0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Waves API Collection Plug-in Bundle - Native Reviews

5.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Tyler Berggren

    The Waves API Collection plug-ins are simply amazing. The 550b is my favorite plug-in equalizer of all time. (I've never been able to reshape a track as well as I can with those four filters!) The 2500 is a model of the legendary compressor that can work wonders on your mix buss, drum buss, and my personal favorite - room mics. Set it to infinite ratio, the fastest attack and release settings, engage the "thrust" circuit, and listen to that juicy drum sustain!

  • from Calgary, Alberta, AB January 30, 2015Music Background:
    B.S. Music Recording, Musician

    You need this

    This is the most important plugin you can possibly buy. It is the basics .. EQ and compression... but it is API... the sound you are used to hearing on hit records. It's "that sound". I have all the hardware versions of all these devices... and yes they do sound better than the software re-creation.. that being said this plugin really comes close and definitely captures the API sound.... and you can have an API EQ and/or compressor on every channel!! Highly, Highly recommend. If I had to get rid of all my plugins, but one... this would be the one I would keep.

  • from West Virginia September 5, 2014Music Background:
    Home studio, multi-instrumentalist, singer/songwriter, gear fanatic.

    Truly Stunning.

    You would be seriously hard-pressed to find ANYONE who could tell whether you got your API "sound" from a wall full of API outboard gear, or this "in the box" bundle. It's THAT good. Immeasurably happy with this purchase.

  • from Akron Ohio April 1, 2013Music Background:
    Punk rock/ electronic musician

    Great value!

    Simple install no hassle! Waves is where it's at Bottomline!

  • from NYC September 9, 2011Music Background:
    Artist, Producer / Songwriter, Remixer / Mix Engineer

    WOW!!!

    Having used the hardware unit, I have to say that WAVES did a great job in emulating the API processors. My personal favorite is the API 2500 Compressor. I use it as a Stereo Bus Compressor and it never fails to take my mixes to the next level! Depth, punch and space without that compressed sound and all in the box! This is a must have for all ITB mix engineers.

  • from New York May 25, 2011Music Background:
    Producer

    Incredible

    Simply the best plugin bundle I have ever used.

  • from Brooklyn, NY March 24, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Producer

    Only the real thing is better...

    Seriously, these are the best plug-ins I've ever used! As "analog" as you can get in the digital universe. So simple, mostly if you download the extra presets available from the Waves website!!! I told Josh at Sweetwater, that I could only get one bundle right now, and he told me that the GOLD bundle was the best bang for my buck, but he would get the API bundle if he were buying a set... GREAT advice!!! They turn flat mixes into radio ready products... They add life to solo tracks too. So close to the real thing, it's simply unbelievable.

  • from NY, NY USA September 2, 2010Music Background:
    I Do it ALL!!!!!

    Automated Processes, Inc.

    Thanks to Waves, another bundle modeled after expensive top notch hardware from API. This bundle is superb. Your mixes will benefit a whole lot by inserting these plugins. The 2500 comp will love you and you will love it back. Or even better just try the bundle. You will love the end result.

    *WUP - Make sure to keep your Waves Update Plan current, especially if it expires. That way if waves releases new material for the bundle, you wont be left out.

  • from Milwaukee December 31, 2009Music Background:
    Audio Post / Commercial Audio

    WOW

    I demoed the API collection on a friend's advice and bought the bundle an hour later. Still playing with the Compressor - I have a few I like for different applications...but the EQ sound!!!!!! DAMN!! Clear, Big, present...in both Native and TDM modes (TDM has a touch bigger middle, but overall VERY close)...if you don't have the money for TDM...the Native is just as good.

  • from Alexandria, VA 22306 May 5, 2008Music Background:
    classical guitarist, composer, and recording engineer

    Amazing sound!

    I have never actually heard an API EQ or compressor in person, but I do know a lot of my favorite music has been mixed on their boards and using their gear. I am getting an amazing sound, and really coming close to the presense and clarity in my mixes. You can really get a wide variety of sounds from the EQs. The compressor is also very musical, you can get lots of different tonal possibilities from older slower reacting compressors (F back) to newer sounding (F forward) compressors. Haven’t had a bad mix yet with these. To me, these sound best on rock and pop mixes. These will definitely breathe new life into your mixes. I love ‘em.

  • from Baton Rouge, LA January 16, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    A Class Above the Rest

    These plug-ins have been used on every project since I got them and I am truly impressed by the clarity and punch that I haven't found in any plugin EQ or compressor. These are definitely my desert island plugins. I can easily mix and even master a whole project with these and Altiverb 6 which is stunning as well. I demoed every EQ and Compressor plugin before my purchase and found nothing that breathed life into my projects like the API bundle.

  • from December 24, 2012Music Background:
    Writer, Recording Engineer

    API Waves Plugins - Tight on Drums

    Excellent.
    Makes drum tracks pop.

  • from MPLS January 11, 2011Music Background:
    Professional

    Sweet!

    I've used both the hard and software versions. I can't tell the difference. Maybe you can. Great buy at Sweetwater. I've played and recorded tons of songs. Highly recommend these and Delvin Wolf @Sweetwater.

Questions about the Waves API Collection Plug-in Bundle - Native?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway