0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Godin 5th Avenue Kingpin - Cognac Burst Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Godin 5th Avenue Kingpin - Cognac Burst?

Questions about the Godin 5th Avenue Kingpin - Cognac Burst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from FOLSOM, CA April 13, 2016Music Background:
    I have a lot of fun playing guitar!

    WOW! Exceeded all my expectations!

    My father-in-law has a 1950's Gibson ES-125 that I love to play. I'd love to own one, too, but a good vintage ES-125 is tough to come by, and very pricey. So I emailed Sean at Sweetwater and asked for some alternatives. He suggested a few, including the Godin 5th Avenue Kingpin.

    I was totally blown away once I received my 5th Avenue!

    First, let's talk tone. Having played other archtops, I was expecting a somewhat muted/mellow acoustic sound when compared to a flat-top, but this was much louder and much brighter than I thought it would be! Don't get me wrong, a dreadnought will still play louder when strumming chords, but this little guitar holds its own volume-wise, especially when playing finger-style. I was really surprised by the clarity in the mid-range when finger-picking. The 5th Avenue is especially articulate compared to the ES-125 that I'm used to playing. Then I plugged it into my amp --- wow! Clean, dirty, jazzy, woody, it's all there. This little guitar is extremely versatile! The P-90 is well suited for this type of guitar. I was a little worried I'd have to replace it, but I won't need to do that, it's a high quality pickup that does it all.

    Next, let's talk quality. This is an extremely well-made guitar. The cognac burst is beautiful! The choice of woods is fantastic! The cherry body sounds great, and looks great. It really does look like a french-polished violin. The rosewood fret board is thick and has a comfortable bevel on the edges. The pick guard is a wonderful 3-Ply that really does enhance the overall appearance of the instrument. The neck is very comfortable, not too wide or too thick. I'd say the thickness sits somewhere in between a Gibson 50's and 60's Slim taper. The chrome button tuners look vintage, but hold their tune. I was expecting the Tusq bridge to sound funny compared to a rosewood bridge, but I don't think it makes any material difference in tone. The guitar also feels very solid, I'm sure it can take all the strumming, picking, rocking, and anything else I throw at it and be just fine. All in all, I am impressed with the fit and finish of this guitar. The value for this price point is amazing.

    Finally, let's talk Sweetwater's service. My wife bought me this guitar as a surprise for my birthday. She knew I was looking at guitars on Sweetwater.com, but she had no idea which one. So, she called Sweetwater, and they were able to look at my account, find the guitar I wanted, and order it for my wife. In addition, the guitar was out of stock at the time, with an ETA of ~2 weeks. However, Sweetwater was able to get a hold of a new guitar in 2 days! This is proof positive that Sweetwater has some close connections with suppliers - and is able to request and get product that is out of stock everywhere else.

    In summary, the product exceeded expectations, and Sweetwater's customer service is top notch. I'm absolutely thrilled with every aspect of this purchase!

  • from December 28, 2015Music Background:
    Jazz Guitarist

    Godin 5th Ave. Kingpin

    I am a chord melody soloist and I have a number of nice archtop and other guitars by quality builders. I have the purely acoustic 5th Avenue and wanted something like it with a P90 pickup. I know from experience that Godin makes quality guitars at very reasonable price points and this instrument is no exception. It is a lot of fun to play as it has the acoustic sound and feel I was looking for.

    This instrument was in stock when I purchased it and Ryan Sloan and his team literally got it to me within just about 24 hours of placing the order. This was just two days before Christmas. I ordered a set of D�Addario strings which they threw in for free and even put them on the guitar for me. It was well set up out-of-the-box and all I needed to do was just adjust the action to taste.

    I have always been leery of ordering instruments online. I bought from Sweetwater because of their return policy. I will not be returning this guitar. No dents, no scratches, no dings and it met my expectations. The customer service exceeded my expectations as they were prompt, courteous and polite. They were able to dispense information to aid me in my purchase.

    This was a very positive buying experience and I am very pleased with the product, the service and the delivery time.

  • from DFW Texas May 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent

    The workmanship, quality of materials, sound and action are just beyond expectations at really any price point. The really amazing thing is this instrument is designed and produced with North American materials and labor.

    The acoustic output and balance is top notch for any archtop. That said, like all at archtop guitars is quite prone to feedback so don't expect it to behave like a solid or semi hollow instrument. Highly recommended.

  • from Edmonds WA November 4, 2013Music Background:
    Praise and worship, gigging bands

    Such a nice guitar

    I found myself un-obligated, bored and holding a fist full of cash one Friday afternoon, so I wandered into my local guitar shop. With a new found love of single coil pickups I had been eyeballing the Gretsch and Guild hollow bodies unfortunately too poor to actually buy one. On this afternoon, however, I played the Godin 5th Avenue Kingpin. It was love at first strum. Mine is called Cognac Burst. The satin finish on these instruments is beautiful, and give it a vintage, played look. This guitar has a really nice feel in terms of the neck and the thickness of the body. I have fairly long fingers and the neck is comfortable to play. It feels to me, a bit like the thicker necks on the Les Pauls of the late 50s. When I got the guitar, the shop said theyd dial it in for me for free, but frankly, I have no complaints as it is. With the classic style floating bridge you can drop the action impossibly low before you start to get fret buzz. After I brought mine home, I did just that and it plays like a dream. The frets are finished well and there is a bevel on the edge of the fret board and frets that keep them out of the way if youre in the habit of sliding your hand up and down the neck quickly. The Kingpin has a warm mellow tone when unplugged that is perfect for playing jazz and blues. I also enjoy the lower volume of the guitar since it has f holes when I play later in the evening. Plugged in, the P90 kills and sounds good clean and driven. It also retains that warm, mellow tone when played without distortion. I havent had any trouble with feedback as I tend to keep the volume a bit lower for small spaces. My one complaint about this guitar isn't even the guitar. It's the hideously ugly case that they want 80 bucks for. It's bulky and made of what looks like extra tough styrofoam. I understand Godin was going for lightness, but this thing is ugly. All in all, this guitar is a great choice and plays as well as my Gibson Les Paul and my buddies Gretsch 51 whatever

  • from Texas May 2, 2013Music Background:
    player/jam-man

    Godin 5th Avenue Kingpin

    no wonder Guitar Player Magazine had it as "Player's Choice" when it debuted in 2008... it is an "entertainer" for sure... put me in a corner with this one and I will stay out of trouble... it is everything as advertised

  • from A Texan Soldier stationed in Germany December 21, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Glorious!

    This guitar is first and foremost a visual beauty. Exquisite craftsmanship and attention to detail mark this as the one guitar you want to keep on display when family and friends visit.

    More importantly though is the glorious tone: warm, rich, and eminently comforting. You could not only play this guitar all day, but you could also listen to it all day.

  • from October 13, 2016

    great value. great player

    I got this because I don't want to take my es-125 on the road. This is a great guitar, especially for the price. Probably the best bargain in the world of archtops, imo. Definitely get it from sweetwater. The set-up on the guitar was really nice and it sounded and played great right out of the box. I didn't give it five stars because there is a really annoying buzz in the tail-piece when I play the high e string on the 4th fret. I'm sure I can fix it when I change the strings and in the meantime i just put a small piece of foam beneath the tail-piece and it mutes the buzz. electronics are nice and clean and the pickup sounds great. this guitar is really light too. quality instrument made in N America. very pleased.

  • from De Leon Springs, FL July 4, 2015Music Background:
    Long time guitar player and collector.

    Good buy In An Archtop Hollow Body

    It is a great playing, looking, and sounding guitar. It’s called a budget archtop, but hardly looks or plays like one. The Canadian wild cherry body is beautiful! The action was good out of the box and I like the nut width for fingerpicking. I love the tone control the best. You bleed it off and you get some nice, mellow jazz tones or turn it up for some edgy blues. Rockabilly sounds great too.

    While I will generally agree with other owners here that the guitar’s craftsmanship is superb, I was surprised to find a line drawn on the fretboard between the second and third frets. Apparently, during the construction of the guitar, a line was drawn for the purpose of fret placement but they discovered it was off by about a half-inch. Oops! I am surprised that Godin’s quality control let this sloppy issue pass inspection.

    One thing I am fussy about is fret ends. My guitar is pretty rough on the bottom edge of the fretboard. This is an other issue Godin should have taken a closer look at. Is it now the responsibility of us guitarists to keep a fret file in our guitar gear? For some brands I guess so.

    Despite my grumbles, this guitar is a keeper.

  • from New Hampshire July 15, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging Musician.

    Beautiful Guitar

    This is a beautiful guitar. The cognac burst has the look of an old elegant violin. This guitar is very well made and the good craftsmanship is evident. The guitar came with a checklist of 11 parameters such as fret wire, neck, bridge, finish etc. next to which were the initials of each inidividual craftsman that had quality controlled the product. The finish and set up were excellent out of the box. The genius in the guitar is the simple elegance. Instead of trying to copy 1,000 + dollar guitars with cheap appointments, Godin concentrates on quality over quantity. Sure, it doesn't have a fancy neck binding or pearl inlays but what it does have it does very well. I tried Ibanez, Epiphone and Gretsch at this price point or close and I can tell you for craftsmanship the Godin wins hands down. Everyone who I show it to handles it delicately mistakenly believing its an expensive guitar. It has a beautiful finish, tight tolerance, nice sound. It does however feed back quite a bit at higher volumes. This is a guitar for jazz or blues gigs with low stage volume. It doesn't come with a case which was disappointing. I personally would not pay the kind of money they are asking for the TRIC case. I don't think it's worth it personally having used this case. I think it could have at least come with a case for a $700.00 guitar. Overall, still an amazing buy,

  • from Chicago, IL June 22, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Godin 5th Avenue Kingpin

    Great guitar for the money. Feels a little stiff at first, but after a couple of weeks of playing gigs, this guitar is becoming a staple for me. Plays more like an acoustic than an electric, but has the classic early jazz era tone even straight through a PA without an amp. Highly recommended.

  • from N.E. Ohio September 18, 2010Music Background:
    performing musician, guitar teacher and worship leader

    Amazing value and a great player

    I've owned this guitar for a year now and it has become my go-to guitar. I play a variety of styles, fingerstyle, jazz, praise and worship, etc. This guitar handles those styles well. The fit and finish are very good. The guitar is every bit as beautiful as the pictures, maybe more so. It's light so it can be played for hours. The neck has a nice profile. The pickup is good for a stock pickup. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is the tuners. While they are good, functional and vintage looking, I can see myself upgrading them down the road. It's not necessary, but they aren't the most expensive tuners. They are good enough. One nice thing, the bridge is made of Tusq, but looks like ebony or dark rosewood. It transfers the sound quite nicely. I've even used this guitar in place of an acoustic, and when eq'd it can sound pretty close. I've gotten lots of compliments on the looks and sound of this guitar. It's a keeper and I would immediately replace it if ever lost.

Questions about the Godin 5th Avenue Kingpin - Cognac Burst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway