0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Behringer Ultracoustic ACX450 - 45-watt 1x8" 2-channel Acoustic Combo Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer Ultracoustic ACX450 - 45-watt 1x8" 2-channel Acoustic Combo?

Questions about the Behringer Ultracoustic ACX450 - 45-watt 1x8" 2-channel Acoustic Combo?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from NW Missouri March 4, 2017Music Background:
    Singer-Songwriter

    Good value for price

    It's not perfect but it does get the job done. Fortunately, the pluses outweigh the minuses.
    First off, a major plus is separate 5-band graphic EQs for each channel. That is better than the 3-band EQs being offered by every other acoustic amp in this price range. The EQs also feature Behringer's FBQ function which automatically pinpoints problem frequencies prior to feeding back so the user can reduce the specific band effected.
    I also appreciate the two-way footswitch included with the amp for switching FX on/off. It's not really necessary since I don't plan to use the onboard FX, but it's a nice touch that no other manufacturer offers.
    It has a great sound--very clean. And the EQ helps eliminate some of the midrange "quack" that piezo pickups are noted for.
    That said, there are a few deficiencies I'd like to note.
    First off, there is no master volume--simply individual channel volumes. It could be that Behringer thought adding a second gain stage would be too noisy, but if the individual channel volume controls were passive while the master volume was on an active gain stage, the noise problem could be eliminated and allow the user to use the individual channel gains for purposes of balancing only.
    The second deficiency is that this unit has no DI output allowing the user to run a signal from the amp to a soundboard.
    Finally, no headphone output. This would be nice for silent practicing.
    It should be noted that these amps do not have enough gain if one's guitar has a passive pickup. So if your guitar is not pre-amped. It you would get more out of the amp by running the guitar signal through an active pre-amp. I've tried this unit using a guitar with a Mighty Mite passive pickup and run the signal through a Behringer ADI-21 with very good results.

  • from Los Angeles January 17, 2017Music Background:
    Not amatuer, not pro

    Ultracoustic is ultra

    Great amp! Just played in a mid-sized church and it filled the room. Beautifully reproduces my Ovation acoustic-electric on one channel and a vocalist on the other. Very good controls for the graphic equalizers which really make a big difference. I haven't done much with the effects other than to add reverb and that works well. All in all, this amp is well worth the price. I love the look as well. It's a little heavy to be easily portable but not so weighty that you never want to take it anywhere. Get it, you'll love it.

  • from North Dakota October 22, 2016

    Behringer ACX450 acoustic

    I've had this amp for just a couple weeks and really like it. The 4.5 is because the front logo is quite noticeably crooked and some of the text on the control panel is difficult to read.
    Perfect size and weight. The CD input works great. I like the back being enclosed so not to damage the speaker. The FX's work great and plenty of options. A volume setting of 2.5 is plenty for home practice. I like the case size and metal corner protectors. Having seen the little brother 20 watt I was surprised how small it is. If this is what you want, then there it is.
    A great amp for me and I suspect for most anybody.

  • from Down South September 29, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist with a steep learning curve

    This amp is a 10, nothing less.

    Got mine today, and setting it up took me a just a few minutes. Using a Shure SM58 for vocals and acoustic harmonica works fantastic with the ACX450. My amp family is all tube amps from Vox and Ampeg. So this as my first experience with this Ultracoustic ACX450 is being truly overwhelming, so to say. I expected much less for this low-end price and being rewarded by such a high quality product is great indeed. Sure, I could have spent a 4 digit amount but I kept to my budget and for this Behringer amp the price-to-value ratio is unbeaten, at least to my knowledge. Crisp, clean sound, reverb 3 and 4 sound organic and the looks of the amp are eye-catching. Zero feedback, even when I dialed in a 9 on the GAIN. The modulation and delay section is another option which actually does not fit too well with my voice and harmonica tunes. However, I instantly decided to skip all this modulation which is no problem at all for my performance as a singer/acoustic harp player. I will figure if it makes sense to use this modulation/delay on board effects when plugging in other instruments. For now, everything works out at its best. I will use this amp for rehearsals in my studio and on smaller stages.
    Last but not least, Sweetwater Music and their sales engineer Phil Potts provided a top notch service, like always.
    Thanks guys, the world of acoustic music starts to shine!

  • from Alabama August 12, 2016Music Background:
    Have played in a band and recorded.

    Tube like tone!

    I have owned this amplifier for over a year now and continue to be amazed at the wonderful tones. The 8 inch speaker has wonderful voicing. Now only does this sound great with acoustic guitars, but try a hollow body or semi-hollow body through it. My Casino Coupe truly sounds like it is plugged into a tube amp through this amplifier. I also use vocals on this amp. You can tweek your voice with the controls and get fairly loud and good vocals . I hate to admit it, but the clean tone on this amp sounds much better than my Line 6 Spider Jam using an electric guitar, and that Spider Jam has to be among the best modeling amps. How does Behringer do such quality for such low prices? Been playing for 40 years. Go try one and see what you think.

  • from Maine March 31, 2016

    Great Fiddle and Vocal Amp

    Had this amp since 08/2011. Plug in my Realist acoustic /electric violin and Shure microphone and let it rip! I built a small plywood wedge (Nashville style) to set the amp on. For bar gigs, wedding parties, etc I tip it towards me and it fills the room.Put it behind me if I need more volume for larger spaces. The instrument EQ sliders set the violin sound I want, and I add in a little reverb. I've been gigging out for 30+ years and this is a perfect rig for me. I sing and my accompanist is either an un-amped electric piano or acoustic guitar thru' an old Laney acoustic amp. This amplifier is still very quiet (no hum) and has traveled all over Maine in the back of my jeep. Fiddle goes directly into amp, no need for stomp boxes or separate EQ. Pretty simple set up: amp, wedge, mic stand, cables = one trip in and out of the venue!
    Bottom line, this amp makes your violin sound exactly like a violin, is simple and ideal for my use.

  • from Chicago March 10, 2016

    Great little amp!

    Great little amp for any singer songwriter for small venues and practice . I'm totally impressed and have had mine for 8 years now . Good effects foot switch even an aux input for break music . I use it when I don't need the power and performance of my Marshal AS100D soloist system which in my opinion is the gold standard for an acoustic combo amp. For the money this little behringer can't be beat !

  • from Thomaston, CT November 11, 2015Music Background:
    Barroom singer

    ACX-450

    We love it!. We love the fact that it has separate speakers for vocal and instrument, something we've never had before. The size is right, great portability. I like I can turn my speaker for vocals up and I'm not drowned out by the piano! I also like the f/x, looking forward to working with the settings, and getting it the way I want it for me.

  • from Virginia Beach Va. August 13, 2014Music Background:
    intermediate player , guitar music enthusiast , learning and playing soothe the soul.

    Great way to start palying amplified music.

    Much louder than expected it is not very often the volume is above 4 or 5.
    Reverb is awesome , chorus , delay , flange, are really cool too.
    lots of control with tone , volume ,effects are very flexible.
    The foot pedal is a nice touch especially the long cord 15' { or longer ? }
    only issue is no headphone jack, but I knew this when purchased so I really can't complain.
    The CD and USB connections are another bonus.
    Overall I am very happy with this amplifier. Well worth the money !

  • from Commerce, Michigan May 23, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, playing open mics and small venues.

    Great value and great sound

    The sound is incredible for and amp in this price range, good array of effects, and yes it come with foot switch to turn effects on and off. Play my Martin acoustic electric and my Washburn acoustic electric through it and they both sound great (real natural sound). I also use it for my vocals and get a great mix with the eq and the effects. Well worth the purchase price\.

  • from Virginia Beach October 16, 2013Music Background:
    Intermediate guitarist

    Terrific Buy

    I'm extremely satisfied with this amp. Has effects that are useful for an acoustic guitar--not overkill but what you want for zeroing in on a wide number of satisfying enhancement to sounds rather than radical altering of sound as many of today's amps do/and with the easiest of controls. Foot switch is included for independent control of guitar and other input for voice or drum machine or w/e. Love it.

  • from san tan valley arizona May 4, 2012Music Background:
    lifetime music avocation.

    Best For The Money, choice!

    played and sang for over 80 people at company party. worked perfectly.

  • from Camano Island, WA USA October 14, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist, amp and guitar repair

    Great Amp!

    I cannot believe this amp! It has great features and the low price. It is great for clubs and small gigs, plenty of volume and good sounds. The mike feature works great. My daughter uses it with her acoustic/electric and a mike for practice. Very attractive case and plenty of power. Behringer comes through again with a great value!

Questions about the Behringer Ultracoustic ACX450 - 45-watt 1x8" 2-channel Acoustic Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway