rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Taylor 814ce Grand Auditorium - Cutaway, Electronics, Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 5 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Ben Porter

    My purchase of the 814ce was the result of a long search for the perfect blend of balanced tone and smooth action. The Indian rosewood sides and Sitka spruce top marry together to produce this full, pleasing sound that is then accurately reproduced by its built-in Expression pickup system. I love it!

  • from Los Angeles October 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    This guitar won me over

    I have been playing guitar for 25 years and I have always wanted to invest in a high end acoustic that I will keep for the rest of my life. I tried Gibson, Martin, Breedlove and just about every other major manufacturer but every time I would go and try them out I would always end up going back to the 814 CE. This guitar just called to me. I didn't want to like Taylor because I thought they were too trendy and to bright/thin sounding but the more I played it the more I fell in love with it.
    The sound of this guitar is very well balanced. The highs are crystal clear and sparkly while the lows are just enough to compliment the overall sound. As for the playability that is what probably won me over. This guitar plays like butter and is an absolute joy to play. From strumming, to finger style picking this guitar does it all and does it well. In a lot of ways it has renewed my love of playing guitar. Kudos to Taylor for crafting such a lovely instrument.

  • from Baytown, TX September 1, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, semi-retired.

    Taylor 814ce Grand Auditorium - Cutaway, Electronics, Natural

    I waiting 24 years to get the acoustic guitar of my dreams. Found it with this beautiful guitar br Taylor. The action, intonation and sound is just fantastic. Every time I pick it up to play, it sounds better and better. Aaron was so kind to pull this serial number out before I purchased it to check for any blemishes and playability. His helpful description was spot on. This guitar might seem a little pricey but once you strum or pick it, the price does not matter. Thanks to the Sweetwater staff and Aaron for making this a no hassle purchase! This 814ce puts a huge smile on my face every time I play it!

  • from PA June 10, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Artist

    Taylor 814ce

    This is my sixth Taylor & is the best yet. It plays beautifully. The Sitka Spruce top combination with the Rosewood sides & back provides for an excellent sounding guitar. The Grand Auditorium style plays with ease as compared to a traditional Dreadnought. In addition, Taylor Guitars customer service department is excellent if you ever have any questions about Taylors. Sweetwater is also a great company to deal with. Highly recommended!

  • from Midwest, USA December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Exquisite

    Exceptional guitar in every respect. It plays extremely well. It sounds great unplugged and plugged in - just incredible.

  • from Jacksonville, FL April 16, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician

    an easy choice

    I have been the owner of many very fine acoustic and acoustic/electric guitars over my 46 years of guitar playing experience. At this stage of my life, I'm tired of the 'I'll end up owning and playing this guitar for a few years and then sell it to go look for something better' game. If you're a guitar player, you know what I'm talking about...
    What I wanted was an instrument that was acoustically balanced, electronically capable of reproducing what I heard acoustically, and ascetically pleasing to me. I've owned guitars that were one or two of those things, but never all three. I wanted a guitar that was built with respect to guitar building tradition but not a slave to it. I wanted a guitar that is built from the best of available materials to achieve the acoustic/electronic/ascetic goals mentioned earlier. I wanted a guitar that was worth the money I'd pay for it. I wanted an acoustic guitar that was easily recordable. I wanted a guitar that I would be glad to one day give to a grandchild and know they were getting something that is really worth something....
    The Taylor 814ce is all that. It isn't cheap, but quality never is. I do some flatpicking, but I mostly spend time fingerpicking, and it excels at that. It inspires me; and that's about the highest compliment that I can think of to give a musical instrument.

Reviews

  • Ben Porter
    4-21-2009

    Earlier this evening, I pulled out my cherished Taylor 814ce and put a new set of strings on it. Then I played my favorite Am9 chord and in an instant I remembered why I bought this same guitar 13 years ago: The amazingly crisp, balanced sound. As I fingerpicked the strings, I was still amazed at the balance between them. The sound of each string has its own place in the overall sound of the guitar. The sound of this guitar resonates deeply with me; its brightness and fullness somehow seem to encourage me.

    The 814ce's sound is extremely versatile, due to a combination of the tonewoods, body shape and craftsmanship. The dynamic range of the solid Sitka spruce top meets the full bass and clear treble of the Indian rosewood. The Grand Auditorium body shape allows for a tonal balance that's full in the lower register, present in the midrange, and sparkling on the treble strings. The versatility of this guitar appeals to a broad range of players, but more specifically bluegrassers and fingerpickers. Lastly, the craftsmanship of Taylor Guitars is evident in this American-made beauty, in everything from the details of the inlays to the curves of the body.

  • Chad Byers
    11-21-2005

    I have been a fan of Taylor guitars for a number of years. In taking the 814ce for a test drive, my love for Taylor is now not just in its amazing playability. It is now shared with the tonal balance and amazing electronics, known as the Taylor Expression System.

    The 814ce has a well-pronounced low end, sweet mids, and a clear, responsive upper frequency range. I was so amazed by this guitar's ability to fill the room in such a powerful and beautiful way. The beauty this instrument displays externally is well matched in its audible quality. Putting this instrument down grew more difficult the longer I played.

    Once I plugged this instrument into my studio, I was sold! I have never heard a system with such tonal control as the Taylor Expression System. The fact that there were only three controls made me a little skeptical at first. However, once it was plugged in I realized there wasn't need for any more than that.

    This guitar responds best when put to use in finger style and mid to light strumming situations. However, in my ventures with the instrument, I found it adapted well to any style that I threw at it.

Questions about the Taylor 814ce Grand Auditorium - Cutaway, Electronics, Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway