0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Vox AC10C1 Sweetwater Custom 10-watt 1x10" Tube Combo with Greenback Speaker Reviews

4.5 stars based on 21 customer reviews
Questions about the Vox AC10C1 Sweetwater Custom 10-watt 1x10" Tube Combo with Greenback Speaker?

Questions about the Vox AC10C1 Sweetwater Custom 10-watt 1x10" Tube Combo with Greenback Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Arizona May 10, 2017

    Vox AC 10C1 - Celestion Greenback

    I've been downsizing gear lately and this was a downsize, but not a down grade. It's very portable while being big on tone and volume for home and studio. The cleans sparkle and the dirt growls. What I like most is it lets the personality of each guitar shine through. I'm not missing an effects loop because this sounds great running pedals right into the front. I think it's great value for the money.

  • from Dallas March 22, 2017Music Background:
    Songwriter, Lead guitar

    Killer tube amp from Vox!

    I was looking for a whole new sound. I almost always play Marshalls. I have always really liked the way Vox amps sounded. I really didn't want to invest in a head and a whole half stack just yet however. I wanted something I could play at home and also had enough to pull off smaller gigs. So glad I came across this Vox AC10C1 Custom. I am blown away!! This little beast is bad and there isn't anything little about the sound it pushes out. Mean big throaty low end, super warm mids and highs that are very tight. This amp is so cool. You can get that British 70s muddy classic rock sound without moving the gain past 2 o'clock. I'm amazed how many tones you can get from one amp just adjusting the gain and master volume. I have only just begun to explore where this thing will go.... Buy one!

  • from Pennsylvania March 12, 2017Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Love this amp!

    This is exactly what I was looking for… A simple I amp with one channel that sounds fantastic both clean and pushing the drive. No doubt the greenback speaker adds cherry. It maintains both bedroom volumes, and can gig, making it a very versatile I amp. Takes petals wonderfully without an effects loop. I can't say enough about this amp. I am very happy with my purchase, and the service as always.

  • from WI February 28, 2017

    Seriously my best amp

    I am truly blown away with this little charmer! At the suggestion of my one and only salesperson, Justin Rix I went with this "Sweetwater" special AC10. As a 65 year old retired medical profesional who has had ample time and resources to amass a sizeable collection of guitars and amps, it is not hyperbole to say that this REALLY IS THE BEST SOUNDING AMP I OWN. This little amp beats tweeds, and silverface Fenders and even my FAV "go to" amps like my Black Face Deluxe Reverb !!! I could not be happier with my consumate Sweetwater experience and salesperson. The SWEETWATER CUSTOM, sings, growls and any tone on the whole gamut, handles all my pedals and whether it be a Fender Guitar new or vintage, a Gibson or Epi Les Paul or even my National played clean, this honey makes them all sound like butter. Simply put, THIS IS THE BEST AMP I PERSONALLY HAVE EVER HEARD !Thank you Justin and Sweetwater.

  • from USA January 26, 2017

    Fantastic Tone

    Fantastic tone from this thing and it takes all my pedals well. I was worried about it sounding small, boxy and cheap after having owned several blues Jr's that I was never fully happy with. Not the case at all with this little monster. Very open sounding and can get as loud as you want. This amp sounds just as good and possibly better in some ways than my Ac15 with a Celestion blue in it. This is my first amp with a 10" speaker and it seems to have more bottom end and punch than my ac15 which I find interesting. Maybe its the closed back giving it that. The weight is a plus and will be easy for practices and possibly gigs. My tele's sound rich and full and my Les Paul sounds fantastic.

  • from Washington January 10, 2017

    Brilliant

    Great throaty tone. Doesn't really have a clean tone, but I didn't really buy it for a clean tone. Perfect size, shape, and weight (light with a heavy sound). Love it.

  • from Portland, OR October 19, 2016

    Significant Upgrade

    I also own a Vox AC10 with the regular Celestion VX speaker, so I'm comparing this one with the upgraded Celestion Greenback to my regular one. At this point, I've played the new one at 4 gigs and multiple rehearsals; the speaker has about 40 hours of playing time at volume, so it's broken in. The Celestion Greenback is a serious improvement over the VX. Tighter and slightly more prominent lows, warmer mids, and similar but glassier highs. Overall, I'd say the improvement in sound would absolutely be worth it to buy the speaker aftermarket. Fortunately, Sweetwater has taken care of that for us, and at a much discounted rate.

    If you haven't heard the AC10 yet, this is a WONDERFUL amp. Much, much better sounding than the Blues Jr., though not quite as loud. Whereas a Blues Jr. has a very midrangey, in your face tone, the AC10 is more balanced, with sweeter highs and much more present lows. I actually like the digital reverb on the AC10, and use it quite a bit when I play clean or with just a touch of distortion. The AC10 distorts in that great, classic Vox way; don't expect it to do hard rock or metal without some assistance, but for classic rock crunch to clean, this cannot be beat. Yes, the AC15 is louder, and does sound a bit bigger, but I got really tired of hauling around a 50 pound amp, and the AC10 is lightweight. No problem keeping up with a drummer, though it won't do pristine clean and keep up with a heavy hitter. If you're thinking about picking up an AC10, I strongly encourage you to spend the extra 50 bucks to get the upgraded speaker. It's more than worth it. Thanks again, Sweetwater.

  • from California October 14, 2016Music Background:
    Big Mo & The Full Moon Band 10 pc all original Blues/Southern Rock/Funk

    Ac10

    I have gone through so many amps. The latest a Two Rock $8000.00 amp.
    I must now admit that this $499.00 amp blows them all away.
    You will not encounter a cheap breakup with this amp if you stay somewhere in the middle volume settings.
    I use it for all of my shows small or large. I am buying a second one :-) I have them on amp stands facing me on stage so I can enjoy their great sound. This amp allows me to change the sound by just hitting the strings harder and or adjusting the volume. I use a volume pedal for them. I am very impressed and thank Vox for making the amp I always looked for :-) Oh did I mention how lightweight it is

  • from Sturgeon Bay, WI October 7, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist now but used to gig for many years

    Vox AC10 Custom

    I have many other larger and smaller tube amps. I was looking for something that sounds great, takes pedals well and is easy to move around the house. I've always been a fan of Vox chime but never pulled the trigger on a Vox. This little amp delivers on all counts. I think depending on how much of a gusto your drummer brings to his impacts on the skins, this could be a gig worthy amp for a small club. Adjusting the gain and volume in ANY combination produces fantastic usable sounds. I do not miss the absence of the effects loop. The AC10 Custom accepts pedals great plugging straight in old school. This simple straight forward amp sounds way better than its meager price. It really is a deal.

  • from San Antonio October 4, 2016

    Vox AC10 w/ celestion greenback

    Great sounding amp, those 10 watts can get loud! Great tone you would expect from a vox and love the speaker upgrade, ( even though I don't know how yhe original speaker sounded) but the celestion greenback sounds great. Sweetwater is a great company to by from and will definitely be buying more gear from them.

  • from Pennsylvania September 15, 2016

    Vox AC Custom with Greenback Speaker

    I picked this up a few weeks ago since I've been looking to minimize my rig and use a simpler set up. Something where i don't need to worry about the effects loop and using the channels on an amp. This was perfect. Kinda just plug and go. I have it set to where it just about breaks up and I use an overdrive and boost pedal to put it over the top. It breaks up at the perfect stage volume where I'm not bothering everyone else. The added built in digital reverb is a nice touch, but use it more as a "less is more" mind set. It gets too washy anywhere after 9 o'clock. Since I play weekly, it's nice to make one trip from the car to the venue. I couldn't be any happier with my Sales Engineer Pat. He provides me with the best knowledge of gear and helps me decide if it is worth it for my gigging needs. And the gear always arrives quickly and safely! I would recommend this amp to anyone who is looking into a simple plug and play, low watt amp, that loves the classic Vox tone.

  • from California August 21, 2016

    Vox ac10 with greenback

    I bought this amp as a demo (saved 50 clams) and all I have to say is that it sounds awesome with my tele. The clean headroom is just great and when you crank up the gain it just sounds magical. The bass tone don't get flabby with the greenback while the mids and highs get more defined. Aaron C. at Sweetwater emailed me saying they had a demo model available and I bought it. Amp came well packed and included the Sweetwater candy. I haven't had any problems with loose tube or tube rattle and I've been died this amp out on several occasions. If your sitting on the fence with this amp just go for it, you won't be disappointed. If your the patient type let your Sweetwater rep know to inform you when a demo becomes available, it will save you some money and the speaker will be broken in with the same Sweetwater warranty.

  • from St Petersburg July 24, 2016Music Background:
    musician/player since the Beatles went on Ed Sullivan

    Vox AC10 Sweetwater Exclusive w/Celestion Greenback

    Turned it on and let it warm up for a bit, then plugged a Strat in and got a whisper of raspy sound. YIKES!!! Shut it down and opened the back, which I'd of gotten around to eventually and found one of the 12ax7's loose and at an angle. Pushed it in and fired it back up holding my breath. BAZINGA! Whoo-hoo glorius sound. I have gravitated to 15 watt or less amps over the years and this puppy is the crown jewel of the 5 I already had. It is impossible to get a bad sound out of this amp. Tried a stock AC10 and the Greenback installed is a real improvement, and as it breaks in should get even better. The controls are simple and very effective. The treble and bass interact beautifully and can dial in superb sounds at any volume and really provide that famous Vox Chime. The reverb is very nice and while kept to lower levels it is an integral part of that Vox Mystic. The Gain and volume really let you dial in the perfect amount of grind to that wonderful clean. While 10 watts doesn't sound like a lot this is a loud little bugger that sounds terrific at lower volume too. Topping it all off is that Classic Vox look. I've played my Teles, Strats and Jaguar through it, blissful. The Gibsons and Epiphones are wonderful as well. I have wanted to get a full on tube Vox for some years now but didn't want to deal with the size/weight of the AC15/30 amps, this AC10 with the Greenback Celestion really fit the bill. I kept going back to the ad and adding it to the cart, then deleting it...finally pulled the trigger after several days of that nonsense. and am I glad I did. If your looking for a small/lightweight tube amp this is one of the more righteous ones you'll find. It'll work well for just about any type of music except maybe Metal...but that isn't what you'd buy a Vox amp for anyway. I'd HIGHLY recommend this versatile amp for beginner or pro, it's a hands down winner in it's class but ranks way above it's weight.

  • from Vermont March 17, 2017Music Background:
    sonic wanderer , been playing 45 years

    AC10C1 . . .a winner

    This is a great , fun amp for the price and size. I've had AC15's with Alnico Blue speakers and this isn't quite all that but the AC10 is a great alternative to it. Almost half the weight of a AC15 but has the grit and chime once you dial it in. This amp is pretty loud but you won't be blowing out any windows with it. The reverb is decent for a digital. The amp has a solid build to it. It sounds great with my Strat. I also use it in tandem with a Fender Princeton and they blend nicely together. This amp does great clean, chime, and crunch tones ( think Beatles, Tom Petty, REM, Brian May, Rory Gallagher) . This amp is a solid buy if you are in the market for a lower powered amp that has some versatility. The greenback speaker is a great addition and worth the extra expense. Buy it. Play it. Turn it up.

    Sweetwater/Jeff Barnett's service was the usual great, fast and on the money. Thanks , Jeff.

  • from Virginia February 22, 2017

    My Favorite Vox Amp

    You know those reviews you occasionally see that claim this amp sounds better than the AC15? Well, add mine to that list. The AC15C1 is a great amp - I had the Greenback model. But somehow the AC10C1 sounds closer to an AC30, in my head at least. And I think anyone who buys any model Vox amp is secretly wishing they had an AC30. I had an AV4TVH and an AC4C1-12. Both of those amps had very cool tone but also had a "small amp" sound to them. I'm not sure why, but the AC10C1, even with its 10" speaker, sounds larger than the AC4C1-12 with a 12" speaker. Note that my amp has a stock VX-10 speaker and I think it sounds great. If you get the one equipped with a Greenback, my guess is that it could only sound even better.

  • from Pulaski, VA February 5, 2017Music Background:
    Amateur musician / amp nerd.

    Great amp!

    This is a wonderfully sounding small amp. Responds well to touch and pick attack through the whole volume range. No, it doesn't get Fender clean, but it does that nice classic crunch better than any other amp in the price range, and better than many that cost a lot more. The digital reverb is a little touchy and past noon on the dial, it's just too "surf" sounding for my liking, but it does sound good. This amp is an especially good bargain with the Celestion Greeenback already installed. The amp is very loud for 10 watts, but it also sounds great at bedroom levels. The only downside would be the cheap Chinese tubes. You won't really appreciate the potential of this amp until you put some good quality tubes in there. The bass and treble controls are very usable. There are a wide range of tones available if you take time and move the knobs around. The amp seems to take pedals well, especially tube screamer types that give a mid boost. For the money, I don't think you can go wrong with little amp.

  • from Miami Lakes FL. December 21, 2016

    Excellent Amp

    This is the first Vox that I have ever bought, I have a variety of amps, Carr, Fender, Mesa Boogie, Carvin and this AC10c1 holds its own among the crowd. It has a character of just being on the edge of breakup at lower volumes, and has a very harmonic grind when being pushed. Im not a gigging musician any longer so I can't say whether or not its loud enough in a band setting. Overall this is a really good amp, well worth the $$$.

  • from April 13, 2017Music Background:
    extreme enthusiast

    Great character and pedal platform

    I have a Marshall DSL 40c that roars with great crunch sounds but wanted another amp for mostly cleans, recording and to take all manner of guitar pedals. What a perfect purchase THIS was! When A/B'ing with my Marshall's clean sound (which the Vox now sits on top of lol), there is this marvelous clarity and bright shimmer by comparison. It just has such a great clean personality to the tone that I knew instantly I wanted it for that and to try out some pedals with it. It works GREAT as a clean or even slightly broken up bed to put all my various pedal on and is just a great compliment to my Marshalls balls out roar. The only nits I would pick is not the amps fault and that is the bass is a bit lacking but that's to be expected with a 10" speaker and I wish the controls were on the front so I could manipulate them easier while recording. It does have a speaker out jack and eventually I want to get a nice 2X12 cabinet for it.

  • from April 13, 2017Music Background:
    extreme enthusiast

    Great character and pedal platform

    I have a Marshall DSL 40c that roars with great crunch sounds but wanted another amp for mostly cleans, recording and to take all manner of guitar pedals. What a perfect purchase THIS was! When A/B'ing with my Marshall's clean sound (which the Vox now sits on top of lol), there is this marvelous clarity and bright shimmer by comparison. It just has such a great clean personality to the tone that I knew instantly I wanted it for that and to try out some pedals with it. It works GREAT as a clean or even slightly broken up bed to put all my various pedal on and is just a great compliment to my Marshalls balls out roar. The only nit I would pick is not the amps fault and that is the bass is a bit lacking but that's to be expected with a 10" speaker. It does have a speaker out jack and eventually I want to get a nice 2X12 cabinet for it.

  • from CALIFORNIA January 8, 2017Music Background:
    SEMI-PRO

    JUST WHAT I WANTED

    GOT THIS BECAUSE I WAS TIRED OF LUGGING MY AC15 IN AND OUT OF GIGS. THE HOPE WAS THAT I COULD GET THE VOLUME I NEEDED,(NO PROBLEM) AND THE TONE I GET FROM THE 15 BUT SAVE THE OLD BACK FOR THE ENERGY NEEDED TO PERFORM FOR 3 HOURS PLUS. THE AMP DOES EVERYTHING I WANTED IT TO DO. I GOT THE UPGRADED SWEETWATER VERSION WITH THE CELESTION GREENBACK SO CAN'T SPEAK TO THE TONE OF THE STOCK SPEAKER. FOR THE EXTRA 50 BUCKS I THINK IT IS WORTH IT

  • from August 5, 2016

    Vox AC10 Custoom

    Amp suffers from the dreaded tube rattle. Once that is fixed I may have a higher opinion. Sweetwater service is great, however. They had to send me three of these amps because the first two both powered up but did not produce any sound. Third one worked but soon developed the tube rattle. I hate to send this one back because the sales engineer and everyone else worked hard to solve the problems with the first two non working amps and couldn't have been nicer. Quality on these Ac10s is obviously lower than on my 1990s British made Ac15.

Questions about the Vox AC10C1 Sweetwater Custom 10-watt 1x10" Tube Combo with Greenback Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700
rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway