0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Fender '65 Super Reverb 45-watt 4x10" Tube Combo Amp Reviews

5.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender '65 Super Reverb 45-watt 4x10" Tube Combo Amp?

Questions about the Fender '65 Super Reverb 45-watt 4x10" Tube Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from September 20, 2016

    It's called "Super" for a reason

    This is an incredible amp. Full fat tones, so warm and clean and puuurrrrty. You can get some crunch out of it but be warned, it will be pretty LOUD. I use pedals for my distorted tones and they sound incredible through this amp. With the right pedal you can get a nice metal chunk, or any sound you desire.

    The only drawback to this amp is the size. It's tall and if you use the casters they can swing under the amp and be unstable so be careful who you let help you with the amp.

  • from Cohoes, NY August 4, 2016Music Background:
    Classic rock, recording, instrumental,learning new stuff again after 30 years of playing;)

    Fender '65 Super Reverb

    For the record, this is the third Super Reverb I've owned. The first one was given to me by my dad in 1977. I was a fledgling guitarist just navigating the waters of rock and I fell in love with the four ten, tube configuration. Not to mention the sweet, smooth reverb. Been in bands from '75 through to '86. Sold the first Super after getting married in '87. Had a chance to acquire another in '93, ( it's a unique sound). The previous amps were circa '68-74. Sadly, I let the last amp go for a measly $350.00 because I wasn't playing much. Fast forward to today. I vacillated between a Mesa Boogie (they have there own sound) or the Fender '65 Super Reverb. I have pedals to get the sound I need. As a painter needs a pure canvas, this Super provides the sweet Fender reverb with four tens...It's undeniably a kick *** amp! Thanks to Chris Nunley at Sweetwater. BTW... I Z'ed but now I have entered the Sweet zone!

  • from November 23, 2015

    fender super reverb, a totally underrated amp

    10" speakers have a different sound than 12". even with a distortion pedal, and various other effects, they just aren't as brash, or harsh at louder volumes. this amp is a really good fit for me, it kicks ***.

  • from Jacksonville Fl. & Lake Charles La. August 22, 2014Music Background:
    Just a regular old school guitar guy

    SWEETWATER ROCKS

    I purchased a Fender 65 Super Reverb form Sweetwater, the customer service was EXCELLENT. Prior, during and after the purchase, I was contacted and although been playing for years, have never had this level of attention on buying equipment. I ran the Fender with a Tube Screamerout out front, in parallel with a Marshall and a Blues Driver out front. The combo sound is UNBELIEVABLE..... I would recommend SWEETWATER to anyone, not just for their excellent product selection but their overall commitment to customer satisfaction.

  • from Tampa, FL March 27, 2014Music Background:
    2 years into guitar practice

    AMAZING AMP!!!!!

    I purchased one from guitar center that ended up to be a dud. Then I purchase one from sweetwater which assured me that I wont get a dud. Which I didn't. I love the tone and everything about this amp as to offer.

    Cons: Heavy
    Pros: amazing sound sure you can upgrade the speakers to make it sound better but its perfect just the way it is.

    Yes this has a circuit board and you hear the rave about handwired
    Just accept the fact it keeps cost down. You simple can not go wrong with this amp. Replace the fender groove tubes if you start getting hearing some crackle or popping noises. For some reason groove tubes from fender last a month for me just get some good match paired tubes and it will blow you away

  • from Washington October 20, 2013Music Background:
    life long hobbyist, retired semi-pro

    A Giant

    Fender amp are the best production amps being manufactured today, and the "65" Vintage RI series are no exception. The 65 Super Reverb is a truly epic experience,and this is a very interesting variation with the (British made) G10 30 Celestions. The amps of this line are a tremendous USA made value - The sounds of Derek Trucks, Johnny Winter, or Pete Townshend or Classic Nashville Honk is this amp's domain.. If Fender knows whats best they will make sure the 65 vintage line of amps is always available.

  • from Erie PA July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Boyhood Dream Realized

    When I was just a lad in the 60's playing in my garage band, I had the opportunity to experience the majesty of the original Fender Super Reverb in all its glory. Just recently I was perusing the internet when to my astonishment I discovered that Fender has reissued my dream amplifier. After much negotiation my wife relented and my order was placed. I anxiously awaited the FedEx delivery and it finally came. Shaking with anticipation I opened the box and since then I have been enjoying a truly remarkable experience. You don't get many do overs in this life but I truly appreciate Fender making my dream come true.

  • from VT March 19, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Recording Engineer (Age: 23)

    My favorite amp out there

    I toured with this amp a few years ago and every single night it blew me away. Since then I've been trying to find another amp that came close, and I haven't been able to. I just bought the '65 Super Reverb and to no surprise I had my favorite sound again. Tone, reliability, looks, it's got it all.

  • from St. Paul, MN January 27, 2009Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Great Amp!

    I have been playing guitar for 32 years and play every weekend in a band. I have 2 Marshall's, a 5150, Mesa 550 Express, Line 6 Spider Valve, a Fender The Twin--and I must say the Super Reverb I recently picked up is the best sounding, if your looking for that crisp sparkling sound. I am finding myself wanting to get back to playing a guitar direct through a tube amp, no effects. This would not be a good amp in my cover band where I need many different souds from metal to heavy rock. Lastly, I have enjoyed a fantastic relationship with my Sweetwater sales rep Bob Mondock! Sweetwater rocks!

  • from USA April 2, 2008Music Background:
    Musician

    Godly

    I plugged my American Standard Strat into this at a local shop and WOW. I played it for an hour.

    Amazing tone. The reverb is so smooth, the tremolo is other-worldly, and the bright switch is amazing.

    The next thing I buy will be this amp.

  • from GREATER LA CALIF April 8, 2015

    Awesome amplifier.

    I normally use two Marshall 1/2 stacks, but had a Fender Super Reverb in the 70's, the reissue is able to recreate that awesome Fender clean and blues sounds. I am totally impressed with this amp. If you are looking for a all around amp and use pedals, look no farther. And as always, Sweetwater makes it so easy. You can not go wrong, again thanks Sweetwater.

  • from United States January 6, 2013Music Background:
    musician and engineer

    Great! With a little love...

    The stock tubes that come in this amp are absolute rubbish. I put in some quality valves (JJ), set the bias properly (I doubt this was done from the factory) and this amp just came to life!! I was dumbfounded at the transformation. Just a reminder to me how important tubes are in a tube amp. Sounds absolutely glorious, now. Equal to any of the vintage amps I own. With the factory tubes the sound was overcompressed, harsh, and weak in the bottom end.

    The other problem was the speaker cable is very poor quality, and needed to be replaced. The amp was cutting in and out. I am amazed that Fender puts a molded plastic cord in such a crucial position on an amp that costs as much as this one, but, oh well, at least I found it.

    One of the speakers died, too. Still sounds good with three, though. This amp was bought brand new.

    The last problem that this amp has is common to virtually all newer production Fenders in the past 30 years or so using circuit board construction, rather than point to point. Circuit boards are an elegant way to construct an amp, but, the plastic board mounted jacks Fender uses are of poor quality, and start to go bad after a few years of normal use. They are hard to replace is the other problem, compared to the easy task of replacing a standard guitar-type jack on a vintage amp. Both jacks on my Normal channel need to be replaced. The amp is about 6 years old. I think they could at least take the time to wire in some decent jacks in an amp as nice as this, for a lifetime of use.

    In proper order, this amp quickly displays its legendary qualities. I think the 30-40 watt range is magic for tube guitar amps. Loud enough to gig, but not so loud that you can't crank it up a bit and get the goodness happening without deafening people and drowning out everything else. It's still pretty dang loud, though. You have to love the Fender effects as well, the tremolo and reverb. Another chunk of genius from Leo and company.

  • from Maine March 30, 2006

    65 super reverb

    great amp. almost perfictly recreates the original a good friend of mine has the original and it is very close.

  • from Lompoc, Ca January 1, 2004

    "Super Reverb"

    Greetings-
    I have played Fender amps all my life. This Super Reverb comes very close to "nailing" the original sound. It lets you SPANK and HONK when your right hand asks for it! It's not too bright on the high end, and is working hard on the bottom. It "comes to the party" around 6-7 on the volume, and responds well with todays out-board FX's. You will dig this, I know you will !!! Have funnnn !

Questions about the Fender '65 Super Reverb 45-watt 4x10" Tube Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway