0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Godin A6 Ultra Acoustic Electric - Cognac Burst Hi-Gloss Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Godin A6 Ultra Acoustic Electric - Cognac Burst Hi-Gloss?

Questions about the Godin A6 Ultra Acoustic Electric - Cognac Burst Hi-Gloss?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Minneapolis, MN October 30, 2016Music Background:
    gigster

    Amazing!

    I can't say enough about this guitar. Start with the neck: this thing plays and feels like a guitar you'd expect to pay 3x the money for, at least. The set-up is perfect for fingerstyle. Just as sweet on the 12th fret and above as on the lower end. The only thing I did was change the strings to D'Addario EXP 26 Custom Lights, 11 - 52. The electronics are superb. There are 2 outputs: Acoustic (mix) and electric. With the acoustic you can mix the acoustic, under bridge, transducer with the humbucker at the neck. This is important because it doesn't say anything about mixing pickups through the acoustic out in the description. There is also an electric output, so you can go out to your acoustic amp and electric amp at the same time and come up with endless mixing combos. I use it 2 ways: the acoustic out to a Bugera AC 60 acoustic amp and mix in a bit of the humbucker. My pedals are chorus, tremelo, and delay. Lots of options here and a great acoustic sound with a bite if you like. Alternatively, I go out the acoustic to the AC 60 and the electric out to a Bugera V22 all tube electric amp. Now you have a ton of options and you can color the sound countless ways. Be sure to download the manual as it does not come with the guitar. The A6 Ultra also comes in a natural color, but if you can afford it, spring for the Cognac burst. The finish is pure beauty. I've played some very expensive guitars in my day but none as sweet as this baby. I don't know how Godin does it. Unbelievable.

  • from Fort Worth, Texas June 6, 2015

    Awesome Guitar!

    This is without a doubt the most fantastic guitar I have ever played! I am seriously considering selling the others, Les Paul, Strat, 335, Taylor etc.! The guitar is so well balanced and easy to play with a sound that nothing else can compare to. With the Piezeo output going to the Peavey Reno 400 (acoustic) and the Humbucker output going to the Vox VT60, (electric) the results are unbelievable! What appears as a relatively simple instrument turns in to a guitar that based on your amp choices, has more sounds available than any other guitar ever made! My only regret was not getting this guitar years ago when I first saw/heard about it. Anthony and everyone at Sweetwater is to be commended, as the guitar arrived setup, tuned and ready to play! I was very skeptical as I had never bought a guitar online before, everything went very well! I highly recommed the Godin A6 Ultra and Sweetwater!

  • from Sandusky Ohio USA February 16, 2015Music Background:
    Pro. Musican

    Real nice Guitar

    I'll keep it short. I purchased Mine from Sweetwater and it came ready to play, I played My first Gig in 1968 so this is not My first rodeo. I'm a professional Bass player and song writer and I was surprised how good it sounds unplugged. I have several amps so the feature of running the A6 through 2 amps one acoustic sound and the other for the Humbucking pickup is amazing. I love this Guitar and for what I use it for its a dream come true. The only change I'll make is lighter strings.

  • from Grand Island, NE June 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Wow

    I can't believe the sound this guitar has without even plugging it in to any amp. I recently replaced my old starter Ibanez that I've had fro 11 years. It was a great acoustic guitar with a nice voice, but I have small hands, and the Godin A6 lends itself very well to playing with shorter than normal digits. I played for over an hour last night after unpacking and can't wait to get an amp and try out the pickups too.

    At least for now, this is 5 stars for being everything Sweetwater said it would be. Thanks!

  • from NEAR ROCHESTER,NEW YORK February 7, 2014Music Background:
    BEEN SINGING AND PLAYING GUITAR SINCE 1958

    GODIN A6 ULTRA ACOUSTIC ELECTRIC-COGNAC BURST HI -GLO=SS GUITAR

    THIS IS A VERY VERSATILE GUITAR .EASY PLAYING NECK,GREAT ACOUSTICAL SOUND AND EASY SWITCHING TO THE PICK UP MODE.I ADD A 2 MALE TO A FEMALE COUPLING AT THE 2PLUGINS SO I CAN JUST TURN ONE OR THE OTHER MODES OFF ON THE GUITAR WHEN I WANT TO,USING ONLY ONE AMP AND SETTING FOR BOTH MODES.BECAUSE I MOSTLY SING AND CHORD WITH IT,BUT IF .I WANT TO THROW A LITTLE MELODY WITH THE PICKUP I CAN.OVERALL A GREAT GUITAR!!

  • from sacramento ca January 19, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    godin a6 ultra

    excellent playability, no sore fingers here.
    even without an amp; the projection is nice. plugged into an amp( i used a roland ac60, an old crate practice amp;and a genz benz acoustic amp) - it sounds even better; i just used the built in effects.
    for distortion i feed the acoustic output to a distortion pedal(pigtronix philosopher's rock) that has a bypass mode so i can go back to acoustic. that's sufficient for my needs.
    my only gripe is that the settings on the treble and bass controls are hard to see; i wish they had some markings so i can see the settings better.
    other than that, i'm very satisfied with this guitar.

    last but not least, kudos to sweetwater's after sales service and tech support. jason, you're the best!

  • from Dallas, Texas USA January 14, 2013Music Background:
    Studied jazz and blues guitar play Christian rock

    Great sounding and playing guitar

    This is one great playing and sounding guitar the playability of this guitar is awesome I use it plugged into my Fender acoustic amp and the humbucker is run through my blues junior amp amazing sound with so many options I play Christian rock at a number of churches and it works great for me highly recommended guitar and purchase it through Sweetwater the guitar came all set up and ready to go great customer service

  • from December 11, 2012

    GODIN A6 ULTRA (NATURAL SG)

    I can only say that this guitar is the best one I've ever had so far. It sounds greate, the thing I love the most is that I can add more body sound with the EQ, even though it's a little guitar I can make it sound like if it was a bigger one. everytime I play it I thank to myself for buying it. it feels so smooth, and sounds so greate!!!!!. I JUST LOVE MY NEW GUITAR.

  • from United States July 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Guitar!

    I reviewed earlier with just playing it as a straight acoustic (no pickups plugged in) and I loved that sound. Since then, I've finally had something that I can plug into a few times, and it is even better! That said, the controls are a bit confusing. I printed up the online manual to help me decipher which pickup was which and which volume and EQ went with which pickup. I'm getting the hang of it, but it would have been great if that had been a bit clearer.

    That is the only thing to this point from keeping the review at less than 5 stars. The guitar itself has an amazing sound! When I stopped into the local music store to pick up a hard case for the guitar to replace the gig bag, both the clerks were super impressed with the guitar.

Questions about the Godin A6 Ultra Acoustic Electric - Cognac Burst Hi-Gloss?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway