0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

PreSonus ADL 600 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 20 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • David Klausner

    PreSonus was kind enough to let me borrow the prototype of the ADL600 for the recording of Sonny Landreth's Grant Street album. I was so blown away by the sound - big, three-dimensional "vintage" tube flavor, but with an incredibly open top end and gobs of headroom - that I immediately got on the list to get one of the first production units.

  • Tim Holsinger

    I use the PreSonus ADL 600 in my studio to record vocals and it blows me away! This preamp is incredible! I'm able to record fantastic-sounding vocal tracks that always fit perfectly in the mix. It has tons of headroom, which allows you to really push the tubes and get a rich sound! I'd recommend one to anyone who's serious about getting great sounds on their recordings.

  • from Wellsburg, PA July 8, 2015Music Background:
    Home studio, multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, producer etc.

    IF KIA BUILT A LAMBORGHINI

    Here's the thing...if KIA built a Lamborghini, you would never believe that it was TRULY as good as a genuine Lamborghini...just because it said "KIA" on it. Such is the case with this preamp. While PreSonus makes a great number of exceptional products, many people, sadly, still only liken them to consumer to pro-sumer levels of gear. Not this time! For people in the know, who don't get hung up on "brand names," the ADL 600 is hands-down one of the greatest preamps the Earth has ever seen...tube OR solid state. I purchased this beast well before the recent price drop; and I would STILL pay the old price today. If you want 2 channels of astonishing sonic bliss for anything you run through it, all wrapped up in a 28 pound chassis, grab yourself an ADL 600 and you will never look back. HUGE THANKS to my Sweetwater Sales Engineer, Geoff Allen, for this recommendation. Total game changer!

  • from Las Vegas January 19, 2015Music Background:
    Voice Over Artist and Commercial Producer using Pro tools 11

    This pre am rocks! And BONUS- it will take two mic's

    Well I thought my solid state pre amp was pretty good. Sound was indeed good and I received compliments on my work.
    Then I bought this and WOW! It made my 416 Shotgun sound like a 5 grand mic. Then I purchased a Manley Reference mic and hooked it into this baby. DOUBLE WOW!
    This pre amp is incredible and for the price a triple WOW!
    It's built solid like a tank and those tubes are magic!

  • from LA, USA March 22, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer

    This is it.

    This preamp is not a trend. Its not a fad thatís going to go away. I suspect this pre will be a staple for years to come and even become somewhat of an industry standard. Especially the more time goes on and people get a chance to work with this. Not a particularly coloured pre. So there is still definitely a need for the í73ís, 512ís, TG2ís, Putnamís, etc. and all their clones. But donít mistake its lack of character as lack of life. Its a very vibrant preamp. Not boring in the slightest. Build quality is excellent. Itís EXTREMELY heavy. I wouldnít recommend this for the studio-on-the-go. Iím a really big fan of the Martech, and this gets me what I believe is a very similar feel. The benefit of the ADL being cost per channel, rack mountable, and more flexibility in tone shaping and gain staging. Its hard to describe sound at this level, its very esoteric and subjective. Hope this was a little helpful though.

  • from Tifton, GA May 5, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Composer, Pro Musician

    Fantastic!!!

    I have enjoyed this thing from day 1. It's rich, detailed, the transients are beautiful. It can go from tame and neutral to tubey and gritty. If using a ribbon, you definitely need the Cloudlifter. This thing is whisper quiet at moderate levels but can introduce a slight hiss at higher volumes. I've never experienced this with condensers on this pre.

    Love it!

  • from Hampton, VA February 8, 2012Music Background:
    Studio Owner / Hobbyist

    Dream Preamp

    Super excellent and versatile preamp. Easy to use: you can easily dial in a little drive to warm up a track. Set the right gain amount, and proper impedance for your mic and add a little high pass with the simple front panel dials. Great, great piece of gear. Thank you to David Hess, my Sweetwater sales rep (1398). Sweetwater as always delivered right on time.

  • from October 22, 2011

    Best Investment I ever made

    I have Neumann's, AKG's, the Mojave MA-200, and the improvement the ADL-600 made in everything I've put through it is nothing short of astounding. My 414 is over 25 years old, and sounds better than I've ever heard it. I do voice-over work for a living, and record small vocal groups, and after they hear how they sound in my studio, they don't want to record anywhere else! The ADL-600 is by far the best pre-amp I've ever heard or tested. Probably worth twice the money.

  • from New York, NY USA October 23, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer

    Talk about a "wow" effect!

    The first time I heard this thing in action was as an intern working on a major project. We flipped the switch on this thing during the mixing process and immediately patched it into the majority of the mixes for that album. This thing does wonders for vocals, bringing clarity and warmth, and it even adds a little spice to mixes when you run your two-track through it. A must have.

  • from El Paso, TX July 17, 2008Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Song-writer/Composer

    Great addition

    I recently got the ADL-600 last week Friday (11 July, 2008) and I must say that I really love the "warmth, clarity & full-sound" that this preamp is able to provide. Using it with Blue Bluebird & CAD Trion mics & I love the clarity of this preamp (Used Presonus BlueTube, Art's Gold MPA, Focusrite VM Pro, Avalon 737sp & UA LA-3A) & IMHO it beats them all (not sure if that's correct, but it gives me what I need).

    I had looked & researched this preamp since 2005 & kept going back & forth between this & the Liquid Channel (Thanks for being out of stock, still going to add).

    Bottom-line: This is not a "budget/semi-pro" preamp, this is a professional preamp that will add to your arsenal, but yet & still you have to develop a ear in all that you do.

  • from Palm Bay, Florida March 17, 2008Music Background:
    Musician, Sound writer, Recording Engineer

    Sue and EV's ADL 600 Review

    To state things simply.... this pre amp is stunning. The sound is alway rich and "creamy". Thank you Mike Arango of Sweetwater for giving us the scoop about this wonderful piece!

    EV

  • from CT. USA December 26, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician, Hobbyist, Student, etc

    SIMPLE & EFFECTIVE

    ALTHOUGH THE WORD "WOW" IS A "STRETCH" (JUST A METAL BOX WITH COMPONENTS..NOT PAMELA ANDERSON)...I WOULD RATE THIS AS AN EXTREMELY WELL BUILT UNIT WORTHY OF ANY RECORDING SITUATION. NO OP-AMPS MEANS NO DOWN TIME TRYING TO FIND OUT WHICH ONE HAS "FRIED". THE STRAIGHT WIRE TYPE OF DESIGN IS WHAT GIVES THIS UNIT ITS' "DICTION". NO UNNECESSARY & MENACING FEATURES. JUST A PURE SIGNAL PATH HOPEFULLY COMING FROM PURE TALENT. ANTHONY IS AN INTELLIGENT & EXTREMELY AMIABLE PERSON TO DEAL WITH AND AS FAR AS I'M CONCERNED..HE MAKES THE BEST LA-2A OUT THERE. SO HOW CAN YOU LOSE BUYING A PREAMP DESIGNED BY HIM?

  • from Houston, TX March 14, 2007Music Background:
    Producer, Session Musician, Recording Engineer

    The Vacuum-Tubed Heart and Soul of My Studio

    I've recorded in some amazing studios. The kind of studios that mic my drums with about 20k worth of microphones alone (throw in front-end gear and you're getting closer to 6 figures). Those same studios used by artists like The Rolling Stones and Destiny's Child. Places listed as being amongst 'the best places to record in the country' by Billboard Magazine.

    So I've obviously heard a variety of preamps (from the latest and greatest to Sothebys-worthy vintage models) and what they're capable of doing to a variety of sound sources.

    The ADL 600 simply blew my mind when I first heard what it could do. I had a hard time believing it was really a Presonus. Presonus admittedly carries some cheaper, somewhat middle-of-the-road gear. They make good stuff but they're not really known for offering an across-the-board 'Mercedes Benz' level of gear.
    They just don't quite have the same name status garnered by such elitists as Avalon, Manley, or Cranesong. But the proof is in the hearing.

    I'm so glad I saved some money by not going with the Avalon or any of the other highbrow heavyweights. And my recordings sound like I spent nearly twice as much. My clients are just as happy with the sound as me, and most of them don't know the difference between a condenser and a ribbon microphone. But they do know when something sounds good. And that's really all that matters.

    Any source put through the ADL takes on new life, whether vocals, drum overheads, or acoustic guitar. It will bring your mic's to life. Go get one. Trust me, you'll be thrilled you didn't spend the extra on the Avalon.

    If you're after a stratosphere of headroom, crystalline clarity, and that big warm, organic sound of vintage (yet pristine) tubes, then you'll never look back.
    It's become my production studio's primary front-end. I have RODE mic's that now sound every bit as good as Neumanns when run through this thing. I will now save thousands by not buying some of the microphones I would have bought prior to getting the ADL. And no, I don't work for Presonus. I pray this is their new benchmark.

  • from Orlando, FL May 7, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Bassist, Producer, www.secombs.com

    Beautiful sound, Very versatile

    I've owned the ADL600 for 2 months and it has gotten use on vocals, acoustic, bass, drum overheads. It sounds great on everything I've used it on so far. It's not overly colored but the impedance selection and variable gain control allow you to get a nice variety of sounds, from clean/transparent to thick and warm. Plenty of gain! I received this right before an electric guitar overdub session and the guitarist just said "wow" after getting tones with this.. so much better than my previous stock pres in my 003. We were blown away and every other instrument I've recorded through it has sounded equally impressive. Definitely a quality piece and one that I will be using on every recording from now on.

  • from Orlando, Florida December 25, 2006Music Background:
    Mix Engineer, FOH Engineer, Recording Engineer as well

    Get One of these, You'll Love it

    This pre is an excellent mic pre but thats almost only what it's good for but it is good on some instruments like acoustic guitars and a couple others as well, It's also a VERY CLEAN pre NICE and BIG WARM SOUND

    I would recommend it over a 737.

  • from Preskill March 31, 2007Music Background:
    Studio Owner, Producer, Engineer

    ADL600

    Its pretty solid but spend the extra few hundred and go with a 2022 by avalon. THe ADL is a bit tinnier in the live room. I like it on iso'd vocals a lot though.

  • March 25, 2006

    Presonus ADL 600 Preamp

    This preamp blew me away. Extremely warm and clean. Built solid with old school "easy to grab" switches and knobs. I run just about everything through it before going into my DAW.

  • March 25, 2006

    The ADL600 is a stellar unit.

    So far I've used the ADL600 for drum overheads, vocals, keys, ac.gtr. and it certainly shines on all of them. I find the highs are silky smooth and the presence and detail have real depth....its not what I call neutral, which is GOOD.....it definitely has character - and more of it the harder you hit it on the input......there is tons of headroom which is quite impressive as well as being super quiet.....the HP filter is quite useful at 40/80/120.....I like that it has 3 choices unlike other units.......the¬_low and upper midrange has a very nice presence, that was quite evident on acoustic piano.
    ¬_
    I don't consider myself an expert on this stuff, but I know what I like and the ADL600 is now my go-to piece of gear. I also own the Vintech 1272 and Universal Audio LA610 and it makes its home nicely along side those units....this is a super combination of preamps to capture a variety of color and character, so needless to say I am quite happy with what I'm hearing. So in my mind the ADL600 is a stellar unit.

  • from Oracle, Arizona February 26, 2006

    Warmer Upper Thingey

    We just finished tracking an acoustic guitar with vocals through the ADL 600. The singer has been looking for "that sound" for some time, and we came close a few weeks ago with the Marshall V69 tube mic on vocals, but when adding the new ADL 600 up front, and running the guitar through an Earthworks TC-20 omni condensor, the sound was stunning! Very full and clear. It sounds as good raw as any track I have ever mastered, and this one has no treatment whatsoever.

    Needless to way I am keeping this unit, and my wife now feels better about the money spent on that "warmer upper thingey".

    Thanks, Mark, for the recommendation and the upsell. You hit it on the mark!

  • from Princeton, New Jersey February 24, 2006

    My new secret weapon!

    Since I got the ADL600, I soon began to run pretty much everything through it going into my ProTools - even to warm up final mixes! It renders a rich and warm tube sound, yet adds punch and edge. They call it a "tube pre-amp"...I call it my "tube processor"...or better yet...my new secret weapon!

  • November 1, 2005

    Wow!!!

    I have had the ADL600 for a few weeks now and I must say, WOW!!! This unit is very clean, but with tons of detail and warmth. It absolutly sounds amazing on kick and has a nice smooth character on vocals. Worth every single penny!!!

  • from Los Angeles, CA November 1, 2005

    ADL 600

    I've have an ADL 1000 for many years and have considered it one of the best purchases I ever made. The ADL 600 is just as rewarding to hear and own. I've only been using it for a couple days but its making my upright piano blend beautifully with all the guitar and bass stuff I record through and old 512b. the ADL 600 is clean, clear, quiet, flexible, and has nice tube softness to make my upright from 1911 sound silky smooth. It's less colored than the 512b, but still had a hint of a vintage style sound with a lot less noise. Thanks PreSonus and Anthony.

Questions about the PreSonus ADL 600?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway