0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Fender '65 Deluxe Reverb 22-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp - Limited Edition Wine Red Reviews

5.0 stars based on 104 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender '65 Deluxe Reverb 22-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp - Limited Edition Wine Red?

Questions about the Fender '65 Deluxe Reverb 22-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp - Limited Edition Wine Red?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Leesburg, VA March 12, 2017Music Background:
    FOH, Recording and Mixing Engineer.

    Incredible Clean Fender Tone

    I recently purchased this amplifier. I had owned an Egnater Tweaker 15 which I loved but it lacked reverb. I had also purchased a high-end reverb pedal that was really really nice; (Strymon Flint). However, I began to think I really wanted a Fender Deluxe Reverb. For the cost of the reverb Pedal and the fact I could sell my Tweaker amp, I could nearly afford this amp. So I went for it andI am glad to say I made the switch. I absolutely am amazed at how good this amplifier sounds. I am just starting play again after many years off. I couldn't be happier with the built in reverb and tremolo. Very happy with the purchase. I know it is a lot of money but I plan to keep it for many many years.

  • from New Mexico March 6, 2017Music Background:
    Pro

    lush 65 tone

    Fantastic vintage sound, look, and I couldn't be any happier with this amp. great for club gigs and the wine tolex is absolutely gorgeous, Love it!

  • from Pennsylvania February 23, 2017

    "Dessert Island Amp"

    I have been playing guitar since 1979. I have been a Gibson Les Paul and Marshall Super Lead player once I got good enough. I wanted a 1X12" vacuum tube combo amplifier to play in my living room and something easy to transport for jam sessions. As I always do, I asked around and just about every guitar player told me the same thing "get the Fender '65 Reissue Deluxe Reverb". So in mid August 2011 I received this amp as my birthday gift. The great thing about this amp is it has the tube tremelo and tube reverb. It's there if you want to use it. The best thing is the Deluxe Reverb makes a great platform for guitar pedals. Not being a pedal guy I was left scratching my head regarding how I was going to get gain out of this amp without cranking it. Someone told me to dime it or turn the volume to 10 and use my guitars volume control to tame it. I ended up going with a Pro Co RAT Gain unit along with my long time Jim Dunlop GCB-95 Cry Baby Wah Wah Pedal. What a great amp. If it were lost or stolen I would definitely get another one no question. Plus mine is "Made in the U.S.A." which matters to me.

  • from Knoxville January 19, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar and bass/ rock, blues, r&b.

    Awesome amp!

    I read all of these great review before I purchased and had very high expectations. This amp exceed my expectations by a long way. I incredible clean tone. The reverb is very good. The amp takes pedals very well. I've had it for a couple weeks, and i am playing more than I ever have, this amp is inspiring.

  • from January 16, 2017

    Sweet Combo!

    Sounds even sweeter than it looks!

  • from Macon, GA December 24, 2016

    Amazing Amp

    Let me start off by saying I have never purchased a musical instrument or amplifier over the Internet. In thirty years of playing guitar, I have always wanted to lay my hands on both prior to purchase. However, based upon the reviews of this amp and Sweetwater, I took decided to take a chance and I am glad I did! This amp is unbelievable. It has that crystal clear Fender tone and breaks up nicely. One of my early teachers played through an early 70's Twin and that thing sounded awesome, but was too loud for playing at home. At 22W, the Deluxe Reverb is perfect for home practice and I cannot wait to play out with it. One final point, the customer service at Sweetwater is second-to-none. My sales engineer, Ryan Wiltermood, reached out to me within hours of my order to thank me for the purchase and make sure I didn't have any questions. Then, I was provided constant updates on the status of the order and delivery.

  • from Augusta, Ga December 22, 2016

    Happiness is a warm tone, yes it is...

    First, let me say she is a beauty. Great for stage or in the music Man Cave as she adds a touch of class to the room. This tube amp has a nice clean warm tone at any volume level, mostly set at 3 and a few times at 4 as 22watts does not sound like much but it is more than one needs. I have a Fender Stratocaster with fat 50 pickups and on channel 1 I can dial in multiple varying degrees of warn clean tones. Channel 2 with the reverb I can dial in the same with added reverb which makes for some tasty sounds. It takes about 20 seconds to power up, but this is not much waiting time to make music with this amp and later you can put it in stand by for little breaks which is a nice feature. The amp has some weight so transporting it is somewhat of a challenge with the other things in tow, but for me it stays in my music room. This amp inspires me to play and practice my craft for longer periods of time. Definitely a keeper and highly recommended as adding pedals to refine your sound is a plus. I like to give a shout out to Ryan as I ordered this on a Thanksgiving holiday and indicated to him I was in no hurry, but he got this to me in record time. Always a pleasure buying from Sweetwater.

  • from Texas December 17, 2016Music Background:
    Intermediate

    Best amp I have ever owned!!

    This amp was the answer to my ever changing ears. I have always preferred tube breakup as opposed to pedals at reasonable levels. A lot this has to do with the upgraded alnico speaker!! Put this amp with a humbucker between 4 and 5 on the volume and about 1 on the Reverb and it's the sound I have always had in my head. The amp sounds great with a Telecaster as welll but needs a little louder volume setting to break up. I have tried some pedals (King of Tone, Carbon Copy) and they work great!! 22w is all you need for most applications and it can always be mic'd and it is not that heavy to carry!! I would recommend this to anyone who plays the blues, classic rock, rockabilly or country!!

  • from IL December 11, 2016

    Great Across the Board

    I've had this amp for about a year now. I'm getting up there age-wise - to the point that hauling around a 75 lb amp for the sake of some extra headroom isn't worth it - especially since it isn't about being loud anymore. Plenty of wonderful, Fender-y tones, and plenty of volume for clubs - without the back-breaking weight. Great looking too. On one occasion, while playing outdoors, I didn't have enough horsepower. Sounds wonderful without effects - plug in and go!

  • from Missoula, Montana December 3, 2016

    Great amp

    Just received my amp and put it through its paces. Everything works perfectly and it has flawless construction. I play clean more often than not and this amp works better than any of my others. The reverb is perfect for a lot of country, jazz, and early rock and roll. Then for those certain songs the vibrato adds the authenticity needed. I highly recommend it.

  • from PA November 26, 2016

    Very Nice

    I'm just a rookie but this amp sounds so nice. And thanks to Chris for great customer service and everybody at Sweetwater is so nice when talking to them.

  • from Waco Tx. November 25, 2016Music Background:
    All in

    Search is over

    Cleanest most beautiful sound around-
    Plenty of clean head room-pedals for dirt in bedroom due to it being so powerful-the engineering is so well balanced-you can pick up this 42 pound amp with 2 fingers-it's a baby twin that you can dirty up and won't kill your back or hands. I'm in love

  • from Morrison, TN November 21, 2016

    WOW

    I have had the amp for several months now and have played it quite a bit. The cleans are exactly what you would expect from a Deluxe Reverb and then some. It has that bright clean with tight punchy bass and warm overtones that define the Fender clean sound. But turn this puppy up and you have unabashed pure rock and roll tones. The breakup is very musical and punchy. The reverb is thick and luscious while the tremolo is very thick and the two controls do everything you want. It's as close to perfect as perfect can be.

  • from October 29, 2016

    Best sounding amp I own.

    I have owned some really good sounding amps. This is the best sounding amp I have ever owned. I love this amp. I have played the other version of this the black one. This sounds way better. Sound amazing with my OCD and wah pedals.

  • from Lehigh Valley PA October 13, 2016Music Background:
    Musical Foreground

    Convenient AND Great!

    Nice 1x12 combo, convenient for light jam sessions and home play. The tube trem isn't really something I use, but sounded great. The tube reverb is that classic Fender springy sound, from splashy to a room type vibe, sounded great all around. Also eliminates use of a separate reverb for unit, a la Demeter Reverbulator or VanAmps SoleMate. The Jensen AlNiCo keeps the sound glassy, but not ever thin. Each channel has 2 inputs, the second input on each channel has a 6db drop for hotter pickups to tone it back a bit. And the wine tolex with the wheat grill cloth matches the look with the sound.

  • from Idaho August 28, 2016

    65 deluxe reverb limited edition

    I have wanted this amp for years, never could seem to commit to owning one. I had a super reverb when I was playing on the road many years ago, love fender tone. At my age, senior years, did not want the weight of four speakers again, the deluxe is an awesome fit for what I do now, small clubs, maybe 200 hundred at a dance hall, country, light rock and lots of 70's type stuff. Love this amp, the tone is really incredible, the look is period fixed, couldn't be happier. Sweetwater are great to deal with, they got this amp
    across the country in four days...

  • from July 9, 2016

    Sweet Amp!

    Only had it for a day but I love it already. Sounds as advertised.

  • from happy in the middle of nowhere July 1, 2016Music Background:
    Former studio bassist, former touring bassist, now thrown to guitar for worship because apparently anyone can play bass ;)

    Inspiring.

    If a guitar and amp on their own does not inspire one to play, prior to any pedals or effects, it is going to be hard to be inspired.
    This amp has been, for me, a "play for hours" inspiring amp.
    22 watts (that is quite loud) with the "special to Sweetwater" Jensen 12Q speaker allows for great sound in small to medium venues.
    The wine and wheat color combo is super pleasing to look at. As many musicians are classified as "right brain", we love colors, patterns, and uniqueness. Getting this amp with some color made me happy.
    Truly cannot recommend this amp highly enough. I want another one to push the boundaries of the BigSky and Flashback x4 to their limits but that may be awhile, a long while. :)

  • from IL June 26, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-pro.

    Great amp.

    I love this amp! Perfect sound . If you think you want a Deluxe, then you want this amp.

    The tone with my Strat has basically caused me to stop using my Les Paul custom shop model because the Strat sounds so good.

    Sometimes I might wish it had a little more headroom, but not very often. And I could always switch to a higher wattage speaker if it was necessary. (which then makes it the standard edition release, I believe?)

    I'm using it to play hard rock, blues, blues rock, funk, jazz/rock.

  • from June 9, 2016Music Background:
    Musician and Engineer

    Amazing amp!

    So clean and so powerful with such a lush reverb, and as always, such amazing service from Sweetwater. Cannot recommend enough!

  • from Los Angeles June 4, 2016Music Background:
    Composer/Producer

    Great Fender Tone!

    This amp is great. I use it mostly for indie and blues tracks. It starts to break up at about 6 and I've run it at 10 quite often (props to Sweetwater for replacing the first one I blew). You can't beat the tremolo too - it's THE tremolo sound (tube driven). The reverb is also the perfect retro sound. The 6V6 power section gives the amp a distinct, firm bottom end unique from most other amps. It also takes pedals very well - extremely versatile.

  • from Texarkana AR May 28, 2016Music Background:
    Singer Song Writer

    Best Marriage for me

    Lets face it. When it comes to guitars and sound What is right and perfect for one person may not be for another but I thought I would share what worked for me. First lets get something straight right off. If you pick this amp you have done good. But what guitar would you use to pair with it? What I am going to say next must be taken with a grain of salt because everyones musical wants or needs are not the same. Well .... I have tried strats, Gretch Country gentleman, and a Les Paul standerd with this amp. And they everyone all sound like heaven since their tones mixed with this magical amp that legends are made from. Even though I like and love all three combinations I have found my Les Paul standard has a wonderful warm sound I especially like. So if you have never heard a Les Paul standard through this amp I think you would get a wonderful suprise. Incidentally I use my Les Paul for it's warm lush sound and don't really care to explore it's crunch sound. But do appreciate it's bluesy breakup sometimes. And when I want to can work the tone knob and get a real good jazz sound when I want.
    PS I really really love this amp. It is special. It is the cream of the crop.
    Doc

  • from TEXARKANA, AR May 23, 2016

    INFO FOR HARMONY

    You may have seen my first review on this magic iconic wonderful amp. Lets face it the sound is classic and absolutely great. dial in a little reverb and vibrado on the right plug area. Now here is a neat trick. First as you know from my first review that the input on the far left will accept a balanced tip ring sleve 1/4 inch plug so you can plug a microphone into it. Well I plug my voice live 3 extreme in there so my voice is great through it. Well you need guitar to drive the harmonies in the voice live three. so here is what I did. I got a splitter where I could plug one end of the unbalanced splitter into the guitar. and at the split send one guitar cable right straight into the vibrado plug. and set the volumn on 4. Then took the other side of the splitter and sent it to the back guitar plug in on the back of the voice live three so it would drive the harmonies. It works just great. And that side of the split drives the harmonies. But here is the trick. On the voice live 3 extreme just push the guitar tab on and just dial down the gain of the guitar. This way you will only hear the input from your guitar not going through the voice live 3 but still driving the harmonies. well I found out that you cold dial a little gain back in from the voice live three guitar tab input to blend mainly the sound from the fender amp with the sound from the voice live 3. and get wonderful wonderful sounds from the guitar. Let me tell you this combination is the greatest and the greatest sound comesout of it. Let me tell you I have the greatest small club amplifier in the world now. It is the cat's meow. I cannot say enough good about this amp and how I have it set up. This amp is top of the line guys and gals.

  • from TEXARKANA, AR May 18, 2016

    NEWS FLASH

    NEWS FLAS GUYS AND GALS. MORE TO COME LATER. I HAVE A FENDER 65 DELUXE REVERB LIMITED EDITION. AND GUESS WHAT. NEWS FLASH THE FIRST INPUT ON THE FAR LEFT ACCEPTS A BALANCED TIP RING SLEVE 1/4 CONNECTOR SO YOU CAN PLUG A MICROPHONE INTO IT. AND THEN PLUG YOUR GUITAR INTO THE VIBRADO SLOT ON THE RIGHT AND THERE YOU HAVE IT. ONE AMP FOR BOTH MIKE AND GUITAR. WOWOWOWOWOWOW. I ACTUALLY PLUGGED IN MY VOICE LIVE 3 EXTREME INTO THE BALANCED PLUG FOR MY VOICE AND I AM IN HEAVEN. AND DIALED JUST A TINY ALMOST IMPERSEPTABLE VIBRADO AND JUST A LITTLE REVERB INTO THE GUITAR SIDE AND HEAVEN WAS ATTAINED HERE ON EARTH.
    MORE TO COME LATER.

  • from California May 17, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist, worship guitarist, blues and classic rock

    Amazing Fender Tone

    I've owned this amp now for several months and have used it both in a Jam session/get together where it can and does get loud, at church where there is much more control via the house audio/video director, and at home. I had tossed back and forth over getting a 68 Custom Deluxe, another Deluxe Reverb or this Limited Edition. The complaint over the hissing in the 68 Custom DR and wanting something different drove me to give the Limited Edition a try. I dropped into a GC one evening while at a training course for a week and found a Limited Edition amp that had been turned in. I played through it for about an hour and even tried a couple of pedals along with various guitars I owned and liked, and was sold on the amp. The tonal quality is absolutely fantastic. Get it around 5 and you don't get necessarily louder, but you do get more overdrive tone. Keep it around 4-5 and add pedals and hold on as you get some fantastic drive and tone. I prefer the vibrato side as it is brighter. Even at 22 W, this amp is flat out powerful and at the open jams I've used it at, it will easily hold it's own and then some. It's light weight even that it is not a back breaker. When I ordered mine through Sweetwater, I got the beautiful wine color with wheat colored grill cloth. Stunning!!! Sweetwater also gives you You really do not need OD pedals. This amp when pushed beyond the 5 level gives you a ton of OD Back off the guitar vol and it can clean up quickly. I own several Fender's, Marshall and VOX amps. Love them all and would like to eventually get a Mesa or Matchless. But with this new edition; the Fender 65 DR Limited Edition with the special speaker, I'm quite satisfied at least for now and once I get some time in on the speaker and it breaks in, then I'll bet I will really find this amp a screamer. COMPLETELY HAPPY with this amp. No regrets.

  • from Birmingham, AL May 11, 2016Music Background:
    Rockstar (at heart)

    What an amazing amp!

    This thing plays/sounds/looks like a dream! I couldn't be happier. Everyone talks about the customer service, and how great it is! My experience is the same! You won't be disappointed

  • from South NJ May 6, 2016Music Background:
    I play!

    Nice amp!

    It's a great amp! Don't bother trying the one at the big box store, the limited edition is different (it's better).

    The amp shipped really well padded, and sounded great when it got here! No issues at all with anything really!

  • from Mountain Top, PA May 3, 2016Music Background:
    blues, punk, rock, and everything

    Just buy it.

    If you're looking for a great sounding amp with a beautiful fender sound look no further. It sounds good clean, and broken up. The alnico speaker makes it sound better than the production version. Just buy it.

  • from Texas April 27, 2016

    One of the most Recorded Amps for a Reason

    Don't read anymore reviews... Just buy it!! With the upgraded Jensen in the Sweetwater edition the amp starts to break up a little sooner, and sounds awesome. If you can't get a good tone with any guitar and pedal setup you need to just quit. Plus the wine red tolex and wheat grill cloth are stunning!! Everybody needs one of these.

  • from Vicksburg, Michigan April 13, 2016Music Background:
    A passionate hobby, 45+ years.

    What a Jem!

    I've owned the 65 for about a year now. My gigging amps have been my Mesa's, Express 5:50, Mark V or Mark V 25. Therefore, I've played the 65 mainly at home. A few months ago, I bought the Fender Thin Line guitar. My son stopped over to check out the guitar, so I plugged him into the 65. He set the volume at 6. It was the first time I sat back and listened to someone else play thru the amp. All I can say is WOW!! That amp with the Thin Line? What a combination!!! I ended up buying the Fender 65 Deluxe Reverb head!! I run it and the Mesa Mark V 25 thur Mesa's 1X12 Widebody and Lonestar 23 cabinets using an ABY switch. What sound! What tone! Awesome! Using a Tim pedal for the dirt side. But, by itself, the 65 is defiantly a keeper! The main reason I bought it for was the 9 tubes!! Even a rectifier tube! Can't help it, I just love tube amps!! This is one amp you'll hold on to for a long time!!

  • from Fort Worth April 4, 2016Music Background:
    Intermediate guitar player

    Classic Fender

    This amp sounded great right out of the box and with a little tweak of the tubes I was amazed at the tone. I upgraded from a 76 Princeton Reverb and I'm glad I did. I did an easy mod by removing a tube and moving it to another position and got the tone I always wanted. An amazing amp that looks as good as it sounds too.

  • from California April 1, 2016

    Tone

    I am so happy with this amp. The color is beautiful in person, and it came ready to play out of the box. It has a range of great tones, and even makes some crazy, unique harmonic tones at different settings. Clean with lots of headroom, but does breakup around 6 if I push it. Between the two channels there is a lot of character. A great amp in this price range. Not too heavy to gig with, and that 12 inch speaker gives just the right amount of push. If I had to criticize it, I would say that it breaks up a bit earlier than I might like in some situations. But, if I wanted to to stay clean that loud, I really would have bought the Fender Twin.

  • from March 24, 2016

    Classic Fender Clean

    Beautiful Fender clean tone. I have a Bad Cat Hot Cat and love it to death but it is literally 95 lbs. This fender amp does cleans very well and loves pedals. I also love Mesa but in a head to head with the mark v mini's cleans, this amp just has a special charm the Mesa did not have. If you want a classic fender tone, this is it.

  • from Kansas City March 24, 2016

    True Quality

    Two day delivery is awesome with Sweetwater. This is a players amp of choice. Looks and sounds fantastic, Fender clean tube driven. The red wine and wheat grill are attractive together.
    The P12-Q Jensen is perfect, warm and versatile with tube Reverb and tremolo over the top. Play any guitar
    through it. I love the sound of my tele's through this amp. I plugged in my acoustic (Ephiphone EJ200) with a touch of reverb and was amazed how the amp gives an acoustic guitar a new dimension beyond belief.
    No disappointment no regrets, you'll love this Fender amp. Sweetwater service as always is professional.
    This is fender 5 stars .

  • from Morrison, TN March 8, 2016Music Background:
    Long time hobby

    Everything I Expected and More

    I've had this amp for a week now and have put it through its paces. First of all I'd like to give props to Sweetwater and Andy for excellent customer service. The level of customer service I received exceeded expectations. But this is about the amp so I'll leave it at that.

    I bought a demo unit for a discounted price. I expected it to show some wear, but it looked like it had never been touched. The amp is aesthetically pleasing, much more so than the photos depict. It feels like it is fairly solid except for the back brace, which is very thin and flimsy. The only other negative is the handle is a bit too stiff and does not slide up into the brackets very easily.

    The first thing I noticed was how quiet this amp is. It does not have the usual background noise that tune amps have. The first channel is a brilliant clean channel with a full voice, slightly scooped but less so than the version of this amp with the ceramic speaker. The reverb channel is voiced very similar but it's also the channel with the most control plus the fever and tremolo effects.

    The reverb is lush and rich. The background noise increases some with the reverb turned up, but not terribly so. With the reverb at 3-4 it is very prominent and sounds great. At 5 you are in Dick Dale territory. The tremolo is the usual Fender fare, which means it's very good.

    The amp is clean with my American Vinatge 58 Telecaster all the way up to 5. The amp starts to come to life around 2-3 with the punchy clean tones that the Deluxe Reverb is known for. Beyond 5 the amp breaks up nicely, getting into full on overdrive at around 6.5. The amp really doesn't get louder beyond 5, it just becomes more overdriven. The Alnico Jensen speaker really smooths out the upper harmonics in the distortion, making it less muddy than the regular version. This doesn't come free, because the bass can get a little flubby at high volume and bass settings. You have to dial back the bass to around 5-6 if you crank this amp, but at low volumes it sounds better with it up around 7-8.

    With my Gibson SG it becomes overdriven around 4.5 on the volume knob. I play the amp around 6 with it and use the volume knob on the guitar to clean it up. That's another thing I love about this amp: it is very responsive to pick attack and guitar volume.

    There's much more to like about this amp than not. It isn't perfect, but it's close. I have no idea how well the printed circuit board will hold up nor how easy repairs will be if needed. But Fender hit a home run with this amp in the way it sounds. I swear it sounds better than a Blackface version I had.

  • from Colorado March 7, 2016

    Amazing Amp

    I've had this amp for a year or so now and I'm still completely in awe of the tone I can get out of it. Of course, it's got the all the Fender cleans typical of this historical unit, take pedals well, and is built like a tank. The SW FSR version is a real eye-catcher though. The wine and wheat look amazing. Some call it the "Bordeaux blues" model.

    I would highly recommend this amp.

  • from Arizona March 4, 2016Music Background:
    Playing guitar since early 60's

    Great tone

    I been playing my "65" Deluxe Reverb for a couple weeks and couldn't be more pleased. The tone far surpasses other amps I have. I had a "65" in early 70's. Since I have had several other amps, mostly Fenders. This amp is like an old friend come back. I really like the Limited Edition Wine Red. As usual, customer support from Sweetwater is second to none.

  • from Oklahoma February 5, 2016Music Background:
    55 years of playing

    Fantastic Amp

    I've tried the 65 & 68 and the limited edition is by far the best fender deluxe you can buy (especially for the price) I've owned fender amps for a little over 50 years and I'm not at all disappointed in this amp. It definitely is a keeper.

  • from Roanoke, VA February 5, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur guitar and piano

    65 Deluxe Reverb

    Great amp! Very loud! Have to use distortion pedal to get distortion while inside the house because I can only turn the volume to 3; but great amp for gigging and outdoors.

  • from Clarkston, WA January 23, 2016

    Time machine amp doesn't disappoint

    This amp has received over 50 positive reviews, and justifiably so. The Sweetwater Limited Edition iteration of the Fender '65 Deluxe Reverb gives players looking for those vintage tube tones access to them along with the reliability of an outstanding modern speaker and tough construction. I went with a demo model of this amp, and it arrived in pristine condition. I wouldn't have known it was a demonstrator if it weren't for the description. In addition, Sweetwater once again delivered on the details, so I got to enjoy the experience of turning up the knobs from the "1" setting. And even though the order got the Sweetwater by means of their superior online ordering interface, my astonishingly gracious Sound Engineer Tom Maxwell followed up within hours to let me know that he'd received, processed, and shipped the order. I can't think of a music retailer that offers musicians at all levels such a fantastic customer experience. If like me your favorite amps are Fender reverb amps from the sixties, you will be well satisfied with this amplifier. It sounds phenomenal and looks that much cooler with its unique wine red upholstery and wheat-colored grill. Vintage tones from a legendary amp at a reasonable price and in a unique package. Who could ask for more?

  • from Nashville, IN January 1, 2016Music Background:
    40 +years playing

    The Best!

    Best amp i have ever owned ! Sounds great with fender tele and i use boss me80 multi-pedal plugged into clean channel it just sounds amazing!! The fact is it sounds great with or without pedals. I set bass and treble at 5 . Now i know why this amp has so many great reviews! Sweetwater also makes it easy to buy when i got mine they had 36 months 0 interest that was real nice.

  • from December 27, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur Home Studio Player

    Sweet Sound

    The local big box shops have quite a selection of amps from which to choose. Unfortunately, it is not easy to find the sound one wants when trying them out in the store setting, especially if one seeks a sweet, classic, bluesy sound for playing at home in one's living room or home studio. The acoustics of the showroom simply do not match those of the home.

    When I began to seek out that sound, I wanted it from the amp only. I have a nice pedal board that works for me, but I wanted the pure guitar to amp relationship and a great sound from that. I have a couple of really nice guitars, a Custom Les Paul and an American Deluxe Strat. Now, I just needed a great amp. I began seeking out opinions online through articles and videos. That quickly narrowed my search. The final decision was a Fender Princeton Reverb Reissue.

    I ordered the Princeton reverb from Sweetwater. It arrived a day late, perhaps the result of the shipper and not Sweetwater. It sounded fantastic. It had the sound I wanted. But, the reverb did not work and the sound broke up badly when the volume was turned up only to 4. It got great reviews everywhere I read or watched, so this was very disappointing. I revisited those reviews and found these very same faults noted in the most critical of them. Apparently, this was a known problem with some of these amps.

    Needless to say, the Princeton was returned right away. Sweetwater was fantastic about that, a credit to their reputation for great customer service. They sent a return label immediately and credited my account as soon as the amp was on its way back to them.

    For the next round, I was a lot more critical in reading reviews. I liked the sound I did get from the Princeton, so I wanted to stay in that range if I could. This limited me to another Princeton or moving up a bit to the Deluxe Reverb. The Deluxe was not much more pricey, so I opted to try that. In reading reviews on it, especially the worst reviews, I found this one, the Wine Red LTD, to come off the best. Even the "stock" black model seemed to have its issues. But this one, the Wine Red LTD, had almost none. The only critical comments were about things that did not concern me too much.

    The Deluxe arrived a few days earlier than expected, a pleasant surprise. Everything worked as advertised. The reverb is fantastic. The volume is steady all the way through and has a nice overdrive at the higher levels. I don't use the tremolo much, but it worked very well when I tested it. And the sound, ... the sound is AMAZING. The tubes and speakers used in this version seem to compliment each other very well. Though not at important as the sound, the wine red case and the wheat face add a nice, classy touch to the décor and even compliment that already in the living room. It is as attractive to look at as it is to listen to.

    They say speakers open up after about 100 hours of play. They also say the best gear is the gear you actually use. I see the speaker in this amp opening up very soon.

  • from Delaware December 22, 2015

    Beautiful in every way!!!

    Great sound and tone not one bad thing to say.

  • from Portland, OR December 16, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    Long Search Finally Over

    After testing, I don't know, hw many tube amps. Fender, Marshall, Supra and many others. It came down to The Fender Twin Reverb RI and the Fender Deluxe Reverb RI. The Fender Twin was just too heavy to transport. The Fender Deluxe has the warm 6L6 that I was looking for and Smooth Reverb. The foot switch is easy off and on and is click free (bonus to me). I received the cool coffee table Amp Book (Didn't expect that). I would recommend the Fender Deluxe reverb over many others for Blues, Classic Rock and Rock. I bought in the wine color to match my studio. This amp should be awesome for recording.

  • from Rochester, NY December 14, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist for 40+ years, Recording Studio Owner

    Searched a long time for this amp.

    I've had lots of amps throughout my 40+ years playing guitar, but for some reason I never had a Fender amp. The last amp purchased was a Mesa Boogie Mk IV, a great amp but WAY too loud and too darn heavy for me to carry anymore, especially up stairs. I've been experimenting with modeling amp pedals running through solid state amps (cuz they're lighter), and although they sound good, they just don't "feel" like a tube amp to me, there was something definitely missing, like they lack "punch". A guitar playing friend of mine suggested I try out a Fender '65 Deluxe Reverb reissue because they're all tube, aren't too loud and its a lot lighter than my MkIV. OMG, I tried a stock Deluxe Reverb '65 and fell in love with it. When I saw the LTD version at Sweetwater I ordered one immediately. BTW, the guys at Sweetwater are fantastic. This company is based upon Customer Service and boy they are good at it. I ordered this amp on Saturday and it was delivered on Tuesday! Before it arrived I was searching online for an AMP cover and didn't like anything Fender offered. All I could find were cheap looking vinyl covers with a "Fender" logo silk screened on them. When I received the amp and opened the box, the first thing I see on top of the amp is a beautiful, all canvas with embroidered logo amp cover. I got really excited, I felt like I hit the lottery. Then I pulled out this beautiful Burgundy colored amp with the wheat grill and it looks as good as it sounds! Its got a lot of punch, my strats sound so clean and punchy and then when I push it a little and use an OD pedal, its smooth and fluid sounding like a saxophone! Love this AMP! Even my wife commented that my guitar sounds different, the best she's ever heard it. Lastly, when I mentioned the amp isn't too loud, I mean't that relative to my Boogie. This amp can be loud! However, you can get a great sound, at PRE-ear splitting levels. This amp is perfect for recording, small clubs and most venues I will play at. Anything larger... then just mic it and play it through the PA and you'll still have that all Tube Punch! You will be very pleased if you purchase this amp.

  • from Portland Oregon December 9, 2015

    Amazing!

    I read tons of reviews all over the internet when I was looking around for an amp that wouldn't be a huge disappointment. I couldn't really find anything bad about this amp. Everyone kept going on about how 'awesome' the clean tones were. Wonderful reverb and vibrato etc. One guy said he couldn't say enough and to just go try it for yourself. Okay, yah sure. So I did eventually and it was everything and more of what I was looking for and what everyone said it was. I now own the wine red one - beautiful & classic. Even my OD and blues pedals are fantastic on it. Now I see why this amp holds its resale value so well. Plays as great either low or cranked volumes. Just go try it for yourself, I did. I fell in love with the tones and feel its capable of producing, Dial in your guitar and this amp too and they'll become very intimate as time slips away with you playing it, Yup, I said it. You'll see....heh. Everything good anyone says about this amp is true. No issues of any kind at all. None.

  • from November 19, 2015

    Fender deluxe reverb LTD Tube Combo

    Love this amp. Classic fender clean and reverb tone.

  • from October 28, 2015Music Background:
    Enthusiasts

    Excellent amp

    This amp sounds absolutely amazing. With a les Paul I can stay pretty clean up to 5 with only mildly noticeable break up. At 6 this amp starts to shine through with beautiful crunch and the reverb/tremelo is stunning. Not to mention the attention to detail and customer appreciation shown by this company. Will definitely try to make this my go to gear shopping center

  • from SC September 26, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby

    As close to perfect as they come!

    This amp delivers and is packed with warm, organic, tube tone. The high end is beautifully sculpted, true to Fender form.The cleans on this amp put every other piece of equipment I've owned to shame. Starts to break up around 4.5-5 where 4 will give you crystal clean tones.

    What else is there to say? The sound is delicious. As stated in another review, if you can't find a tone you like in this amp you may want to give up the guitar and find another instrument to play.

    I do recommend a nice O/D pedal, used as a low gain/high volume front end hammer. This will really bring the amp alive. You may need to switch to the normal channel due to the bright cap's intensity when adding an overdrive.

  • from Down in the Hills August 13, 2015Music Background:
    aging jammer

    Tubular Nirvana!

    This is by far and away the best sounding guitar amp I've ever owned. Great tube tone and feel with single-coils or humbucks...Fantastic cleans, plug in my OCD and, wow!... I've had a lot of amps over the last 40 yrs but this is the one!...I've finally found my tone...(for now)...Thanks Kurt for the help!...

  • from Michigan July 22, 2015

    True Fender Tube

    Ditto on all the reviews! The envy of all who come over to jam. A piece of art!!!

  • from June 23, 2015

    Gravy

    Sexy on all levels. Just do it already!

  • from The Great NorthWet June 22, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist for 40+ years

    Got what I wanted

    I normally play through a modified Blues Jr. and wanted an amp to play out to mid-sized venues. I didn't want a "crunch" amp. I wanted an clean amp with headroom that handles pedals well so, if I wanted to add "crunch" I could just go to my pedalboard. When this amp arrived, I knew that I got exactly what I wanted.
    I plugged into the clean channel and played around a while and was completely satisfied with the sounds I was getting. Then, just for giggles, I plugged into the effects channel and turned the reverb on about 3. Wow! That is the sweetest reverb that I've ever heard on an amp! I have reverb on my Blues Jr., of course, but - eh, I normally leave it off. The reverb on this amp is so good I will probably leave it on and just add comp., delay, and overdrive as needed. To sum it up, I've found my gigging amp. I got the tweed Blues Jr., because I'm a vintage kind of guy. This wine red, wheat grill look is right at home with the rest of my gear. Honestly, on top of all the other great things about this amp - it's cute as hell.

  • from June 20, 2015

    Tone of The Gods

    I play jazz and rock with a telecaster, and hoped that this amp would give me enough clean volume to play with a drummer, but would also give that tube crunch at non-ear-splitting volumes. It's perfect!

    I'm not sure how much the p-12q speaker contributes to the sound, but it does feel "smoother" than the stock option.

    Set everything at 5, and it'll give "classic" tones with a tele. I found that the amp is very responsive to tiny changes with the volume knob on my guitar. I suppose that's true of any amp, but it was especially striking with this bad boy...

    It's also one of the sexiest looking Fender amps you'll ever see.

    I'm very pleased and feel that I'll never need another amp!

  • from United States June 4, 2015

    Perfection

    I couldn't be happier. Such an amazing amp! Cleans are untouchable, Breaks up so nice(Right around 4-4.5) Takes Pedals like a boss. The Vibrato&Reverb are second to none. I have Marshall amps, Orange amps, Mesa. This is my new favorite.

  • from Fort Worth, Texas USA April 30, 2015Music Background:
    Texas Blues Guitarist since 1968

    The Holy Grail of Guitar Amps!

    I used to buy these in Dallas pawn shops for $100.00 in the 60's. Everybody knew even back then that this was the only Amp that you could get GOD TONE from without breaking your back with big cabinets, or getting thrown out of night clubs for being to loud.
    The guitar solos on just about everything you hear that was recorded in the 60's and 70's was done with these. Recording engineers LOVED these things because they didn't BLAST everybody else out of the studio and bleed over onto all the other tracks.
    One of the key advantages of these amps was that they were light enough to carry up and down stairs and in and out of night clubs without killing yourself.
    Sweetwater hit the Jackpot with this combination of very cool retro looks and the fantastic sounding P12Q Jensen speaker. Sometimes I just uncover it and look at it...because it looks so cool!
    I have been a Texas Blues Guitarist since 1968 and have never found anything that sounds any better than this amp. It's worth every penny! Thanks Nick LaMendola for another Great Deal!

  • from April 6, 2015

    Very cool amp

    This is a great amp. Lots of power for many gigs. Very loud for 22 watts. The red wine & tweed color is really nice. I have wanted one of these for years but I'm glad I waited so I could get this Sweetwater Exclusive Limited Edition!

  • from March 21, 2015

    The Boss

    Amazing tone and playability. Such a classic vibe and the looks are stellar, eye catching.

  • from March 9, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fender '65 Deluxe Reverb 1x12

    This amp rocks. It sounds amazing. The tubes have amazing warm tone with this amp. Love the classic look with buckwheat grill. I am playing a gibson SG and Fender lonestar start through it.

  • from Moline, IL February 28, 2015

    UPDATE

    Got my replacement reverb tank on the 27th. Thanks for the quick resolution. Upgraded my rating to 5 stars-really digging the amp.

  • from February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    High cuality Service!

    Alex responds all my questions and helped in my guitar amp order in short time, he really know what he is talking about. A really prepared person for a job in customer service, DAW, guitar equipment, Dj equipment, etc. at www.sweetwater.com Highly recommended!

  • from Vienna, VA January 20, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best Clean Amp Ever!

    I read so many reviews about this classic amp and how highly coveted the vintage PTP (point to point) is but this is as great and exactly how a classic tone sound it should be. I play mostly between 3 or 4 on the volume, 5 on the treble, 4 on the bass, 3 on the Spring and 3 on the Vibrato for subtle effect. I kick on the Analog Man King of Tone to give it a nice clean boost and to keep the sound consistent. I don't try to go past 6 because it gets massively over driven and I like that sometimes but not all the time. I prefer the cleanest tone. So, if you guys like a clean amp and or over driven sound of this classic Black Face. Buy One!!

  • from NC January 12, 2015Music Background:
    recording guitarist

    amazing tone!

    This is one of the best sounding amps I have ever heard. The Jensen speaker holds the low tones exceptionally well, and I can control the treble with this amp. I own a Fender Blues Deluxe, good amp but the high end is more than I like, it usually stays on zero and its still too much treble. But the 65 handles it beautifully. Fender has stayed true to achieving remarkable tone, and has hit the mark with this amp.

  • from Jersey January 6, 2015Music Background:
    Home Studio, Casual Player

    Last Amp I'll Ever Need or Want

    After trying and owning more than a dozen amps over the last decade I've finally found one I truly like. I bought 2 of these '65 DRRI FSRs -- this Wine Red one here at Sweetwater and the "Fudge Brownie" Tolex model locally.

    I previously owned the standard black '65 DRRI but I didn't like the sound of a Les Paul's humbuckers through it. The standard DR had the Jensen C-12K ceramic speaker and Russian preamp and power tubes.

    Both of my FSR DR's have, of course, the Jensen Alnico P-12Q speaker. I was surprised by how much I prefer it to the C-12K given the earlier breakup. Both amps also came equipped with Slovak-made Groove Tubes preamp and power tubes, the only difference is that this Wine Red unit came with medium 6V6GT-S R5's and the Fudge Brownie with the softer -R2's. I left the Fudge Brownie as-is but swapped out V1 and V2 preamp tubes to the New Sensor reissue Mullard 12AX7's for slightly more headroom and different sound.

    I can't believe how the '65 DRRI FSR sounds with everything I have played through it thus far. I've tried a Les Paul with '57 humbuckers, an SG with 490's, Fender Tele with SCN2's, Fender Strat, Ric 12-strings with both the Hi-Gains and "Toasters" and a Ric 350V63. They all sound great through this amp!

    You owe it to yourself to at least try one of these. My friend who has been professionally building both electric and acoustic guitars for over 30 years came over and plugged my LP into this amp was blown away by the tone it produces. (Can't wait to hear the custom mini-archtop 12-string he's building for me through it!)

    I must also say that this purchase -- as well as many others -- from Ray at Sweetwater was a pleasure.

  • from Louisville, KY January 2, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging musician for more years than I care to admit.

    THE classic club amp

    I'll admit, I went through a "modeling amp" phase a few years ago. I was seduced by the concept that I could "get the sound of xxxx amps instead of just one." After a few months of trying to "dial in the sound in my head" on one, however, I finally realized, all I was trying to dial in was the sound of a Deluxe Reverb.

    In my opinion, The Deluxe is the quintessential low-power guitar amp sound. If a guitar doesn't sound good running through a DL, I'd say, you probably should trade guitars.

    I've had extensive experience with '60's Fender Blackface amps. I've owned a '64 Super, a '65 Twin and a '64 DR. Like old girlfriends I dumped for all the wrong reasons, I deeply regret parting ways with them all. My only defense being that I was young, stupid and, possibly, high. Anyway, I can say with some certainty: this amp is very close to the amp it's based upon. No, it's not the same amp, but the basic sound is there. I really doubt all the originals sounded the same anyway.

    One of my bandmates also has a '65 DRRI. This version has some subtle differences. Obviously, the wine red tolex and parchment grille are the first things you'll notice. Speaking of that: aesthetics are of course personal, but I think it's a very good-looking amp, and one I'll want to take very good care of. The reverb on mine sounds better to me. His is a bit tinny. The vibrato here is a bit deeper as well, and the your guitar doesn't get lost in the mix when you use it.

    The biggest difference for me, however, is the Jensen P-12Q. This alnico speaker has a very "complete" sound. The one complaint I've had with recent DRRI's is the overabundance of highs. Highs from the P-12Q are clear and bell-like, and I don't find myself automatically reaching to turn down the treble. Likewise, lows are deep, but not "boomy." As a matter of fact, I simply plugged in my 335, adjusted everything to 5, and I was pretty much set. I played a gig the night after I received the amp and hardly touched the amp's knobs. Using the 335, a Strat Deluxe, and a Ric 360-12, most of my adjustments were satisfactorily made just using the guitars' tone and volume controls.

    One additional note: Also because of the speaker, this amp does break up a little sooner than the reissue with the C-12K. This may or may not be to everyone's liking. It worked fine for me however. Once it breaks up, it blends nicely into a natural compression, and makes sustain very easy to achieve.

    The amp takes pedals very well. No effects loop, but that's ok with me. I'm not a fan.

    The amp is very quiet. In a dead-quiet environment, you may hear a bit of hiss, but nothing that will bother you at a gig. The soundman had an easy time mic'ing it with a Sennheiser 906. Again, he pretty much had everything set flat.

    Another plus with this amp, it's light, and I think the positive of that speaks for itself.

    The ONLY negatives I can offer: A thousand-bucks-plus amp should come with a cover. This one does not. And, the footswitch cord is too short. Minor complaints, I think.

    All in all, this is one hell of an amp. I'm very pleased I bought it.

    I should also mention, I have nothing but good things to say about my business dealings with Sweetwater, and my relationship with my sales advisor Ryan Wiltermood. I consider Ryan a trusted friend in the industry. I always get the best prices from him and Sweetwater, with no hassle, and shipping is always crazy fast. I ordered this amp about 2 PM one afternoon and got it the next morning. What more can you ask for?

    If you're considering buying one of these, just do it! You'll never regret owning a Fender Deluxe Reverb.

  • from WV December 13, 2014

    It's an awesome amp

    I don't know that I can say anything more than everyone else has already said, but this amp is simply awesome. A telecaster through this amp is the stuff of legend...chicken pickin, blues or smooth jazz. Thanks Ryan Holquist!

  • from Washington D.C. suburb December 11, 2014Music Background:
    50 + yrs musician/producer/engineer

    Where Have You Been All My Life

    Even after over 50 years of owning Fender guitars and amps, I had never owned a Deluxe Reverb. The sound was always thin in lows and harshly bright on the highs, for me that is. I recently found out about the Deluxe Reverb Ltd on Youtube, heard the sound and decided to give it a try. All I can say is absolutely amazing tone. You have to hear it. It can't described in words. The Jensen P12Q gives warm tight lows and not too bright highs, nothing like the original Deluxe. The other Deluxe is great for other players but this is what I wanted in the tone that makes me want to play for hours. The Red Wine color is gorgeous and this amp is solidly built. The tube tremolo is classic 60s Fender as well as the tube reverb. This is one of those purchases where you say to yourself, "great job Guy, for picking out a winner." My Sweetwater Rep, Wayne Davis, had it to me before I knew it. This is one of the nicest sounding Fender amps I have ever owned.

  • from Washington, DC December 1, 2014Music Background:
    Part-time musician

    65 Deluxe Reverb

    I've been playing for more than 40 years and usually look to the guitar for sound characteristics. I was surprised at the tonal improvement over my existing Fender amp. The 65 Deluxe is superior and though I am playing the same material with the same guitars this amp has greatly colored my musical output. Thanks, Ben (Porter), for directing me to this wonderful amp.

  • from Seattle WA November 18, 2014Music Background:
    student

    best amp I've ever owned

    This is the 3rd fender tube amp I've owned, and hands down the best. Sounds absolutely amazing. It's everything I loved about my Vibrolux Reissue (the Jensen alnico blue speaker upgrade plays a major role here), but without the hiss and hum that, unfortunately, the Vibrolux was notorious for. I was hesitant about "downgrading", so to speak, from a 2x10 to a 1x12, but it was totally worth it. The wattage from the Vibrolux made it just too much to be able to get creative with at home; but the 22 watts in the DR is perfect, and I can always add an extension cab later on if need be, but probably not. 22 watts is loud as hell.
    Reverb and tremolo sound like warm butter. The wine red (maroon, really, like someone else mentioned) with the wheat grill is beautiful. The only complaint, and it's a minor one, is the plastic casing on the foot pedal. Not nearly enough of a complaint to take away a star. I'd give this thing 10 stars if I could.
    If your on the fence about hitting the "buy" button for this one, just go ahead and do it. I can pretty much guarantee you that you won't regret it. That speaker, man......

  • from Austin, TX October 31, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Best Clean Tone Available

    I've owned this amp before but not with the upgraded speaker. The Jensen gives it better low end and the amp looks fantastic as well. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a affordable tube amp at a great price. Sounds great in my band for small gigs.

  • from Denver, Colorado October 30, 2014Music Background:
    Professional

    The Last Amp You'll Ever Need

    The reputation of these things precede them for a reason. It's pure, articulate, full bodied joy to plug a guitar into. I've had mine for a little over two months now and am constantly impressed with it. It goes from my Jazz gigs to my rock shows effortlessly and with a quality of sound I can only describe as, like, complete. It feels like your guitar is talking like James Earl Jones does. That deep, beautiful resonance. But with the famous Fender cleanliness and bell-like chime. The Jensen AlNiCo speaker in this limited edition adds an incredibly unique and welcome nuance to the sound. It's a very noticeable warmth and fullness over what I'm used to hearing from the Eminences they put in these most of the time.

    It's of course without a built in gain stage, so if you wanna rock hard at lower volumes, you'll have to get a pedal. That's perfectly okay, though, because the amp handles effects beautifully. The onboard spring reverb and tremolo are great as well. They're startlingly rich (which I'm assuming has to do with them both being tube driven) and incredibly useful in performance and recording settings even when used subtly. I don't think this will play metal or anything approaching that really, though. Like it'll do it with the right pedals, it just doesn't sound right forcing it to. I'm thinking because of that warm, slightly slower AlNiCo speaker. So if you're looking to shred hard, this might not be your guy.

    Don't waste any more time or money on amps that are not of this caliber. I've owned many that I thought might get me close to what I wanted for just a slight amount less scratch. Having had the chance to experience the Deluxe Reverb I now know that that was mistaken logic. It's literally the last amp I'll ever need to buy.

  • from Kettering, OH September 13, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Deluxe, indeed

    This is the fundamental sound that spawned hit records and taught generations of players and audiences what real tone is. As a guitarist, if you can't make a Deluxe Reverb sound good, it's safe to say the fault is not the amp's.
    I'm glad I ordered my Limited Edition Deluxe Reverb from Sweetwater. (Thanks for the deal, Ryan!) The alnico-magnet Jensen lets overdrive come through earlier, and it seems to nicely handle the "icepick" that some players claim they hear from other ceramic-magnet speakers.
    The quality of the modern Fenders has been well-established. These amps are backed by five-year warranties, and the reissues have been around longer than the original "blackface" amps.
    This amp has stood the test of time for good reasons. Plug in and find your tone -- again.

  • from North Bergen, NJ September 3, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Instructor

    Dulce de Leche!

    Fantastic amp all around. Cleanest tone I've heard on a fender amp, and I've played on many many fender amps. Totally worth the buy, don't even think about it, just get it! Takes pedals very well. Pair it up with a nice sm57 and you can play this baby anywhere.

  • from St. Augustine, Florida August 27, 2014Music Background:
    Blues man with a permanent gig in my man cave!

    Looks at sweet as it sounds!!

    I purchased my Deluxe Reverb wine red alnico speaker gem from Sweetwater back in March '14. I cannot say enough about this amp. First it is a great looking amp a little different stage presence than the standard black (which is iconic). But what is the most impressive about this amp is the tone. The alnico speaker sets this amp off to the classic tone of the originals. I feel that ceramic speakers are a little harsh until they are broken in, they are usually a little higher wattage which gives a little more volume until break up & when they break up they don't have the warmth as the alnico. Just my opinion. This amp responds well with my Strats as well as my Les Paul. It doesn't care if you are hitting it with single coils or driving it with humbuckers, it does it all. Pedals no problem, when playing a Les Paul I hit it with my BK Butler Real Tube & I can get that classic Billy Gibbons sound, or with a Strat & a Tube Screamer some familiar SRV tone. This amp is awesome & is worth every penny.

  • from Houston, Texas April 29, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist with passion!!

    65' Deluxe Reverb

    I am still fairly new to guitars but have had a love for music since I was a kid. I know what sounds good and what doesn't. This amp sounds amazing. My 2013 Select Strat HSS sounds great running through this amp. They were made for each other, literally!!

  • from United States April 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    My dream amp

    I've had this amp for a little over a month now and let me tell you, every day that I turn this on and plug in my Thinline Tele it seems to get better and better. When I flick the standby switch up and hear those tubes give a soft little pop, I know that all my daily stress is going to be melted away by the incredibly warm, resonant, fat tone that comes out of this amp. I like to play folk/old country/blues/rock and mostly finger pick, the amp just gives an amazing swirling chimey sound. I've only played in a decent sized carpeted room but this wont have any problems filling a mid-sized club. If you're pushing the volume over 4 it gets a little broken up but it honestly just adds another dimension to the tone. The clean channel is great but the vibrato channel is absolutely perfect .Aside from it sounding like an absolute dream it looks gorgeous as well.
    If you're thinking about getting this amp, DO IT!

    Also, you must have the footswtich (that comes with the amp) plugged in in order to activate the vibrato, the reverb will work without the footswitch but not the vibrato.

  • from NJ April 8, 2014

    Fender '65 Deluxe Reverb 1x12

    Awesome amp. I have an original that I've shelved as it needs work. This version is an almost exact duplicate in looks and sound. Worth the price. Great tone.

  • from Irmo, SC August 29, 2013Music Background:
    living room player

    excellent

    I was very satisfied with my purchase. Excellent customer service from sweetwater. Flawless delivery. Price beat my local music store (which I try to support as much as possible) and I had my amp faster than had I bought it locally.
    This amplifier is exactly what I wanted it to be. Pure, clean fender tone with great reverb and vibrato. This model distorts at a lower volume than the standard version which again is exactly what I wanted since I'm just playing at home. This may not suit someone who needs clean at high volume. And as a bonus, it looks fantastic.
    Looked at several used ones online but they go fast and the savings was less than $200.
    I have zero regrets with this purchase.

  • from August 11, 2012

    Great Amp

    Great amp! Perfect for recording and practicing! The only "problem" i've run into is when I tried playing with a drummer....In terms of volume, it kept up just fine but you lose your cleans pretty quick. Thats great for recording, not so great for jammin' sometimes. I've heard the regular DRRIs don't break up as fast due to the different speaker, but I just couldn't resist the looks of the LE! And I am primarily recording, so of the time this is not an issue. Quite the opposite actually.

  • from Philadelphia, PA USA March 30, 2012Music Background:
    Musician and recording Engineer

    What a great edition of a classic amp!

    This amp is a beauty. First of all, it looks incredible. It looks like a boutique amp. I was a little concerned when I ordered it that it would be too bright of a red, but the color in the full pictures of the amp are very accurate - a few people have called it brown but is definitely a dark wine red. Really gorgeous, and the grill cloth is really wonderful too.

    I wasn't sure what exactly to expect with the sound, since I don't see this version of the DRRI all over. I expected basically a normal DRRI that just broke up at a lower volume than a standard one. And in fact that is exactly what it is. I've recorded people's DRRIs here before who have had to really crank the amp to get any kind of breakup at all (granted, if wanting overdrive I don't know that a standard DRRI is the best choice anyway if wanting to record with low volume in mind). This limited edition version starts breaking up around 4 1/2 on the dial, which isn't terribly loud. I've had the amp almost cranked a few times for recording here and like I've read about this amp elsewhere, rather than getting louder and staying clean in a relatively linear way like a standard version, this version just overdrives and becomes more compressed. It's a nice overdrive - not perfectly smooth like an Orange amp (obviously) but not harsh like a few occasional Fender amps have been when breaking up. I am just a bit concerned that I won't be able to get a loud enough clean sound if playing out with this amp, but I mostly do recording so breaking up at a lower volume is the exact purpose of this amp - loud and clean this is not intending to be.

    The reverb on this amp is pretty outrageous. Nothing seems to imply that the reverb is different than the standard DRRI, but having the reverb on 4 is more reverb than I'll ever need, even for those really washy surf kind of sounds that myself and many others like to use in indie rock these days. The reverb also has a lot more low mids and less high end than I expected, but I don't think it's bad, maybe just a bit different than what I expected. Really gorgeous though - a nice, thick, somewhat dark reverb.

    Overall, this amp is a beauty. I got it because I was concerned a standard DRRI would be too sterile when using clean at a normal volume for recording, and this definitely solves that issue. The amp looks gorgeous, and at risk of sounding cliche, it has more of a "vintage" sound of what I've heard in actual blackface Deluxe Reverbs than the very clean (though still nice, just maybe less accurate) sound of the standard reissue. I highly recommend this amp.

    An added bonus is that people who love Deluxe Reverbs love this amp as an even more beautiful version of it, while people who aren't too crazy about Deluxe Reverbs also love it because it both looks and sounds different. I've had a few clients jaws drop!

  • from Staten Island, NY March 4, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Producer, Occasional Pro

    Beautiful Amp-Great Tone

    For $60 more than the standard deluxe reverb you get a much better speaker and the beautiful wine red/wheat grill combination (which in person looks like a reddish brown. It's really great).
    If you're looking for beautiful fender cleans, this has it.
    22 Watts is more than enough for club gigs and recording and it's so light it feels like a half-packed suitcase.
    If you've got to carry a guitar on your back and an amp in your hand, this is awesome.
    The sound is a perfect clean slate for pedals and in all cases high notes have gorgeous chimey shimmer.
    If you're thinking about it, pull the trigger. For the money, you're not going to do better.

  • from June 28, 2011

    Great amp!!

    Usually I don' t give 5 stars but I have been blown away by this amp!
    I found out that the standard Deluxe Reverb sounded cold and harsh.
    This one with the P12Q speaker is an excellent choice! Give the speaker some '' break-in'' time and then it is warm sounding and not harsh.
    I use it with my Fender Mark Knopfler Strat and it gives you so many sounds. It delivers exactly the same sound as Knoplfer' s Tone King, but if you put an overdrive in front of it ( Okko Diablo ), it sounds absolute fantastic. For many sounds like Pink Floyd, SRV etc..

  • from Washington State March 27, 2017Music Background:
    Gigging guitarist for more than 30 years.

    Great Amp

    This amp is a great looking amp, that and my past experience with the Fender Deluxe I knew this would be a good amp to own and play through. The only draw back for me is the speaker I would have preferred it with the Jensen C-12K that comes in the vintage model. I tried for six months to like the way this amp sounded, I finally gave up and put the C-12K in it, now I absolutely love it. I didn't tell my band mates that I had changed the speaker but one by one they all asked me what I had done, said that my amp sounded better than ever.
    The truth is I'm a pedal guy, I like a little bit of tube distortion but this amp doesn't like distortion pedals. If you play straight in to your amp then you'll like this amp. It is very clean yet punching especially when you turn it up. If you're a pedal guy like me you'll want a different speaker. I was looking to buy the Fender Deluxe Vintage when I saw this one, and because of the wine red tolex and the wheat grill I bought this one knowing that all I had to do was change the speaker and it would be the sound I wanted with the look too.
    The only reason I didn't give a 5 star rating is I think they should offer the C-12K as an option.

    30 + year club veteran

  • from February 2, 2017

    fun amp

    Great amp. versatile, easy to use for the technologically challenged. good , clear , crisp sounds. more than strong enough for me as rhythm player in our band. I still need more time on it or would make it a 5 star. played fender Strat, Taylor t-5, tele, PRs, thru it all with widely different sounds, but all fun.

  • from January 21, 2017

    smooth

    Man, they don't make 'em like that anymore.... Oh wait, they do. Right out of the box this amp had the sound I've been looking for. It's the kind of amp that gets you excited about playing your guitar again....

  • from Massachusetts November 29, 2016Music Background:
    45 yrs 70s 80s Rock lifelong hobby

    Deluxe reverb

    Deluxe reverb awesome just buy one own lot of fender amps this is my new favorite takes pedals super Sweetwater service is the best first amp came with broken tremolo knob called my rep Clint b sent new one right Away with shipping label in the box to send damaged one back super awesome thanx Clint for all your help

  • from Nashville November 3, 2016

    I Like It, ALOT

    I'm no pro, However, I have been playing for 40++ years. Owned many amps from 65 Bandmasters to some high end Boogies...for the $$$ This 65 Deluxe Reverb- Limited from Sweetwater is the buy.
    I bought a open box ...Front Grill had VERY Minor flaw ,, Ask For Phil, He was a great assistants with my purchase,

  • from North of Pittsburgh PA August 9, 2016Music Background:
    Former semi-pro in a hiatus....

    '65 Deluxe Limited Wine Red Alnico

    At first, I was not impressed. The amp seemed overly bright, and I feared I chose the wrong version and should have opted for the ceramic speaker, "regular" Deluxe. However, after a couple weeks of playing, this thing dialed into Fender amp nirvana. I've been a Fender guy for 20 years, and played a good portion of my career with a 70s LP custom through a Princton reverb modified into a 30 watt monster. The Princton beats this in volume, but in tone, the Deluxe wins by a mile. It took a little breaking in, but this amp is fantastic. Can't beat the look either -- the wine red with the wheat grill is sexy. Its got enough headroom for any that might be concerned, but doesn't take too much to overdrive. Good with pedals. If you're on the fence about this one, just buy it, you won't be disappointed. I play teles strats and LPs through this and they all sound good.

  • from April 9, 2016

    Like stepping into a best-of-tone time tunnel

    I can't think of enough superlatives to describe this gorgeous "Bordeaux Blues" Deluxe Reverb . It is dead quiet and gives an absolutely beautiful sound--full, lush reverb and, beautiful bell-like, non-piercing highs--even with my baja tele w/ Custom '58 pups in it! I've had it since September last, and it is fully broken in now--the P12Q gives sweet "vintage" flavor that's like stepping into a best of R&B/Blues/Country/Surf time tunnel. Just superb. The speaker will also has a nice, round bass tone to it (bass control at 6) up until about 4.5 on the volume, where you start to get some sweet, musical breakup and then have to back the bass knob off to about 4. Set vol at 6 and you get a killer rock crunch and everything holds together pretty well until about 8, and then the speaker gets pretty farty for rhythm work (still great for leads though).
    Anyway, that's why I also purchased a Jensen C12K to pop in it--it gives you louder clean volume (headroom) and holds together better when vol knob cranked. I really like the tone too, and the way it takes pedals. I auditioned several popular speakers (WGS, Weber) with this amp, and the Jensen was the hands down winner--no wonder Fender's been running it in the blackface drri's and twins for some time, it's an excellent match. So, now I have the best of both worlds--vintage and more headroom.
    I give it a 4.5 only because the reverb started fading in and out on me inexplicably. I changed tubes, inspected reverb tank, to no avail. I finally consulted a popular tele forum and took the suggestion from one of the members to switch out the RCA cables connecting chassis to tank...Bingo! I haven't had a problem since. Fender uses some pretty thin wires compared to the cables I got at a local electronics store, which are about twice as thick.
    Overall, this amp is a pro-caliber tone machine. Between this and the Baja (also purchased at Sweetwater), I have an extremely musical rig that really inspires my playing and creativity. If you've been thinking about a DRRI, whether you choose this or the blackface, you can't go wrong.

  • from Cleveland, Ohio February 25, 2016Music Background:
    50+ years as a guitar and bass player

    Just the right size

    I've been playing rock guitar long enough to remember when the original '65 Deluxe Reverb amp was a new product. We were still playing surf music and early British music then. I couldn't afford one at the time, but I played with a guy who had one, and I remember the marvelous clean tones (the distortion of Cream and Hendrix came later).
    The reissue doesn't disappoint. The tone is there. I am a bit worried about the levels of QC at Fender, considering recent experience with a couple products. But after an initial problem with tubes and tube sockets, and ultimately an exchange, I am quite satisfied.
    I can't say enough good things about Sweetwater Music and their staff. They stepped up and quickly resolved the problems.

  • from SLC, UT January 13, 2016Music Background:
    Music

    Delicious Cleans

    I owned the original version of this amp with the Jensen special design speaker. It was good, but the Jensen Alnico speaker really adds some great overtones and breakup. If you like your cleans to be sparkly but on edge, this amp is where it's at. I was planning on getting it biased when I got it, but no need. It came perfectly biased and sounded great right out of the box. James, my sales guy, was awesome through the whole process.

  • from San Diego November 16, 2015Music Background:
    Seious Amateur

    A Great Amp, (but breaks up early!)

    I bought this without being able to audition it. The first one I received I had to send back because of what was probably a bad output tube. It made a loud and obvious distorted bad sound at fairly low volumes. The new one came and the connector between the speaker and the amp was bad.(It was the speaker jack. It would cut in and out while playing) I actually had that fixed by a local Fender repair under warranty. While working with the technician, I asked about the speaker selection in this amp. It is a Jensen P12-Q. It is rated at 40 watts and has a fairly small magnet on it. It apparently was selected because it gives real nice tone at low volumes- which I can vouch for. However, when I was playing outside and needed some volume (even when it was mic'd) it just sounded too over driven. So I purchased a Jensen C12K 8 ohm and switched them out. It took 20 minutes or less. The new speaker actually is 6 lbs heavier (!) but lists for less money on the Jensen website (About $90 vs $120 for the original P12K). It is a 100 watt speaker and so breaks up significantly later as the volume is raised. I actually really like this modification.
    I have kept the original speaker and maybe someday when I am too old to lug this around and am only playing in the house, I may use it again. I love the vibrato on this and the reverb is cool too, but a little goes a long way. It is also pretty darn quiet with minimal hiss or buzz. I use a variety of pedals (Cry Baby, Tube Screamer, PlimSoul, Flashback 4x4, and Chorus and Hall of Fame Reverb. They all sound great. I play mostly a Telecaster or Strat, and sometimes a Gibson ES 137. The Fenders sound the best.

  • from October 3, 2015

    Great amp

    Received a few weeks ago. Sounds great.Looks great. I broke in the (alnico P12Q) speaker btw gigs, practice and running a variety of music from Tab Benoit to Aaron Copland through it at around 5 on the dry channel (i.e. wide dynamic and frequency range). The speaker has opened up and is a warm, breathing beast. Good clarity and smooth breakup. The only reason to change the speaker IMO is for situations where you need more volume, and, so, a more efficient speaker. But as far as tone goes, this speaker is very nice once broken in. I also re-biased the amp to warm it up a bit --around 24mA--fattens it up and gives it a more class A quality (warm and bubbly, and very responsive to pick attack). She sounds really great with my Baja Tele and my Les Paul Classic with Duncan Antiquities. Sweet spot is at 4.5 to 6 for great sustaining cleans with a hint of hair (with single coils). Run humbuckers at 7-> OMG! some of the best OD I've ever heard!
    Very rich reverb that most of the time I run between 2-3, depending on volume. I like the vibrato/tremolo too. All in all, a very versatile amp that can cover many styles of play, even w/o pedals (which it takes very well).
    Many people clip the bright cap on the vibrato channel. I'm not about to, as I find it really keeps the lower end clean and clear with humbuckers. It's a very potent treble response to be sure, but, btw guitar and amp, one that can be dialed in just right.
    In short, it's a great, classic amp. Hats off o Fender and Sweetwater.

  • from Moline, IL February 21, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, former pro

    CLASSIC BF-WHAT'S NOT TO LOVE?

    This is for the Fender '65 DRRI Wine Red LTD.

    First time customer, ordered on the 12th, got it the 13th. Can't beat 1 day shipping! No damage on shipping box, but reverb function was DOA.

    Cables checked OK, no clang on tank. Pulled tank and found 3/4 connections broken. My other amp uses the identical tank (4AB3C1B)
    so I plugged it in and all is good.

    Called Mike in tech support on the 17th-very helpful, said he'll order new tank and ship at no cost to me.

    Love the classic BF tone, prefer this speaker over the C12-K-less trebly and warmer. Very pedal friendly amp, great break-up when cranked. I've been thru about 10 amps and this is my 1st amp with 6V6's and I really like it. Yes, there's a reason why you rarely see used ones for sale.

    Build quality much better than my '05 Blues Jr. Nice fit and finish on tolex and hardware. Glad I got this amp!!

    If the tank replacement is resolved ASAP, then Brad T. has a repeat customer. Then I'll do 5 stars...

  • from Bakersfield, CA November 11, 2014

    Simply unbelievable!

    This amp is amazing simple as that. A time tested classic that brought my Strat, PRS, and Gibson to life. Easily some of the best cleans you will ever hear! Anything from jazzy smooth to bright and twangy. Overdrive sounds on this are killer. Cranking it until break up is heavenly, for real. It takes pedals like a champ. Effects I thought about selling or trading are finally being used to their full potential. Compared to a friend's Deluxe Reverb I heard, the P12Q speaker seems a tad more versatile and is a great upgrade that definitely compliments the amp. Not only does it sound good but it looks beautiful as well. It looks like a gorgeous piece of home furnishing in my room. One note about this great amp as with all amps is the speaker break in. When I first played it the cleans were more than I hoped for! When I clicked on my OD pedal I was somewhat taken aback by the seeming harshness of the treble. Some adjusted settings and it was acceptable. I thought I may have to pack it back up and return in but I promise you it will sound better every hour you play it. Everyday I play the overdrive and distortion sound more and more perfect. As with any amp it will need break in, but don't be discouraged by its occasional harshness in the beginning.
    They don't get much better than the classics!

  • from Florence SC November 6, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro musician for 40 years. (weekend warrior)

    '65 Fender Deluxe Reverb - Special Edition

    Ok I love this amp. It has that old sweet Fender sound that sounds really good with any of my guitars. My Tele and Strat are especially sweet. The P12-Q Jenson speaker makes this amp. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because for my tastes it breaks up a little earlier than I would like. Up to five is sounds like that perfect country steel string twang. At about 5.5 to 6 it starts to come on with lots of volume and hair. Turning it up however and rolling the guitar volume back solves the early breakup problem for the most part. The amp does the country/R & B thing very well. Give it a test run. If you are a Fender person, you will love this amp. Oh...BTW...the reverb and tremelo are very reminiscent of my authentic '65 Twin. This is one great grab and go amp. So like I said give it a test ride. Have your money ready when you do. Did I mention it is beautiful to look at?

  • from Bakersfield, CA October 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist musician

    Awesome amp and awesome vibe

    Great sound overall I love the way it gets cracked up when you play with your guitar's volume ... It has to be that alinico speaker.it takes pedals very well , I don't use that many but the ones I use fell very smooth in this amp, and for the size it's pretty loud for small and medium gigs for larger ones you will have to mike it. The color is great very original it adds vibe to my es 335 the only reason why I don't give a 5 star it's because I'm used to have a master volume on my other amps but it's an easy fix the reverb sounds great , very fender style . Also forgot to mention the stunning customer service from Adam Briggs and the way Sweetwater treats us

  • from Virginia, USA August 20, 2014Music Background:
    Singer songwriter hobbyist

    Love Having the Real Deal

    Great amp, great sound. Great volume, too (my other amp is a 50 watt tube amp), and my main use is in my home studio. Great looks on this red wine version. My only complaint is that the footswitch doesn't seem very durable. Love the amp itself, though.

  • from Norfolk, NY October 9, 2013Music Background:
    Bluegrass fiddler

    The everything amp!

    This amp is everything I would want in an amp! I put one of my fender telecasters through this amp and it is pleasing to the ear. I would recommend this amp to anyone who enjoys playing music! Sweetwater has done it again!

  • from Seattle September 27, 2016Music Background:
    Rock, Blues, Country

    Good with the potential to be great

    I bought this amp for home use and for small gigs. For that, it is really hard to beat a Deluxe Reverb - 22w through a single twelve gives you reasonable clean headroom and the ability to overdrive the amp without killing small children. It is lightweight and looks fantastic in wine red with the wheat grill. The problem is that the amp sounds good, not great out of the box. I've read other reviews that the stock speaker isn't great, but I actually like it a lot after it breaks in - makes me wonder perhaps if those reviewers didn't give it that chance. There are a couple of issues that you have to overcome to get a sweet, warm, musical tone:

    First, is the stock tubes are absolute garbage. I took out the V2 preamp tube and replaced it with a VOS one, which helped immensely. Later did the same with the power and rectifier tubes, which took it another step closer. I wouldn't expect these amps to come with VOS tubes stock, but there are better options out there and I have to believe they don't cost dramatically more. I also find them biased a bit on the cold side (perhaps to extend the life of those crappy tubes?) - increasing this helps too. These changes warmed the amp up significantly.

    The second issue is the "bright cap", which I understand is like having a bright switch that is hard wired into the "on" position. I actually kind of like the tone profile it gives, especially for my Gibsons - but the highs are really shrill. I find myself turning treble down and rolling the tone knob off to try and tame that, but doing so takes away some of the sweetness of the tone. You can replace the bright cap with a better one, but my tech recommended taking it out altogether. Improves the tone, but voids the warranty. You can then have a more musical treble range and response.

    Finally (and maybe this is a nit) - putting the amp in standby pops the speaker. I've had lots of other amps, none of which did that, so not sure why this one does.

    Fix these issues and you have a great amp. Bad news is that I ended up spending over $1,500 to get an amp with voided warranty. For another $1,000, you start to get into vintage territory. Hmmm...

  • from Rochester, PA July 1, 2016

    Fender 65 Deluxe Reverb

    I bought this amp about a week ago and I have to say it has got to be the best sounding amp that I have. I own several different amps, Such as a Hartke 60 watt, A Danville bass 40 watt, a Fender champion 100 watt, and a few more, I never owned an all tube amp before. this 65 Deluxe Reverb is the sweetest sounding amp I have heard, it is simply put GREAT. My lap steel guitars sound amazing when played thru this thing, don't let the 22 watts fool you, cause this puppy is also loud, and the wine red finish is a real eye catcher. Great sound and great looks.

  • from Saint Augustine, FL April 15, 2016

    DRRI vs. 68 CDR

    A year and half ago I bought 68 Custom Deluxe Reverb from Sweetwater ... As usual, quick delivery and great personal customer service. I just could never get used to the early break-up of the amp that prevented its use with country or jazz. I tried switching speakers and a Cannabis Rex was an improvement but unsatisfying. I also tried a Hellatone a25 Alnico ... This helped even more ... But the break-up issue remained due to the negative feedback of the amp. Of course, many may like this aspect, so I am not saying it is bad ... it's just not for me.

    I finally decided to sell the 68 CDR and try a DRRI. I bought the LE with the Jensen Alnico. I love the amp because it's noticably cleaner than the 68 CDR. However, to my dismay, the Jensen speaker just does not cut it. I know the vintage tone arguments and I can hear traditionalists screaming ... but let's be honest, it's a poor man's alnico speaker that does not hold a candle to a Hellatone, Weber, Eminence or Celestion. I put the Hellatone a25 in the amp and it is now PERFECT!

    The Jensen speaker has the twang and clarity at low volumes, but it is a low output speaker (about 95db) so when you reach for any volume above about 4 on the amp, it breaks up pretty badly - especially the low end. The Hellatone fixed that nicely as it is rated at 101db. Now I get the same twang at most any volume and the low end stays together nicely at high volume ... Just what I was looking for!

    Your taste may differ.

  • from September 9, 2015

    Really nice amp, but not for big huge cleans

    This amp is really good and is probably the best value on the market today in terms of versatility. Just make sure you get the regular/black deluxe reverb if you want a loud amp with high headroom.

    If you want a bluesy tone with thick bottom end and crystal clear highs... Then this is the amp you've been waiting for.

  • from Seattle April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician & engineer

    Fender 65 Deluxe Wine Red LTD is perfect

    This amp has a vintage sound that is well made.
    22 watts of Fender tone with verb & tremolo
    Just toggle on and the tubes glow
    Wine Red covering, the wheat grille cloth is just all that.

    I compared this amp to a vintage 65 Deluxe at a vintage music store..
    The retro sound matches and better
    Only down side the amp cover is extra .

Questions about the Fender '65 Deluxe Reverb 22-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp - Limited Edition Wine Red?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway