0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Galaxy AS-1100 System - D-Band Reviews

3.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Galaxy AS-1100 System - D-Band?

Questions about the Galaxy AS-1100 System - D-Band?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Richard Dickson
    from Jefferson, GA USA April 28, 2014Music Background:
    Minister of Music for over 30 years, Keyboard/Piano, Guitar, Vocals

    Absolutely love this system.

    At our church when we needed a personal monitoring system, we started with one of the 900 systems (a good system that we still use), but we quickly learned its limitations. Since then we have purchased several of the AS-1100 systems with additional receivers that give us the flexibility we need to provide in-ear monitoring for our band. Putting multiple players on the same mix has allowed us to grow our system with a limited budget and soon limited outputs on our mixer. Of course, the in-ear capability limits the on-stage noise factor and allows us to use click for our tempos. And, we have found the price much friendlier than other more well known systems.

  • Roctagon
    from NY, NY March 14, 2014Music Background:
    Local Band Musician. Perform 1 to 2 times monthly.

    Very Pleasantly Suprised with this Product!!!!!

    I literally spent months reading everything that was written about this product and its competitors. I had been wanting to do in ear monitoring for years. It is very easy to get caught up and discouraged by reading advice and reviews from high levels sound engineers and tech snobs. The real sound experts offer great advice and with their knowledge of the top of the line equipment it is no surprise that they would prefer a higher level unit than this. If it weren't for expensive equipment there would be no need for expensive people with expensive taste to run it. (Point Made) Tech Snobs I will not defend. Anyways. To the point. This product is absolutely worth the risk and if you are like me "an Amatuer performer who plays small bars and medium sized 200-500 person music venues." Don't be afraid to step into the world of in ear monitoring. A product priced this cheaply can get you there. I was very skeptical due to the pro sound folks reviews, but I can not tell you enough this product works and if it worked any better it would probably be too hard to operate on your own. I use it for myself as a solo acoustic/vocal act Modern and Classic rock. Also with a 5 piece Alt Country/Indie rock band and it has saved my voice countless nights. The only other thing you should know is that you may need a separate sound board to maximize its ability. (especially with multiple bandmates needing (More me). This would take it out of a low budget range, but this goes for all other IEM devices too. I don't have a separate mixer and I still have been able to use this product with great results. Again.. The pro's absolutely know what they are talking about. (take it with a grain of salt and learn new tricks) In regards to this product it just works!! (I would also allow an extra $100 for some Shure SE215 ear buds. My phone came with better buds than this did. )

  • Frank Donnino
    from Boynton Beach Florida December 13, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Good unit

    Does what is says. Had an issue with bad earbuds and Sweetwater replaced them no questions asked. I am sure it was just a fluke.

  • Danny Thibodeaux
    from Moss Bluff, La September 7, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Galaxy AS1100 Sys

    Easiest piece of equipment I have ever installed. Our Pastor loves his newfound freedom of movement. Quality equipment coupled with Sweetwater service sure makes my ministry much easier.

  • Stephen Snider
    from Illinois December 17, 2010Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    Great for entry level IEM

    If this unit had cost $1,000.00 I wouldn't have given it a 5. If you want a $1000.00 unit then buy one. For this price it's great. I'm sure it's as good as any in the $599.00 range that you see in the books.

  • Michael A. Tisdale
    from south Louisiana August 29, 2010Music Background:
    keyboardist, vocalist, songwriter, guitarist, and gear hound.

    This was a great suggestion and a great decision to purchase. Great product.

    I wanted to get an in-ear monitoring system to protect my hearing and give me great sound for practicing and for stage performance. When Steven Chamoun suggested this unit I decided to go with it. Not only can I get the in-ear monitoring I need, but other band members can purchase the receiver and get it too if they want. The sound is fantastic and the sitance it transmits is amazing. Thanks for the great suggestion on a great product. Thanks Sweetwater for the best customer service in the industry.

  • Russell Fragar
    from April 4, 2016

    Cost effective

    Works very well. A good, much cheaper alternative to the Sennheiser. Lots of frequencies to choose from so you can find a good quiet channel. Easy set up.

  • Mark D. Lightner
    from Wabash, IN February 8, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    Worth the Money

    I play for our church band and our venue is typically pretty bad for sound. After spending months begging to be turned up in my monitor and everyone else down, yet still not able to hear clearly, I purchased this in-ear monitor system. From day 1 of using this I have been blown away. I have used other in-ears in the past that were pricier and this one does the job just as well.

    I didn't give a full 5 stars because I feel there could be more options such as a L/R selector. It is built for stereo inputs however there is no way of adjusting the volume for each ear (such as the pricier systems I've used). Additionally, I seem to hear a lot of fuzz with low end tones (I play bass so that is what I am listening for). The fuzz is not bad and this system works great. As for the headphones that come with it... I didn't even try them at first after reading others reviews. Neither should you. Buy a set of Shure 215's or better.

    If you are looking for an in-ear system that won't break the bank, this is the one for you. Overall the quality of the product is top notch and you will never beat the service that Sweetwater provides.

  • Jonathan
    from United States February 4, 2013

    Great!

    Great system! Just bought 3 and was able to use them this weekend. Great sound quality! Have used Shure in-ears and these are very comparable!

  • egimu felix
    from January 10, 2016

    greatness

    it is so great and it is really shooting all the hearts of my friends i have showed.

  • Alfred Tomlinson
    from Myrtle Beach, SC May 28, 2013Music Background:
    Keyboardist

    Needs better earbuds

    Used it in church band. Sounded like smush until I connected a set of $100 buds. Then, the highs and lows blew me away.

  • Scott
    from Charlotte, NC March 10, 2012Music Background:
    Gigs 2-3 times monthly

    Nice!

    Works great! My buddy has a shure 200 unit and he had a lot more interference at one particular gig than i did, it wasnt too bad but i guess somewhat expected. Other gigs not even a crackle. I use UE monitors and the sound quality and volume is perfect! Very,very happy! Thanks Alex! You da man!!!!

  • Tim Robinson
    from Seattle January 13, 2012

    Galaxy AS-1100 System D-Band wireless audio gear

    Good service, on time and well packaged.

  • Javier Hernandez
    from San Juan, PR June 1, 2011Music Background:
    Producer

    Great

    I bought this thinking it was going to be a low cost solution, it turn out to work very well, indeed better than a previously rented much expensive system. Will get another soon...

  • JohnM.
    from Michigan March 12, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Galaxy AS-1100

    Overall, for the price, it is a good unit. I do not stand more than 20 feet from transmitter, but I still get the occasional "zipper" to run through. Sound quality is pretty good; and works well for my intended purpose. On a tight budget, I do recommend this product.
    However, overall operation, and setup -- great. Very user friendly.

  • Rob Robinson
    from East Peoria, IL March 16, 2012Music Background:
    Pro now hobbyist

    Good Value for the Price

    I purchased this item and was very impressed with its clarity on the upper frequency range. However, as a bass player, two things I need to hear clearly is kick drum and my bass. Wirelessly, the AS-1100 system performed poorly on low frequencies. The kick drum and bass frequencies below 320Hz start to develop extremes harmonic overtones causing the low frequencie to distort.
    If you plug directly into the unit it is dynamite!!! Go wireless, and those overtones on the low frequencies appear.
    I was sent a replacement and had the exact same issue. Also, a friend got the same unit and he loves it cause he doesn't have the low note requirements like I do, but his as well will do the same thing with the distorted low tones via wireless.
    All and all, it is a good unit and one could probably live with the low frequency issue if they are guitar player (puny string player) or a vocalist.

  • John
    from Miami, Florida August 11, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Galaxy in-ear monitor

    The main issue I have with this unit is that it is not loud enough to be heard over the rest of the band. The AUX send on our board has to be cranked to near maximum to get even a near-usable volume level. Yes I replaced the ear buds with expensive units, about the price of the body pack, but still no good. Will still investigate to see if there is another way to boost the signal output and will update the review if I find it.

  • Customer
    from August 2, 2015Music Background:
    active bassist, 25 years

    no signal static every time I move

    The rating pre-states ( just not right for me).... ha... its just NOT RIGHT at all.
    There is brief interference static constantly! I cannot move with out the static. I've tried locating the transmitter further away, closer. larger antenna. raising it up .. I've tried every channel to no avail. I cant stand this thing!

  • Brady
    from Cincinnati, OH October 11, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician, University Music Professor

    Great if You Don't Value Your Hearing

    I wish I had heeded the warning of some of the negative reviews that I had seen online here and other sites that alluded to the deafening popping sounds that come out of this unit. This was the worst piece of equipment that I have ever owned, and after moving on to something else, I'm not really sure how or why I used this as long as I did. Out of the box, everything seems fine, setup is easy and the unit is pretty straightforward, with all functions that you would expect from an options within this price point. But the problem is... and this is HUGE... the receiver has no limiter on it, and thusly, regardless of how well "tuned in" the channel is, there are intermittent pops like dangerously loud static that come through the earphones without any warning. This has nothing to do with the signal flow otherwise. It caused me to start playing like I was shell shocked- I was literally worried for my hearing. These flashing sounds have absolutely nothing to do with the gain or health of your signal flow otherwise- it is just a fault of this unit's design which lacks any kind of limiter on the receiver, which, for safety reasons, is standard in other in era monitor systems that I have seen and used. I even had them send me another receiver to see if I had a bad receiver, but it did the same thing. My hearing (and I think everyone's hearing) is worth more than the 200 bucks I might have saved by buying this over the next step up system by Shure at $600. I believe I have probably lost some hearing as a result of this dangerously erratic monitor system. In hind sight, this should have been a no-brainer to go with the step up. I will NEVER buy anything made by Galaxy Audio again.

  • Matt
    from Rochester, NY April 20, 2014Music Background:
    Live sound engineer, Musician

    Horrible Experience

    Just used this unit for the first time this weekend for my church's worship team. We will be returning it this week for something else. First of all you cannot send individual aux mixes with this. You can take one aux mix and send it to four different places. Secondly, I kept getting complaints from the musicians that they kept getting popping in their headphones all throughout the service. There was no popping in the mains and the signal meter on the transmitter wasn't anywhere near clipping so I'm left to assume the units were garbage. Very disappointed.

Questions about the Galaxy AS-1100 System - D-Band?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close