rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Vox AC15C2 15-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Reviews

4.5 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the Vox AC15C2 15-watt 2x12" Tube Combo?

Questions about the Vox AC15C2 15-watt 2x12" Tube Combo?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Lexington, SC February 1, 2017Music Background:
    Garage band guitar and bass guitar 40 yrs

    The Best!

    Been playing guitars for 40 years and I finally got a Vox. The AC15C2 is the amp I've been looking for all these years. The sound quality, the build quality, everything about it is top notch. And don't let the number 15W fool you. This thing will peel your face off and sound great doing it. If you're thinking about buying one, go ahead and pull the trigger, you won't regret it.

  • from Alaska December 12, 2016

    Awesome 15 watt twin Vox ac15c2

    Super buy!
    Thanks to Scott Augustiniak excellent service

  • from Toronto and Troy Ohio February 15, 2016

    Real Guitar Amplifier - Vox AC15C2

    Having made my own and owned Amps like Fender, Line 6, Roland etc and being an Audio Engineer trust me I want to hug my ex band buddy who suggested the Vox AC15C2. 15 watts of real British Power not those inflated numbers of 3rd harmonic at 1 kHz pure tone gibberish by Japanese and American Amplifier Manufacturers. This Amplifier has the full range of tonal effects and enough power to blow out your windows. The master volume, normal channel volume, top boost volume and tone cut controls are all inter-related which means it takes a bit of tinkering around to figure out what an enormous combination of sounds are available. Buy it and you would never part with it.

  • from February 12, 2016Music Background:
    Former pro, now hobbyist

    Classic British Tone Monster

    This amp delivers far more than one would expect. The tone is classic British Invasion and the 2 x 12 speaker combo is magic for bottom-end punch.

    I wish that it had foot switchable channels so one could kick in some drive for a solo, but that's not how these amps work.

    I still have not had a chance to crank it up - I'm afraid that it will break windows. Especially if you push the input with a pedal.

    I love this amp and cannot foresee getting rid of it in the future.

    Awesome sales followup and communication at every step from my Sweetwater sales engineer Chris Neyman.

  • from September 25, 2015

    Perfect Amp.

    I will keep it short and sweet. This amp delivers on every promise you hear about it. It can play nice clean chimey 60's tones and can growl very nice when dial in a little channel volume in tandem with the master volume. This is not a quiet 15 watts. It can get LOUD. However, even at low volumes, it sounds fantastic. Purchased the footswitch and its well worth it. Make sure if you buy a cover to get the AC30 size and not a AC15. This is housed in the AC30 cab size.

    Great service from Sweetwater. Finding an amp that worked in my situation was a bit of a journey, but my sales consultant Robert Koch was a true pro and got things sorted out and kept me happy! Thanks again!

  • from Rochester,NY December 8, 2013Music Background:
    40 plus years of playing off and on played in Many bands

    thE beast AMP you'll ever OWN!

    I have had everything for Fender, to Blackstar to Jet City even played a blackheart -(just once) and this is by far the finest amp I have ever owned in my 40 plus years of playing guitar. Played in numerous bands when I was younger and I only WISH I had this to mike at some of the larger venues. It is by far the cleanest amp o n the Market today. I feel it puts fender (who has seemed to concentrate all their time and effort on Solid state gimmickry) Has fallen far behind Vox in affordable clean ton. This is an AMAZING AMP at an even more Amaziing TONE witha price that is totally affordable. Your tone won't come from your $200 guitar when you have a cheap solid state amp. It'll come from your amp. And if your looking for incerdible clean with Tremolo and Reverb, STOP RIGHT HERE and But This Amp. You'll never regret it.

  • from Dallas, TX March 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, X-Pro

    The Basic is Good

    This amp has a really sweet, smooth sound and I could not believe what volume a 15 watt tube amp could achieve. Wow!

  • from Columbus, OH June 2, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Like A Boss!!!

    I've been spending time at my local music store looking for a mid size tube amp. After spending a fair amount of time playing various brands and models, I thought I had it narrowed down to the Vox AC15C1. I am glad I took my time in my search because the AC15C2 "Twin" became available. Honestly, I hadn't had a chance to play this model but I ordered it because of the impression the single 12" laid on me. That was a great idea because this thing Handles Business Like Boss!
    Packs great warmth. Cranks up loud and bring it back down smooth. I plan on adding two pedals (A/B, Rev/Trem). But in no hurry. Every setting sounds good enough to play on and on.

  • from buffalo, NY USA February 16, 2012

    Tone Heaven

    I was looking for a meduim wattage amp for smaller to meduim gigs when i came accross this. The Peavey Delta Blues was my first choice but the music store that i usually shop at didnt have any in stock so i tried this out. Wow was i impressed right off the bat. Many people are turned off by the 15 watts but trust me when i say that 15 watts is plenty through these the two celestian's. This amp can pretty much capture any tone you want it to and just loves to be cranked. Great for Zeppelin and blues! It can also get some more modern rock tones at high volumes. I use the top boost channel for clean and the normal channel for those dirty tones. The amp starts to break up around 10/11 o clock giving you some head room for the cleans but you just cant beat that overdriven tube sound. The reverb and tremelo are fantastic! You can get a great delta-blues sort of sound if you tweak the reverb and tremelo the right way. The construction is very solid and definetley seems to hold up nicely during transport. The only things that i dont like about this amp are that its extremely heavey for 15 watts. So if you have back issues and dont feel like carrying this amp around then maybe its not for you. The other thing is that you can switch from dirty to clean, vise vera. But it cleans up very nicely so you can just use your guitar volume. Overall this is a great amp for anyone looking for a vintage sound without breaking the bank. Highly Recomended

  • from September 21, 2015

    Best 15watt Amp Under $800.00

    The VOX AVC15 C2 is an awesome buy. Worth the upgrade two the twin speaker model not only for the extra speaker but also for the same size spring reverb box found on the AC 30. Sounds great and my only real complaint is the cheap stock Chinese tubes that come with the amp. They sound mediocre at best but a quick change out to nicer tubes does the job. This is common with most any large amp manufacturer today. Even the Fender amps and many other brands come with the same stock tubes from China.

  • from Quakertown, PA August 20, 2015Music Background:
    45 Years of Experience

    No Regrets

    I am very happy with this purchase. I could only afford $799 and for that amount of money, I got an outstanding amplifier. Yes, some higher end Fenders might sound a little better, but not 300 or 500 dollars worth of better! You really can't beat the features and sounds this amp produces for the money!
    You will need to purchase an A/B footswitch, but that's not a big deal. I bought a reliable one for 30 bucks and all is well. Also, another reviewer from Michigan said the reverb was solid state. That is incorrect. It's a spring coil and it sounds great. The tremelo is excellent, but I won't use it that much.
    Rock on!

  • from Illinois April 27, 2014Music Background:
    Lifetime player and collector

    Yeah baby !

    Waited along time for this tone machine.......just get one or try one out and hear for yourself, Les Paul, Strat, Tele all have more depth and bite from the 2 12's, hard to believe its only 15 WATTS. Huge fluid Reverb and the Trem is also another feature that sets this combo apart from anything, even amps selling for over a grand. If there was one thing that's missing, its the FX loop. Cant go wrong on this amp.

  • from Polson, MT September 1, 2012Music Background:
    Lover of all things music

    This thing is a TONE BEAST

    Got a demo version for a great price. Looked and even smelled BRAND NEW. Great tone, great sound. With the volume dimed this puppy is loud. with the 2 Celestion 12s this is the fullest loudest 15w amp ive heard. if an ac30 is too loud, dont hesitate on this baby. for bedroom levels i would go with the ac4 cuz this is made for the stage!

  • from Petoskey, MI March 30, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist with occasional paying gigs

    Versatile yet Unique

    Love the combo of reasonable wattage and 2 speakers. Full, multidimensional sound at usable volume.

    This amp allows me to dial in just enough gain for the sound I want and the instrument I'm playing at the time. The controls work in fine increments which gives more control. Great sound, classic distortion... not a gain monster which is fine for most of the music I play. If I want more gain I can use a pedal, but I never do. Cleans are good, not Fender good but good. Where this amp really shines is in touch sensitivity and bloom at low/medium gain. Not bad for "Twang" either. And I think I owe it to myself to try this thing with a 12 string Rickenbacker.

    I'll be adding an A/B footswitch so I can switch between channels without unplugging... kind of surprised that function isn't built in. That's my only gripe. Build quality is great so far. Wattage is perfect, the amp has enough clean headroom and volume to more than keep up with the band. It can be driven into overdrive without breaking windows.

    Highly recommended!

  • from March 12, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, Hobbyist

    A Go to Amp for a Reason!

    Vox has been around for decades and after plugging into my Vox Ac15C2 it was obvious to my ears as to why the British amp manufacturer has thrived. While shopping I wanted a workhorse type amp that could handle the studio, stage and everything in between. I had previously decided on a Fender Princeton Silverface until I had discovered that the AC15 was also available in a 2x12 package which I felt better suited my more practical uses than the 12W "10 speaker Princeton. I have owned a variety of amplifiers over the last decade with this being my first Vox and I think my quest for a reliable go to amplifier has ended at least momentarily. There is just simply so many different tones I can squeeze out of this one amplifier without excessive tweaking. In my past experiences with other amps such as Marshalls, Oranges, Egnaters, etc.. I felt like I spent hours just finding one or two tones that I really liked. Within half an hour of being plugged into the AC15 I was able to find five or six! Perhaps more had I not been enjoying myself playing through it so much. Through a Gretsch semi-hollow I can produce great big arena rock sounds. With a tele I feel it can really bring out the guitar's characteristic spank with a little overdrive like the tones that crawl all over Brad Paisely records. As a surprise to me, even my Gibson Explorer which hardly gets enough playing time was really benefitting from that classic Vox chime prompting me to play the Explorer more frequently. The downside to the AC15 is the lack thereof of an included foot switch to engage the tremolo and reverb. The reverb itself is also a little lackluster due to the inability to control the volume of it in the mix. It still sounds nice, but I will most likely just rely on my reverb pedals as I have in the past. I think this amplifier will be a great friend for many years to come. Eventually I will probably accumulate a Fender Princeton just have the best of British and American favors but until then I will be more than satisfied with my Vox. I recommend the Vox AC15C2 to any player looking for a versatile low-wattage amp with a big sound and as always Sweetwater is the best place to buy.

  • from Clarkston Michigan May 9, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Vox AC15C2

    Sound Quality solid. However reverb weak. It is a sold state reverb in a great tube amp. Needs a little more of something.

  • from Woodstock GA November 12, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician.

    AC15C2

    It's a very good amp, The construction is a much better quality than my AC15C1. MUCH better. The sound is better than I was hoping for. And, I love the tone cut and the top boost etc.
    I'm impressed by the over all quality--compares to much more expensive units.
    If you like that true 'VOX' sound, and you'd like to get it without breaking the bank, I think this amp will fill the bill.

Questions about the Vox AC15C2 15-watt 2x12" Tube Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway