rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Godin 5th Avenue CW Kingpin II - Cognac Burst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Godin 5th Avenue CW Kingpin II - Cognac Burst?

Questions about the Godin 5th Avenue CW Kingpin II - Cognac Burst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from South Chesterfield, VA May 6, 2017

    Outstanding!

    This guitar is my first Godin and I must say I'm quite pleased with it. The action was setup well out of the box, the hardware and finish are amazing and the sound is clear, with each string ringing out for a truly melodious combination. Playing all the way up the neck yields the same clarity and ease of fretting.

    I must admit I was leary of ordering this guitar as I had never had a chance to play a Godin but it is an excellent instrument and I'm glad I got it.

  • from February 14, 2017

    Fantastic guitar!!

    Having recently started studying with a Jazz teacher, I decided to invest in a hollow body guitar. After a number of weeks reading reviews, watching youtube demos, reading message board threads and not finding anything negative, I decided to take a chance and order the Godin Kingpin II CW without having played it (scary right?).

    The guitar TOTALLY lived up to everything I read. It really is a fantastic guitar and outplays anything in it's class (and I did try a number of guitars by other manufacturers). Unplugged, the guitar projects much more than I expected - certainly not as loud or deep as my dreadnaught acoustic but still louder than expected and nicely resonant - think output more like a parlor guitar. Plugged in, the P90s provide tones ranging from twang in the bridge to rock in the middle position, to old school jazz in the neck position. It arrived from Sweetwater packed very well and was perfectly in tune when I pulled it from the case! The finish is low gloss and really looks even nicer than the pictures illustrate, good as they are.

    The case is a bit different from any case I have owned previously. Not a hard shell but much more than a gig bag. The outside is made from same nylon material you would find in a gig bag wrapped around a foam core, which appears to be similar to that found in bicycle helmets, offers impact protection front, back and side to side while being super light in weight. Probably not something you'd want to put on a plane or in the back of a trailer for gigging but perfect for carrying lessons, rehearsals, and gigs.

    Couldn't be more pleased with my purchase and Sweetwater's service!

  • from CO October 4, 2016

    Sweet

    Crazy sweet guitar This puppy plays soon nice. Be surprised for a good priced hollow. Gorgeous looks vintage.

  • from Kentucky September 14, 2016Music Background:
    Acoustic, blues, metal

    My best guitar

    I am an adult amateur player and guitar collector. My guitars have ebbed and flowed over the years but I have owned over 20. I currently have 7 and this one is the best of the lot. Initially I intended to put creamery p-90's in it, but once I heard the Godin p-90's there was no need. They are the quietest smoothest sounding pickups... I could not believe how wonderful they sound. I also got Thomastik and D'Addario jazz and gypsy jazz strings at first but did not like how dead they sounded. I ended up using D'Addario phospher bronze light acoustic strings to get the tone I wanted. Amplified it sounds good clean or with mild bluesy distortion. Acoustic it sounds as good as ANY hollow body electric I have been around (including lower end Gibsons, higher end Gretsch, Ibanez, Eastman). To me personally it feels like a very well set up Taylor 300 series. The only modification I have made is the addition of a bone nut and setup by my luthier. Others have complained mildly about the tuners or the lack of a lot of visible binding on the front. IMO binding is a personal preference... and the tuners on mine feel and work just right. I have done a fair amount of research over the years, and believe the 5th avenue to be the best sub $1000 jazz box on the market. This will be a guitar I keep forever and pass down to my kids.

  • from July 26, 2016

    Archtop guitar

    Godin 5th Avenue CW HB

    So it sounds good when you play music such as jazz and R & B is perfect in the studio , very light and very beautiful .

  • from North Fort Myers, FL June 29, 2016

    Blown Away Is And Understatement

    I got this guitar a few days ago, and though friends of mine told me I would love it, I had no idea how much. If have been disappointed more than a few times ordering guitars on line, and most purchases were easily refunded no questions asked. So I'm not saying buying on line is a bad thing. And it certainly is never a problem with Sweetwater.

    The first thing I noticed, before opening the box, was how light it is. Even with the case, the guitar is like a feather. When I got it out of the box...which thanks to Sweetwater is ALWAYS a pain in the neck because of how securely they pack stuff, I couldn't believe the way the guitar feels and plays. Might need some setup when I change the strings, but out of the box this thing is amazing. Smaller scale, (than a D-28) but the feel is incredible The neck is a perfect fit, at least for my hands. I knew as soon as I started playing it I had my next "go to" axe.

    How does it look? This finish is reminiscent of the old "french polish" violin look. Of course, it's not done that way. Who could afford that anymore? But it is an unusually beautiful instrument.

    I didn't know much about this manufacturer. I was playing an open jam session a couple of weeks ago, and a guy came in with a Godin guitar. An acoustic guitar, that just sounded tremendous. I was impressed with the finish and quality of his guitar. So when I got the chance to buy this, after my wife told me she likes arch tops and who am I to disappoint my wife, I saw this and decided to buy it for her. *HEAVY SARCASM ALERT. I wish I had the words to adequately describe how much I'm digging this guitar. GET ONE.

  • from Illinois January 19, 2015

    Godin Guitar

    My husband Loves his new guitar!

  • from Aurora, IL March 11, 2014Music Background:
    Student, Hobbyist

    I'm Very Happy

    I had been wanting to add a full hollow body guitar to my collection for a long time. (Clearly guitar ownership is a sickness where what you own is never enough). Not wanting strictly a jazz box, I did research and was very impressed with this guitar, especially the reviews which to a one had nothing negative to say.

    This past Christmas I broke down (well after my wife gave the OK) and pulled the trigger on this guitar and a new amp as well. Often what we desire doesnít live up to the expectations. This is an exception.

    First off, this is simply a beautiful guitar. This has quickly become my favorite. Iím a big guy and itís still very comfortable, the tone is terrific and paired with a Ibanez Tube Screamer peddle it provides just enough punch for great blues tones while on a clean channel the guitar sounds wonderful in its own right. My only complaint is that when I take it to my guitar lesson my teacher grabs it and I donít seem to get it back for the entire half hour (LOL). Clearly he needs his own.

  • from Miami, FL, USA February 28, 2014Music Background:
    CLASSICAL MUSIC

    GODIN ARCHTOP KINGPIN 2

    EXCELLENT ARCHTOP FOR A DECENT PRICE, A MUST HAVE! BEAUTIFUL CONSTRUCTION WITH ATTENTION TO DETAIL AND PLAYS LIKE BUTTER!

  • from Florida, USA June 6, 2013Music Background:
    Intermediate Hobbyist - Loves the Blues!

    OUTSTANDING SERVICE, OUTSTANDING GUITAR!!!

    When it comes to buying guitars or accessories online I will only use Sweetwater Guitars. Their service was simply OUTSTANDING! My guitar arrived on time and in PERFECT shape. My Godin Kingpin II plays like "butta", the frets were dressed perfectly & the neck relief is set perfectly. The action is set low as I requested. I had Sweetwater change the tuners to Grover Imperials before the guitar was shipped and techs accomplished an excellent job without any scratches to the headstock.

  • from Louisiana April 15, 2013Music Background:
    Playing since1963

    Great Instrument

    Great workmanship. Nice look and very nice sound even without the amp. Easy finger board. Great that it is not made in China. I am very satisfied after playing it for 3 days. It has made an impression on me and some of my friends

  • from United States October 26, 2011Music Background:
    Fingerpicking, Sound Engineer, Jazz

    Amazing

    I've had a lot of guitars over the years, and I don't usually review products but this guitar is stunning. The sound quality is amazing, and you can achieve a lot of sounds with the two pickups. The craftsmanship is unbelievable for the price. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • from Midwest USA August 2, 2011Music Background:
    Songwriter/Hobbyist

    Totally Underrated!

    I spent a good long time looking for a hollow or semi-hollow electric guitar with P-90s, I played everyone that I could get my hands on, including several guitars from companies I wouldn't normally consider. I couldn't be happier that I did. The Godin 5th Avenue CW Kingpin II feels amazing, plays like a dream, and sounds fantastic. What's more, there's a certain novelty to owning a Canadian-made guitar that's constructed from rapidly renewable resources, and build with the kind of care you'd never expect from a self-important American guitar company. The Godin 5th Avenue CW Kingpin II totally blew away every other similar guitar he played, which made buying one one of the easiest decisions I've ever made. I simply couldn't recommend this guitar highly enough.

  • from Singapore May 26, 2011Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter (The Glad Stones)

    100% Beautiful.

    It is the perfect guitar for me as it serves not only as a good Jazz and Blues guitar, but does just smashing for other genres.

    A fine guitar for that more acoustic oriented feel but whips up a big and deep tone when hooked up to the amp.

    It is a wonderful buy at such a good price.
    This 100% Beauty is definitely value for $$$!

  • from South Dakota June 9, 2017

    Beautiful Sound, Beautiful Looks

    I have had this guitar for about three weeks now and absolutely no buyer's remorse. It's light with a comfortable neck, very playable. The action is perfect, thanks for the great setup. The pickups are even-tempered, with the middle position my favorite. I bought mine as a demo with minuscule scratches that are barely able to be seen. As a matter of fact, if I don't look at the reference photos, I can't find them. My SW rep, Dave Walent, is always helpful and gave me good advice on this one. The case is great, too - it's Godin's wonderful soft-side TRIC case.

  • from December 27, 2016Music Background:
    Song writer

    Godin 5th Avenue CW Kingpin II

    Such a well made guitar, for the price it's a really great buy. Love the P-90 pickups. The rolled edge of the fretboard is a nice touch. Beautiful cherry top, I'm really enjoying this 5th Avenue. You tube it and you can see it in action.

  • from Berkeley Springs, WV May 13, 2014Music Background:
    Lifelong guitarist, performer, improvisor

    Very fine Construction and Detail

    Ordered this guitar based on reviews and seeing one on TV. Got it quick from the great team of Jeff and Kevin at Sweetwater. Tried it for a few days a was very impressed with the details of this beauty. However it just didn't feel right in my hands, so I returned it. Keep in mind, I've tried custom made high end $ guitars that didn't feel right or had the craftsmanship of this Godin. It is very well made and a bargain at this price. Bottom line, You can't go wrong working with Sweetwater.

  • from Chicago January 27, 2013Music Background:
    Enthusiast

    Excellent value

    I've had one of these for a year now. Time, and the recent purchase of a comparably priced Gretsch G5420T archtop that had serious quality control problems, has made me appreciate the Godin all the more. The tone, playability, and fit and finish are excellent for the price (and it is gorgeous). I marked it down a little bit for three reasons:
    1.) The buttons on the tuners are tiny and unpleasant to manipulate, and cannot be replaced. I swapped the tuners out for 16:1 Grover Imperials.
    2.) The placement of the notches for the E and B strings on the bridge was way off, despite the fact that the bridge is positioned exactly where it should be. I refiled the notches so that the strings are now directly above the pickup pole screws.
    3.) The TRIC case is butt-ugly junk. In just ten months the foam on mine shrank, pulling away from the hinges and making for a poor seal. I replaced it with a Roadrunner archtop case, which is much better except that the seal is still not great.

  • from New York December 20, 2010Music Background:
    guitarist

    Really sweet acoustic guitar here folks!

    This arrived from Sweetwater within 48 hours after I ordered it in mint condition. The hard case is unusual, it is made of high grade foam. The guitar is not large and is exceptionally responsive to picking dynamics. Instant back porch blues and jazz pours right out from this guitar, Really plays well, the action is very low with no buzzing. Sounds vintage through a powerful amp like my 100 watt Marshall tube. Very clear sound, the pickups are also quite responsive. No noise no hum here. I have the cognac color but the burgundy looks appealing also. Smaller and more cozy than say the new Gretsch Tim Armstrong hollowbody. With the case the whole set up is very light on the go, I would say about 7 pounds with the case, A real winner here I am impressed with the quality of this manufacturer. If I did not already have enough solid body guitars I would also consider a Godin solid body such as the Icon 2.

  • from Northwest Ohio March 13, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Pastor / Hobby

    Fits like a glove

    I have been using Sweetwater for the last several years for all my music needs for either, myself or for the church... And I must say always a joy do work with them.. Jeff Barnett is exceptional with live sound... Speaking of live sound I must say that this peace of art the Godin 5th Avenue CW Kingpin II fit like a glove as soon as I picked her, (Yes her) up... I wanted something different for leading worship at church on special events or Sunday morning... Was leaning towards an electric semi hollow and nothing felt good... "the guitar chooses you :)"

    The only reason I am giving it a 4 is because I have not got all the tones figured out... So can't say that she is perfect but from what I know after a few day is this, the tone unplug is nice, can be used for quiet moments or unplugged environment that allows freedom to express with picking, rhythm, etc... Plug it in and now you got different tones at your fingers tips... Looking forward to playing this on Sunday morning, at home, and so on... And Man she is BEAUTIFUL!!! Love the P-90 tones... Excited!!!

  • from December 24, 2012Music Background:
    Amature musician, plays steel drums, percussion and a little keyboard

    Love it...

    Loving this guitar more every day....

  • from December 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist and amateur band player.

    kingpin II

    Very good guitar but with the cheapest tuners I've ever seen on a quality guitar--also I'm not sure the floating fretboard end is a good idea-----also bought a Le Marquis Chinese guitar which is almost a spitting image Except it has excellent tuners and 2 volume and tone controls---the fit and finish are excellent (check out the back) and at a fraction of the price of the Godin---it is a better value than the Godin and sounds great

  • from Angels Camp, CA USA March 30, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Just not for me...

    I bought a new Kingpin CW II about a year ago from Sweetwater after reading a bunch of positive reviews. I never owned an arch top, and always wanted a Gibson ES-335, so for the price, I thought the Kingpin CW II would be a good substitute.
    Well over a year of trying to like it, I just sold it and had to take a beating on price as there are lots of them for sale. I tried numerous types of strings, different amps and amp effects, but it just always sounded very weak and thin for me. It was, however, a very beautiful guitar and well constructed, especially for the price.

    My advice is to play one first and make your own decision.

    It is, in my opinion, an electric guitar as it just does not sound or project well when not plugged it.

    Also, the Tric case is a joke. I purchased a hard case made by Road Runner for $100.00 to protect the guitar better.

Questions about the Godin 5th Avenue CW Kingpin II - Cognac Burst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
Enter the Giveaway