rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Fender '65 Twin Reverb 85-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Amp Reviews

5.0 stars based on 37 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender '65 Twin Reverb 85-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Amp?

Questions about the Fender '65 Twin Reverb 85-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Indiana June 12, 2017

    The only amp you will ever use

    I have had many amps, currently I take the Fender twin, an Orange, a Peavey and a Genz Benz with me. I usually just end up using the Twin. I cannot believe how versatile it is, it sounds great with and without pedals. My Shenandoah still is my go to acoustic and smokey jazz amp. I love my twin, if you are serious put your money back but this amp, you won't be disappointed. There is a reason this amp is legendary.

  • from Harvard, IL June 11, 2017Music Background:
    Studio Musician

    Best of the best!

    Have been kicking around wanting to get this amp for quite awhile. I've been looking for that snappy, clean sound and it sounds even better in person. I bought a '59 Bassman RI looking for that warm, clean tone but this thing is now my new favorite amp in the fleet. If you're looking for that spank ala SRV, and an amp that works well with any pedals you put in front of it, then save yourself the trouble and just go ahead get yourself a '65 Twin now!

  • from May 5, 2017

    Aaaah. Finally.

    I own several amps, nine of them legitimate tube amps. Until now. After some guidance from my sales rep Tyler Moore, I figured I had the right amp. Tyler was right, thanks buddy!

  • from Texas March 28, 2017Music Background:
    playing guitar since 1960

    Fender 65 twin reverb

    These little amps are the best, I had one back in the early 70's and used it in all types of places from little to big, it can go from low to very loud with out a problem. A little on the heavy side, use a case with casters and it helps.Plus it goes well with my telecaster, and stratocaster, the tones are great.

  • from OKC March 13, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar/Lead Guitar -- 45 years

    Everything I expected.

    This amp is the King of Clean and works great with OD/Distortion pedals!

  • from Chesnee SC. January 19, 2017Music Background:
    Played since i was 11 now im 58 still going playing and teaching also.

    Best amp ever made for country -country Rock

    Always wanted a twin,now I do and it blows away anything in its way,I love it.

  • from October 21, 2016

    65 twin reverb

    Sounds great the tone is unbelievable

  • from NWI June 16, 2016Music Background:
    40+ years of country, gospel, and classic rock.

    Vintage machine

    I've owned a lot of vintage gear. This amp will break in very nicely. The tone is there. However, an amp has to played to get seasoned. The reverb, vibrato, and clean is superb.

    Add a good tube screamer, and you're done. If tone is your thing, then this is your amp. it also looks impressive. I've heard people complain about the weight, but it's worth the trouble. 85 watts of pure tone = 85 lbs.

  • from Puerto Rico June 6, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Latin Guitarrist

    Fender 65 Twin Reverb

    Excellent amplifier. Clean sound, excellent power for the size, nothing else, just outstanding.

  • from May 26, 2016Music Background:
    Piano for 15 years

    Fender

    This is great

  • from PA April 5, 2016Music Background:
    Post-Rock, Instrumental

    Great, obviously, but

    We all know what awesome sounds this amp produces. However, you would think that with the royal brand name, decades of service, and loyalty to quality merchandise, QUALITY CONTROL would be at the top of their to-do list.

    I bought this amp because the 68' Twin Reverb RI was a **** up and breaks when you take it off standby. I've heard of a lot issues with the reverb circuit in these amps, so I did a thorough initial amp test leading up to the great reverb test. This amp sounds amazing on both channels. Even playing through a Les Paul this amp is the best clean sound you can get. When I got to the reverb channel.... Microphonic sounds all up and down the control knob.

    I called sweetwater tech, after getting past all the Apple Products Tech lines(???), I got in contact with a guy who told me Fender most likely put the reverb tank in backwards and to flip it 180 degrees. Backwards? Yeesh.

    I called Fender Tech and right off the bat they told me "sometimes the tubes put in these amps are not up to par, and it's definitely the preamp tube that handles the reverb circuit". Understandable, tubes aren't perfect, and that defines the microphonic sound that I'm hearing. The tech hooked me up with the nearest licensed Fender service shop to have the tube swapped under warranty. Sweet.

    An annoyance rather than a big deal, but with such an expensive piece of equipmonk, you'd think they would be thoroughly tested before sending them out to reduce service being needed right out of the box. Don't rush production :)

    PS. Require a signature for delivery, or else they'll just leave a giant expensive box somewhere outside of your house.

  • from Nebraska December 16, 2015Music Background:
    marching band 1975. Im 58 and learning to play guitar.

    Awsome sound

    Great sound but loud, also heavy.

  • from Atlanta Georgia November 3, 2015Music Background:
    I've been a musician for > 57 years.

    FENDER '65 TWIN REISSUE

    '65 TWIN REISSUE
    First off, I'm an old (63 yrs.) prog rocker with a stage band background, so assess
    my comments accordingly.
    The sound is, well, Fender-esq, which translates to 2 main characteristics:
    "Clear as a bell", and "blank canvass".
    Clear as a bell:
    If you're a fan of the classic Fender sound, you've come to the right place.
    All of the Fenders I've owned in the past were of the hand wired variety, but
    they sound the same. I've checked the schematic (yup, I'm that nerdy) and the
    circuits are very similar, sans the boost and overdrive circuits, hence the 85
    watts with headroom as opposed to 100 watts without. The power supply is also different. The"normal" channel is a thing of beauty. I just wish it had that gorgeous Fender reverb. With it, that channel is a jazzman's' dream.
    Blank Canvass:
    This is a tube amp so it does have character of its' own. It does not,
    however get in the way of anything you might play through it, and with 85
    watts, it's plenty loud. I love the speakers, but that's always a personal
    thing. To me, they sound very close to the OEM speakers that were in past
    Fenders.
    Why a 4.5? The reverb had a runaway condition that Sweetwater very quickly
    repaired, all the while staying in touch with me by phone and email. A 12AU7
    was substituted for the existing reverb drive tube. The whole process took a
    week, including shipping both ways. Sweetwater took good care of me. The only
    other nit to pick is the aforementioned "normal channel" configuration.
    Consideration:
    When I was considering a new amp I asked a buddy of mine who owns a pro audio
    company, if you saw 2 guys coming to your venue, one had a Twin and the other
    had a stack (I won't name it, but use your imagination) which one would you be
    looking forward to working with? I decided on the Fender.

  • from October 1, 2015

    Wow this is the amp every guitarist should own!

    You can't believe the tonal purity of this Twin.
    Not sterile or void of tone....but a rich harmonic fullness unsurpassed
    By any other combo
    The cleans are legendary....sweet, clear, rich, warm hypnotizing....
    The range of sound is huge and this baby sounds awesome at 2 as it does at 10
    The 2 Jensen's have great full balance and sound super 3 dimensional
    Bright switch gives you another option for shimmer or balanced highs
    Reverb...wow
    Tremolo.....wow
    Sensitivity to pick attack...wow
    Put a Boss Super OD , Klone Centaur, big Muff in front and you discover creamy smooth tonal bliss.
    I have a whole bunch of amps and I never get tired of hearing the beautiful tone of this allstar!
    Highly recommend and a must have for every lifetime guitar player.....

  • from June 19, 2015Music Background:
    46 years pro

    Fender Twin Reverb.

    Great amp - does all that it says it does. The clean is simply the best in the business, a one-of-kind sound. High marks in all categories except one: I wish the Twin had an Effects Loop, so I could take that wonderful Clean sound and color it with my effects pedals. I know I can still use pedals by running guitar directly into the pedalboard, and take the pedalboard OUT, into Channel One input on the Twin. But that's not ideal, because in order to change back to the pure Twin sound without pedals, I have to unplug the pedalboard and run the guitar directly into the amp. An amp this good should have maximum capabilities, which should include an Effects Loop. I was hoping that with the re-issue, Fender would've added the Loop. I really believe they missed an opportunity with the re-issue. So 1/2 point off my rating. Otherwise, the best clean amp anywhere

  • from Plainfield il April 13, 2015

    Didn't think it had the power with the cleanest

    Didn't think it had the power with the cleanest, this is better than ever

  • from FL, USA February 9, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, Recording Engineer

    Clean and Loud

    This amp is pretty amazing its clear and really loud. It's also very warm and responsive because of the tubes. This amp is great for studio work as well as playing live on stage just mic it up to your PA system. I use this amp for everything from classic rock, to punk, to funk music.

  • from Santa Ana, CA September 25, 2014Music Background:
    Bass and Guitat player from the 60's untill now.

    Fender '65 Twin Reverb

    I have a lot of Fender Amps from the 60's and this one is a perfect match. Great amp at any price.

  • from January 16, 2014

    best claen amp

    this is a great sounding amp

  • from Fort Smith, AR USA October 23, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    The sound is great

    When I first started playing I was playing on a simple solid state fender amp. I upgraded to this after seven years and could not be any happier. The sound is amazing and you can get what you need whether you are playing indoors or out. The only thing I didn't like is how awkward it was when I had to carry it. Other than that, it is an excellent purchase.

  • from Stockton Ca October 5, 2013Music Background:
    Pit band/Recording/Live performances

    Satisfaction attained

    Bought the Twin Reverb 65 reissue (got the last one) and the professionalism Ive experienced prior was again on full display from initial phone call till product arrival at my residence. Packed with care and just as advertised. Thanks to B Martinez and the rest of the crew at Sweetwater. ( you can give Fed Ex a nod too)

  • from Kennett Square, PA USA August 18, 2013Music Background:
    Experienced Musican

    Amazing Amplifier

    I've always known that Fender makes great amps but when I first played through this amp I was blown away. I was very pleased with the clarity of this amplifier. This amp does one thing (give a nice clean tone), and it does it well. I highly recommend this amp to anyone who is looking for a nice clean tone!

  • from North Carolina July 6, 2012Music Background:
    Closet musician for 30 years.

    Fender Twin Reverb

    Great amp for this closet musician. Ampliphies all the noise that I can muster and then some. I bought this amp for the genuine tremolo effect. "Rumble" sounds like "Rumble". It comes with a foot switch that controls that. If you are looking for any over drive or distorition, you will not find it on this amp. This amp is super clean. Would be great in the studio for recording. For distorition I added a Fulltone 69 pedal, (a clone of the JMI Professional Mark II.) The gain can be controled with the volume on your guitar. Perfect combination if you ask me. I am happy I purchased this amp. It is clean and reliable. If you require effects, heck just add some great pedals. I highly reccomend the Fultone 69 for distortion and sustain. Keep it simple.

  • from DC Metro Area July 1, 2012Music Background:
    Singer, Drummer and Guitar Player

    There's A Reason

    There is a reason why this is one of the best amps of all time. It has superb sound and it is very customizable at the same time.

  • from Abuja Nigeria December 24, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    True work horse!

    Didnt understand the hype behind this beauty until we decided to invest in it.

    Tone is amazing!!! There's a reason why its almost on every tech ryder we've been sent.

    Great investment for us and would gladly recommend it to anyone looking for that clean guitar tone and ryder friendly guitar amp.

    Watch out for the weight tho..

  • from Santa Fe, NM (USA) October 17, 2011Music Background:
    Been playing since my grampa could set me on his lap to play his piano and xlyophone, so I reckon an experienced hobbyist.

    I gotta clear this up

    My rating was posted as a 3 star, not the 5 that I originally rated the AMP. The amp and what you put on its output are two different areas. This AMP is still the CLEANEST American Tube Guitar Amplifier, in my opinion, ever made. And, as I said, the speakers or whatever you want to put on the output is outside the AMP. I use Eminence Texas Heat on all my mid-power amps as they fit my almost 60 year old rock and roll ears perfectly. The Jensen's are perfect for the lower power rigs that I use, depending on the mood I in. But this '65 Twin Reverb Amp is still the cleanest Mid-Level amp made

  • from Santa Fe, NM, USA September 8, 2011Music Background:
    My grandfather was a musician so I have no memory of ever being musicless, so strong background but spent my life building Hou$e$.

    Clean, but....

    Man, I gotta tell ya. This amp is such a clean burner it is creepy. I am currently building the AB763 circuit so I can have twin twin's in my 4amp "stereo" setup. I'm glad that Fender took the time to put out their new version of the '65 which, as us old farts know set the standard in clean.

    However, the Jensen's in this mode tend tol break up in the lower frequency ranges. I was going to switch to my favorite speakers, Eminence Patriot Texas Heats, when I took this out of the box, but decided to give the Jensen's a hard ride and, alas, they failed me. However, I have my shop. so I can mod this amp. I think this is still the cleanest amp going, even with whatever new mods Fender has had to use due to the passage of time, but we all have our own taste and, for me, I gotta have my Texas Heats.

  • from Asheville, NC May 2, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    Clean for decades.

    This is a wonderful amp. I bought a used model over a year ago, and I amp amazed at the tone this amp can provide. It accepts pedals extremely well, or you can go bare and have a crystal clear clean sound.

    As a warning, this amp is very heavy. However, with a hand cart, castor wheels, or good ole' fashioned elbow grease, this amp will not disappoint.

  • from houston, texas, usa February 28, 2011Music Background:
    guitarist, keyboardist, studio musician, composer

    fender twin reverb 65 reissue

    well, i gave this amp a 4 not a 5,not because of the sound, because it sounds amazing, i love it. but because of the fact that only a month after having it it started to malfunction. decently loud crackling sounds started to occour after about an hour warming up, and it was definately somthing that would pick up in recording. i brought it to the best amp tech in houston and am waiting to get it back, but i am in the studio, supposed to be recording, and i am ampless. i am very displeased with the situation and was wondering if anyone has heard of this happening before? also i did not buy this from sweetwater, although i should of cause i have bought gear from you before and you guys are quite possibly the best damn company ive ever delt with, got it from f***ing guitar center, who has almost no product knowledge, and has been no help to me even though i bought a 200$ pro coverage on the amp. thanks, let me know.

  • from Rochester , N.Y. October 22, 2010Music Background:
    play steel guitar and standar 6 string 35 years combined

    powerhouse mouse

    This Amp lives up to its name it is a super clean and powerful amp I
    have had two twins a cbs model from 1977 and a reissue 1965
    Twin 1965 is a great to things of importance her take heed the amp chassis is very heavy therefore pull it if you get a used one the four nuts are welded to the chassis and they tend to come lose
    Mine had that problem but fixed it by using nuts and new screws also only down side why they didnt put Casters on this baby I imagine
    because original did have any in the year fender brought this 1964
    I bet I am on the money the one I had I got used for 600.00
    guy who had it didnt know what he had she is a sweet amp and strong those 4 6L6 dont just hang there for nothing I used to Play my Jazzmaster through oooooh what a sweet sound anothe good one 1965 DeLuxe Reverb its little sister compliment 2 6V6 very sweet 20 Watts I will write a review on that too Eddie Kujawa
    (Reverbie 65)

  • from Hot Springs, NC October 11, 2010Music Background:
    Working guitarist

    Clean, clear, and wonderful.

    This is a great amp. I bought a used model of this, and I have yet to be disappointed. Crisp and clean tone. The clarity and delicacy of this amp are to die for. However, don't buy if you're looking for high gain. Though, if used with the right pedals, one can get any sound they desire out of this.

  • from Omaha, NE September 6, 2009Music Background:
    Musician for 40 years

    The perfect amp

    If you want CLEAN this is the amp to have. The problem I find with most other amps is the gain volume control. Most amps have two channels, clean and crunch execpt they put a gain knob on the clean channel side???? Makes no sence to me...more gain...more distortion. When I want distortion I'll add my own and the amount I desire.
    This amp is perfect for no distortion noise except natural tube distortion on higher volumes.
    If you want clean....get this amp you won't be sorry.

  • from SYDNEY AUSTRALIA February 28, 2009Music Background:
    MUSICAN , SINGER , KEYBOARDS, GUITARIST

    The 65 twin Reverb

    Fantastic amp my word I used this amp since 1983 and still have it Play a tribute to Chuck Berry and Elvis
    which I believe James Burton still uses. It has a smooth and clean deap sound

  • from Seattle, Washington November 7, 2007Music Background:
    semi-pro musician

    worth the price and then some!

    I bought this amp after reading about some of the other amps out there in the price range and decided on the fender twin reverb. Several factors were involved in my purchase decision...price, transportability, reliablity, power, tone, sound, etc....the Fender twin was an amp I played thru when I first started plucking some strings and the feel, sound and power has stayed with me for 30 years.
    I have mine plugged into a marshall 4x10 cabinet and the stack is as impressive in looks and sound as any other combination out there. Hooked up a flange and metal distortion stomp box between my Les Paul standard and the amp and I can hand out any metal desired! Awesome amp, awesome sound and power and GREAT customer service from the best music gear company out there. This amp and this company can do it all and it wont kill your wallet. Get the twin, its worth it and then some!

  • from NewHaven, CT. December 13, 2006Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Yesterday meets today

    The 65 classic sounds and feels like an original I played when I was a kid, seems like the more and longer you play it through the night the better it sounds

  • from Florida October 8, 2006

    65' Fender Twin Reverb - Still The One

    The 65" Twin Reissue is as good as it gets for an all tube amp. Sounds as good as it did in 65. Clean is super clean, reverb is in a league of its own. Still as heavy and still gets as hot as it did in the 60's. Will always be my favorite. No equal found yet.

  • from Indiana August 3, 2006Music Background:
    Guitarist, minor sound engineering work

    Cleanest sounding amp ever

    Well, you want the cleanest amp ever made, buy the '65 Twin Reverb. Such a beautiful sounding amplifier, I couldn't be happier with it. The only downside is it is very heavy and has no casters, but casters don't do anything to sound. The reverb unit is the original Fender reverb that produces a lovely full sound.

Questions about the Fender '65 Twin Reverb 85-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway