0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Vox AC30C2X 30-watt 2x12" Tube Combo with Alnico Blue Speakers Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Vox AC30C2X 30-watt 2x12" Tube Combo with Alnico Blue Speakers?

Questions about the Vox AC30C2X 30-watt 2x12" Tube Combo with Alnico Blue Speakers?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Watervliet, NY November 13, 2016

    Serendipity or Tonal Destiny...You decide.

    The story goes, in 1962 Beatles manager Brian Epstein struck a deal with JMI Corporation's (the original manufacturer of Vox amps) Thomas W. Jennings. Epstein sold him and amplifier designer, Dick Denny on the idea that the Beatles would be a major show business success and that if the company gave the band amplifiers for free, Vox would receive enormous publicity. In addition, Epstein promised the Beatles would use Vox equipment exclusively as long as he was their manager. Dick Denny liked the idea, but Jennings did not. In spite of Jennings' objections however, Denny authorized the "gifts". As it tuned out of course, Epstein was right, very right.

    John Lennon and George Harrison had no idea that pairing their respective guitars, Lennon's Rickenbacker 325 and Harrison's Gretsch Country Gentleman (among others) with the Vox AC15 and subsequently AC30 would produce the totally unique sound that is the early Beatles. They were happy to scrap the junk they were used to playing with for new, more powerful equipment. And since it didn't cost anything, more the better.

    But what happened was serendipitous at least or destiny at best for the sound of those particular guitars through the Vox amps is now the stuff of legend.

    Though the circuitry has been modernized, the tone remains the same or as close to it as is humanly and technologically possible. Don't let the fact that they're made in China scare you off either. Anyone can assemble the thing, it's the parts that count (I'm paraphrasing of course).

    To put it bluntly, the thing is a beast, I mean loud, but in the best of all ways. I play a Ric 350v63 through it and yes, it comes across precisely the way it should, ringing, jangly, chiming, whatever adjective you want to apply a la Beatles. But I also play a Strat and Gibson SG through the thing and again, the AC30C2X does not disappoint in any way. It is solid too, well constructed. Weighs a ton, so I put it on a furniture dolly, problem solved.

    Is it an amp for your living room? No. It's an amp for maybe your basement or your garage if you need, but it's a stage amp for sure. It isn't necessary to detail the tonal controls, needless to say it's like all really good amps, there are enough control goodies for you to play with to get "that" sound you want which is perfectly subjective as we all know.

    If you're like me, looking for the old Beatles sound, you'll be more than pleasantly rewarded for the money you'll shell out for this thing. I have a Fender Deluxe Reverb as well and it compares nicely with the AC30C2X with the exception that the blue alnico speakers in the AC30C2X are unbelievable, just something about them that words can't describe, only your ears can.

    I gave the Vox AC30C2X a 5 not because of the "Wow! Blown Away" thing because I wasn't wowed or blown away. It's better than that, I'm totally satisfied, no buyer's remorse, no, "D**n, I shouldn't have spent all that money, nothing like that. How often in your life do you spend a grand and say, "I'm really glad I spent that money"? You will with this amp.

    Is the Vox AC30C2X the perfect amplifier? No, there's no such thing. But if you're looking for big sound with a unique voice, one that cannot be duplicated by any other amp even those claiming to have several models built in, this is it.

    Play on my brothers.

  • from Austin TX September 12, 2016Music Background:
    Part-time Professional/Session

    Killer Timbre & Classic Tones

    As a lifelong Beatles fanatic, this amplifier has long sat at the toppermost of my list of Must Have gear. I originally ordered the AC30X2 with the Celestion G12M Greenback Speakers which has been described as having that mid-heavy Marshall tone. But what I really craved was that jangly treble resonance of the original AC-30, so I upgraded to the 30C2X with Alnico Blue speakers & I'm totally thrilled with the new amp. When I unboxed the amp and plugged in my Grestch Electromatic 12-string, the sound was everything I wanted and more! My guitar running clean through the amp has a presence & pointed articulation that elevates my guitar sound to a new level. The built-in tremolo & reverb sound very good even with basic controls. This Vietnam-built amp is rock solid and feels substantial in every detail. Once I clock 20 hours of amp time breaking in the new speakers, the sound should settle into a more smooth tone topped with that trademark "magical chimey, shining and shimmering tone." HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • from Detroit July 9, 2016Music Background:
    Old Enough to Buy ****, Young Enough to Play

    AC30C2X, Perfection, Possibly.

    I have started, and then stopped writing a review for this amplifier about 4 times since receiving it last week from Sweetwater.
    It isnt an inexpensive amp, to be sure, and it took me a while to come to terms with it. I thought about sending it back a few times. It doesnt have the Marshall heaviness to it, nor does it have Fender cleans. What it DOES have is the middle ground that is missing between the two, it has its own very unique Vox sound. The more I play it, the more I understand why there are so many devoted AC30 players out there. It is responsive, it is dynamic and versatile, it is capable of some very beautiful overdriven sounds, and of some great cleans as well. The Blues have broken in, as have the tubes, and my only regret is that I didnt buy this amp sooner.
    Dont get me wrong, I really dig heavy/hard rock, and I own several Marshalls, a TSL 100, a JCM 800, and a DSL40C (all of which I love). But the Vox has taught me a lesson:
    There is a small, secret spot of perfection that lies somewhere between Fender cleans, and the *** kicking overdrive of a Marshall, and you can find it in a Vox AC30.
    It is quite capable of doing heavy rock (Zep, Sabbath, BOC, Deep Purple), and some great cleans (Beatles, U2, etc.). If this amplifier is in your Sweetwater cart, and you are just seconds away from pulling the trigger, trust me, do it. You wont be sorry.
    Oh yes, one more note, ask for Ken Davis when you call or email. Hes helpful and knowledgeable, I have purchased many items from him and always been really happy with the service I have received.
    The AC30 has totally changed the way I think about playing guitar.

  • from Salt Lake City, Utah March 31, 2015Music Background:
    I have played guitar for most of my life, some keyboards also. Have a collection of vintage amps and guitars.I also have a small personal recording studio.

    A dream come true.

    Owning a Vox AC30 has been a dream of mine for most of my life. That dream has now come true and I have not been disappointed. I love the sound from my new Vox AC30C2X. I have several guitars that I play through it, and all of them sound great through this amp. Guitars include a Fender Telecaster, Rickenbacker 360 12 string, Rickenbacker 350V63, Epiphone Les Paul, and one that I built myself. Both humbucker and single coil pickups sound great. When I turn up the master volume control, I can get that famous smooth and creamy Vox distortion that this amp is so famous for. But when I turn down the master and turn up the channel volume, I can also get some wonderful clean tones from this amp. Thanks Sweetwater for helping me obtain one of my dreams. Great company to work with and Derek Senestraro was a vital part in my obtaining this amp. He went out of his way to answer all of my questions and gave me a great price on this amp. Thanks !!!

  • from Baton Rouge, LA USA June 17, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Audio Engineer

    Legendary Amp!

    AC30C2X, it is still the best amp today in my opinion. I spoke to Sean (our Sweetwater rep) over the phone about this amp for quite some time, despite knowing without a doubt this was the sound I was looking for. The crisp highs and soothing warmer lows of the Alnico blue celestions offer more than optimal quality of tone through it's 30watts. This amp couldn't possibly do more to please me and Sweetwater will always be like family!
    5/5

  • from Kennett, MO April 20, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Awesome Amp!!!

    I'm surprised nobody has reviewed this amp already. If you are looking at this amp then you probably already know what you need to know about it anyway but let me just say that this amp sounds absolutely amazing. Don't let the 30 watts fool you, this thing is LOUD when cranked but you can get some really great sounds at lower volumes too. The eq knobs on the top boost channel are interactive, so it takes a little experimentation to find your sound but once you do it is worth the work. Put a treble booster in the normal channel and it's tone heaven. Very sweet amp.

  • from Texas August 31, 2016Music Background:
    10+ years semi professional psche rock, alt rock, modern metal

    Fantastic amp.

    Bought this in my early 20's(26 now) on a whim...had never played one, but had always heard of it's reputation. At the time, I was playing in a semi professional metal band with a 6505 and I wanted to start writing alt rock again, and the 6505 was pretty much a one trick pony. When I first got it, I was too young to really appreciate it. I thought it sounded fantastic clean, but wasn't that pleased with the overdrive. I also didn't like the fact that it had 4 inputs and no foot switchable clean and overdrive channel. It sat for about two years with minimal use...me using a solid state orange crush instead.

    Fast forward a few years and I love this thing! I joined a 90's cover band that played paid gigs weekly and this was my secret weapon. It works as a brilliant clean pedal platform...very thick and rich. I re-tubed it with some JJ's, and there was a mild clarity improvement and better overdrive, but to be honest, I was never really "wanting" in the sound department, even with the Chinese stock tubes. I now play in an original alt/psychedelic band and I still use it pretty strictly as a clean pedal platform, but for recording, I've taken to cranking the amp on the high gain input nstead of using pedals and it sound monstrous for rock rhythms! Reverb and tremolo sound and work great. I only gave it a 4.5 because it's so damned heavy! I started hitting the gym a lot harder and it's definitely gotten a bit easier. haha Get you one ASAP!

    PS The alnico blues sound great, but my roommate has the AC15 with Greenbacks and it also sounds fantastic as well! And VERY loud. You can't go wrong, either way!

  • from St. Paul, MN April 22, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar, recordist, producer.

    AC30 perspective

    Would have givin' it a 5 if not for crap tubes installed new.
    Cost me another C note to correct this. 5 of 7 tubes were trash right off.
    After that, and given a decent tube set, and this thing rocks!
    Great tone. Very good control of gain, the EL84 is a very musical tube.
    I guess there's a reason they been making these for 50 years.
    They kick ***!!! Makes my Super Reverb look sick!

  • from SoCal May 25, 2016Music Background:
    Pro

    Vox AC30C2X X=Blue Factor

    This will be short but sweet. Love the sound of the Celestion Alnico Blue Speakers. Yes! Better then the Greenbacks in this amp. I really miss the tube rectifier. When you crank it up you loose the sag. Some of you will like this as it has a more modern sound at higher volume. The AC30C2X is killer and holds up as the latest version of the Vox AC30. Made in China... Can't tell from the outside or the sound!

  • from hernando ms January 14, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    vox ac30cx2

    great amp punchey and bright great on early rock and country music works great with tc drive system for full stack distortian sounds and records great

  • from December 29, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician

    not the Vox of old

    sure this is a nice sounding ,very powerful amp..nice cleans..and sort of the classic Vox sound.But it is not the Vox of old..totally made in China,with so so workmanship..and of course it weighs..wait for it..73 pounds.I can't afford roadies.If you have a strong back..or a lot of friends to help you..well maybe you can handle this,but I never thought I would see an amp that made a Twin seem light. Good price..but you get what you pay for

Questions about the Vox AC30C2X 30-watt 2x12" Tube Combo with Alnico Blue Speakers?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway