0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Vox AC15HW1X 15-watt 1x12" Handwired Tube Combo with Alnico Blue Speaker Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Vox AC15HW1X 15-watt 1x12" Handwired Tube Combo with Alnico Blue Speaker?

Questions about the Vox AC15HW1X 15-watt 1x12" Handwired Tube Combo with Alnico Blue Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Hollywood California March 3, 2017Music Background:
    Professional

    Made in Vietnam

    I originally got the regular Vox 1x12 with the Alnico speaker. When it arrived I found it to be made in China and it also came complete with Chinese tubes and tube rattle galore. I spoke with my sales rep and I told him I wanted a "real Vox" made in England. He assured me this would do it.

    When the new amp arrived the sound was amazing. The cleanest and best overtones I have ever heard. I am still learning all the various ways to use this amp as the various settings, bypasses, and switching provide a plethora of tone. One day I got down behind the amp to do some thing and there it was in big white letters:
    MADE IN VIETNAM

    As a child of the 1960's a friend of many Vietnam Vets I explained to my wife and manager that I was going to send it back. I told her there was no way that I could support a Vietnamese made amp. She explained to me how much that she and I enjoyed the sound of this amp. I told her but honey it was made in Vietnam. She commented that maybe they hand-wire stuff good there.

    If the salesman would have told me the amp was made in Vietnam I would not have purchased it. I also would not have the best sounding amp of my life to use everyday....

  • from Middle of the country June 28, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging classic rock band

    Made a believer out of me!

    From a long, long, long Fender amp guy - this amp totally surprised me. Much larger in size than I expected, which to me is good. The build quality is top notch, the sound is over top notch. So many sounds can be had with this amp, it is NOT a one trick pony.

    If you are looking for a great sounding amp with a ton of possible sounds for various playing styles, this is the amp.. no metal sorry, but short of that, this amp can do it all. I can't even tell you what my favorite tone is out of this amp as it has so many great ones. But I must say, this amp really wants so rock and it loves to be pushed and pushed hard.

    I am still a Fender (old school) amp guy, but I am just as much a Vox guy now as well... they compliment each other so well.

  • from St. Louis Mo USA September 2, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician

    gorgeous sound

    This amp is killer for blues...simple and very toneful with a singing breakup...worth the extra bucks for the celestion blues...I gig with it all of the time...Thinking about getting the AC 30 version for bigger shows and selling my Music Man.

  • from Idaho Falls, ID August 26, 2013Music Background:
    Player, custom builder, collector for over 20 years

    Unbelievable TOne

    I have been building and collecting tube amps since 1987. I currently own nearly 30 Tube amps. All are vintage or boutique. This Vox amplifier is amazing sounding. Its touch sensitive responsive to guitar adjustments and sounds great using any type of pickup and pedal in front of it. I am blown away by the overall tone this amp can deliver. It sounds great no matter the volume level or input level. This amplifier is easily the most versatile amplifier I have.

  • from New England July 28, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Best Amp I've Ever Owned!!

    This is by far the BEST amplifier I have ever owned! In the past 2 1/2 years I have played over 250 gigs using primarily a VOX AC30C2. It was a great amp for the price and served me quite well.... THEN one day I decided I needed an upgrade... posted my AC30 on craigslist and ordered the AC15HW1X. To my surprise(and delight), the AC30 sold before the HW even came! When the new VOX came I think it may have been one of the best days of my life.... This thing is a TONE MONSTER!! I'll tell you what.. these bad boys aren't cheap, but they are worth EVERY penny!! The hot/cool switch is just awesome... and with 'Hot' engaged it gives you(dare I say) a Marshall esque kinda of tone, which just screams with sustain and harmonic overtones!! The normal channel has beautiful cleans and a bright switch for cleaning up those muddy lows humbuckers can sometimes have.
    In conclusion....BUY THIS AMP!! When tone is this good... it is truly inspiring, and makes playing and practice a whole new level of fun!!

    Guitars:
    Gibson ES335 (LH)
    Gibson Special 60s Tribute SG (LH)
    Fender American Deluxe Strat w/ N3 PUPS (LH)
    Fender MIM Strat w/ Vintage Noiseless PUPS (LH)

  • from Florida December 21, 2011Music Background:
    Life Long Musician

    Lovin this one from the gitgo!

    I'm not disappointed! In fact, it's everything I was hoping for. So far I've played my Floyd Rose Strat (signed by Eric Johnson) and my G&L ASAT Bluesboy semi hollow through it. Best guitar amp I've owned or played through. Quieter than my Vibrolux and more tonal range! Looking forward to trying out my new Gretsch 5120 through it. I'm not a shredder! I'm a Hellcasters, Los Lobos fan and appreciate great tone! Always wanted a Vox and now I've got the best available! Handwired, Class A, valve rectifier, Alnico blue, what's not to love?

  • from San Antonio, TX December 4, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    This is the one!

    I have played 6 gigs with this amp so far, but I tried it last night without any pedals (had them in the club just in case). Had the Rickenbacker 12 string in the normal channel and Gretsch 6120RRH in the Top Boost channel. The Ric sounded jangly and bright. The Gretsch had the vintage sound I was looking for. If I wanted more of a tube distortion sound I flicked the wattage switch from 15 watts to 7.5 watts and turned the guitar up a little. I do this before the song is played. Nobody can believe how loud it is at 7.5 watts. I did not even mic the amp and it can easily be heard over the drummer.

  • from san diego June 8, 2011Music Background:
    recording/guitar hobbyist

    great amp sound: clean and dirty

    definitely Blown away w/ the great clean sound on my Hamer and my strat.
    definitely the sound comes out w/ more "feeling/emotion" then my older amps and the newer digital combo amps I have.

  • from Detroit, MI December 22, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist 30+ years

    Tonal Heaven

    I ordered this from Sweetwater and found it on my porch the NEXT DAY! I have an AC15C1 that I got in April, and I thought that amp was by far the most articulate thing I'd ever played through. I have a collection of Marshalls and Fenders, but as of late, I've been more interested in the crunch sound, and have been dropping the gain in my tone considerably. This is a function of playing a Vox. If your a metal guy, then this is not your kind of amp. If you like a sound that is sonically widespread, meaning full of deep bass, throaty midrange, and effervescent highs, then you probably know all about Vox already.

    Anyway, this amp (with the alnico Blue) can produce a rich sound unlike any other. the 2 channels are very different, with the normal being much cleaner. The top boost can cover any rock tone through AC/DC. I don't really need the tonal bypass, as it injects too much gain for my taste. The 1/2 power switch allows more output tube distortion, and can make the volume manageable. The Master bypass is great, but this amp can still get loud enough to summon the local boys in blue to your door.

    If it was lost or stolen, I'd buy another the next day. If my house was on fire, I'd grab this amp and let the whole lot of my others burn. I don't say that lightly, but if you like the Vox sound, you will certainly be elated to have this amp. There are no let-downs here, so whether you like the Beatles tone, or AC/DC, you can get it all.

    Unfortunately, this amp so outclasses my old AC15C1, I will probably just put that one in storage. In terms of sound, that amp sounds so much thinner. I wouldn't have ever suspected that until I got this amp.

    Again, if you like anything whatsoever about Vox tone, then this amp will be your new best friend.

  • from August 10, 2015

    OK

    Good sounding amp but to my ear not as good as vintage Vox amps. I have a vintage Vox Berkeley super reverb at my disposal and its much closer to the great Vox sound i'm looking for...

Questions about the Vox AC15HW1X 15-watt 1x12" Handwired Tube Combo with Alnico Blue Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway