rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

MOTU 828x 28x30 Thunderbolt / USB 2.0 Audio Interface Reviews

4.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the MOTU 828x 28x30 Thunderbolt / USB 2.0 Audio Interface?

Questions about the MOTU 828x 28x30 Thunderbolt / USB 2.0 Audio Interface?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Carlos
    from November 11, 2016

    MOTU 828x

    Like all MOTU products, 828x is a great machine. But I think it is not complete because of its mixer, CueMix.

    These are my cons:

    It is not possible to move faders and knobs with the wheel of the mouse. This feature should be there for a fine tuning of any parameter.

    I have been testing Studio 192 from Presonus and its graphical way to compress or equalize is a very good and easy way to work.

    I think many users should be happy with this feature in CueMix: a graphical interface and to be able to move faders and knobs with the wheel of the mouse.

    Regards,

  • James
    from December 28, 2015

    Excellent

    Arrived very quickly. Attached and started up about 2 weeks later. Enclosed CD was useless, Laptop Mac has not CD reader and Desktop Mac does but driver on disk was out of date. Went online with both Macd and downloaded driver and all worked very well. Use laptop on Thunderbolt and USB with IMac. Both are excellent. Has exactly the types of I.O i needed and then a few.

  • Customer
    from December 27, 2014

    Great!

    works great!

  • DP
    from Denver, CO USA November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Musician & educator

    This replaced my Digi 002

    Yes, I was trepidatious. I had two of the Digi's and was reluctant to leave them behind.

    But this was a happy change. It set up easily, and though I had trouble for a while getting my bearings with the 828 and my new software (I also left ProTools after many years) I did find what I needed and my studio back in working order.

    Great product. Easy to use and great sound.

  • Sam Santos
    from Vineland, NJ October 22, 2014Music Background:
    Keyboards, Programming

    Thunder! Thunder! thunderbolt!

    MOTU is pushing the envelop as usual! This new MOTU 828x is smooth! No audio dropouts! Finally, this MOTU can keep up with the processing power of the fastest macs!

  • Lee
    from Flagstaff, AZ March 22, 2014Music Background:
    Mastering engineer, sound therapist

    Pristine sound quality, perfect integration with studio

    Gives me everything I need in a single rackspace and expandable to boot. The included software and ipad control round it out perfectly.

  • Michael Morangelli
    from New Jersey July 30, 2015Music Background:
    Jazz Guitarist and Composer

    Motu 828 again

    Had to replace my MOTU 828mkII which finally faltered and failed - after over 12 years constant use... talking with MOTU Tech support they indicated the 828x would be a great replacement.... and the 828x is a great replacement - simply popped it into my rack plugged in via USB and was up and running in about 15 minutes. The added features are a great 'plus' especially with live recording and obviously a 'sweet' paring with Digital Performer.

    The only down side is the lack of a third interface option - it would have been nice to still have a FW800 connection available along with the USB 2 and Thunderbolt 2.

  • Derek
    from PA, USA August 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Recording Engineer Student

    Excellent interface at an amazing price!

    You simply cannot beat this interface for the amount of features it has for the price! I use the analog ins and outs to connect my board to my DAW, which currently is Protools. The Thunderbolt connection is unbeatable if you are using a Mac. It works perfectly, and has nearly any type of connection type you could ask for. The only fault i can find with the 828x is that unless you are eye-level or higher to the screen, the information on it becomes illegible. Other than that, the 828x is perfect, especially at such a great price! I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a new interface.

  • Dominic DiMartini
    from NY USA May 14, 2014Music Background:
    Music Production, Mixing/Tracking engineer.

    MOTU regains my trust.

    As a long-time MOTU interface user, I was hesitant about purchasing this. My last MOTU interface, an 828mkII, had numerous issues after I updated my operating system to snow leopard. After the update, it just wouldn't work. It took MOTU over a year to get the new hardware drivers working correctly.

    The new 828x thunderbolt works perfectly, with a few snags. The included CD was scratched from the factory, so I had to visit the MOTU site to download the latest installer. I recommend doing this anyway, as the version supplied in my box was outdated to begin with.

    After installing the MOTU Cuemix software, I plugged the unit in and turned it on. It works perfectly. No pops or clicks when connected to my three year old MacBook Pro.

    There is a ton of connectivity on this unit... I hooked it up to my Dangerous Audio Dbox, Lavry Converters, and Antelope audio clock with no issues.

    I daisy-chained a thunderbolt hard drive as well, with no issues.

    The built in converters and sound quality are O.K., but not in the same league as the RME interfaces. Much better than the M-Audio and Presonus interfaces tho.

    The built in mic pres are O.K. at best. I'd recommend that those who purchase this look into a good preamp for recording microphones, like an API 512c or A Designs Pacifica.

    The DSP effects are quite good. Using the DSP with the 828x as a stand-alone mixer worked great for jam sessions. Build quality is also very good.

    I give the 828x 4 stars. The build quality, DSP, connectivity, stand alone option, and CueMix make this unit a bargain. As your needs grow, this interface will easily accommodate pro-level converters, clocks, etc.

  • Michael Canzirri
    from September 28, 2014Music Background:
    Producer

    Great Hardware, Crap Software.

    If motu got the stuff together with windows and the drivers i would easierly give this unit a 5 star rating. Great sound, Smooth Interface. But on the flip side. the drivers are shocking. it took me 5-10 hours of stuffing around with my pc, calling & Emailing Motu. In the end i had to figure it out myself. Constantly tells me the interface isn't connected when it is. Seen a few post with the same problems.

    I want to recommend it for the great interface it is, but it seems to be roulette in regards to if it will work with your computer or not.

  • Dominic DiMartini
    from NY October 14, 2016Music Background:
    Studio guy

    Good interface, with a warning

    I've had this one for over a year now.

    Pros:

    1. Competitive features and sound quality. It's not on par with RME, Apogee, Burl, etc... but definitely better than most similarly priced/spec'd gear.
    2. Easy to use. Thunderbolt works well.

    3. Great metering and audio tools built in.

    Cons.

    1. No mirrored outputs. If you want to send the computer system output to more than one set of stereo TRS outputs on the back.... you can't. There are workarounds, but they either use up a headphone out, or require you to use up a bus 1/2 as master... this takes away from the unit's ease of use.

    2. DSP effects don't sound very good. The built-in effects are nowhere near the quality of good outboard... or most plugins.

  • Kenny Crimewave
    from Detroit, MI September 8, 2014Music Background:
    Certified Recording Enginer, Producer of Award Winning Recordings, Pro Musician and former touring Live Sound Engineer.

    MOTU 828 Misleading Adverstsing

    I bought the MOTU 828x after reading that (1) had DSP for the on board Reverb, EQ and Compression, (2) ability to send several distinct cue mixes to the musicians in my studio, (3) 2 on board Mic Pres, (4) SMUX and (5) jThunderbolt. Once I get it in The studio, I find out that the Reverb (the only effect that uses a lot of DSP) is non-functional above 48K which only amateurs use; I only get a single cue mix , which mirrors the main output when recording above 48K; the mic pres are the worst I have ever heard on any audio interface. The SMUX works fine. Thunderbolt connectivity works. I connect the SMUX outs of my Audient 880 with it's great mic pres and Burr-Brown convertors and fortunately the 828x doesn't ruin or deteriorate the sonic quality. I also have an Aphex 2ch Tube mic pre connected to 2 analog inputs and it's quality is maintained by the MOTU.
    But the fact that the on board Reverb w/DSP and Multiple Cue Mixes when recording at 96k (like 99% of pros do) are disabled really ****** me off. No where in their advertising or on their web site does MOTU point this out. I had to buy the unit, set it up in my studio and try the features before finding out they didn't work and then finding out why in the User's Manual. Total bullshit, in my opinion. I can live without the MOTU reverb with it's useless DSP and the two lousy mic pres but I cannot operate a professional recording studio without multiple distinct cue mixes tailored to each artist. So now I have to either dump the MOTU 828and find another Thunderbolt audio interface with the ability to accept 8 Channels of SMUX or spend who knows how much to get me multiple separate cue mixes if that's even possible.

Questions about the MOTU 828x 28x30 Thunderbolt / USB 2.0 Audio Interface?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway