0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Behringer Xenyx 502 Mixer Reviews

4.0 stars based on 28 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer Xenyx 502 Mixer?

Questions about the Behringer Xenyx 502 Mixer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • T Gomez
    from California February 2, 2017Music Background:
    Experience guitar player

    Perfect solution for Old Amp

    I have a 1988 Fender Chorus amp with old style inputs, specifically headphone and no Aux. I wanted to play my iPad thru the amp, play along while using my head phones. Sweetwater offered the Behringer 502 as the solution and it worked great.I have more flexibility in that I can hear music in my right ear and my guitar on the left, plus full volume and tone control over both. Fantastic product at a low cost.

  • Chris S
    from Independence, OH January 10, 2017

    Great Mixer for Headphones at Work

    I've been using one of these for the past two years to mix the audio from my computer and music from my phone into some ATH-M50 headphones at work. I've had zero issues this whole time and for the price it sounds great! I like that it it doesn't have EQ on the 1/4" inputs. The only thing that would be nice to have on it would be a power switch. I have it plugged in to a power strip that I turn on and off each night to get around that.

  • Matthew Lee
    from Bella Vista, AR December 22, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Leader.

    Great

    Behringer gives you the best bang for you buck as always. Great products. This unit is doing well since we purchased it. We are using as a monitoring solution for our drummer. Working great and is quiet and clean.

  • Customer
    from October 10, 2015Music Background:
    Classic rock bass player

    Xenyx 502 in place of in ears

    The Behringer line has some really nice mixers. This is the second one I have bought. This particular mixer is used in place of in ear monitors and it works great for practice. It is impractical for me to use in a live gig situation since I move around a lot during a performance. But using the Xenyx 502 beats the socks off of my stage in ear monitors. The sound is clear and the tone is the best I have heard. Our drummer, keyboard player and guitarist all use this mixer at practice and in live situations. This works for them because they are all stationary. Like I said, the mixer is a no-brainer and sounds great with a warm tone that you will enjoy.

  • Customer
    from July 7, 2015

    Way to go!

    this mixer is great! It does the job with no problems. It has a good amount of inputs if you just connect a MP3 player and a mic. The power cord is long enough so that you do not have to have a extension cord. It has 2 1/4" out puts for the main output. It is left and right. Buy this mixer! You will get your money's worth.

  • Katrina
    from Brooklyn, NY November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Keyboardist

    Sweetwater delivers the best again!

    Chris Carter is a great sales engineer. For the past two years, I've been working directly with Chris regarding my equipment needs and each time, he not only recommends but walks me through the benefits of items that best fits my needs. This Behringer Xenyx 502 has been an amazing compact yet powerful addition to my studio as I've gone 100% soft synth. Chris continues to check in to make sure I am maximizing my mixer. I look forward to placing more orders and working directly with Chris in the near future!

  • Jim Rogers
    from Prescott, AZ November 5, 2014Music Background:
    One time audio engineer and technical guru at the high end.

    Perfect in so many ways!

    At this time I'm ghost writing books for others who have no ability to tell their own story. For my latest project I flew to Texas to interview my client. The interviews were recorded on my Tascam DR-07 recorder, but I needed a way to use a lavalier mic, so I got the Xenyx 502 since I needed something that I could easily pack in my luggage.

    While my lav mic was a little noisy, this mixer was quiet and very nice. My setups were a breeze, and my client saw me as professional and gained an overall high sense of confidence in me. I only needed one mic preamp, but the other 3 source inputs allow this to be used for other things, such as a mixer to feed a little power amp for my writing sound system.

    Overall, I would recommend this to anyone who only needs ONE mic preamp, but needs to mix other sources into it as well. You could just as easily use it to feed audio to a video camera too... which is something I have planned for this as well.

  • william buttry
    from new madrid mo January 8, 2014Music Background:
    sound man hobbyist and student to the world

    as advertised

    excellent product it is awesome it say not able to hook up to computer but I beg to differ it is easy to run it through the computer use rca jacks with a headphone jack on it and run it into the microphone jack and to the output beside the green yellow and red scale then plug in your mic in the input on your channels you want there all done use your regular program to mix your stuff and to hook up music through your board run it to the mono output on channel 2 or 3 and it will come out in stereo on your speakers use a1/4 inch in the board and 3.5mm to your ipad or in my case my kindle

  • David May
    from TN March 14, 2016Music Background:
    Christian worship music/pro audio

    Used as headphone amp for IEM's

    We just bought several of these and a couple other models of small Xenyx mixers to use as personal headphone amps for in ear monitor mixes. These are cheaper than most headphone amps, and they come with a few extra features as a bonus. We feed it from our StudioLive RM and it gives each band member a volume and quick EQ for a wired in ear feed. Sound quality is excellent and they seem to be reliable so far. The band can choose to sit them on the floor near their spot on stage, on a music stand, or on their amps for instance. We just use an 8th inch extender cable to wire the in ears to the phones output of of these mixers. The only thing I wish was different is the main mix knob also affects the phones level. One person used a powered wedge from the main output, in addition to ears from the phones output, so it would be nice if these worked independently. But it's no big deal, as she can get her in ears at the level she wants, then turn the volume of the powered wedge itself up or down.

  • Customer
    from Brooklyn, NY February 12, 2016Music Background:
    Retired High school band and-orchestra director

    Great mixer if you don 't need reverb or separate EQ on each cannel

    Great little mixer without reverb & Separate EQ for each channel.

  • Customer
    from March 21, 2015

    Behringer Xenyx 502

    This mixer is used for an L + R mix from a PC. (We did not want to use a software PC Mixer to make the system PC "agnostic".)

    The mixer works great and we can occasionally plug in another mic.

    This is my second "502" mixer and I recommend it to folks needing a small simple mixer with good performance.

  • Geoff Lambert
    from August 23, 2014Music Background:
    Retired semi pro musician

    Mighty Mini Mix

    This is a great little mixer giving me flexibilty to mix a Roland RA90 with a Viscount DB3 Organ Module for versatile sounds in church services. Also use this with headphones for practising and the output for Roland and Boss recorders. Read many poor reviews of this product, which are completely unfounded, which I dismissed before purchasing. This is a great product at good value for money. Suggest you switch the mixer on before firing up audio amps.

  • M Houlihan
    from Fort Wayne, IN July 24, 2014Music Background:
    Forever a fan of Buddy Cole!

    Exactly what I needed

    I needed an inexpensive, entry-level mixer to send line level output from an electronic organ (Yamaha HX-1), and audio from a virtual pipe organ program on my computer to the organ's KA-20 speakers. Using the 2/3 input to accept the Yamaha output, and the 4/5 input for the computer's output (via a Hosa CMP-159 cable), I can simply dial up whichever input source I'd like to hear, or even blend the two for some interesting effects. I then decided to use the RCA output jacks on the Xenyx 502 to connect a powered Yamaha subwoofer for even more bass response. Love it!

  • john herndon
    from cabot, ar February 28, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Beringer Xenyx 502 mixer

    Great product. Beringer quality in miniature. Can listen to my keyboard silently and actually send the notes I play to my guitarpro 6 software, then listen to the playback from the software on my headphones. I'm very pleased. Thanks for he advice Karl. You're a sharp dude.

  • David
    from Sylvan Lake, MI January 31, 2013Music Background:
    Home studio musician and songwriter

    Xenyx 502

    Great little unit. It has most of the features that I was looking for. The only reason for the 4.5 instead of the 5.0 is that it does not support 48 v, and I overlooked that as I was making my decision. Using cardoid instead of condenser mikes still works out well for my purposes: a Studio B in my bedroom.

  • Keith Hellman
    from Colorado, USA January 19, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur Live Sound Engineer (Hobbyist)

    Excellent Product

    This is an excellent piece of equipment. I'd like a *little more* mic preamp, but the what's there is high quality (no distortion). For the price this is a great deal for anyone needing small scale but high quality mixer.

  • Jerry
    from Iowa March 7, 2017Music Background:
    Rock band in the late 70's and early 80's. Off and on basement fun since!

    Just what I needed.

    I needed a simple inexpensive mixer to play my guitar and stereo or PC metronome through for headphone use. I just started playing again after 4 years and need to build up every aspect of playing and use a small bedroom for practice. This Behringer 502 did the job very well.

  • Jorge Kutev
    from February 7, 2017Music Background:
    musician, sound engineer

    sirve para muchas cosas

    Hay que especificar - es una consola de trabajo en vivo! No se recomienda para grabar profesionalmente un micrófono porque el preamp es demasiado ruidoso. Capaz un bajo o guitarra, donde el señal es mas fuerte, pero para esto existen los DI box. Yo encendí la consola y sin conectar nada solo subí el volumen del canal, volumen master, el gain y el ecualizador en agudos y graves. El resultado era un hiss increíble.
    Para vivo es una consola muy versátil. Se puede usar para mezclar dos teclados en vivo, como preamp de audífonos para bateristas, donde el músico puede escuchar el click del metrónomo mientras que toca y sincronizar su interpretación con el. Se puede usar para músicos que tocan o cantan con playback donde en el primer canal vamos a enchufar nuestro micrófono o instrumento. O para un guitarrista que canta en el mismo tiempo. Yo lo compré para tocar bajo con audífonos por la noche. También me sirvió para clases de bajo donde puedo enchufar dos instrumentos en las entradas de linea y mezclarles en el cubo. Inclusive se puede usar en estaciones de radio para conexión entre el locutor y la mesa de sonido.
    El as debajo de la manga es el phantom power. Está presente en el primer canal aunque no tiene botón de encendido.
    Lo que echo de menos en esta consola - el aux send con estéreo return. Para trabajar en entorno casero con guitarra o bajo sería muy útil. Prefería eliminar un canal estéreo pero tener esta opción.
    La construcción es de metal - muy robusta y no da impresión que se va a romper en el siguiente día. La alimentación es externa, lo que previene de influencias electromagnéticas no deseables.
    En general - una consolita muy versátil que puede utilizarse en un montón de situaciones, mientras que no se pretenda grabar profesionalmente con ella.

  • William E Graham
    from Salem, Oregon August 14, 2013Music Background:
    I play guitar, trumpet, banjo mandolin and am 77 years old.

    Low phantom power not a problem

    Behringer puts unswitched phantom power on most of their XLR mic inputs, but it is too low a voltage to hurt non concensor mics.. (less than 15 volts) I use this unit on my computer desk to rout my audio to my equipment rack. It gives me the option of mixing other signals, (such as my miked horns) into the signal path. It does the job well and has a small footprint, which I need for a crowded desktop.

  • Brian Koenig
    from Lincoln, NE May 14, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Behringer Xenyx 502

    Simple to setup. Plenty of connections. Sounds great. Only reason not five stars: As it is set up in my bedroom, wish it had an off button to turn off that bright blue light.

  • David
    from Bay Area, CA February 18, 2013Music Background:
    Recording, Live sound, Broadcast and Musician

    Solid little board but beware of +48v

    I bought this board to do demos for my sound class at the college I teach at. It has been extremely useful. I am able to demo what eq, gain and panning does. I had to buy out of my own pocket, so the price was right. The only scary thing was I could not find anything about this board having phantom power. I plugged in a Beyer M500 vintage ribbon mic and showed the class. Than I plugged in a Rode NT1 condenser. My jaw dropped when it worked. This means there is phantom power that is ALWAYS ON! It says nowhere on the board anything about this. Thankfully the Beyer ribbon survived the +48v.

  • Michael Faught
    from North Dakota July 21, 2012Music Background:
    live sound,acoustic treatment,electric bass

    Just what I was looking for

    Simple and easy to use. Quiet. Lots of features for the money.

  • ucnick
    from SF Bay Area November 5, 2015Music Background:
    Enthusiastic Amateur

    Pretty good for the $$

    Bought it last December to use as a mixer and headphone amp with my Kemper Profiler and an mp3 for woodshedding. Feature set is fine and worked good right out of the box, and the tone is clear with little noise, although a bit on the trebly side, After a year of using it 3 or 4 times a week, there is something going on with the phones jack, the left channel will cut out and I need to wiggle the 'phones plug to restore it. Couple other reasons it only got a 3.5: (1) there is no power switch and have to unplug it at the AC end to turn it off; and (2) the connector at the power inlet to the unit itself is not very god, it tends to loosen under the slightest motion and sets up an ungodly noise in my 'phones until I can get it back in. The power wires are very stiff (they seem to be solid, not stranded wire?!), as another reviewer had noted, so this happens more often than I would like.

    In general, I like Behringer gear and for the price, it is very hard to beat the Xenyx 502. That being said, I have recently gone to using a Mackie 402LVZ4, which I had purchased for another use but which has been freed up, it has a power switch and a solid locking mini-XLR power connector (as well as much more flexible power wires), and it doesn't seem to have as much highs as the Behringer, and I have come to the conclusion that I should have bought the 402LVZ4 in the first place. But, like I said, the Xenyx 502 is really hard to beat for the price.

  • Chuck
    from Tulsa March 6, 2016

    Xenyx502

    Just what I needed .. something that I can play along with tracs and simulate a regular practice... and not disturb anyone else in the house

  • lambchop
    from December 16, 2011

    Does what I need it to!

    I bought a number of these to use with the individual headphone mixes in our project studio so that we could have independent control over a click track. It works fine being able to control that signal against the regular headphone mix.

  • John
    from July 9, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Musician

    Behringer Xenyx 502

    Works fine as a headphone mixer but it does color the sound a bit (tends on the high side).

  • Ben
    from Chicago October 22, 2015

    Failed in front of 500 people

    I purchased this mixer as it was small enough to fit in my suitcase for mixing my looper pedal and Ipod during some upcoming European concerts. I tested it at home and it worked fine. When we went on at a recent festival, the mixer worked fine for sound-check and the first minute of the performance, then suddenly stopped and I saw its level meter peaking. Then it crackled back to life, working intermittently and noisily after I quickly unplugged/replugged it onstage. It failed at the next show as well and I had to bypass it completely and ended up leaving it behind in London so I would not have to drag it home. What did I expect for $40? Probably my last Behringer purchase. I should have sprung for the Mackie.

  • W. Steward
    from St.Louis October 15, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Review Behringer Xenyx 502

    VERY POOR quality. The only way I could get mine to work right out of the box was to hold the power
    plug in the back to get it to power up. Also found that both of the cables on the power supply they send with it are VERY stiff and very hard to manage as they want to go back to the same loops they
    where in when inside the box. Very sorry I bought this unit. I will not buy any Behringer devise again.

Questions about the Behringer Xenyx 502 Mixer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway