0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Behringer MiniAmp AMP800 4-Ch Headphone Amplifier Reviews

4.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer MiniAmp AMP800 4-Ch Headphone Amplifier?

Questions about the Behringer MiniAmp AMP800 4-Ch Headphone Amplifier?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from March 19, 2016

    Absolutely Awful!

    I bought this after reading the reviews. I read mostly positive ones with the exception of one review that mentioned distortion. I figured that guy was not using it properly and bought it anyway. Well when I hooked it up in the studio I immediately noticed the distortion. It was slight, but noticed. I tried reconnecting the amp with every variation of input cable, even tried some "Y" cables and the sound didn't change. During a live rehearsal, with the distortion, individually the vocals or guitar sounded okay but when a bass guitar, electric guitar and a vocal part was played (no drums), it was like someone turned on a food mixer and stuck it right up to the mic. You couldn't make out anything in the vocals. Yes we turned up and down every variation of input on the instruments, the studio mixer, the unit itself and nothing changed.

    I can't wait to get this sent back and get a refund. Feels like a case of you get what you pay for. I wouldn't but this especially if you don't have time to test it out first. For me it arrived on a Thursday and installed it in the studio Friday morning just in time for the band to get going. Regardless, testing it without more than one instrument or vocal wouldn't have indicated anything wrong anyway. Save your money and buy something else.

  • Customer
    from March 10, 2016

    It does it's job

    This thing is great, for the money. It works fine. I use this to record local bands. The drummers can hear everything fine even with cheapo headphones. I don't like spending a lot of dough on things that don't directly effect my sound and the Behringer Mini Amp is perfect in this application.

  • Rockstok
    from Richmond, VA March 9, 2016Music Background:
    Pro for five decades

    Behringer Headphone Amp

    As with most Behringer gear, it's the lowest price and can be great unless there's a problem. The first one I ordered had a malfunctioning push button but was exchanged immediately. The second one is fine and does more for less cash than anything else you'll find. It requires two mono 1/4 inputs to run as many as eight sets of headphones. It might have been more convenient for it to accept a TRS jack that would allow a single cable connection from a headphone out. I imagine it is set up this way to allow use from alt, monitor and aux sends. Nice unit.

  • Brad Lee
    from NYC January 8, 2016Music Background:
    Pro Producer and Musician

    I own one of these little headphone amps and like it - like most Behringer stuff it's way less $$ than competing gear so I really don't expect much from the gear. At $70 it's almost a throw-away. I also have a box full of other little Behringer 'helpers' - small mixers, rackmount compressor, etc. Even though many people complain about the build quality I've never had a problem with any of it. The mixers and other gear feel solid - this particular one does not - it's all plastic including the case. I didn't open it up but I assume all the controls are direct-mount to the circuit board, which also makes them vulnerable to breakage, bad solder joints, etc. But for $60-70- if that were to happen after the warranty was over I'd just throw it out.

  • Garry Miller (G)
    from Murrieta, California January 16, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician, keyboards, vocalist, producer/engineer/songwriter/studio owner

    MiniAmp800 Is a Good Product

    I have a pro-tools 11 studio that is also mobile. Set up on site to record a 7 piece band, did 11 songs in 2 days. Needed to run some extra cans as my existing portable headphone setup had a couple of bad channels. So Clint Branstetter at Sweetwater hooked me up quickly with this very handy little machine. I wasn't expecting much considering the money, but I was blown away by the performance of this little box. Yes, it is all plastic, but the electronics worked sufficiently, the band liked the quality they were receiving on the cans (individual volume controls per channel is a must). Had an excellent session and we got the job done. A real plus is the A/B inputs, selectable on each output channel, so you can run 2 individual headphone submixes. I also needed a stereo link output to drive my mobile Presonus headphone amp which also drives the monitors and has a cutoff button so I can mute the monitors and still have the cans working. Much more expensive headphone amps do not have this feature - it is critical to have when you are recording on site. Don't know about long-term reliability yet, but it worked for the session and paid for itself right there. Only reason I didn't give it a 5 star is that it's not rack-mountable, so I used Velcro to hold it down to my Gator case so it wouldn't fly around when somebody pulls on their headphone cord. The I/O level meters are extremely visible - you can see them quite clearly in any lighting situation. Gotta hand it to Behringer to offer such a great performing box for almost no money (I look at this as a throw-away, but with Sweetwater's extended warranty, how can you go wrong??). Also hats off again to Clint and Sweetwater to help with my selection, process my order, and get this out quickly - I got it in three days and the shipping was free. Go Sweetwater, pulled my behind out of the fire again!!

  • Dan
    from Berkeley CA September 27, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, home studio owner

    Lasted 1 Year

    If you want an amp that won't fall apart, spend some money on quality.
    This one worked ok for about a year, then it died. Waste of money imho.
    I'm reviewing it now because I'm in the market for a better one, and saw this one listed.

  • Ann
    from California May 29, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound; Pro musician

    Was just what I needed

    This equipment was just what I needed for multiple headphones for a 7 pice band to listen to recording tracks.

  • Jonlor13
    from Saugus, MA April 25, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, small garge band, recording

    Excellent performance

    For the money spent this is perfect for my use. I have a small home studio and running this with 4 headphones is a perfect fit. Having independent control of each pair of headphones with plenty of volume to spare is a plus. I would recommend this unit over their smaller 4 channel 20 dollar unit in Witch the printing rubbed off in my hand while holding it although it work good. I contacted the manufacturer and the are going to replace it. I decided to buy this unit and after 2 months of use it still works perfectly as expected.

  • Steve
    from Utah, USA February 2, 2012

    Very Nice

    This works very well, I have had no problems at all. I use it for my recording studio, so that all the members in the band ma listen in on the mix.

  • OSCAR RICO
    from OARC77@JESUSPODERPARACAMBIAR.ORG December 9, 2011

    Review The Behringer MiniAmp AMP800

    GOD PRODUCT IS WORKIN WELL. . FAST DELIVERY FROM SWEETWATER

Questions about the Behringer MiniAmp AMP800 4-Ch Headphone Amplifier?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway