0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

EVH 5150 III 50-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Amp - Ivory Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the EVH 5150 III 50-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Amp - Ivory?

Questions about the EVH 5150 III 50-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Amp - Ivory?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Cali Mtns (near Tahoe) February 2, 2017Music Background:
    Hobbyist gone to mad music scientist...

    5150 & Line 6 Helix-The Dynamic Duo

    Love it!

    This with Helix in 4 cable mode is the sweetest set up ever. The options are limitless.
    I wanted both the digital and tube amp realm and I could not ask for more.

    I was surprised to see how unclean this amp is. I mean you can't get a crystal clear setting...unless u r running your clean into the preamp only. I kinda like this as it makes the preamp a 4th channel for me to run the Helix alone. Then 3 choices of dirt.

    Power scaling, reverb, smaller package still with the punch in the mouth u expect. Djent to Jazz this can do it. With the Helix, it's double the pleasure incredible and all you need for everything!

    Thank u Patrick S!!! ext1319

  • from IN November 12, 2016

    Killer Amp

    This is the best amp on the market!!! this amp sounds awesome on the clean channel especially with a little reverb which sounds awesome. Channel 2 I use for blues like SRV and rock bands like Motley Crue. Channel 3 is my favorite channel because I play a lot of heavy metal music and sound is unbelievable! With this amp there is no need for any pedals because the amp does is all. I like how versatile the amp is by being able to lower the watts and even with the watts lowered it sounds awesome. Moving on Sweetwater is the best place to buy all your music gear. My Sales Engineer is Matt Masek I always get the best customer service and price. I would recommend this amp and Sweetwater to everyone.

  • from Nashville TN March 16, 2016Music Background:
    hard rock/heavy metal

    great amp

    great amp from metal to jazz or blues or 80's shred stuff. amazing cleans this amp rocks better than most any Marshall amp:) modern metal bands uses these guys now check it out. it comes super close to the 5150 1 and 5150 ii but more tighter tone

  • from Huntington September 2, 2015

    Awesome!!!

    The EVH 5150 III is the best amp on the market!!! From the sweetest sounding clean channel to blazing overdrive channel the 5150 is awesome!!! If you are looking for a amp that can do it all the 5150 is it. Also Sweetwater is the best place to purchase any music equipment the are educated about music gear and customer service is second to none!!

  • from St. Pete Florida January 27, 2015Music Background:
    Classical, Rock, Metal

    Wow

    Don't buy this because you've searching for that brown sound all your life. Buy it because it's the baddest amp ever made, Crystal clear cleans to the meanest shred you've ever heard. No more pedal swapping to get great gain. This gives you more than enough and twice as much on Sunday. Had mine for a year and can't be happier. Geoff at Sweetwater helped me with everything. He is the man. Don't wait. JUST GO BUY ONE...NOW!

  • from grand blanc mi. September 12, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    all i can say is

    from chickin pickin to shredding, this 5150lll is just....... BAD ***! BUY IT!

  • from November 21, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    So many tonal possibilities

    This is my first actual amp I have ever purchased. Before I was dabbling in amp simulation and while amp simulation is close it can't produce the roar that thing has.I bought this amp mainly because of the power scaling feature and it's 3 channels. The power scaling works just fantastically, I can go from ear bleeding 50 watts all the way down to 1 watt which is still really loud all while maintaining the same tone. The power scaling does decrease headroom but that's expected it just adds a little breakup sooner. As far as the channels go you have 3 channels. The clean channel stays clean as long as you keep the gain pretty low. I found out that with my guitar on the neck pickup and the gain set somewhere between 8 and 9 o'clock gets a great clean. Any more gain sends the clean into a low gain crunch channel. Chanel two is the official crunch channel but man this channel is voice extremely well and with a tube screamer you can easily get this to be a unique sounding lead. The lead channel is pure metal. There's so much gain on this channel, maybe too much. I tend to keep my gain around 9 and 10 o'clock and still it's a lot of gain. In regards to the lead channel this is my first amp so I'm not sure how gain is supposed to react but on this amp the gain knob dives right into face melting high gain there is not gradual increase from low to high. Also keep in mind that channels one and two share an EQ and there is a volume jump from the clean to the crunch, I can get over this because I use this for the studio but if I needed to do gig this can be problem. This thing is compact but it is also big for a combo I would say it's a little less than the size of a half stack. I forgot to add this combo also has a pretty decent sounding reverb that goes great with the clean channel. Overall it's been an amazing experience and the folks at Sweetwater are an amazing bunch.

  • from May 29, 2015Music Background:
    Berklee educated guitar teacher, years of band experience

    Excellent Amp All Around

    I needed an amp for studio recording but wasn't interested in a half stack which seemed like overkill for my purposes. After much searching for the right combo amp I came across the EVH 5150 III. The price for me is just right, it's a quality amp so it isn't cheap, but it's not several thousand like others I've seen which is more than I wanted to spend. The 5150 is a classic name in hard rock and metal so I figured it would suit my style well and didn't seem like a huge risk to buy.

    It was a great decision and has features I really enjoy that other amps don't have. The most notable is the power knob which acts as an attenuator. Basically you can set the amp all the way down to 1 watt if you want, or have it set at the full 50 watts or anywhere in between. The idea behind this is when set down to 1 watt you get the fully driven tube sound without the overall volume being incredibly loud. That's always been the only real draw back with tube amps: you have to have them really loud before the tubes color the sound and they start to really sound good. Not a problem for some people, but I think it's really nice to be able to use an amp and have it sound great without shaking the walls at the same time. On a side note, if shaking the walls is what you are after, this amp gets very very loud, easily can be used as a stage amp and cut through just fine I have no doubts.

    It has basically three different gain sounds, channel 1 with gain turned up gives a nice dirty bluesy sound, Im very impressed actually with the bluesy capabilities this amp has considering it's name is so associated with hard rock and metal. Channel 2 has a nice clean overdrive sound that should fit hard rock and metal rhythm sections just fine, Channel 2 on this amp has as much gain as most other amps pushed to their limit. Channel 3 is just a ton of overdrive, perhaps too much. However Channel 3 with gain set at about half way is a great lead tone which would be my personal recommendation. I think rhythm playing on Channel 3 would be too muddy, but for leads it sounds really nice and there is certainly no shortage of gain if that is what you are after. As a matter of fact, this amp has more overdrive/gain than any other amp I have ever played, when maxed out it's simply too much for almost any application, but that's a good thing because it means you have a wide range to choose from. There is a knob in the back that allows you to adjust the bass response. This is another excellent feature that allows you to adjust bass resonance to match your volume and tone, and again allows the amp to sound great even at low volumes. Very nice!

    The clean setting is the only place where I have a complaint and deducted a half a star from the rating. The clean sound is nice, but sounds slightly dirty to my ears no matter how far down you turn the gain knob. If you fiddle with it enough you can get a nice sounding clean tone, but it does take some effort and you have to have the gain knob almost completely off to achieve it. Unfortunately it's not as easy and turning the gain to zero, because that kills the volume completely, so you have to find the sweet spot where you don't lose all your volume yet the clean still sounds clean. If you are really into a nice beautiful clean tone I wouldn't say this is the right amp for you, however I doubt many people are hugely concerned with clean tone when looking at a 5150, it's made for rock and metal through and through. I also took off the half star because the reverb is a digital effect and sounds like it, it's just not very natural sounding though it isn't awful, just kind of average. However when added to the lead channel it sounds pretty good, but nothing special.

    In closing if you are looking for a rock/metal amp this is a real beast, it is super loud yet the power level knob and bass adjustment allows for the same tone at low volumes which is an excellent feature. There is a world of gain to choose from here, however cleans are just so-so. Very much worth the money if you are into rock/metal, or to a lesser extent blues. The 5150 is a classic and there is a good reason for it, and this version lives up to its name.

  • from Springfield, MA USA August 14, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nearly Perfect

    I'm going to keep this short and to the point.

    The tones are great on this amp, I favor them over my 100w Mesa Roadster head. That's saying something.

    This amp is LOUD!! I've had a 100w 2x12 Marshall JVM that sounds half as loud as this 50w head!! Even dialed down to 1w this thing can still rattle the wood and glass in your house.

    However, there are a few suggestions that I would make to Fender to make this amp perfect:

    1) Put an on/off for the Effects Loop on the included foot switch
    2) Fix the Standby Switch (on & off reversed, or different from manual)
    3) The digital reverb sounds a bit wonky for my tastes (but perhaps only at lower power settings)

    Overall though, I would recommend this amp to anyone considering buying one.

Questions about the EVH 5150 III 50-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Amp - Ivory?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway