rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Ibanez Artcore AS73 - Tobacco Brown Reviews

4.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Ibanez Artcore AS73 - Tobacco Brown?

Questions about the Ibanez Artcore AS73 - Tobacco Brown?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Royal Oak, MI March 16, 2017Music Background:
    Professional Musician and Recording Expert

    Like an ES335 for a fraction of the price!

    I ended up purchasing the model above this one ~ however I played this one for at least 30 minutes. The feel and play-ability are excellent. When I plugged it into an amp, I was blown away. At this price point, there's not much out there that delivers this level of quality. Easily worth at least double - if not triple the price.

    I ended up spending more $ and got the model above this one, which has a few extras and some additional details. Ibanez is such a huge player in the guitar market. They easily hold their own against American brands like Fender and Gibson. Anyone that says otherwise is either drinkin' the Kool-Aid or simply hasn't done the research.. Ibanez has been around at least 50 years (if not 75 or 100) and makes extremely high quality instruments.

  • from Illinois January 30, 2017

    Great guitar for the money!

    Nice finish, hot pu's, very playable

    I could not find anything negative to say.

    Good for any type of music, it can really rock!

    Shames a comparable Epiphone (I tried both together, same price point), the AS73 looks better, sounds better, and feels better than the Epi. As a matter of taste, the AS73 pickups are hotter and more burstbucker like than the Epi, the AS73 has a more solid feel, very fun to play with all the nuance that makes one want an ES-335 style, it's no 335 but it's also $ less. Tuners have a smooth solid feel and it seems to stay in tune though I will probably swap out the nut for a self lubricating model.

  • from December 14, 2016

    Wonderful instrument!

    Beautiful fit and finish! Light weight. And sounds amazing! I thought I would be replacing the pickups but the Ibanez Classic Elite pickups are tonefully delicious.

    Highly recommended.

  • from Tampa, FL April 21, 2016

    We have a winner!

    I'm an old fart on a fixed income, so I was looking for somthing affordable. While searching for a used Epiphone, I came across this beauty. After reading all the positive reviews, I decided this was the one for me. It plays and sounds as good, if not better, than a 1965 Gibson ES-335 I used to own. It is also better looking. I could not be happier! Thanks, Sweetwater.

  • from February 25, 2016Music Background:
    Beginner

    Ibanez guitar

    I love this guitar. Craftsmanship, sound and beauty are amazing.

  • from Chicopee, MA December 1, 2015Music Background:
    13 yrs guitar/ drums

    Tobacco brown as73

    Just received this guitar yesterday, and all I have to say is wow! I had wanted a semi hollow body guitar for some time now, and was constantly going back and forth between several different makes and models. I looked at a Washburn, Epiphone dot, Epiphone Sheraton, and a Prs Zach Myers. Never once did I consider the as73. My wife wanted to get me the guitar for an early Christmas present, and suggested this one. I was leaning towards the dot since I've played several of those, and liked the way they felt. The ibanez is hands down the better guitar. The finish is absolutely stunning, The pictures truly don't do it justice. They really paid attention to the details with this one. The finish around the f holes is immaculate, where as the dot is known to be a little untidy in that area. Also the pickup selector switch is solid, and not overly springy like the dot. Lastly the volume and tone knobs are awesome, better than some guitars 10x the price. The knobs on the dots I played were a little wobbly. Lastly the pickups give a nice warm, clear tone, and can get mean when you wanna go there. You can't find a better guitar for 400$, I don't know if you could find a better one for 1000$. Play one and you'll agree.

  • from Fingerlakes of Upstate New York October 8, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist over decades

    Awesome Guitar

    After reading the reviews of this beauty I pulled the trigger and purchased this fine instrument from Sweetwater--my first ever purchase from them. I must say that I am blown away by this unit in looks, sound and playability. She plays like a dream come true and is a real gem. This is my 2nd guitar made in China. I must say that they are manufacturing some fine instruments. Last year I purchased an outstanding Eastman E-10--a dreadnought guitar with Adirondack spruce top and completely hand made. I would recommend that guitar as comparable to a Martin D-28 for $1800 less and of equal or better quality; I digress from the topic at hand. I have owned some fine guitars over my 45 years of playing including Gibson, Fender, Martin and Guild. This guitar holds its own with these fine brands. I highly recommend that one consider this guitar to scratch that semi-hollow body guitar itch. I know I did and couldn't be happier BTW...Sweetwater rocks and I would buy from them again in a heartbeat!

  • from Ca June 3, 2015

    Can't find anything wrong

    Everything is picture perfect, I plugged it in and the Pups growl way more than I expected. Perfect setup from Sweetwater.

  • from New Mexico April 2, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-Pro, Hobbyist

    AS73-Awesome!

    Wow! I am not disappointed and actually surprised because this guitar exceeded my expectations. I have owned and still own lots of high end guitars including Gibson�s and USA Strats and the build quality and finish of my Ibanez is equal to those. I have the AS73 in Tobacco Brown and it looks even better when delivered than in the pictures. I thought it would be a project guitar and I would replace the wiring, pups, tuners, etc. But so far I love it just the way it is, of course I did put on some 46-10 Slinky�s-my favorite. But it comes with Daddario XL strings I am guessing 56-13 which are quality strings, just a little heavy for my taste. Played clean the neck pick up has that jazzy sound, and the bridge pick up is clear with a little bite. Played through a distorted amp it sustains and sounds just great, the tone knobs can vary the tone quite a lot as well-they really work! The feedback is mostly under control but you can get it to feed back; mind you I love musical feedback and that is part of the semi-hollow body scene baby! Two cool features are the tailpiece which makes string changes a tad faster; and mine has a truss rod cover that swivels allowing truss rod adjustment without having to remove the cover screws-how cool is that?! And by the way I did not have to make any adjustments to this guitar after shipping; one string was out of tune. Other than that the neck relief, intonation, and action are spot on. Seriously, this baby traveled in the back of a semi truck 1200 miles and only one string was out of tune-awesome! I believe that is due to Sweetwater�s 55 point inspection process, and because Sweetwater does a really good job of packing these guitars-they use a really heavy outer box with lots of packing wrap inside. I have purchased at least five guitars from Sweetwater over the years and they have all arrived with no damage. Other online guitar sellers are going to ship you a guitar without even removing it from the factory box. Sweetwater takes the time to check your guitar before shipping and make adjustments; that is an incredible added value and I for one continue to buy guitars from Sweetwater because of that, their online gallery, and the customer service-and no I don�t work for Sweetwater. My sales engineer Dennis K. is always on top of my order and even sent me the website gallery pictures of my guitar; most of the other online retailers won�t even bother to communicate with you let alone send pictures of your new axe. Of course the other retailers would actually have to take it out of the box to even take some pictures�.. So all in all this a great guitar, worth every penny; and my advice is buy your guitars from Sweetwater because they take the time to actually check, inspect, and adjust the guitars to make sure you are going to be satisfied with your purchase.

  • from Corona, CA December 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist for over 40 years.

    Amazing value

    Well have spent hundreds and thousands on all types of guitars, from Gibson's to Martin's and can not believe the quality and build of this very fine guitar. It plays like a dream, the set up by Sweetwater with their 55 point inspection made this guitar a dream come true. It's always a shot in the dark with you buy online but not this time. Would I purchase this guitar again? Hell yes I would. I would pay triple the costs to have this guitar knowing now the true value of this guitar. Go get one you will love it.

  • from Oklahoma September 11, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Fantastic

    Best 400 bones I've spent, ever. Very good craftsmanship for the money. I'll change out the pots and pups later on but I planned on it. I believe the 400 you spend here is on the woodwork. I would spend the same 400 on a set of Gibby 57 classics and a wiring harness but in the end have 800-900 in a guitar instead of 3K. I chose this over an Epi Dot for aesthetics and better overall review and I was not disappointed in any way. It was ready to play right out of the box after a little tuning. It came with a good set of D'addario strings. I spanked my new plank for a day then pulled the strings, cleaned and oiled up the fretboard (was a little dirty and the frets seemed grimy/tarnished) and loaded up some D'addario 11/49's. Happy Camper.

  • from New Jersey May 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Unbelievable Performance and Value

    Got this guitar as a gift last night. First off, the looks are incredible. It looks even better in person. The neck profile is reminiscent of a Gibson SG Standard my friend once owned. The pickups sounds great and so far have no desire to replace them. Action, fret leveling and crowning were spot on right out of the box. The tuning machines might be something i'm going to upgrade, but there is nothing on this guitar where you have to upgrade immediately before feeling comfortable playing it. Buy it now, you're going to love it! Just mulling and just buy it!

  • from Buffalo NY March 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    No worries just buy it, It's that good!

    This guitar is fantastic in sight and sound and plays like a dream both clean and through a overdrive, Sweet sweet bliss plus Sweetwaters 55 check out and shipping and packing are top notch. If your looking for a Semi-Hollow at an extremely affordable price, you simply can't beat this guitar. Buy it yesterday.

  • from CNY March 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    AS73 is an Amazing Deal!

    I have to admit, this was my first guitar in the semi-hollow world. I was looking to go a little more budget friendly as I wasn't sure how I would get along with it. I had always heard that the Ibanez AS Series were very good guitars. Needless to say, I was just stunned at the quality of this guitar for what I paid for it. The finish is just beautiful, I was really taken by the cosmetic beauty of the Tobacco Brown finish. The build quality far exceeded what I expected from a $400 guitar. Then....I plugged it in.....a resounding WOW here too! The clean tone was just awesome! I expected the pickups to be a little flat and uninspiring, but once again I was wrong. The block running under the bridge and pickups really does eliminate the feedback. The guitar reacts very well to gain too, whether it be an OD pedal or the lead channel of my tube amps. It's very easy to play as well. I'm more of a 9-42 string gauge guy, but this guitar plays effortlessly with 10's on it. All the hardware is above average. Overall a great value and I would highly recommend this guitar. Now I just need to grab a case for it since I now know it's a keeper!

  • from Chicago March 4, 2013Music Background:
    Producer and semi-pro musician

    Plays like a guitar costing 3 times as much

    I have been really impressed by the quality of Ibanez guitars lately, and this Artcore AS73 is no exception. This guitar is so immediately playable, it felt like I had it for 5 years the first time I picked it up. Great action, wonderful intonation and rich tones...unbelievable combination for a guitar in this price range. Kudos to Ibanez for their workmanship and to Sweetwater for carrying this truly wonderful guitar.

  • from February 24, 2017

    Great Guitar!

    I bought the transparent cherry version. At this price point, this is a very nice guitar. I had read and watched a number of reviews before making the decision to buy it. I wasn't disappointed It plays great, sounds great, stays in tune well. It also looks great and the finish is very nice. I may change the pickups later on but, then again, I may not. I'm very pleased with this purchase. I've played guitars that cost twice as much or more, that did not play as well or sound as good. To me, it's certainly worth more than the price!

  • from New Mexico January 2, 2017

    Gutfiddle

    Beautiful instrument, great sound. This is my second ibanez hb, they are great guitars. Great job setting it up sweetwater, it was ready to jam out of box!! Two shows with it already, performed flawless.

  • from Cali May 17, 2015

    Very Impressed

    I have not found a single thing wrong with this Guitar. I have USA Fender, Gibson etc.. So I can compare quality side by side. The pick ups aren't as bright as more expensive guitars but they are still very good. Fit/ finish is top notch, set up was perfect from Sweetwater. This is a bargain at $399.00

  • from Maryland March 9, 2014Music Background:
    Middle-aged church guy

    Hard-to-Beat Value

    For what its worth, Ive been playing guitar since 1976. Ive owned seven electric guitars, four of which I still have. The Ibanez AS73 is the latest addition.

    As we all should know, you get what you pay for. A real Gibson ES-335 costs something north of two bills. That gave me pause before purchasing this instrument ($350 without case). I was pleasantly surprised. Heres my experience.

    Very solid fit and finish. Body, neck, and sound-hole bindings are crisp. Set up upon delivery was pretty good. The frets are well installed. The finish (which I assume is nitrocellulose) is flawless. The nice chrome hardware has narry a rattle nor blemish. The wood is nominally maple. After reading online descriptions, its still not clear to me if the sides, top, and back are solid or laminated. Part of me doesnt want to know. Theres no pickguard, but I really dont miss it.

    The guitar came with a slightly heavy set of round-wound strings. I immediately changed these for a light (.010 - .046) set, but found that these are too light for this instrument, even after loosening the truss rod all the way. In short, the light strings buzzed off the frets too much for my liking. I replaced these with a set of light-top, heavy-bottom half-round strings (0.010-0.052), and that VASTLY improved the fret buzz issue. I find that these strings, on this guitar, stay in tune longer and intone better. That last point refers to a common malady with cheap guitarsthe fact that you can tune it to play an open G chord, but the E chord will be out of tune, and vice versa. Im not getting this issue from the Ibanez AS73.

    Extra design touches are nice. The headstock has a truss rod access cover that is hinged to pivot to an open position. Has no one ever thought of this before? The input jack is located on the side instead of the face (traditional ES-335 design), which is my preference. The tail piece has slotted grooves which generally make it easier to replace strings (this apparatus will be familiar to a mandolin player). The design is faithful to the ES-335, particularly the configuration that joins the neck to the body at frets 15-17. This guitar does not give you spank and twangthats what Telecasters are for. Rather, it hums and purrs like a ES-335 or even a Gretsch. Independent volume and tone pots provide a rich tonal palate, allowing you to blend tones within each of the three pickup settings (neck, bridge, and both). If youre in the middle position and roll either volume pot to zero, the whole guitar goes silent.

    My complaints are few and very minor. The pickup covers are easily dented. I found this out while wrapping a guitar cable that inadvertently whipped the surface, leaving a dimple. Theres still a residual fret buzz issue, isolated to the G-string only. The bridge does not provide individual saddle height adjustment. I have yet to work this out (Truss rod? Fret leveling?)

    This guitar rocks. I play it clean and mellow in church and with a bit of bite and overdrive for a praise and worship band. It works well. I was luckymaybe it was a good day at the factory. I got more than my moneys worth.

  • from November 19, 2016

    Older one

    I've had my As73 for several years now. I recently enhanced it with a Bigsby vibrato. Made a great guitar even better!

  • from KINGSTON, NY June 15, 2017Music Background:
    AMATEUR GUITARIST

    NOT BAD AT ALL

    BOUGHT THIS WITH A MIND TO MOD IN THE FUTURE. AT THIS PRICE POINT, VERY GOOD QUALITY OF CONSTRUCTION. NECK IS SOMEWHAT CHUNKY AL LA 50'S STYLE NECK. NOT A SHREDDER!
    PICKUPS ARE FULL SOUNDING.

  • from October 22, 2013

    Tuning issues

    After having some initial tuning issues, I am pleased with this guitar. And the response from Sweetwater was very good. I will buy from them again.

  • from Birmingham Al October 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good but not great

    Great feeling, nice action and really nice set-up from Sweetwater. Nice warm and mellow tone which is the reason for my purchase of a semi-hollow body but just will not stay in tune. Hoping its just break-in period and will improve.

Questions about the Ibanez Artcore AS73 - Tobacco Brown?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway