0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Vintech tweed57 Microphone Preamp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Vintech tweed57 Microphone Preamp?

Questions about the Vintech tweed57 Microphone Preamp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from New Orleans, LA November 25, 2014Music Background:
    recording engineer / musician

    Classic!!!

    I bought my first Vintech 573 when they were first introduced. I have purchased 2 more since then. This preamp has that classic 1073 sound without the exorbitant price of other manufacturers. I use this piece on just about anything you can imagine on a daily basis in my studio. It works every day, and it sounds great everyday!

  • from The DMV May 6, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, Sound Wizard

    Don't believe the poo pooing

    First off, I have to say I've never used any other 1073 clones or the real deal for that matter, so I can't comment to that. What I can say is this Pre rocks!! On guitars this thing is bad ***. I can compare it to Daking, API and the 4710d and the 573 has won guitar tracking duties. It just add a wait and presence to heavy guitar that sounds fat and thick and sit well in the mix. On vocals I was very impressed as well. The APIs and Dakings are still my main pres for drum tracking, but honestly I just haven't had enough time tracking drums with this pre to commit.

    The bass DI is nice too. I will be buying a second 573 for sure.

  • from Lesage Wv. January 23, 2013Music Background:
    Project studio Engineer

    Vintech 573

    This thing sounds great on everything I have used it on, Great bang for the buck.

  • from New Orleans, LA September 20, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, DJ

    573 is the perfect amount of fuzzy!

    The Vintech 573 has quickly become my favorite mic pre for vocals. It provides the right amount of warm fuzziness while keeping the signal clear. A great buy for a wonderful price.

  • from Port-au-Prince, Haiti September 1, 2011Music Background:
    Recording engineer, Pro musician

    Vintech 573 simply rocks

    I am extremely happy. I have both the vin tech 573 and the neve 1073lb and I can say the vintech has more character. Love it. I am going to get at least 6 more to have a total of 8. Amazing.

  • from USA September 20, 2016Music Background:
    Marching percussion, Drum and Bugle Corps, Jazz Guitar, Producer/Engineer

    Vintech 573 Preamp = YUM

    I've never used an old Neve board, preamp, strip or anything. We've all heard them, though.
    I've used a handful of nice pre's out there and I enjoy what the Vintech 573 does. Against the big rack-mounted Vintechs, it doesn't sound quite as big, but it does that "Neve thing" regardless. There's a nice big bottom end that is slightly pillow and fat, and a mid range that has this sheen to it that is hard to describe. Not forward, but vibey. The top has this sparkle to it that adds a little richness. The whole sound is rich, in fact.

    Honestly, this sound pairs well with almost any mic and source. That is one benefit of the Neve sound. In the digital world, youve got some extra breathing room in your sound stage if your converters are good, and it's ideal to fill it out with a sound like this. I usually leave the OP knob way down and push up the input gain just before clipping as you get a touch more color that way. Putting line signals through these also make things sound richer.

    Nothing wrong with a Vintech. I like their sound a lot!

  • from Austin, TX June 1, 2011Music Background:
    recording engineer, studio owner, drummer

    Amazing Sound without breaking the bank

    These are excellent sounding preamps and at a very reasonable price. I have a pair and have so far used them on drum overheads, room mics, bass guitar (mic'ed, or with the built in DI and with an external DI). As overheads they sounded very similar to my A-Designs P1's. On bass guitar the bottom is just huge. I can imagine for heavy guitars it would be similar.

    Everyone will want to know if these sound just like a 1073? It doesn't really matter. Buy it because the Vintech 573 has a great sound.

    The construction quality looks good and feels good from the outside - I popped the cover and all I will say is be glad that it is covered up! Not the cleanest design specimen, but again, they sound great and Vintech is using quality components inside too.

    I do wish that there was some kind of LED indicator on at least the phantom switch. Not a deal killer though -- I just need to double-check these closely before plugging in mics.

  • from New York, USVI's, Miami September 12, 2011Music Background:
    Award winning producer/engineer/composer

    Steve Media Recording NY

    I've owned a pair of x73s. I love these, but decided to go 500 series for a PT HD rig for my Yacht Studio. Anyway, they don't sound as good as the x73's. They don't sound as full as the 73s and I miss a little of the sizzle on the top end, about at 16-20K.. But, they are vintech so built great and solid!

  • from Milwaukee April 14, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar playing 30+ years Digital recording since mid 90's

    Vintech 573

    The Vintech is warm and clean (well above middle of the road pre's)
    However my point of reference is a Shadow hills mono Gama.
    With the Shadow hills both mic/di I clearly he finger touch sensitivity and harmonic content that is just not there with the Vintech.
    Want a good pre buy the vintech, want a GREAT pre then spend the few extra bucks on the Shadow hills.

    Btw tracking was done into pro tools Native at 96/192Khz with blue gen converters.

    Cheers

  • from Los Angeles, CA September 5, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer and Touring Musician

    Not as good as other Clones

    In the world of 1073 clones there are so many pres to choose from. The Vintech is a decent preamp but not an accurate 1073 clone. I A/B it extensively with a real vintage 1073. It sound similar but there is an obvious difference. The highs are much more brittle and the way it breaks up and distorts are completely different from the real thing. If you want to save a couple bucks get the Vintech is you want something that actually sounds like a 1073 get the Heritage HA73jr or the AMS Neve lb In controlled blind test of the 573 vs Heritage vs AMS vs Vintage 1073 four different engineers in my control room picked either the Heritage or the HA73jr every single example.

    Tracks drums, guitar, DI bass and vocals on a UAD Apollo 16

    It you want the really 1073 sound don't waste your time with the 573

Questions about the Vintech tweed57 Microphone Preamp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway