0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Vox AC15VR 15-watt 1x12" Valve Reactor Combo Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Vox AC15VR 15-watt 1x12" Valve Reactor Combo Amp?

Questions about the Vox AC15VR 15-watt 1x12" Valve Reactor Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from October 28, 2015Music Background:
    Lifelong guitarist

    Best Tube Amp Value

    The AC15VR has a tube pre-amp that gives it the characteristic warmth with the consistency of a solid state speaker final stage. I've had it for a while, never had to change out the vacuum tube once. If you are looking for a vintage, bluesy, or warm tone, you can't go wrong with a tube amp. The AC15VR also is shockingly affordable, at almost half the cost of the similar pathfinder or AC15C1 Vox models. No faults so far, I would recommend that newbies don't try using this, as it takes maturity to find a decent tone.

  • from North of Chapman Ranch, Texas October 17, 2011Music Background:
    Pro

    Very nice and useful amp

    I've had my '15VR about nine months now (purchased from Sweetwater, of course) and I really like it. It replaced a Fender Hotrod Deluxe, which is a very good amp, but too loud and messy sounding for me. The Vox AC15VR has a magnificent clean tone, and I for one actually like the digital reverb. When I record, I like to be able to give each instrument its own place in the mix as far as is practicable. This amp is great in that regard; it minds its own business and doesn't walk all over the other instruments, yet it keeps the voxy chime thing happening very well. This is an excellent studio amp for me. I'm a bass player, so this box never goes outside. It is great for working out parts and writing for me. I really like it.

  • from Portage,IN April 21, 2017Music Background:
    Lead Guitar, Worship Music

    Great product, even better Price!!

    For the price you can't go wrong, has great tone, and the vintage vox sound! If you're looking for a vox, but you are on a budget, this is the product to go for!

  • from Georgia October 20, 2015Music Background:
    Extensive

    For the price, it can't be beat

    Well I have to admit, I was a little concerned buyin solid state even if it does proclaim hybrid. But when I inboxed it and plugged in my guitar I was impressed. I only have a couple of comments and here we go. #1. Right out of the gate you can tell it not a tube amp not by the tone which is great by the way but the sustain, it has plenty of bite/attack. #2. Those of you who like to run amp only you will not like the Reverb, even with it all the way up it just needs more reverb. For me that's not even an issue, I run pedals so I have all the reverb I could ever want. I mic my amp off stage with a SM57 it is a really clean amp and has that awesome VOX tone, On another note it accepts mid range and high end guitars very well low end not so much, you will want to have a good source for sure, it is vert transparent. It doesn't really hide what you are trying to push through it, which is a good thing. Hope the review helps. Would like to thank sweet water for their help, always a pleasure dealing with them.

  • from De Leon Springs, FL June 30, 2015Music Background:
    Long time guitar player and collector.

    Good Sounding Amp

    I like it! Overall, the Vox AC15VR produces a nice, clean tone. Great for recording. I agree with the other reviewers about the reverb. It is basically useless. Turned up all the way, it is barely audible. That’s why I have a delay pedal to correct that. The overdrive channel is nice too, but I mainly play clean.

    And yes, it does produce a loud BURP when you turn it on. Slightly lesser when you turn it off. No big issue. Wish it came with a cover.

  • from United States October 8, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist, gigs too

    Nice for the price

    I would echo most of the other reviews. The price point for this amp is really good. You do get your money's worth. I can say it sounds like...well, a VOX amplifier! One thing I find a little amusing is when you turn it on. I gives a hearty mellow pop and if your hand is close to the vent on the top left you can actually feel the percussion from the sound. Either that or it's passing a bit o gas as part of the warm up!
    Seriously it is very nice, and I would especially echo the weak reverb and that it takes to pedals very well. Nice amp!

  • from Kannapolis, NC June 4, 2014Music Background:
    Live and studio performance of various genres of music.

    Great amp.

    Really loving mine so far. My only real complaint is that the reverb has to be as high as it'll go to really make a difference.

  • from Chicago, IL April 22, 2014Music Background:
    Musician & Recording Engineer

    Great Sound - Great Value

    Although this is not a hand-wired version of the VOX product line, I was more than extremely pleased with the classic 60's Brittish rock sound coming from this AC15VR. I do a lot of recording and some live work from that era of music and this unit has pleanty of power and headroom to express that classic clean jangle as well as modern heavy distortion tones. It is very portable, perfect for studio work and the stage. Don't let it's 15 watts and single 12" speaker fool you ... this product has plenty of power for the studio and small venues alike. Mic'd it can play in any sized venue. There is plenty of definition available in the tone controls and the reverb is subtle enough not to over-color the orignial tones. The VOX AC15VR has great sound and is a great value. I highly recommend this unit for anyone seeking that classic Brittish sound of the 60's and yet need that modern distortion as well. This amp offers both. I only took 1/2 a star away as I personally think the foot switch should be included with the unit., but that's a business decision the VOX execs have made.

  • from Detroit, MI January 28, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist / long-time church team

    very pleased

    I've had this now for about a year and I am very pleased with how it sounds. My buddy who has an all-tube AC15 really likes the sound of mine as well. I play both single coils and humbuckers into it. It takes pedals very well.
    The reverb on the amp is just alright, and pretty subtle even when maxed out...but that's really not a big deal to me at all. I like the sounds of both of the overdrive channels but don't use them much at all. I use the normal channel and rely on pedals for drive.
    It's got a sturdy construction - I've been carrying it around to church services on a regular basis and you wouldn't know it from the look of the amp.
    This gets loud enough, but not nearly as loud as many tube amps I've heard...which is to be expected. I mic my amp at church every week and it works out great.
    Overall, this amp is excellent for the price. Recommended for sure.

  • from Florence, Alabama December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Plays small coffee shop gigs

    Sounds like a fully tube amp

    I absolutely love the Vox Ac15vr for its tone. It sounds like a fully tube amp, especially on the od1 channel. With the high gain channel as well, this amp is very versatile. I also love the fact that it takes this amp a very short amount of time to warm up compared to fully tube amps. This is a great amp for the money and can produce classic AC15 tones to modern high gain tones. The only reason I didn't give this amp a 5 is because of the reverb. It was far to weak for my tastes.

  • from North of Chapman Ranch, Texas December 10, 2011Music Background:
    professional musician

    Always Top Boost

    For the dinero the '15VR is extremely good. It is loud, and it has plenty of spank with the clean channel. I play mine off the floor several inches, and find best to my ears with the treble knob around ten o'clock and the bass around three o'clock. The reverb doesn't do much until past one o'clock. The first OD channel is great when just a bit louder than the clean channel. Very tubey. The second OD channel is too much gain for me (your brain may differ). I have A/B'ed this amp with an Orange Tiny Terror; the TT has way more gain at almost all settings, and it's lots easier to get a clean tone at volume out of the AC15VR. I've owned this amp for a little over a year and it gets played a lot cranked and quiet. It's very close to all-tube level. Also, for recording, the AC15VR seems to do its thing also at lower loudness. Very nice.

    I'm glad to own and use this amp. It is very easy on the eyes, and gives a good account of itself sonically. It will do as well as any all-tube 15-watter I've ever used. The single 12AX7 double triode is used as a push-pull low-power driver to a MOSFET final amp. The tube is in the signal chain, unlike many hybrids, so the amp needs several moments to warm up after switching on. Overall, the effect is superb.

  • from Deltona, FL March 10, 2016

    Great amp at a Great price

    I was debating between this, a super champ, a small orange, or a VTX. I chose this because of the quality and the size of the speaker. It's hard to find an amp with a 12" celestion that doesn't have dozens of buttons and effects at this price. I had a Vox VTX before and the effects were good, but I ended up playing with the effects more than practicing.
    The reverb does not sound bad on this amp but it is weak. However, my main amp is a JC 120 and no reverb or chorus will compete with that. The 15VR still has its own advantages even over my JC 120. It actually has more variety of good sound options. This amp is the only amp I have had that could be used at all volume levels. Just remember, sometimes this uses volume leves to adjust the type of sound not just volume. It's not a bad thing but you have to get used to it. If you adjusted at a jazz level and go full blast you will probably add some crunch. Just work with the other buttons and your guitar to smooth it out. Portable enough to have on my night stand but big enough for a club performance. I got this to have a portable practice amp and it exceeds.

  • from south burlington, VT December 18, 2013Music Background:
    semi-pro musician

    vox ac15vr amp

    i really like the sound of this amp. it has it's problems however. it "clunks" when turned off and on.( but i can live with that.) i use a multi-effects pedal, and through the "clean" channel it sounds awesome, but the "overdrive" channel is a bit of a problem- the distortion is great, but it's so noisy, that i don't use it. still, the amp is remarkably loud, and has that "janglely" vox clean sound, so if you have a favorite distortion pedal that you use anyway, you're all set. so, i think that it's a great deal for the money.

  • from Chicago, IL USA November 27, 2010Music Background:
    hobbyist

    nice tube sound at a lower price

    This is a great amp if you are looking for that "Vox sound" but don't want to spend 3x as much for an all-tube Vox. Add a chorus pedal, crank the treble, and you'll sound like the Pretenders/early R.E.M./the Byrds before you know it... no Rickenbacker required. And Sweetwater customer service was tops--delivered faster than expected, and a human being to talk to if you have questions.

  • from Lafayette, La March 24, 2017Music Background:
    Guitarist and engineer

    This amp is really good, period. Do NOT be afraid if you are a "newbie" because it is easy to get a good sound with this amp. Amps that have a tube pre and tube power are the ones that "mature" guitarists who have been playing for a while play. Not solid state.

Questions about the Vox AC15VR 15-watt 1x12" Valve Reactor Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway