but for the money it deserves 5 stars. I also bought the upgraded shure buds for around $100. Totally satisfied. Highly recommend this unit.

  • CJ
    from CT December 31, 2014Music Background:
    Hack

    Affordable sound

    Needed to hear my vocals and this was an affordable option. Has worked ok fine all around.

  • David
    from Texas March 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby musician

    Galaxy AS-900 monitor system

    I don't have anything to make a comparison to, but the Galaxy AS-900 has lived up to all my expectations. I have used the unit indoors and out and it performed as advertised. I have used it through a small mix panel and the larger sound boards and the result has been good. It is simple to operate right out of the box. I would recommend a better set of earbuds, although the sound is good, mine pop out frequently.

  • Steve Meiman
    from Salado, Texas February 22, 2012Music Background:
    (seasoned) Pro Musician

    Needed equipment

    The only complaint that I have is the earbuds. But overall the set is affordable and the earbuds are OK. A great addition to my equipment rack. Thanks to Galaxy for an affordable and quality product. Good thinking.

  • Bill Little- danger money band
    from Alaska December 7, 2015

    better than I expected BUT...

    They work surprisingly well. I usually get the best gear I can for my band. Read enough good reviews to get it. Works as advertised. One HUGE drawback, and I mean huge. Antenna is rear mounted. If you rack this thing then you cannot extend the antenna and also you're blocking it with your rack, effectively killing the range. There is a hole in the rack mount, presumably for mounting the antenna. But why isn't an antenna extension cord included? Makes no sense. I'll use the system once I figure out if there's such a cable to get. And half-mounting is so I'll hacksaw off the rack mount side with the hole and mount the antenna, then mount my wireless mic receiver in the other half using a shelf. Just my 2 cents......almost unusable mounted in the rear of the unit. Aside from that the system works as designed

  • Justin Nurse
    from December 31, 2014Music Background:
    Singer

    Galaxy as-90

    I did not like the headphones for feel or sound. But that's a matter of taste. The packaging is solid but there should be a travel case offered for gigging musicians how move around a lot. It is easy to leave pieces behind when not packing a specially designed case.
    The product over all is easy to use and reliable. I'm really glad I bought them as they are a great value compared to their extreamly over priced cousins.

  • Robert
    from Atlanta, GA. September 26, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Solid Value Piece of Equipment

    The Galaxy AS-900 is a solid piece of equipment, though not the fanciest. The system works well when the antenna has a clear line of sight and the sound quality is reasonably good.

    At long distances (150 feet or more) there is strong signal deterioration so use the unit in reasonably close quarters.

  • Spencer Kane
    from United States July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Touring Artist

    Meh

    Have used this IEM in the past until it broke and had to buy a new system. The beltpack fell off during a show and it broke inside. The system does not allow you to affordably replace the belt pack only. For like $40 more than just the belt pack, you can buy a whole new system and the belt pack would have to be special ordered. The real issue is that the belt pack doesn't provide enough volume to hear anything unless you're in a quiet room with just an IEM (no stage monitors) and a small set of house speakers. It's fine for a coffee house or small room, but not sufficient for a large venue (outdoor, etc) where ambient noise just overruns the ability to hear anything. Using the same ear buds on a Samsung S5 or iPhone proves that the output from the belt pack just isn't that loud even with the volume all the way up. So it's definitely not strong enough to hear well.

  • Jack Venable
    from December 22, 2014

    Not very good

    Bought two of these had them for a year.. good thing they have a two year warranty, have returned both of them 3 different times.. and just returned the body packs again on both systems yesterday. So for the the last year they have been worked on more than used.. everything from phasing to not working at all.

  • Jim Wooten
    from Fredericksburg, TX September 8, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    NOT FOR BASS RIGS!!!

    I was skeptical about this purchase considering the price. I wasn't expecting professional quality but was just hoping for something that would suffice to fill a small need.

    I play bass guitar, and when I put the bass through this system there was an unacceptable amount of distiortion. And it did not change when I tried my expensive in-ears or over-the-ears so I know it was not the phones that was creating the problem.. In spite of every adjustment I made to lower the drive input to the Galaxy, it seemed the bass frequencies were just too much for this equipment. I returned it.

Questions about the Galaxy Audio AS-900 - 659.0MHz?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway