0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Samson 8Kit Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • from Macclenny FL October 2, 2014Music Background:
    Drummer

    Great Mics

    Simply put, you cannot beat these mic's for the money. Nothing else even comes close.

  • from Sanford, Florida USA August 27, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician.

    Great Mics for any drum set.

    These mics are the best mics you can buy for your kit. I used these mics on a Mapex Meridian Birch wood set, and the sound that I got from them were great. I could not believe the sound. We recorded in a live setting inside a garage with no sound damping at all, and the recording came out very good. You could not tell that we recorded in a garage.

  • from Port Moody, BC Canada December 4, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer.

    Accurate Sound

    I'm giving these mic's a 5 out of 5 because they really did blow my mind. What a great sound. I tried using these Mic's through my UA-4-710 and man oh man did they sound great. Even the snare had a great sound to it. The kick, after putting the head phones on and crawling on my knees for a bit, I finally found the right sound I was looking for, I went back and recorded a drum take. The kick was excellent.

    If you have the money, you can buy any Mic that you see fit to get that drum sound you're looking for. But I have to say, these Mic's with a good Mic Pre sound great. Samson aren't known for being fantastic, but I really liked these Mic's.

  • from Midland, Texas August 26, 2010Music Background:
    Musician(drummer)

    Simply Amazing!

    My churches youth ministry needed some mics for their drums. We were lookin at the Shure PG6 kit and almost bought them. At the last minute we decided to give these a shot. We just set them up this week and we could not believe how great the mics sounded! The lows on the kick and tom mics are amazing and the quality of the condensers and snare mics is incredible. I used to think that the board we have had horrible pre amps but now I realize that we just didnt have the right mics. I cant say enough good things about these mics. They are by far better than the Shure PG6 kit, we will be buying another set for our main church drum kit!

  • from Brass City,CT June 30, 2008Music Background:
    Drummer, Recording Engineer

    Great Set Buy Them

    I have to say I though I was going to get what I paid for, cheap mics at a cheap price. Boy was I wrong. This set has fantastic SPL handling and accurate reproduction and you get eight. Project Mix board required attenuators. But, as a drummer I can tell you, buy these with confidence and don't look back.

  • from Galatin, TN May 24, 2007Music Background:
    Engineer/Musician

    Samson 8Kit

    I have been an engineer for the past 6 years and have worked in many studios in the Nashville, TN area. I must say these microphones blew me away! The only reason I decided to get these instead of any other drum mic. package was that this package came with more mic's. I didn't think that quality from anything near this price range would vary much. As soon as I heard the kick I knew I had made a very good decision and the 2 large diaphragm condensers sound amazing. They capture the spit of the Hi-hat and the crispness of the cymbals like microphones 4 times as expensive.

    All I can say is you will be very happy with these mic's.

  • from Carlisle, Ky July 17, 2011

    The Mics are GREAT!

    These Mics are GREAT! I have been a drummer for many years, and, for the money, I couldn't beat it! They have an exceptional sound and could pick up a penny dropping on the floor. Way to Go!

  • from VA hillbilly country September 6, 2011Music Background:
    30+ yrs blues, rock, and hard rock drummer

    Nice kit

    Very happy with this kit especially for the cost. Mics are very hot leaving lots of room for board adjustment, especially condensers ( hi-hat and overheads). Was especially pleased that even though 36-54 volts phantom power is called for from mixer, our older Peavy board with only 24 V runs them perfectly. The only thing I'm not totally thrilled with would be the clips. They don't want to stay tight with some hard beating and one of the rim clips bit my finger real good on installation. Overall very pleased! You won't regret the purchase!

  • from Portland, OR April 6, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Great Sounding Set!!

    I was looking for a decent set of mics for live and some quick-setup studio work. Read the reviews, took a shot and am blown away with what I got.
    This mic set gives me a good, solid and nicely accurate sound for the $$.

    I would definitely recommend this set to anyone on a budget, or even if you have the money to get something more expensive, give these a try first.

  • from Bellingham, WA February 1, 2005

    Wasn't sure what to expect, but wow! What a deal!

    Just purchased the mic set from Sweetwater last week and recorded a 12 song project last weekend. I was very amazed at how incredible the sound was. The large condensers were solid and got a really nice overhead mix. I usually do on the fly drum replacement for the kick and snare regardless of the sound I get, but in this situation I was unable to find a better sample of a kick drum than what I had already recorded with the Samson mics. Also, the drummer kept hitting the snare mic with his sticks and it seemed to hold up well under harsh conditions. At the end of the weekend, I was holding 12 solid drum tracks that sound better to me than any of the studios in town. The only dissapointment to me was the Floor Tom. I think they could have made a specific mic for that. Overall, this is a fantastic investment to any studio, and I would recommend it to anyone. Thanks Sweetwater!

Questions about the Samson 8Kit?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway