0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Rupert Neve Designs 551 Inductor Equalizer Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs 551 Inductor Equalizer?

Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs 551 Inductor Equalizer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 6, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarrist, home studio owner, amateur audio engineer.

    Great eq

    I am a newbie into serie 500 stuff, so i am getting modules to make a one channel device. I started with the dbx 520 and 560A, to use it with vocals and instruments. Then, i got the bbe sonic maximizer, to make my sounds come to life (i first knew the bbe with my guitar, and i love it!). The Radial extc came to me, to add the sound of my several guitar effects into my tracks. The next buy was this eq .... i know it is a three band eq and it is expensive, but i wanted to have an eq with its personality, which can bring to life my tracks, an eq with no harshness on high trebble settings, etc ...... well, this eq can achieve it! I am not a studio owner and also an audio engineer, i am a guitarrist who loves to record his band with the best sound possible. I always knew that this 551 would never dissapoint me, so i went for it, now i am happier than a dog with two tails!

  • from FL November 17, 2016

    The Best

    I use this for vo and wow. Just plugging it into the signal chain makes the voice sound better. The inductors give the 551 a very 'Pultec' type of feel with broad strokes rather than precision eq'ing. If your vocal chain already sounds good, but you're looking for amazing, get the Neve 551.

  • from November 1, 2016

    Rupert Neve 551

    Sounds super sweet and amazing!!!! I've got this baby following a 511 pre and feeding various tube compressors and I can't get enough of it. It's a very colorful piece, so don't buy if you don't want an eq that will impart its own character into your mix. For the rest of us, once you hear how material sounds going through it, a second one will make the wish list. Probably won't take you too long to dial in "that sound" with this puppy. Vocals are sounding soooo lush no matter if it's paired with my hardware compressors or Plug-ins of choice. Have also gotten killer Kick, Snare, and Bass results. By it, you'll want to use it everywhere too!

  • from Earth August 9, 2016Music Background:
    Always Learning

    EXCELLENT

    Great clarity on the highs. Great low end power. Great mids with lots of versatility. Great vintage warmth and saturation. It's an all-around studio quality EQ.

    I almost wen with the Great River EQ for less $. It had more tone-shaping capability than the Neve but I really wanted the warm vintage saturation of a classic console. I picked up a pair of these EQ's and it was a big investment for a hobbyist like myself but well worth the money.

  • from Puerto Rico November 24, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Grammy voting member

    Surgical, magic

    Very intuitive eq. So simple to operate. So versatil. Anything from vocals, to a room, it pics up just what you want, how you want. Does not dissapoint. Well.......it is Neve after all.

  • from North Hollywood ca April 20, 2015Music Background:
    Profesional engineer / producer

    Great eq

    Do you a want vibey, tonal, super useful eq in you 500 series rack? Look no further. This eq is the king. Haven't found something it doesn't work well for.

    I will say, it's not really a fixer eq. It can work with some mid buildup, but overall this is not a triage eq. The top end is amazing, smoothest highs and a ton of versatility from the shelf and peak options. The bottom is huge but tight, and the mid range can add clarity and focus to anything (I especially love it on guitars).

  • from Pensacola, FL August 19, 2014Music Background:
    19 Years Experience Audio Engineer, Recording Engineer, Producer, Musician

    The Magic of Neve

    Have used a Neve console before, this 500 Series EQ module designed by Rupert Neve himself is absolutely amazing. Whether you're a home studio engineer, or run a commercial studio, the signature tone sound of a Neve console is affordable for all! Make you own "sound city" Neve channel strip today!

  • from Santa Fe, NM April 8, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Producer, Engineer

    All around Neve goodness

    This is the great Neve eq available in 500 series module without any shortcuts. No brainer.

  • from Chicago March 21, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer

    Rupert Does It Again

    They really knocked it out of the park with this piece. I absolutely love this EQ. Truly sounds amazing. So far I've used it to track vocals and it's just made them sound bigger, thicker, smoother, or even airy but not harsh. IMO, a no-brainier addition to your lunchbox rig.

Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs 551 Inductor Equalizer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway