rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Behringer ADI21 V-Tone Acoustic Driver DI Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer ADI21 V-Tone Acoustic Driver DI Pedal?

Questions about the Behringer ADI21 V-Tone Acoustic Driver DI Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from Kentucky July 26, 2016Music Background:
    Sound Guy

    Just exactly what we needed. Well Constructed.

    This acoustic driver works great with a wide range of passive pickup instruments. It seems to be extremely well constructed and engineered for the price. I initially bought it to amplify a banjo but have since used it for a mandolin and a bouzouki. It allows you to not only amplify the signal but to also adjust the sound to replicate the natural sound of the instrument. I have a Fishman that I originally bought to use and paid over twice as much for and it holds no comparison what so ever to the ADI21. I recommend it highly and several of my friends have purchased this driver after hearing it.

  • Papa Turk Nichols
    from Rockford ILL August 28, 2015Music Background:
    50+ years playing on stage

    ADI21 rounds out the trio

    Thanks again Mark Chapman. This little gem fills out the trio of DI21 pedals. First I started with the BDI21. Then the GDI21, both of these pedals do everything Behringer claimed them to be capable off and then some. Now the ADI21 is in my arsenal. Besides electric guitar and bass, I also gig with an accustic (Mitchell 12 string/Luna Orical for the six string) Nether high end instruments-Don't knock them till you try them. I've never had a true accustic reproduction without just using a good quality mic. Now with the ADI21 and on board electronics in the accustic guitars problem solved. The sweepable mids really make the magic come alive, ie. feedback control/tone shapping need I say more? 1/4" and XLR outputs Flexability to the max. Price is very friendly. If you play accustic on stage you need this problem solver.

  • Terry Hamill
    from Wilburton, ok. February 28, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar player, singer for 45 yrs.

    Great little DI for the money

    This does exactly what it says. Bought this beacause i was going to play at a church that didnt have DI's, so i did some quick reasearch and of course i was on a tight budget. I was not disappointed. This thing sounded huge, smoothed out that piezo harshness. I have owned and use other behringer gear and have not been sorry ever. If you need an economical DI preamp look no further , you've found it!

  • Customer
    from Aberdeen, WA January 13, 2017Music Background:
    Latin and fingerstyle Jazz

    I am pleased with this....

    I have waited a while to rate this.... as any acoustic guitarist knows, your mood has more to do with how well you like your sound than anything else... I own several preamps and have liked them all at one time or another.... after careful consideration, I have decided I would be lost without this Acoustic Driver... The pros are it is rugged and has a tone I think is a good compromise.... the cons are the processed function could have more gain and the battery doesn't last too long.... maybe 4 or 5 hours.... I have a rechargeable so I don't care and use a power supply in my studio.... I am surprised how good the tone is before the activation button is pressed....

  • Mark Thompson
    from East Amherst, NY January 10, 2017

    must have for piezo pockups

    This review is specifically for piezo under the saddle pickup users who may be hesitant to pick a modeling amp. I bought this over a year ago and use it every time I play live. 90% of the time I plug into PA system via XLR cable. It's variable who will be running the sound system and everyone has a "fix" for piezo guitars. This box can do a better job, and provides a warm balanced tonal signal to the PA system. At first I tried many settings and never liked what I heard. Lately I've just been using the "folk" settings recommended in the user manual and it is perfect for my Yamaha LL-6 guitar. The mid, treble, blend options are confusing, but start with folk settings and refine from there. I occasionally use with a humbucking pickup guitar with same settings and which also gives a great tonal balance. So for $ you get a versatile hardworking "always on" solution for piezo pickup guitars. Maybe my next guitar will have $300 electronics with onboard EQ etc, but for now the adi21 solved the piezo problem for me perfectly. I do have a couple effects pedals before the adi21, chorus, reverb, tremelo, and it works fine last in the chain.

  • Ben
    from Great Falls, Montana August 25, 2016

    Unbeatable for the money

    The first ADI21 I received was DOA, but Sweetwater fixed that problem in their usual exemplary manner (thanks Chris and Max!) and I received a replacement a matter of days later. In the meantime, I used my SansAmp VT Bass Deluxe DI (also purchased here) with the newly-installed Fishman Powerbridge in my Les Paul (direct wired to a stereo jack, with a splitter box to send the piezo signal to the DI and the electromagnetic signal to an amp). While the SansAmp is certainly more flexible in terms of tone, the ADI21 gets the job done for acoustic tones, which are all I was concerned with here, pleasantly rounding out the perhaps-too-bright signal coming straight from the piezo and presenting more natural-sounding acoustic guitar tones. I don't think I could be happier without spending over 10 times the money. The only thing missing from the ADI21 as far as I am concerned is an effects loop, but for the money, that seems like asking maybe a bit too much. Great product!

  • Bruce Kerr
    from Southern Illinois September 3, 2016

    Impressive!

    I ordered this unit from SW and it does the job perfectly! I have a Breedlove acoustic that has great playability, but is thin sounding by itself. I looked at some of the expensive units and decided to give this a shot and it paid off. Since then I've started using it with my Ibanez acoustic and it gives me more volume and improves the tone as well. This is a good buy! The difference with it on or off is incredible. So far no problems, and I've been using it for a year or so. Works great and it's inexpensive! It's a winner!

  • David
    from NW Missouri August 7, 2016Music Background:
    singer-songwriter, church sound specialist

    Great Value

    Although this is labelled as a DI box, it is so much more with it's active pre-amp function and three-band EQ. No other DI box in the price range has these features.
    The major drawback is that it only runs on battery or a wall wart with a spaghetti wire. Behringer could improve this with a minor redesign to make it capable of running on phantom power.
    Another drawback is that it is not built to be heavy duty--using the same type of plastic housing and knobs found on their other stompboxes. But as long as one does not go all "Pete Townshend" on equipment, it should be reliable enough.
    I purchased two of these for the church I attend since, when I play guitar I like to run my FX unit through the board in stereo. It works great and turning the ground lift switch to "on" eliminated the hum I was hearing.
    Given the fact that it contains features found on more expensive DI-Box/Pre-Amp units, I think it is a great value. If Behringer added the capability to operate with phantom power this would get a solid five-star rating.

  • Trevor
    from TN May 11, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Surprisingly cool

    This really helps round out your zinging piezo sound. And the price is right. Would probably be useful on bass and maybe electric in some cases.

  • Roy A
    from Greensboro, NC October 20, 2014Music Background:
    experienced hobbyist - beginning professional

    Nice pedal works well

    The treble, mid and bass controls are very sensitive and allow for lot of sound shaping. The level knob has less effect than you might think - the main reason I didn't give it 5 stars. The tube mic emulation really smooths out any harshness from my pickup (JJB Prestige 330). The first pickup installation I did was poor and I needed to boost and even out the signal. The blend knob actually gives me more of a boost than the level knob - dunno why?? At any rate, it give the ability to shape, smooth out and boost my signal when needed. That's what i got it for and it does a pretty good job, IMO.

  • Bigfoot
    from Deep in the Woods of Northern California September 23, 2015

    Not Bad for the $

    Given the price, it's not too bad, the build quality is decent and it has a good feel to it. But the sound is mediocre. I recorded some tracks of a Eastman AC420 with K&K pure mini passive pickups, and head to head to head with an old IBZ10A practice amp (from the headphone out), and a VTB-1 preamp and this unit was my least favorite of the three. The signal was just loud enough with the level cranked, and it sounded a little weak and muddy in comparison. It will preamp your guitar if you need it to, and for as little as it costs it does it's job, just don't expect exceptional tone.

  • Matt
    from Ephrata, PA January 17, 2017Music Background:
    Church Musician

    Pretty bad, even for the low price

    Well, I really wanted to like this product. I recently bought a Godin LGXT, which has a set of Piezo Electric pickups. They tend to sound pretty harsh, so I needed some sort of acoustic DI box to tame them a bit.

    For a brief period of time, I thought this pedal was the answer. It did a pretty good job for awhile, but lately it just sounds distorted and causes my guitar to break up. That's REALLY not a sound you want when trying to emulate an acoustic guitar. I've tried replacing batteries on both the guitar and the unit, and fiddled with every knob, but I just can't get a useable sound out of this thing.

    Ultimately, it's pretty bad when piezo pickups sound better WITHOUT this unit than with it. I can't figure out what changed or why it suddenly sounds terrible. And since this little thing is so cheap, I really did have low expectations. All I really wanted was something to EQ my signal and make it sound a bit more natural. However, this poor thing can't even manage that. The only reason I didn't give it 1 star was because it actually sounded OK for awhile before it suddenly went to crap.

    Perhaps you could plug a regular acoustic guitar into this and get some useable EQ features, but for me, it just doesn't work at all.

  • Peter Connolly
    from Roy, UT June 19, 2016

    Headed for the trash

    Promises much, delivered nothing.

    My wife and I play out regularly in groups, and as she plays acoustic, she wanted a DI specifically for her. We thought this was the one.

    We gave it a good try - we purchased it in March, and tried to use it at least once every week. I say tried to, because absolutely *every* time we went to use it, the battery was dead, or we'd get odd intermittent issues with it taking up valuable practice time (and then usually switching it out anyway). Because I don't have shares in Duracell, we've gone back to a basic active DI for the moment, and this one is in the trash pile.

Questions about the Behringer ADI21 V-Tone Acoustic Driver DI Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway