0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Vox AC15C1 15-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Reviews

4.5 stars based on 66 customer reviews
Questions about the Vox AC15C1 15-watt 1x12" Tube Combo?

Questions about the Vox AC15C1 15-watt 1x12" Tube Combo?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Texas February 1, 2017Music Background:
    guitar/synth/bass player for 22 years

    I love this amp.

    The Vox AC15C1 has the exact tone I've always wanted. I play a lot of post-punk, angular stuff that needs to sit in the high range with another guitar and bass taking up the mid and low range (think Gang of Four, Wire, Fugazi, etc). This amp cuts through it all and sounds beautiful doing it. I use a MIM Fender Telecaster through it, with no distortion pedal, and MAN it's got some teeth when you push the Top Boost channel. It's very responsive to your playing dynamics, and lets the pure essence of your guitar shine through. It has a sweet spot that can be reached at lower volumes; I would highly suggest this amp for touring musicians. Keep it at that sweet spot and let the sound guy do the rest. For years I toured with a Fender Deville 2x12, but it was way heavier and the tone never got as bright and crunchy as I wanted without having to use some pedals. I wish I could go back in time and buy this amp sooner. With the 24 month pricing, this is a no-brainer for anyone who wants that classic Vox crunch at a manageable size and cost.

  • from Indiana November 14, 2016

    Great tones

    Great tones from a great Vox amp. Really think it should have come with foot switch but other than that one issue, give it a try and you won't be disappointed!

  • from Ohio October 25, 2016

    Smooth

    Great amp! It hits that sweet spot for a nice warm and clean tone.

  • from East Meadow, NY September 30, 2016

    The Voice Of Rock

    First off, I must say that I am not a professional and am not "on the road" with my equipment so please take my comments accordingly. I do know good amp and guitar tones as I've been playing and experimenting for many years and this amp really delivers the goods. It has an incredibly beautiful, smooth, juicy inspiring crunch sound that can be used for most any classic rock tune. The cleans are also very smooth, organic and articulate and are very well served by the Celestion Greenback speaker - a key component of this amp's tone, IMO. In the clean mode the amp is not as loud. The increased volume and aggressiveness comes with an increase in both the channel gain and the master level. In this mode this guy soars into a crunch sound that is heavenly to a classic rock/blues guy like me. The tone controls are very useful and effective. The reverb and tremolo are also very beautiful and musical-sounding. I did replace the original tubes for both the pre and power sections and added tube damper rings. This eliminated any possibility for tube rattle to occur. I think that the tubes are probably the weakest link in most of these amp models that are made in the far east. I think all (tube) amps should be fitted with best available tubes before we can judge their sonic capabilities.This is my first Vox amp ever and I am really sorry I waited this long to get one. If you're into the classic rock and blues/rock sounds of the '60's, '70's and beyond you have to get one of these. It can do more than that, of course, but it has those sounds completely imprinted in its DNA.

  • from West Palm Beach, FL July 11, 2016Music Background:
    30+ years

    Bright is the new dynamic...

    In my search for a small ( <15w ) combo, I tended to stay clear of Vox only because the amps have been described as bright. I discovered the AC10 and just kept coming back to it. Compared that to a Blues Junior and other Fenders and the Fenders sounded reserved and held back compared to the Vox. Then I got to play the AC10 against the AC15 and decided the AC15 was it. It is such a dynamic amp, even at low volumes.

    It is a great amp to play through, even if you like bigger bottles - this thing cooks. It is simply inspiring to play...

  • from WA June 30, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    Awesome amp!

    What can I say? I researched tube combo amps for weeks to ensure I got something enduring, unique in sound quality and with the right wattage to allow for practice, recording and small club gigs. I was not disappointed. This little amp has a big voice and the color of the sound is amazing. It's perfect for what I want and need.

  • from Kalamazoo April 20, 2016Music Background:
    years of devotion to the art

    Chewy McSpankenstein

    OK bad first.... Tube Rattle, not from tube, but from where the tube connects to the board. Read this recently on other revews on MF and it is a design flaw. But not everyone has complained so... I sent back the defective one, and am waiting for the replacement to arrive tomorrow.

    Sound: legit, and a pleasure to play. It's not going to get you metal dude... nope.. so don't try. It is however, everything from chewy creamy rock down to twangy jazz/funk clean.

    It's one of those amps that you can't wait to get home to play. Price ain't bad either...if it doesn't rattle.

  • from April 11, 2016

    Vox Chime

    I bought the AC15 with the alnico blue speaker instead of the green because I wanted to capture that British clean chime that Vox does so well. With the master control and tone cut settings I can dial in so many tones that are impossible to do using other amps. This is perhaps the loudest 15watt amp that I have ever came across. For what this amp does the price tag is very affordable. Do yourself a favor and buy a Vox AC15 custom, you won't regret it and if you can afford the extra cost for the alnico blue speaker you'll simply love it.

  • from Dayton, Ohio January 24, 2016

    Pure Vox

    My first amp was a 1965 15-watt Vox, back when it was new. It was a tube version, and I used it heavily through high school bands. It had a unique sound, much different from the Fenders and Standell amps of the time that everyone else was playing. I was the only Vox user I knew. This new AC-15 Custom nails that tone, and more. It's clean-to-breakup is the best anywhere. The Top Boost of this model makes pedals optional. Sure, you can use pedals, but there's enough of a range of tones in this amp to keep you playing with the knobs for a long time. It's the best of the Vox tones. Fifteen watts doesn't sound like much, but many a player I've known traded up to an AC-30 and found it too loud. I never had a problem, not once, of keeping up with a band with 15 Vox watts. Got shut down by the cops more than once. Times may have been simpler back then, but loud was still loud. It was a rugged amp as well, got thrown around a lot without breaking. I was fortunate indeed that my first guitar was a Gibson, and my first amp a Vox. I've got to say that this Vox AC-15 Custom is more than worthy of the Vox heritage. (goes well with my Les Paul) Don't think of it as a puny 15 watt lightweight. It's big, it's heavy, and an AC-30 won't give you better Vox tones. All I can say is to buy it. You won't be sorry.

  • from Port Richey FL January 11, 2016

    Historic VOX sound..........

    I gave this exceptional sound machine only a 5 star rating because 5 is the highest rating offered. Santa left this hard driving rockin baby under the tree for me on Christmas 2014. Who says Santa aint cool? So...it's been a year. What do I think? I think I'm privileged to have chosen the VOX AC15 Custom. It suites me and all my guitars just fine. We love it. The sound and tone are superb. Some of my friends are jealous. After hearing mine, a couple of them have since bought one. I guess "hearing is believing".
    To sum it all up. In a nut shell. This VOX does everything well. As good as any, and better than most. That's just my 30 year experienced opinion. That's how I see it. Or should I say....hear it. Also, VOX has a very interesting and impressive history. Research it. You'll dig it. Buy one....And live to never regret it.
    Rock on.

  • from Pensacola, FL January 5, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbiest

    Just as advertised

    What more can I say. This amp rocks!,,.Thanks Paul!

  • from LA January 4, 2016

    Excellent sounds, great personality!

    I've played guitar for too many years to admit, performing in clubs, at parties, farmers markets, old folks homes, church...I currently own two Marshall amps, two Fender amps, a line 6 amp, an Ampeg am and a Pignose amp as well as the Vox AC15 I just bought. After playing the Vox for a few weeks I'm wondering why I didn't buy one sooner. What personality! It's rare that an amp will produce both clean and dirty sounds that make me smile, but the little Vox class A amp delivers the goods. It doesn't matter what guitar I pickup -- strat, tele, paul -- they all sound great. And the AC15 takes well to pedals. I couldn't be happier. I intend to use the AC15 on my upcoming CD. I haven't had a chance to gig with it yet to see if it's got sufficient wattage for my cover band, so the jury is out there. I bought it from Sweetwater 'cause of their fantastic service and two year warranty (just in case). I heartily recommend this amp!!

  • from Milford, CT January 3, 2016Music Background:
    Seasoned Musician

    Fantastic Amp

    I received one of these as a Christmas present, and I couldn't believe how awesome it sounded right out of the box. The chimney tones are there, along with some great classic overdrive tones. When you break the Greenback speaker in, it sounds even better! You will not be disappointed with this amp, Bravo Vox!

  • from December 11, 2015

    Excellent Customer Service

    I don't normally write reviews, but I wanted to share my experience. I bought this amp about six months ago and the tone is phenomenal. If you're looking for a great clean tone and a slightly distorted "hairy" tone, this thing is perfect. However, the tremolo crapped out after 2 months. I took it to a tech 3 times under warranty and it just would not remain functional. I let my sales engineer Joel Helton that I was having issues with it and after the third failed repair they sent me a replacement. I'm writing this review to highlight his great service. Thanks Joel!!

  • from December 8, 2015

    Excellent!

    I've been searching for a good amp mainly for home recording/playing since selling my Peavey Delta Blues 115 (a fantastic amp, but simply too loud) a couple years ago. I tried various small, low wattage combos, but they all just seemed to be lacking something. The ac15c1 is nearly perfect... absolutely love it. It sounds far better at low volumes than my 5W Fender Vibro Champ XD and is completely gig worthy too. The only issue I have with it is a minor tube rattle when playing lower notes at higher volumes. I will contact Sweetwater tech support about this, but assume that this will be eliminated by replacing the stock tubes.

  • from November 29, 2015

    Wow

    I have been searching for the right combo to get the crunch that I want. This amp with Fender single-coil pickups is the one I have been looking for. It gives me the nice tube distortion that I get with my vintage fender tube amp without the high volume and high wattage and heavy weight. Also has a great clean sound which I have had a lot of trouble getting. I recently gigged with this amp for the first timed I was completely pleased. Plenty of headroom for small venues and a nice range of tone and volume. If the red telex special edition i still available, it looks great too.

  • from November 17, 2015Music Background:
    self taught guitarist

    i love this amp

    i really didnt expect this amp to sound quite this good.Iexpected to be satisfied with it,but it exceededthat.matt faucett was right when he said great choice.I play it in my apartment ,and it still has a beautiful distinct tone.Thanks to sweetwater for making the buying experience second to none.

  • from WICHITA, KS October 6, 2015

    Great Sounding Classic Amp.

    Bought the Limited Edition Red one because I got a good deal, thought it looked cool and wanted to complete my classic amp collection. I already have a Marshall DSL and a Fender Deluxe Reverb. Was not expecting much from the numerous videos I watched. This amplifier has exceeded my expectations. Very easy to get a nice tone from without pedals. The clean sound is a little different, but very musical. The crunch is close to perfect if not perfect. Vox has that clean to close to breakup tone everyone chase's mastered. The reverb is nice. The tremolo is as deep as you want. It does not sound boxy. If you close you eyes you feel like you are playing through an expensive boutique amp. The speaker sounds like a very good replica of the original "Greenback". New and stiff of course. Probably just leave the stock speaker in and let time smooth it out. Also surprised by the blues tones coming out of it. Texas Blues, no problem without pedals. Did not think Vox and ripping blues sounds. Great amp and I hope Vox keeps making it for future electric guitarists. Unfortunately there is one issue I am working out, and that is that strange tube rattle sound on some of the lower notes. Very noticeable with louder clean low notes. Going to replace all the tubes and add dampeners. Hope that fixes it. Not a deal breaker though. Will try to solve this or work around it. Also getting this from my Marshall amp, so not exclusively a Vox thing, and the more research I do, it seems a lot of tube amps have this puzzling problem. Wide sound waves and a glass electronic tube, Physics?

  • from Reston, VA September 4, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Home Recording

    Welcome Home, Old Friend!

    I owned a Vox AC15C1 several years ago, but decided to sell it, because I didn't think I had room for it when I moved to a smaller condo. I had always regretted the decision, so I couldn't resist and ordered another one from Sweetwater recently. Now that I have my old friend back, I can understand exactly why I missed it so much. This amp has that classic, chimey clean tone that you expect from only a Vox. Crank up the distortion, and it has that equally classic Vox growl that fans of this brand know and love. Since I live in a small condo, I was looking for a tube amp that would give me all of the classic Vox tones at a manageable volume level that wouldn't anger my neighbors. While I admit that this amp begs to be cranked up to fully appreciate the tones it can deliver, you can still get great tones out of it at bedroom volume. I could write a book about all of the great features this amp provides, but will just say that it is worth every penny and is more than reasonably priced for what you get. A very special thanks to Mark Magdich for talking me out of ordering the Vox AC15VR solid state amp and re-acquiring this model. Also, a big thanks to Sweetwater for continuing to provide superior customer service.

  • from Phoenix August 23, 2015

    classic genius.

    I have had my ac15 for about 9 months now and I have been thoroughly enjoying this amp for the entire time. For me, it is the perfect studio amp and a great amp for an apartment dweller such as myself. Dual gain stage is awesome. I can crank the preamp section and keep the master volume low allowing me a toneful experience at a reasonable volume. I recently decided to add vintage tubes to my amp and the experience got even better. The tone warmed up and it sounds soooo sweet. This amp takes old tubes very well and there is a remarkable difference and improvement. This amp is staying with me for the long run.

  • from Up North, near Hayward WI May 14, 2015

    Love Has Found Me

    The main thing is the sweet tones that you can dial in at very low volumes. Until now I never experienced this with a tube amp - always needing to crank it up to 10 to get that tube snarl. So the volume is easy to fit in to where the other instruments are. I do not feel the need to add any sort of effects pedal, which is also a new experience. Again, there is a wide range of tones available on both the normal and top boost channels. I have to say that my Fender tube amp will likely start to gather dust. Oh, I am playing primarily a Johnson hollow body with replacement Seymour-Duncan pickups.

  • from DECATUR, TX October 13, 2014Music Background:
    Garage Band

    Fantastic Amp!

    I bought this amp to replace the Fender Blues Jr. I regretted selling. At first I didn't think it was as good as the Fender, but once I got the settings figured out and played it awhile I changed my mind. Previous reviews praise the ultra clean tone and it is good, but too me not any better than the Fender. I was blown away by how much more versatile it is. The clean sound can be changed so quickly and you can get a really cool tube distortion. Great tremolo and reverb! I think it is the best amp on the market in its price range. It can get very loud if needed, but if you're wanting real loud clean tones of course you may want the AC30. Bottom line is this is just an awesome amp! It is heavy for a single 12" amp, but I think it is a testament to how well it is built.
    I almost forgot to mention that it is an awesome looking amp as well. Get one, you won't regret it!

  • from San Mateo, CA September 30, 2014

    Chimmey shimmery goodness!!!

    I bought a VOX AC15C1 about a year ago from Sweetwater. First of all the guys at sweetwater are the best, absolutely great customer service, the best I have seen. Now, this amp is just fantastic, it has exactly the shimmery tone I was looking for. The cleans this produces matched with my favorite Strat (with SSL-1 vintage style duncan pickups) just absolutely sparkle and fill the room with all types of wonderful overtones (I like bright sounds). Seems like the sound the amp produces descends from heaven, and I am not a religious person... By now, the speakers are fully broken in, I have put some old stock tubes in it and the amp feels incredibly open and airy. It is truly a magnificent thing, and for a very good price, in fact excellent at any price.

    It has become my main amp, good to play with a band and exceptional for recording, I have found "the" sound and this AMP will be with me for a very long time. The only consideration I have now is wether to run a rig in stereo or not, I will probably get another one and have my delays bounce between the two amps. I am a delay and modulation freak and this amp takes effects pedals wonderfully, even if it does not have an effects loop. I find that some overdrive pedals such as a chandler drive (tube), the somewhat dark Way Huge Green Rihno drive pair extremely well with it. The Green Rihno being slightly dark crunches with it without becoming a shrill sound, I can get a very smooth creamy crunch tone with it. Pair this creamy pedal driven tone with the sparkly chimmey clean tones of the amp and I have my two main sounds. I do also stack overdrives and this amps takes it very well (I have modified a boss sf-1 overdrive that for symmetric clipping and it pairs extremely well with the Green Rihno). Bright and harsh overdrives and distortions are not what you want to pair with this amp, as the amp is bright and chimney itself, slightly dark and smooth are the perfect pairing I think with overdrive pedals.

    Sweetwater has won my business, I will be shopping with them again. Now if I could only make a decision on buying a Johhny Marr Jaguar or a sweet 65 reissue Jazzmaster to pair with my best strat in any case, I will buy it from them.

  • from August 4, 2014Music Background:
    home recorder, long time multi instrumentalist

    Sounds so clear and real

    This is beautiful, the sound is so real. The distortion is just so thick and deep, I wouldn't use it in a metal band but I would definitely use it in a rock band!

  • from Bethesda MD July 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, semi-pro

    The tone you've always craved

    If the Vox tone is the thing you seek, the choice between the AC15 and the AC30 is the first decision one confronts. While many think the AC30 is superior, I decidedly disagree. While the AC30 is much louder and has higher headroom for clean tones, you also have to push it much harder to get that sweet Vox sound. For recording applications, small gigs, and/or big gigs with a decent PA, it's much easier to dial in the sound you're probably looking for with the AC15C1 than the AC30. Finally, don't let the 15 watts fool you, this amp is startlingly LOUD in its own right and all of those 15 watts are very useable.

  • from Monterrey, Mexico July 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    My last amp EVER

    I've had this amp for a year now. I've been playing guitar for about 16 years, I consider myself a hobbyist and kinda good at it.

    This amp is the best amp I've heard and played. The only best amp I think would be the AC30, but that's too loud for me. I've played it in small rigs (about 30-50 people) and it stands perfectly, not turning it all the way to 10.

    The sound is amazing, the tubes are the best. You can recognize Vox voice all the way.

    A bit too heavy, but still the best amp EVER.

  • from Belews Creek, NC June 5, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Professional Musician

    Awesome Amp!!

    The AC15 is as good as advertised. Beautiful clean tones and the best overdrive going. I'm not using any of my overdrive pedals since getting this amp. This amp is great for recording as well as gigging. No worries being heard with this amp! One of the loudest 15 watt amps out there. Tremelo and reverb are awesome as well. Get a Vox, it's the only way to rock!!

  • from Lawrenceville, GA April 17, 2014Music Background:
    I just play for fun.

    Fantastic tone

    I have an AC4HW that I absolutely love but I really wanted something with a bit more punch. The AC15 rocks everything from chimey clean to crunchy blues to screaming leads. I love it. Oh yeah... it is loud. My ears were ringing for several hours after my first 30 minutes playing. It's so clean that the volume sneaks up on you.
    The reverb and tremolo are both very good. It takes pedals well and with a little tweaking of the EQ it generates passable Fender tones.
    The stock speaker is well matched to the amp if you like the classic Vox tone.
    The only negative is the lack of an effects loop. Delay would sound better in a loop but that adds weight and cost.
    Its a keeper.

  • from Castro Valley, CA March 19, 2014

    Versatile

    So i know these amps are known for amazing cleans, which they do have, but this amp is also packs some killer tones when using a distortion pedal. I bought this amp because Tom Delonge from Blink 182 currently uses Vox amps, and i can see why. All around great versatile amp. And it can get loud. The highest i ever dial the volume is 10 oclock, during band practice, and that feels like I'm bringing the whole garage down. Just a plain awsome amp

  • from Greencastle, IN December 28, 2013Music Background:
    full time modern worship/hobbyist/ used to be an 80's Rocker

    What a beautiful Amp !!

    Very responsive amp, lots of tones available hands down the best sounding amp I have owned. I use it on for modern worship and it is amazing!!! I was concerned about it being only 15 watts but WOW!!! this amp will get plenty loud and still sounds Fantastic!!

  • from Quad Cities September 5, 2013Music Background:
    Session Player

    Very inspirational/magical tone!

    Having owned Fender 6L6 and 6V6 amps most of my life, this VOX AC15 really brings a fresh take on everything. I guess the touch sensitivity is the real draw. At very low volumes you can get true cranked tube tones.
    For a little more than the price of a couple of boutique OD pedals, of which you will be always searching for the right sound, why not get the real deal! I really love this amp. I also bought it's big brother, the AC30C2.
    Very, very happy with these amps. I also love the G12M Greenbacks but you must give them time to break in.

  • from Chester, TX USA April 29, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Guitar, Keyboard & Violin

    Extremely pleased with the VOX AC15C1 Amp

    This amplifier really packs a punch. You'd think it has more power than 15 watts. But then again, power rating is academic when it comes to tonal quality & volume. I've used better amps but they cost four to six times as much. However, for the monetary outlay, I couldn't be more pleased. It performs well...very bright & responsive with plenty of volume & tonal control to suit this picker. I've always loved the sound of VOX amps since the Beatle invasion bank in the early 60s but never owned one until this recent purchase. I'm very satisfied with it and that's the bottom line. I'll also take this opportunity to thank the obliging & considerate sales staff of Sweetwater Music...they're the best in the business!

  • from Greenwood, Missouri November 5, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, guitar enthusiast, part-time gigging.

    The Legend Continues

    Of all the amps I have owned during the last 33 years I currently have two that I love playing through and have served me exceptionally well. One of these is my AC15C1 and if I had to make the proverbial choice of having to keep only one, this would be it.

    In a nutshell? The AC15 just does everything well. It produces phenomenal tone and responds to whatever inputs you make from picking style and attack to volume changes on your guitar. Whether playing clean or pushing those EL84�s hard for that much sought after Vox sweet chimey overdrive, from normal or top boost; the quality of the sound never ceases to amaze me. Single coils, Humbuckers, active or passive electronics, solid or hollow body, every guitar I have ever owned or had the opportunity to play just sounds better through this amp

    It is the quintessential �go to� amp. You can take from practice to gig even without your favorite pedals or effects processor and still have a multitude of tones at your disposal just by manipulation of the volume, bass, treble, reverb and tone cut knobs. It also has one of the nicest sounding tremolos I have ever heard.

    The AC15 is a workhorse and despite being only 15 watts, I have never had an issue regarding volume. For my money there is no better amp than this little Vox for versatility, durability and endless tone. If you can only get one tube amp, make it an AC15.

  • from Northern Virginia, USA October 30, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Classic Vox sound

    The Vox AC 15 Custom was just what I expected. Classic Vox sound, small enough to move easily. It has been very easy to dial in the sound I was looking for and is a good complement to my Fender Deluxe reverb.

  • from Seattle, WA USA August 8, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    It's ALIVE!

    Wow, wow, wow!

    With the volume cranked in the top boost channel, this thing is a beast, it's alive - I love the way it feeds back so easily, I can feel it interacting with my instrument when I'm not even playing. The breakup when pushed can sound like an overblown brass instrument, or a trainwreck, it's just so gritty, abrasive and yet so harmonically pleasing. Very responsive - you can get all kinds of different sounds out of it by picking in different ways, and the distortion never sounds boring or generic - it always has a life of its own, it growls and snarls. It puts a modeling amp to shame.

    Compared to my Blues Jr - The AC15 delivers in the areas the Fender is lacking. None of that flabby, farty, cluttered-sounding bass end, so much more focused. And beyond that it is just a totally different sound. Very compressed, very harmonically rich, and with a much harder edge than the Blues Jr which has a smoother sound.

    Sounds great with every guitar I've played through it. I especially love the bite I get on the bridge pickup of a telecaster. On a semi-hollowbody with humbuckers it easily goes from Beatles to Zeppelin by fiddling with the volume control on the guitar.

    Some of the sounds I can get out of this amp, with a couple stompboxes, have sent chills down my spine. Like airplanes crashing, or ghostly feedback like howling winds. Perfect with a slapback analog delay. I've also had great results with wahs and a boutique overdrive pedal.
    This is the sound I've been looking for, it's inspiring to play through something that sounds so good.

    My only complaint, and I know this is a common one, is that the reverb isn't that great, or maybe it's just not what I'm used to. I think I prefer the Fender's spring reverb. The AC15 has more of a 'hall' type reverb, which will find its uses though, I'm sure. So far it seems I'm going to want to keep it turned down very low, or off entirely. But I love having a tremolo to play around with.

  • from Attleboro, MA May 21, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    My absolutely favorite amp!

    I have played guitar on many amps through the years and this one rates about the best! Tone is easy to dial in. Speaker breaks perfectly. Plenty loud for gig or recording. I'm fine with the Greenback Celestion. Only recommendation would be to change tubes (valves) as soon as you open the box. I put groove tubes EL84 in the power section and Mesa boogie 12ax7's in the audio......sounds fantastic. An added plus .....the amp is self biasing!

  • from Wyoming May 17, 2012Music Background:
    Longtime non-gigging player

    Stick a Blue in it!

    I had a 16 ohm Celestion Blue and decided to see how much difference it made from the stock Greenback. Whoa! I have a handwired AC30 and this non-handwired AC15 sounds every bit as good with a Blue in it. On some stuff, actually better. That's probably because I can't get the AC30 into its sweet spot in my house because its too loud. They used to offer these with the Blues but now they only offer the handwired 15s with the Blues. I can tell you right now, it's the speaker that makes the difference. Worth the upgrade, especially considering you end up with a spare Greenback to use with something not VOX AC. Use the Greenback for a 5 watt Marshall or something that doesn't have the tasty upper-mid shimmer this AC15 does. This is a major bargain. Oh, and with the Blue, this is the loudest 15 watts you'll ever hear.

  • from Troy, MI January 25, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The Best

    I've wanted one forever and finally was able to give myself a reason to get one, playing in a band.

    Sounds phenomenal and with 35 year old Ibanez compressor the clean channel is the bomb! I'll never get rid of this one.

  • from Andover, MA USA November 24, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Touring Musician

    In Love

    I am completely in love with this combo amp. I play with a american standard tele and it just works wonderfully with this amp. And it just sounds so darn vintage!

  • from Cleveland Ohio August 1, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Vox ac15c1

    My motivation for buying this amp was a change of pace from the amp I had been using for the last ten years. My biggest concern was how well a 15 watt amp would perform along side a drum kit. My concerns turned out to be unfounded as the amp produced plenty of volume. It is a beautifully voiced amp. It tends to be darker than my Fender which makes it a great pairing with my Telecaster. The clean is amazing and the drive is what you would expect when you actually get your tubes running hot which is hard to do with a higher wattage amp without killing the neighbors with the volume. I could go on ranting about this amp for an hour but the bottom line is it's one of the nicest sounding amps I've owned and my personal favorite at this point.

  • from Fort Wayne, Indiana May 23, 2011Music Background:
    Drummer, Guitarist.

    I made the right choice.

    Ok, so I'm new to the guitar and consider myself more than a beginner but possible an intermediate, but this is the first amp I've bought in conjunction with a Standard Strat I also bought. First, it just looks cool and 2nd, the sound is incredible. I also got the foot switch for reverb and tremolo. There is a pletora of sounds you can make with this amp. Just keeping the volume low on the channel and the master high you get your clean sound, but crank the volume on the top boost and bam, you got one mean crunchy sound flying out of the amp. For the price you should just get one already. Don't think about it, just do it.

  • from MInneapolis, MN March 9, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Vox Vox Vox!

    I really like this amp a lot. As a previous owner of an AC30 with Blue Alnico speakers I find the AC15 holds its own! The tone you get out of this guy is incredible! Smooth creamy to gritty dirt crunch. This amp can do it all! The tremolo and reverb are great! Unfortunately you have to purchase the foot switch separately. Please do yourself a favor and check out this amp! I highly recommend this amp for humbucker and single coils guitars. the options you have in this amp are endless.

  • from Morgantown WV February 12, 2011Music Background:
    Play in a worship band

    Tone!

    I love this amp! I play in a worship band and use my AC15 to play a 2000+ seat church...mic'd of course. I keep it clean just under the break up point on top boost and color the tone with a Jetter GS3 and a line 6 m9. I usually play a AD Strat and the magical tone that comes forth from the AC15 is incredible. I like the fact that none of the knobs makes a HUGE difference in the tone, it just colors it, which I love. The reverb will send you into the grand canyon and back and the trem is classic rock. I play this amp over a AC30CC at church and like the tone out of the 15 more, the newer AC30's might be different but haven't play through one. I highly recommend this amp for single coils and humbuckers alike but especially single coils. Chime on you crazy diamond.

  • from Baltimore January 26, 2011Music Background:
    Life long servant of the rock and roll

    A very fine 15 watt combo

    The AC15 custom is a five star combo. The only 15 watt combo in production that can touch it IMHO is the Fender Princeton Reverb, which is Made in the USA, and costs 300 dollars more (actually the two amps make a great set for home and studio or playing small venues). If you want tone, and not a "kitchen sink" control panel, for this price, you cant beat it. VOX really nailed the look and sound this time. With vintage style Single coil pickups, the AC15 C1 provides the true 1958 - 1963 JMI sound. With hotter sngle coil pickups or humbuckers this amp overdrives a lot smoother and easier than the original.Through the TOP BOOST channel an MIM Standard Telecaster sounds very glassy and brite, and very lively. The notes pop and ring and you can hear every note in a chord. Just like an old original VOX amp. Makes you wish your Tele had trem.The same setting turned over halfway up, and using somthing like an SG, provides a compressed ,saturated,, crispy,- fried Overdrive sound . The same rig with the channels jumped with an ABY box adds bottom, and low mids and even more harmonic compelxity, Add good distortion pedal and you cant believe its a VOX anymore. This is a professional quality instrument, not a toy. At this price its an insane bargain.

  • from Los Angeles April 1, 2010Music Background:
    Classic Rock-British Invasion

    THIS IS THE ONE!... DON'T WORRY ABOUT THE CHINA THING

    I've used Vox most all of my life...and this little gem so far is top notch!
    I have been using this now for about three weeks..Its loud! quality is good! and I just really dig it! .... I used to get hung up on the made in England vs. Made in China, let me just say the quality is here! even though it's made in china, Vox engineers in England really oversee'
    this production line... I was told this by Vox and I think it's true! It's a great amp! and new upgrade and design on the Ac-15C1 could not be better!

  • from Louisville, KY March 31, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Classic Vox Chime

    Features in this new version,
    just blows out of the water the old CC1 huge upgrades:
    Greenback speaker (Wharfedale sucks) tube location, dual channel, reverb tank , metal switches (power & standby), cut control etc.
    Now it seems like Vox is listening to the crowd....
    We wanted the AC15 back for less and we have it!!!
    Try your Telecaster bridge p/u or your Ricky 360/12
    and let me see you smile.....or maybe cry.....
    Outstanding tone in early OD stages, that's the tone you have listened back in 1964...early Tom Petty records....and you know what I mean
    Best $600 ever spent on gear
    just try one...there is no better 15 W tube amp for the money IMHO
    LOUD AMP!
    Made in China, yes I know....
    same thing happen with Honda and Toyota and now do you see how many of these cars are running..
    the amp does the job and it does well!

  • from New Mexico March 26, 2010Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Best Vox I've ever played!

    I have been a Vox fan for quite a while. I have an AC50 and a Tonelab LE. All quality gear, and great tone. So, I decided that I wanted a smaller amp that still has great Vox tone. When I saw the redesign of the AC15, I had to try one. It arrived last week, and I am still completely amazed every time I plug into it. The Greenback speaker sounds so good in this combo...like it was made just for this amp. Very warm, chimey cleans, nice gradual breakup...sounds like a Vox should.

    The reverb has also been redone, and sounds fantastic. Tremelo is a nice feature for sure! Love the size, power, and tone of this amp. Vox has hit a home run with this one. My ONE gripe about it is the fact that it does not come with a footswitch, you have to purchase one...but that's it. Amazing amp, great price...try one, you will not be sorry.

  • from October 18, 2016Music Background:
    Grade 7 Musician

    Wow Vox

    Amazing tone and sound for the price, I am blown away by the tone especially for the price, highly recommended.

  • from blackfoot, ID December 21, 2015

    Favorite gigging amp do far

    Im in a band that plays gigs ranging from 30 people to 500. I've owned an orange th30, Blues jr, 18 watt marshall, and deluxe reverb to name a few. Was never completely happy with my tone. I took a gamble on the vox ac15 and happy I did. It sits perfect in our band mix. We play everything from beatles to ACDC and it fits the bill. I use a timmy pedal and BB preamp and they sound perfect with this amp. No need modding the bright cap on this like some do. The greenback sounds amazing. Plenty loud for gigging. Very punchy and bell like chime on the cleans. I had the volume on 3 the other night and was loud enough for a medium sized pub gig. Very happy with the amp. IMO this amp is meant to be played with a band. It rocks and rolls!

  • from Portland, Oregon November 15, 2015

    Great Amp!

    I've owned and played through Fender amps almost exclusively since picking up the electric guitar years ago. In an effort to branch out and find some inspiration, I began auditioning almost every amp you can imagine and even brought a few home - only to return them days later. After weeks and months I plugged into the VoxAC15 just for kicks and knew immediately that this amp was going to be mine for the long haul. The normal channel is clear and focused and brings the EL84 chime. The boost channel lets you dig in and riff out on practically anything blues or rock. The useful tone cut option allows you to roll off the higher ice pick frequencies - not only does this make up for the fact that there isn't a mid frequency control, but it also lets you dial in a great tone on ANY guitar you decide to play that day. As others have noted, Vox reverb is of the Hall variety so this may be a turn off for those in serious need of a bouncy spring reverb. There are only two cons that come to mind after playing through this amp for nearly a year. First, the amp vibed a bit dark when first purchased. It came tubed with a lower grade no-name Chinese brand. They didn't necessarily sound bad, they just sounded dark. I replaced the power tubes with a matching pair of JJs and the tone was noticably brightener, the notes slightly more rounded. Second - there is an undeniable hiss when both the master and normal tone controls are set at higher volumes. There are videos of this amp happily hissing away posted online for anyone interested in listening, but the fact of the matter is that there is going to be some level of hiss with any tube amp. If you keep the master at 9 or 10 o'clock you won't ever hear it and it won't interfere with your recording. If you need to be that much louder, then you might want to consider the Vox AC30. Despite the cons, this has been a great amp to own. It's super versatile, built like a tank and makes my other amps look dressed down. I could have spent more money on a Mesa, Marshall, Fender or obscure boutique amp, but this amp inspired me to start writing new material right out of the box and really that's the only prerequisite I have when it comes to buying and keeping new gear. Thank you Vox!

  • from Aurora, CO July 13, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, Musician, Audio Engineer

    One of the best amps on the market!

    The Good: Probably the best amp for clean tones on the market. The real spring reverb sounds fantastic. The tremolo is great and better than most tremolo pedals. It may only be 15 watts but this amp is plenty loud. Louder than most 15 watt amps out there. I play in a loud rock band and the master volume is only at 10 o'clock. I assume that has to do with the greenback speaker and the specific solid state rectifier. I play with the top boost gain at noon. Leave a little dirt on it and I push it will an overdrive/distortion pedal when needed. It's perfect. A surprisingly big sound for a 1x12". Great for live AND recording use. The speaker external/extension options are cool too.

    The Bad: It's made in China. It comes with awful Chinese tubes. Replace them asap. It's a bit heavy for a 1x12 combo. Does NOT come with a footswitch.

  • from Hawaii May 26, 2015Music Background:
    Blues/Rock

    Great Amp... Question

    I am a 13 year old blues guitarist and songwriter. This is a very nice amp that complements my American Special Fender Strat and Gibson Les Paul Studio perfectly. I tried an alnico blue version, and although it sounded very good, it wasn't the sound I wanted. I have played gigs up to 800 people with this amp and it is a great trustworthy buy. However, I have been getting into harsher music, and am beginning to want a harsher, more hard rock worthy amp. I am considering a Marshall DSL 40 with creamback?

  • from Mississippi March 30, 2015Music Background:
    Church Electric Guitar player, teacher

    Everything I expected

    Great amp, beautiful tone as expected. This is my first tube amp so I'm really bias right now, lol. It doesnt compare to my current solid state amp in terms of tone! I love Vox's top boost and the volume output is just right for my preferences at this time. It's heavy, but hey, it's a tube!

  • from McCalla Alabama September 30, 2014Music Background:
    From an sixties rock band (The Tempos) and owner of Green Dot Studio ( Engineer, Producer, Singer/Song writer )

    The perfect studio amp.

    That Vox tube sound in an affordable package. If you think 15 watts is not enough you need to listen to this amp.

  • from United States January 19, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Blues Power

    I picked up this amp a while ago and was pleased with the tone I got from my epiphone Sheraton out of it; the tubes give it perfect vintage tone, and the breakup was just right. Used with supplied reverb, it got that bluesy "sprang" that everyone loves. Using the top boost channel and my strat, "Tin Pan Alley" was right on the money. Awesome amp for the price, good at quiet or club-shaking volumes.

  • from Illinois April 19, 2013Music Background:
    Semi pro guitar player of 20 years.

    AMAZING right out of the box!!!

    You CAN NOT go wrong with this amp! If you looking for everything from warm clean tones to searing overdrive this amp has it all! Beautiful shimmering chime to down right gritty, wonderfully compressed overdrive you just can't get anywhere else. Dont get me wrong, Fenders can hold their own but this amp just has something that again, you just can't get anywhere else. A telecaster played through this amp is possibly the most beautiful thing I'v ever heard. And I'v played alot of guitars through alot of amps. It may only be 15 watts but remember, this is 15 watts of Vox tube power. I lovingly refer to my AC15 as "Mr. Thunder Maker" because it can old it's own against the loudest drummers (because we all know that not all drummers practice using dynamics all the time) and cut right through the mix without breaking a proverbial sweat. Having said that, it also sounds very good with that lovely break up at lower volumes making it perfect for recording or practicing in the bedroom. The tone cut control is very handy as it rolls off some of the ear piercing highs without getting muddy. The treble and bass controls on the Top Boost channel are very dynamic and play off of each other allowing you to dial in just the sound for the style of music you play and your over all playing style and technique. The reverb is very nice as well as the tremolo (though i admittedly dont use the tremolo much except when my band plays "Clear Spot" by Captain Beefheart). All in all, if you play country, blues, jazz or rock, this amp holds its own. Whether in the studio or in a good sized venue with a full band. I'll end this review with a fun little fact: The original guitar riff in the James Bond theme song was played through a Vox AC15!

  • from Toronto, Ontario November 1, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician

    Best amp I've owned

    I had to do a lot of driving to try all the amps on my list. Dr.Z, BadCat, and Matchless to name a few. All of them great amps that just shimmer, with perfect note to note deffinition, and a depth of character that is hard to describe. As I was trying all these $2K beauties, salesmen kept asking if I had tried an AC15, or would I like to A/B it with an AC15? I sparked up an AC15 with my '52 reissue tele, and was floored! With very little tweaking I was getting $2K tones out of a $700 amp. My ears were telling me that they could hear, and therefore justify the extra expense.
    I haven't taken it on the road yet, waiting for a case. However, I pulled the chassis, and it looks solidly made, and uses some nice high tolerance components. I'm leaving in the stock speaker (I like greenbacks), but will experiment with some tube options.
    So far, I can't find a single item to fault.

  • from NV, USA March 21, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Live Sound Engineer, Gearhead

    Fantastic!

    First things first, let me just say that this one KILLS the Vox AC15 Custom Classic series. This one has real Celestion greenback speaker in it, it has a normal and a top boost input (not made of plastic like on the CC version), it's power and standby switches are actual metal throw switches, and I think the most important advancement over its predecessor is that it has a Tone Cut next to the Master Volume. Remember how stinkin' bright the AC15 CC was? You had to mod it and clip the bright cap to make it not painful at high volumes, all the while voiding your warranty.... and to top it all off, it just sounds fantastic! Very responsive, warm tube goodness. If you like the AC30 but don't have a need for all that volume (cmon, it's so much easier to mic them anyway, right?) then Vox has finally gotten it right with this one. It's like a mini AC30. Get it!

  • from November 2, 2016

    Very Specific Tone

    Vox makes great products. This is an amp with a very specific tone that's more midrange heavy, and very shimmery at the top end. I personally like the tone of the amp paired with my Studio LP and Line 6 Pod HD500. I play stuff like switchfoot, papa roach, SWS, PTV etc. If you like a darker tone I'd suggest Marshall or if you want a brighter tone- Fender. I personally like more midrange tone with just a little bite at the top, and a warm bottom so I appreciate this amp. If you have the money, go for the AC30!

  • from Florida,USA September 25, 2014Music Background:
    intermediate nonprofessional

    It's a lot of amp for the money!

    I use it in as a practice amp in a home studio. The sweet tone is great for 30's and 40's standards. My Fender Frontman's digital tone is a little harsh for those tunes. The Vox is capable of being plenty loud even though it's only 15 watts. You most likely could find more features for 4x the price but this is just right for me.

  • from United States April 19, 2014Music Background:
    ambient, recording

    Do Ambient Stuff? - Read My Review

    I'd die for a Matchless, Dr. Z, or even a small BadCat for cleans. I do ambient stuff and I know the struggle. Clean Headroom. It's like a mythical unicorn for those of us who aren't rich. I did TONS of research for "affordable" amps with clean headroom and actually, this one was NOT on many of the lists. It is a Brit style amp which is a style known for crunch. BUT, I knew it had a speaker I liked and it was a trusted co. That's it. And, like one guy I admire used it on some great EP's. I hesitantly pulled the trigger because your homeboy works at a coffee shop.

    ...I was blown away, honestly. This thing can stay pretty clean at great volumes. I simply followed the user manual for dialing in the amp for cleans and I really cannot complain. If you are on a budget, just get this thing. It is worth every penny. It has beautifully rich low end, notable mids, and two completely different channels that can be used in cool ways for ambient stuff. It takes my pedals beautifully. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 is because I have heard those Dr. Z's and Matchless amps and all I can say is...one day! Unless you are super picky, you will like this guy for the money. Talk to Evan Mulvahill for amp and recording Q's! Extension 1381! Thank you for all the help Evan! Love this amp!

  • from Rochester Hills, MI USA June 1, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Vox AC15 Custom

    I bought this amp to be a contrast to my Fender amps. I love the Fender clean sound but wanted something that could get more grit. I use this and another amp toghether and love the contrast in sound between the two. When using the master volume the AC15 has a dirty enough sound to get the classic rock tones I am looking for. I play smaller venues so cutting through the mix with the band is not a problem with the AC15. It does just what I wanted and expected it to do.

  • from Locust Grove, Va May 3, 2010Music Background:
    Amateur Musician

    Instant classic tones - easy to use

    Just got it and played it live this past weekend with a small combo. Held it's own w/ no problem. Had the Master around 8 o'clock and it was miked with the channel volumes set around 10 o'clock. I took a Vox moderators advice and used BOTH channels at the same time using my Satriani Time Machine......I will probably always play this way, the two channels blended together makes for a slightly more complex sound. You can of couse use an ABY and get a lot of flexibility. The tone knobs are interactive (affect each other) and the cut knob is a nice addition since the Normal channel has not tone control. This thing gives great tones for humbuckers and single coils. It is HEAVY and seems to have enough headroom for small gigs. I have an Egnater 30 if I need more juice ever. I am very pleased with this amp so far....for the price it is really hard to beat!

  • from Cleveland, Ohio January 13, 2017

    overrated

    Tried everything over a year to make it sound better. Tube upgrades. Even the bright cap mod. Needs a mid knob in my opinion. It does sound better at louder volumes. At my church our amps are mic'd on stage. So if our amps gets too loud the others on stage complain. I heard other Vox AC15C1 that sound better then mine. I think there may be inconsistencies making these in China. I got a lemon. My Fender Hot Rod Deluxe and my Blackstar amp sound better than the Vox AC15C1.

  • from April 13, 2015

    Okay

    This is a classic amp and i'm not saying that its horrible. It sounds very thin and has a lot of treble even with it all the way down. It does not sound very full. And for a 1x12, 15 watts is not very much. There are many other tube amps that sound better but this has a distinct sound.

  • from June 27, 2016

    Not all that....

    There are so many good reviews on this amp I just hate say anything negative, but I have to. This amp is so so. It's VERY thin sounding and has no body. Used by itself with no PA for band practice will get you nothing but washed out. My drummer says you can hear it then you can't. Loud, bright, but undefined and small sounding. I have a tendancy to wanna turn it up to get some more body out of it but it doesn't happen. It just gets louder, brighter, and thinner. Judge for youself before you purchase, that is for sure.

Questions about the Vox AC15C1 15-watt 1x12" Tube Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway