0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Vox AC15C1X 15-watt 1x12" Tube Combo with Alnico Blue Speaker Reviews

5.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Vox AC15C1X 15-watt 1x12" Tube Combo with Alnico Blue Speaker?

Questions about the Vox AC15C1X 15-watt 1x12" Tube Combo with Alnico Blue Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Salem, VA March 15, 2017Music Background:
    40+ from late 60's to the present

    Awesome Amp!

    Mike Picotte at Sweetwater really helped me with this amp! Great customer service and great insight. Thanks Mike!

    Now for the the Vox AC15C1X. What an incredible sound. I've used Celestion Heritage G12M 20W speakers in most of my amps, but this Alnico Blue speaker in the Vox AC15C1X is really awesome. The combination of the amp and speaker just shines through. It really puts the guitars "out front" whether it is the leads or the rhythm, all my guitars just shine through on this amp. Really impressed with the sound just straight into the amp without any pedals. You can get just about any amp to play metal or grunge... but for the sweet cleans, sweet blues and classic rock... this baby really stands apart from anything I've ever played through in my life. I highly recommend this amp to anyone wanting to take their tone to a whole new level. Cheers

  • from Seattle December 30, 2016Music Background:
    Lifetime of musical endeavors

    AC15 Custom Tube Combo 15-watt 2-channel All-tube 1x12" Guitar Combo Amplifier with Tremolo, Reverb, and Alnico Blue Speaker

    I could of not of believed the experience I have had with the Vox AC15 Combo Amplifier. I just purchased a used PRS SE Orianthi electric guitar and the tone of the amplifier was none that I have heard or played before.

    My hats off to VOX. The craftsmen ship is impeccable and I am in awe of all aspects of the VOX performance. The Alnico Blue speaker is incredible.

    Before purchasing the VOX I listened to both the Greenback and the Alnico Blue. My choice for me was the Alnico Blue.

    Thanks to Sweetwater for having this outstanding VOX amplifier as a choice. Pleasure to do business with and a big THANK YOU!!!

  • from PA September 12, 2016Music Background:
    Long-time guitar player

    BEST AMP I'VE EVER OWNED!

    After first plugging-in, of course I did as most players probably do---that is to experiment with the various tone and volume options between the Normal & Top Boost channels, in conjunction with the Master Volume & Tone Cut functions. And WOW....what an interesting array of sounds available! Upon my finding just the right "ear/amp love relationship" for the set of songs I had chosen to play during that session, a new experience came upon me. As I played one of my Teles---clean, but using some 12 o'clock amp Tremolo---I soon felt this amazing sensation of "oneness" among my guitar, the pulsating depth of the amp, & myself singing...like I never experienced before from playing out any of the many amps I've owned during the past 50 years. It's got the cleanest, bell-like tone, yet with an inversion of the volume dials of the channels cited above, you can instantly convert to Deep Purple distortion, and
    you're suddenly "smokin' on the water"! Other features are GREAT Tremolo Depth & Speed, & SUPER Spring Reverb via its Level dial! I do believe ALL of you will LOVE this amp, as I do, & even more so if you are a boomer, & grew up on The Beatles, Stones, Byrds, etc., as I did! Those sound reproductions are a natural with this amp.

    Again, I give the highest compliments to Mike Soper---my long-time Sales Engineer---who described this
    amp to me most accurately, & who answered all my questions both before & after the sale! Ask for Mike Soper, as you'll be working with the very best, & most knowledgeable, friendly guy you could ever find!

  • from Auburn IN May 11, 2016Music Background:
    Rock/Blues

    AC 15 Custom Tube combo

    Got this two weeks ago and got instant good vibes. The EL 84's are so sweet and once the
    Blue Alnico speaker wears in, it's going to be clubbing tone monster. I'm playing through Strats, one stock, one with Dimarzo doubles coils. It's a lot like a Mesa Blue Angel, but not as hot,

  • from Naples January 24, 2016Music Background:
    played years ago...

    Great AMP

    I just picked up back playing after 15 years away. Had a tube amp back in the 70's and switched away in the 90's. The sound and clarity is amazing.

  • from Los Angeles, CA January 19, 2016

    This amp is awesome!

    This is the amp to buy if you're looking for that classic British rock clean dirty chime. I've been eyeing one for the longest time at my local guitar shops. I've tested them over and over and then i finally realized i needed to get one for small studio recording.

    The construction of this amp is near flawless, even though it's made in China. Vox has the Quality Control down for these amps. They are solid builds and i couldn't find an imperfection on it whatsoever.

    I'm very satisfied with this amp. I choose the AC15 C1X (the blue alnico speaker option) and it sounds sweet! I play a fender strat and LTD (metal) guitar through it and the tones are just perfect. I can dial up as much clean or i can dirty up the clean sound a little if i choose. Don't be mistakened by 15 watts. It's a LOUD 15 watts. But it gives me enough headroom to dial in the settings and have the clean chime break up just where i want it.

    I'm very happy with this product. My Sweetwater Sales Engineer Brian Kerns was very patient and very helpful with my many questions and with this transaction. The amp arrived in flawless condition and packaged safely for the long ground shipping route. I can't recommend this amp enough! Go try one out for yourself if you're looking for that classic clean british, Beatles, UK sound and chime.

  • from Eugene, Oregon September 28, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, Arranger, Engineer for the Pears Band

    Vox AC15 Awesome

    I was totally amazed at the sound quality of this amp. The articulation of my guitar is so much better than before and the dynamics soft to loud clear as a bell. I didn't realize how much of my playing was not coming through before I got this amp. Love it.

  • from Hyde Park, n.y. April 13, 2015Music Background:
    praise and worship

    ac15

    But kicking amp. Can't wait to get the foot switch. Again,great service with Ray Leach!

  • from Texas. December 3, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Artist

    Tonal Nirvana

    Of course I'm blown away, I had the highest of expectations from this amp, I owned a Vox valvetronix prior to this, which I also loved, but I needed that special vox tone that only your AC's can produce, like the other reviews may mention, spending the extra hundred or so for the AlNiCo blue speaker, the only way to go, once its broken in, I dont think theres an amp that sounds better, and of course with Sweetwater's amazing level of service, I couldn't be more satisfied.

  • from Indianapolis, IN June 3, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Another Voice.......

    I play a Tele,a G&L Legacy,and a Ric 360/12 electrically. My primary amp has for the last almost 11years is a Fender 65 Deluxe reverb...a loud sonically sweet amp for my playing style.Back in 1967 I owned a Vox AC30,and always remember that great sound out of any guitar I plugged into it.I read very good reviews about the updated Vox AC 30/15 built in the orient and carefully controlled by the British home land.So I ordered one from Sweetwater with the Celestion AlNiCo blue speaker...like my original in 67...with of course a bit of an up charge.I got it the NEXT DAY!!!!! Now as I tell how how it sounds,remember this is highly subjective...what I hear and enjoy...you may not.I have never used a lot of distortion...a little can do wonders! This little beauty can do that!! And can growl if one so desires. I play the high boost channel...and enjoy a hugh assortment of sweet tones that I can best describe as creamier..due I would think to speaker magnets...I prefer my G&L (strat) and Ric 360/12 through this amp...and my Tele through my re-tubed Deluxe...The quality of this Vox AC 15 is top notch...perhaps better than my 1967..thaink about it go play one...I do not believe you'll be dissapointed.

  • from Port Charlotte, FL April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fantastic Sounding Amplifier

    The Vox AC15C1X Amplifier is an amazing sounding amp. After reading everything I can find out about it, I can confirm there are two things people must realize who are concidering this amplifier. First everything people say about giving the speaker time to break in, is true. When I first powered the amp up it sounded kind of brittle, nothing like I had herd on You Tube. I have read it takes anywhere from 20-30Hrs and even up to 100Hrs to fully break in the speaker. While writing this review for Sweatwater (Who has been wonderfull by the way) I transition through the 15Hr mark and the speaker has changed drastically, it sounds way..... better than anything I have herd on You Tube. Trust me any Celestion speaker needs time too reach it's potential. The second thing I have read that's true is you have to spend some time mixing the channel volume (Normal or Top Boost) with the Master volume and you will find a huge number of sound combinations. The amplifier is incredibly loud, I have yet too push it beyond 1/8 of what it can do. It may not have the headroom of the AC30, but that's the beauty of the AC15 you can push it into overdrive earlier, using the two volume controls in different combinations overdrive can be reached at low, mid or high volume ranges. The amp is perfect for small to medium gigs but excells as a recording amplifier. This is a true guitarist tube amplifier not an effects amplifier.
    Thank you Vox!

  • from Killingworth,CT October 29, 2013Music Background:
    Professional

    It's the way to go!

    Adding a Celestion Alnico Blue to the AC15 gives you that sparkling shimmer that no other amp but a vintage Vox amp has. Spend the extra couple hundred and get this one!

  • from January 28, 2016Music Background:
    Intermediate

    Great Amp

    This 15w amp is a powerhouse. Crisp, clean tones and volume to spare. I also use a Blackstar Club 40, which I love. But I have not turned on the Blackstar since this amp arrived. I use strats and Gibsons and this amp sounds great. You need to order the foot switch separately......it should be included in price.

    Quality and workmanship are very nice. Would have given 5 stars if you did not have to purchase a $39 foot switch seperately.

  • from December 8, 2015Music Background:
    Full time musician

    Great Amp!!!

    Great amp! Love the Alnico speaker. This is why all the botique amps try to imitate them:)

Questions about the Vox AC15C1X 15-watt 1x12" Tube Combo with Alnico Blue Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway