0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Fostex AR-4i Reviews

4.5 stars based on 5 customer reviews
  • from Kansas city February 11, 2013Music Background:
    Back up singer; second lead

    Great

    Awesome piece of accessory for iphone

  • from Hampton, VA November 21, 2012Music Background:
    Project studio owner, hobbyist recording engineer, guitarist

    Really works good

    Real solid performance! I did notice a small - barely noticeable hiss during quite spots. Not really noticeable. I probably would not have noticed it if I was not looking for it. Fits the iPhone perfectly - nice and snug. The handle is a great idea, as is the option of microphone placement. I love it.

  • from Upstate NY June 15, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Some very faint digital noise remains

    Having made a few more recordings, I should mention that there is still a very faint high-pitched digital squeal in the noise floor. It's at about the same volume level as tape hiss, and is inaudible under most medium loud or louder music. However, people wishing to record softer acoustic music with frequent quiet spots should be aware of its presence.

  • from Upstate NY April 5, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Update since last review

    I'm happy to report that the noise issues have been addressed in software updates. The popping noise is gone, and the other digital noise can be prevented by turning off Wifi, data and Bluetooth in iPhone's settings. Now it sounds quite impressive, especially at this price! (Minor issue - the battery compartment cover doesn't fit well over some AAA cells & tends to pop off and get lost -- one might be able to shave it down on the inside before this happens...)

  • from Upstate NY December 18, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Doesn't work well with iPhone 4S (as of 12/18/11)

    A great idea, and the design and features are excellent, but it's making two different kinds of noise with my iPhone 4S... a loud popping static when taking video, and a lower level steady digital screech when using any other recording app. (For all I know it works great with iPhone 4...)

    Other that a notice on the Fostex website latest news page which says they're addressing the issue (of the static in video) and a you tube demonstration of that issue I have seen no mention online of either problem, and the first firmware update from Fostex, which was available yesterday (December 17, 2011) didn't fix anything.

    I sincerely hope this review is outdated very soon... however, as this product is being featured in pop-up ads and Christmas is coming soon, I wish to caution shoppers to know what kind of phone will be used with this device, and avoid any potential disappointment.

    (Didn't want to rate it at all, but the field is required... so 4 stars for design and benefit-of-the-doubt, minus one for less-than-good communication.)

Questions about the Fostex AR-4i?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway