0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Boss AB-2 2-Way Selector Reviews

4.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss AB-2 2-Way Selector?

Questions about the Boss AB-2 2-Way Selector?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Bailey
    from S.E. Michigan January 31, 2017Music Background:
    professional working musician

    exactly what I've been looking for

    This is the best passive AB box I've ever had (and I've had a few other brands that were disappointing--they were noisy & didn't hold up well over time). My professional opinion is that Boss makes the best pedals and stomp boxes (I also totally love the Boss Katana-100 amp I just got through Sweetwater). The size of the AB-2 is just right for me. I can keep 2 guitars plugged in with the ability to quickly & noiselessly switch them out within seconds. At the end of the night, I just unplug it and it tucks away perfectly into my pedal board. Finally, it only takes a single AA battery which lasts a long time as long as you remember to unplug your cables. If you're in need of an excellent AB box, this is the one to get, especially for the price.

  • Jeff Hachtel
    from Kalida, OH February 25, 2016

    Perfect For Me

    I need to switch between electric and acoustic at gigs, often with very short notice. This pedal works beautifully for me. It is small, rugged, and adds no noticeable noise for my application. When listening closely at home I can hear a very little pop, more like a tick, when switching channels, but it is not noticeable otherwise. I'm very happy with it.

  • Mark Fisher
    from Southern Illinois August 25, 2015Music Background:
    Been playing 37 years

    Great piece of gear at a great price!

    I bought this switcher to switch between an acoustic guitar with an external preamp and an electric guitar into my Truetone (formerly Visual Sound) pedal array that then ran into my new Pigtronix Infinity Looper. I was playing a Night of Yoga and Music event that my daughter put on. I would improvise into the looper and trade off guitars for different textures. The switcher worked exactly as I wanted it to. I highly recommend it. I do wish it had a jack for using external power, but that is a minor issue.

  • Roger Webb
    from United States July 28, 2014Music Background:
    Gospel/Bluegrass/Rock musician.

    Super quiet rugged switch pedal.

    Works Great. Silent operation, with no unwanted "pops".

  • Robert McCullers
    from St. Marys, GA August 9, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    This thing is just the trick!

    This unit works just great. I hav a Goodrich 2-input matchbox that is no longer made nor can you get Goodrich to service it. I play Pedal Steel and Lead Guitar and I need a splitter to keep from having to lug 2 amps and the Boss AB-2 is just the trick.

  • John
    from Hendersonville, NC October 8, 2012

    Just what I needed!!!

    I needed a way to switch between 2 guitars and BOSS had the perfect solution. This also just happens to fit my BOSS FX-6 pedals. PERFECT!!!

  • Charles Gaskin
    from Wewahitchka, Florida November 6, 2015Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Boss 2-way pedal

    Just what the doctor ordered. Been looking for a pedal to allow me to switch between acoustic and electric guitars and still run through a single harmonizer without the time consuming changing of chords and setups. This did the trick.

  • Steve
    from FL May 15, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician.

    Boss AB-2

    This is a great pedal. Clean, quiet, well made, priced right.The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is you have to use batteries and can't plug it into a power supply. Granted. The batteries last a very long time.

  • Don Hightower
    from Marietta, Ga. May 14, 2014Music Background:
    Long time player

    It's a Boss=reliable

    I use this for two guitars. It works flawlessly. The only con is no 9volt connector, so you are stuck with changing batteries, but the battery does last a long time.

  • Andrew Meyer
    from Oak lawn, IL, USA August 22, 2012Music Background:
    8 years playing, 2 years in active bands

    Worth every penny

    From what I can tell, this is a great alternative to some of the more expensive switches available. Using it to switch a CRANKED Traynor YGL-3A; no added hum, even on the overdrive channel, and the switch is completely silent (no click when I switch).

    The reason it's not getting the full 5 stars from me is the fact that it runs on AAAs and nothing else. I think this is the only thing I own right now that uses AAAs (which makes it kind of a pain to have to buy them). Either way, it'd be a lot better if I could just plug it right into the wall.

    But at this price, I'd recommend it; I see no reason to spend over $100 on an AB box when this one works just fine with no added noise.

  • Andrew Meyer
    from Oak Lawn, IL, USA July 27, 2012

    Boss AB-2

    What can I say? It works great. No added noise (even with my amp cranked), and the LEDs make it much easier to use in dark situations.

    Switching is completely noiseless (to my ears, anyway), and it doesn't degrade the signal at all.

    But as others have said, it is kind of a pain that it only runs on AAAs. I mean, aside from the inconvenience of constantly having to replace batteries, why AAAs? I think this is the only thing in my house right now that runs on AAAs, which does make them hard to scrounge up...

    But aside from the battery issue, it's a great little pedal. I would recommend it to a friend, and if it broke I would probably buy another.

  • Robert Ellis
    from Bryan Ohio December 25, 2013Music Background:
    Country Rock ..Pedal Steel Guitar .and Lead Guitar

    Nice little switch

    Switch performs as it should ..works great ..only downside is you have to replace batteries ...no AC adapter plug..

  • Mark Mahloch
    from Omaha, Ne September 6, 2012Music Background:
    Lead singer in a 7 piece local country band

    Boss AB pedal

    There's nothing flashy about an AB pedal, you just need it to work when called upon and this one does. I like the different colored lights for A and B as they remind me which instrument is live.

  • Warren Rudd
    from Kansas City December 11, 2010Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Boss AB-2 with modification

    I bought the Boss AB-2 and it works great. It is actually a little smaller than I expected but that is just an observation on my part. Easy to use! My application needed the status lights so this is an upgrade from an unlighted model I had. As reviewed elswhere, changing batteries is kind of a pain as you need to remove two screws and that is my reason for only a 4 star rating. If you don't remove the in/out cable, your batteries will be toast after about 5 days. Knowing this, I intended to modify mine when I bought it and did so successfully by using a 3V power adapter, an "M" type jack with switching so that it can be used with AC or batteries. Roland (Boss) should have done that when they produced it but of course, that woud raise the price. This AB switch is very quiet (probably due to the FET switching) and actually had less electrical noise than the mechanical switch I used it to replace. A great buy!

  • A. Keller
    from Boston, ma December 7, 2014Music Background:
    50+ yrs playing

    Boss AB-2 Footswitch

    This is an AB Switch, in other words, only A or B is active at one time, not
    A and B combined. Has different colored led's. Aluminum case.
    The good: This Footswitch is built to last. Nice small footprint. Works on
    batteries. Great price.
    The bad: Only works on batteries! No power supply option. Does introduce some noise/hum. Tried with a number of amps. Does not color
    the sound, just adds noise.
    Sweetwater delivered promptly, double warranty, great online resource.

  • JFairweather
    from Dallas February 18, 2017

    Make sure this it what you need

    This is a good basic AB switch. It uses the tongue and groove design that allows it to be firmly mated with Boss' trigger switches. It terms of function and solid construction it is a great footswitch.
    Be aware that it requires internal battery power, using a pair of AA batteries and it takes a screwdriver to change them. The unit switches on when you connect the cable, which means it can't be left connected on a pedal board. For a minimal expense and a bit of effort you can wire in a jack for 9v power using hacks available online. Note that this has a plastic bottom with ridges and the material does not work the adhesive on the back of velcro – it simply does not stick, so you have to attach it to a pedalboard using zip ties or another system.

  • Customer
    from Dallas January 7, 2017

    Good with caveat

    This is a good switch. The interlocking design works with their momentary switches but not much else. The big issue is that the buffering is powered by two AAA batteries / 3V with an in-jack switch, and it requires a tiny phillips screwdriver to change batteries. The makes it unsuitable for a pedal board. There are external 9V mods on the net, but that's not what you want to do with a new pedal. If you are okay with the plugging and unplugging and the battery changing, this will work well for you.

  • KMN
    from WI June 28, 2015

    Terrible product!

    The debounce circuitry sucks. More often than not it does not switch. It's more like guitar switch roulette. For example, you're on the A channel and you step on it, you'll see the A LED go off momentarily, the B LED go on momentarily and then you're back on the A channel. Same happens if you manage to get to the B channel. I can rarely get it to switch with one step. I often have to try a half dozen times to get it to switch. If you're trying to change guitars on stage during a two measure break you're screwed with this thing.

Questions about the Boss AB-2 2-Way Selector?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway