0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Universal Audio 6176 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Universal Audio 6176?

Questions about the Universal Audio 6176?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Alan Carter

    One of the biggest benefits to having one of these, besides the amazing sound quality, is the fact that you can say you own a piece of history. The 1176 compressor, coupled with the 610 mic pre, is a legend in the audio industry and is used on tons of hit records in all styles. I am proud to have a 6176 in my rack....did I mention it sounds absolutely amazing?

  • Brian VanDeKeere

    If you are looking for a classic mic pre with a very smooth compressor, the 6176 is your channel strip. 6176 has the vintage 610B pre amp and 1176LN compressor in one box, how can you beat that in a 2U rack space?

  • from Las Vegas May 18, 2016Music Background:
    Sound Engineer, Professional Musician

    Solid and Classic

    I have owned one of these for nearly 10 years, purchased new from Sweetwater. The 610 has loads of tube smoothness but it also has an amazing clarity. The term hi if comes to mind. It is one of my main vocal pres. Used on the lead vocals for at least 20 CD's and demos from Irish folk music to metal. Jazz crooners to screamers. Great on wind and brass instruments and bass players regularly choose this box to plug into over many of my other pres.
    The 1176 is one of the few compressors I like and trust to track with. I love mixing with it and adding it to just about any source that could benefit from compression. It definitely has its own signature sound that is always musical never clinical.
    The 6176 is the perfect marriage of the 610 and the 1176 but you can also use them independently. Replaced the tubes twice since I owned it and never had any problems with it. Love tweaking the large knobs.
    This is one piece of gear that will be in my will or I just might take it with me.

  • from Rochester, New York November 20, 2015Music Background:
    Music producer/engineer/composer/talent

    One Of The Best

    The best endorsement for a piece of gear is in the track! The UA 6176 was the vocal channel for this
    young talented "Unsigned Only" finalist for her song "Found". The presence, the detail... it is a must for the big sessions I do!!

  • from Houston TX August 24, 2015Music Background:
    Studio Dude

    Zeke loves 6176

    I am positive that this thing was made in heaven at God's house and brought down to earth as a gift. No other explanation for why this thing sounds as amazing as it does.
    Much like my 737, this thing will make any mic sound 1000 times better, hell anything you plug into this thing will sound amazing.

    Pros= easy to use, Great sounds, increase quality of anything you plug through it, fast compressor
    Cons= I can see none at all.

    Go buy it before the world ends and you die with regrets of not buying this amazing piece of machine. :)

  • from Rego Park, NY August 11, 2015

    Better Than I Expected

    Not long ago I went to a UA seminar at a local music store, I recently acquired a UAD2 card and was curious about the company. Two reps demoed the UA hardware and I was immediately hooked. They asked me about my studio, what I was using. When I told them they were ok with all my gear but my front end. Apparently that was my weakest link. Anyway, I was lucky to have the gear that I was using so I didn't jump into it immediately. I have made records with far less so I knew much of the sound depend on the engineering and mixing skills. So I worked my setup and hoped that one day I'd be worthy of a new front end. As I got better the importance of the front end became more apparent. Needless to say I had expectations of the 6176. Well, I was blown away by it the UA6176 is better than what I was expecting. Anything I put through it vocals, guitar, bass, sounds great. I couldn't be happier, I highly recommend it.

  • from United States September 12, 2014Music Background:
    Studio owner Engineer Producer

    Toy Car Studios owner

    Simply put this thing is amazing! I hope to get a bunch more soon!

  • from San Juan Tx. December 1, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer,

    Ever since I started using it...My recordings have gained that Professional quality I always wanted..

    I use it mostly for Bass, Kick and vocals..and I has amazed me and my clients ....I'm really happy with it
    I'm in the process of getting an API 3124+ hoping to get the best out of my drum kit...(will use them on toms)

  • from Marion OH November 16, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Eng., Drummer, Producer, Live Sound

    Must Have!!!!!!!

    This has everything you'll need to get that vintage tube analog tone you need in a digital world. ANYTHING sounds great going though this unit!

  • from Tulsa, OK November 13, 2013Music Background:
    Musician... Recording engineer

    Warming up the UA Apollo interface

    My studio has 30 years worth of gear trying to recapture some of the analog perfection of recording sessions past.The UA Apollo interface's pre amps I am using to front end my Pro Tools are very clean and uncolored but not exactly what I was looking for in my vocalists tracks. The UA 6176 is now pre amping the non pre amp inputs of the UA Apollo. With a bit of compression from the UA 1176LN side of the UA 6176 the vocal tracks have a timeless character and natural punch to them. Needless to say I am content with this unit and will be adding a second unit as soon as the studio budget allows (these things aint cheap).

  • from Johnson City, TN USA February 11, 2012Music Background:
    Project studio owner, singer-songwriter

    THE channel strip for vocals!

    I'm using this primarly for vocals and after one day worth of tracking I am completely bowled over by how much better everything sounds. Things sit perfectly in the mix with little in the way of after-the-fact tweaking. I've previously used both digital and tube preamps and compressors, including the 6176's "little brother," the LA-610. I can't believe I waited this long...should've sprung for this years ago! GREAT piece of gear and worth every penny, even if it is pricey. Thanks for the 12 months financing, Sweetwater! If you're tracking vocals in your home/project studio, you will not find a better mic preamp/compressor in this price range.

  • from Ukraine January 17, 2012Music Background:
    singer/songwriter

    Necessary thing in the studio.

    Necessary thing in the studio.

  • from Kalamazoo, MI October 17, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Project Studio Musician and songwriter.

    Awesome Channel Strip

    I've only had this unit about 2 weeks now, but I LOVE it. I considered many other strips, but went for this based on legacy reputation and experience in pro studios in the past with UA gear. I am using this in my project studio, and planned to use primarily for voice. I have a BLUE baby bottle and immediately this strip made the mic come to life. The controls are very basic, but very useful and effective. For a clean tone I found their set-up instructions to be very useful. The pre just sounds amazing, open, warm and detailed, and it seriously made my mic sound amazing.... The compressor setting was very intuitive and I found watching the amount of compression was helpful to achieving settings from tone only (minimal) to slamming (I will certainly be using this for a room drum feed). I also have now used it as a direct/DI for my bass, and it equally shines there. My only complaint is how you can't leave multiple lines connected, but it's worth the tone this thing is giving. Pertaining to my recording and writing process...........one word: Inspirational

  • from Boston,MA August 14, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    This is the best period...

    This unit is the best sounding for vocals,acoustic guitars and drums...However when it comes to bass I would prefer a less gooey sound-But in terms of an all around warm sounding all in one unit this it...Period.

  • from Pasadena, CA September 27, 2006Music Background:
    Composer, Instrumentalist

    Highly Recommend

    Great piece of gear. Two classics -- the 610 pre and 1176 comp -- which you can use together or separately. Both have distinctive sonic character. I use it on every track-and-mix I do. Of particular note: It sounds tremendous on DI'ed bass.

  • from Farmington, NH March 11, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Great Gear even better service

    I'm still learning how to use this but so far it sounds great on vocals. This is my first order with Sweetwater and will definitely be doing more business with them. The product arrived in 2 days with free shipping and my sales rep Chris was great in answering questions on how i can integrate this in my current system. I can't say enough about the customer service except it's top notch in my opinion.

  • from Losa Angeles, CA June 7, 2012Music Background:
    Film Music Executive and Producer

    UA's Swiss Army Knife!

    i bought a dual channel UA 610 pre-amp unit from you in 2008 and fell in love with the sound, the depth, the quality it added to every recording. And the 1176 is a must have in any studio. This unit gives me both.

  • from Hagerstown, MD September 24, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    I found "that" sound!

    I have a small project studio, with an equally small budget. Like most engineers, I have been searching for "that" sound. You know that sound that you can almost acheive with plug-ins, but something is still missing. That ended when my 6176 arrived! I put up a nice tube mic, and plugged it into the 6176 and engage the compressor and viola', there it was! I hadn't even adjusted mic placement yet and it sounded great! I have since used it on drums, guitar, bass, and vocals, all with excellent results. My only complaint, and it's a small one, is that UA says not to connect the line, mic, and/or hi-z inputs at the same time. Surprising considering that switch on the front panel must be in the correct position to get signal from a respective input. It's a bit of a pain to repatch each time I change from mic to line for instance. The final sound is worth it!

  • from WA April 15, 2007Music Background:
    musician, budding recording/mixing engineer, self producer.

    Nice channel strip

    I bought my 6176 mainly for the 1176 (I bought the unit for less than what a new 1176LN costs). The 1176 sounds just like a reissue 1176LN to my ears. I was suprised by how nice the pre sounds on vocals, bass, mic'd amps and acoustic guitar. The stripped down EQ is actually quite musical althought I wish there were a few more frequencies on the shelving. This is a versatile unit being able to link and use both pre/comp together or split and use each seperately.

    I don't have to tell you about the 1176, it rocks!

  • from Kanzaz March 31, 2009Music Background:
    Record for fun if we have beer

    I like it

    A nice strip. The compressor is smooth and adds a unique sound. The pre is versatile and the added eq is a nice touch. However, I didn’t have an opportunity to try out other strips or pieces in this price range and I’ll always wonder… would I have liked the Avalon Vt-737 better, or a Great River pre and a Purple Audio MC77, or a Portico 5015, Distressor, etc.

Questions about the Universal Audio 6176?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway