0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Rupert Neve Designs Portico 5017 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs Portico 5017?

Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs Portico 5017?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from San Diego June 1, 2017Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter Producer

    Get This Pre!

    Wow!
    If you're looking for a high end pre, don't need a ton of I/O's, and want a stellar sound... this is what you need.
    I plugged a KSM through an Apogee Element 24, and of course it had crips and clear sound... then I turned this puppy on and the light that came over my little brothers eyes (who isn't a music enthusiast of any sort) let me know this was a very worth while investment! So up front, warm, and amazing sound this gives. It took sound quality from pro, to ready to be released. With onboard compression you're looking at minimal to no post effects after recording. You NEED to get this pre. It's an absolute steal for the price and you will not be disappointed! Classic Neve sound for an unbelievable price!

  • from May 30, 2017Music Background:
    Berklee

    Love it!

    I have 6 months with this pre-amp! I love it! I think its super cheap for what i does..

  • from St Louis November 14, 2016

    Goodness

    This is a great sounding box. It is quite versatile. A telecaster DI with silk and compression is the best clean guitar sound ive ever had. If you are a singer songwriter like myself, you can use this box in so many ways youl want two!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN September 12, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter, Recording Hobbyist

    Pure Magic!

    I really wish I could put into words just what makes Rupert Neve gear, in my estimation, the best music gear around. Is it the pure fidelity across the entire frequency spectrum that their transformers so faithfully reproduce? Or is it some magical fairy dust from the 13th dimension of love? Is it the smooth edges of a super sweet silk circuit that overtakes you in a wave of creamy glory? Whatever it is, however they do it, I have to say NOTHING in this price range approaches the pure sonic sensuality of this Rupert Neve unit. I highly recommend this pure electronic witchery for recording vocals and direct boxing your acoustic guitar...at the same time! The comp is subtle, smooth and effective, and this thing has more head room than an NBA arena. You may never have occasion to turn the mic gain up more than a quarter of the way. That kind of head room. 5 Stars, Wow! Blown Away, are all applicable adjectives here, but I prefer just one: Magic! The only drawback: I no longer have any excuses for sub-par recrodings. Drat!

  • from June 14, 2016

    Worthwhile Investment

    I was looking for an upgrade to my vocal chain. I decided on the 5017 with assistance from my rep David. The term "Impressive" is an understatement! The Portico is extremely quiet, 'Present' Mids, smooth highs (especially with the silk mode). Paired with my Mojave MA-200, my vocal tracks (female radio-pop, male hip hop) sound incredible. Very little EQ necessary to make them shine (1073 emulation plugins). So incredibly pleased with this unit. I'm so ready now to build a lunchbox and seeing what else RND has to offer!

  • from Huntsville, AL November 20, 2015Music Background:
    40+ years singer / guitar player. Electrical engineer.

    Excellent Mic Pre

    I got this preamp with the Neumann TLM 103 kit and I'm very happy with it. (thrilled actually) I use it primarily for vocals and acoustic guitar and the features are perfect for this application. I'm also using an Apollo Twin Duo for recording to my computer, but the 5017 is my main vocal mic interface. From there I run balanced out to the line in on the Apollo and then on to Logic Pro on my mac. This is an ideal preamp for my purposes, and I particularly like the compressor and silk mode. You will not be disappointed if you invest in this great preamp. Some might consider it redundant given I have an Apollo Twin, but I initially wanted it for live performances, and then after experimenting with it, it became the heart of my vocal recording interface. I can't imagine a performance without it. Addiction is a terrible thing! Well, unless its a Portico 5017 and in that case it makes perfect sense. Hmmmmm. I bet it would do a number fattening up a tenor sax.....

  • from Sikeston, Missouri June 11, 2015Music Background:
    Project Studio Owner, Church Musical Director

    A truly professional piece for the project studio.

    So here's the deal - I own a small recording studio and I have been composing and recording for over 15 years. I have been crafting great-sounding music that comes fairly close to that "big-studio" sound but I always felt that my vocal tracks, acoustic guitar and live drum tracks lacked a little polish. I have decent mics and pres, a well-treated ( but not perfect) recording room, good monitors etc. I do extensive mix comparison on different systems and am generally able to get solid, translatable mixes that I am happy with. But it takes lots of tweaking and adjusting and often re-recording to get things how I like. Now I had my eye on the Portico series for some time now and finally I ordered one. I am a firm believer in the fact that gear does not make great recordings - people who learn to use their tools effectively and train their ears do.

    But the Portico has changed my mind a little. There is something very special about this unit. I can best describe it as a smooth, clear, professional sheen on vocals and acoustic guitar. I plugged my TLM-103 in a added some compression and I felt like I was in a million-dollar studio. The sound was rich and natural. The mic captured details of vocal inflection beautifully. Somehow the recording seemed more "alive" yet was surprisingly forgiving. I felt no need to add lots of eq and plug ins. A touch of reverb and it sounded great. When I did add some plug in effects it seemed to really make them shine. Same results with acoustic guitar and electric bass.

    My tracks are now easier to mix, and have a natural "big studio" sheen now. I cannot explain it all but I know the interaction of the Neve circuitry seems to bring the very best out of my mics and instruments.

    I still use my Liquid Channel and UA-solo mic pres, but the portico more often than not gets the job done with the least tweaking and fuss. And I can capture the sounds I have in my mind now.

    I recognize that every part of the recording chain plays a role. This mic pre is NOT a substitute for good performances, solid acoustic treatment and careful mix-referencing, but it does have some definite MAGIC that has taken my recordings to a new level!!

    Mr Rupert Neve I am a believer!

  • from Dallas, TX April 3, 2015

    Most versatile piece of gear in my studio!

    Amazing and thick vocal sound with a gorgeous mid presence and is also the best bass DI I have used. I love the Reddi, but this won after multiple shootouts. Also, try running this into the line-in of an LA-610 for EQ and compression and prepare to be blown away. Your welcome ;-)

  • from El Segundo, CA August 28, 2014Music Background:
    Band-leader, songwriter, engineer

    Great mic-pre! Neve magic... yes!

    Thank, God, Tony Dayton talked me into this one. I have been very happy with this. The direct recording on bass and guitars is stellar. Basically, on a bass you can run 1 direct and mic the cab and either do a blend or separate tracks. For me the separate tracks is better, because you have more control in the mix. Great on vocals... my goto mic-pre. Great value!

  • from Fla USA August 21, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Neve The King

    A Supremo Mic Pre . Very Nice Silk Feature And Unsurpassed
    Gain. I Was Gonna Build A Lunchbox But This Is All I Need.

  • from Brunswick, OH July 19, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Writer and Publisher

    BAD AS HELL EQUIPEMENT!

    This unit is amazing and we brought it during the show at Sweetwater for a great price and man was it worth the price. This unit makes my Neumann TLM 102 sound like gold! I can hear things that I have never heard before and the vocals sound thick and smooth. I would like to thank my salesmen "Vern Crews" for his advice. This unit is the bomb, I also purchased the Presonus Monitor Station V2 based on Vern's suggestion and he was right on target with that also. Thanks Sweetwater for your great salesmen and expertise.

  • from Florida June 22, 2013Music Background:
    More than thirty years pro/studio musician/recording

    Digital To Analog

    Well, not really digital to analog of course. But that's almost how I'd describe it (if you remember how realistic magnetic tape can sound minus the noise). This 5017 can also reduce the need for a lot of compression and limiting in the mixing phase which improves quality. It evens out bass tracks, smoothes out acoustic guitars, reduces condenser mic harshness, and makes for professional sounding vocal tracks. It's an expensive little box that's a real bargain if you are after high quality recorded sound. Single best add-on I've bought. JH

  • from La Verne, CA May 19, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Musician 35 years

    Sweet!

    Sweet Neve tone! The DI works great for Bass. The mic pre is awesome on vocals, acoustic guitar and sounds killer on elctric guitar as well. Lots of features in this little box 'o tone! Love the blend and the live acoustic guitar/vocalist ability. Improved my recordings exponentially. -jp

  • from Miami, FL USA February 8, 2012Music Background:
    Singer and Music Producer

    King Of Sound Mr. Neve

    The 5017 Portico, is a pre-amps, high quality compressor, I have tried several pre-amps, but nothing compares to Portico 5017 of the King of the sound Mr. Rupert Neve. Pre-amps is clean, large and graceful when you use it in voices, guitars, bass and all metal instrument and string. I use it with the Neumann TLM 102 MT and it sounds fantastic voices. try it and you see.

  • from Dallas/Ft Worth Texas November 14, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician, published Songwriter, Studio Owner, Gear Junkie

    NEVE IS PURE HEAVEN

    i cant believe i only paid 1000 bucks for this sound. i hooked it up to my sE Gemini 2 and i could only turn the gain up ONE NOTCH because the signal was so upfront! this unit gives you that Neve Sound at a price that is just hard to beat. i have had a few High Dollar Mic Pres in the last few years but i have never achieved the kind of Pure Vocal Heaven as i have with the Mobile Pre. and Guitars too.
    and its so easy to carry it to sessions elsewhere too! I wish i had made the move to NEVE years ago. AND SWEETWATER SHIPPED IT TO ME IN 3 DAYS! unheard of. THANKS AGAIN.

  • from Paonia March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Performer , sound engineer, studio owner.

    Very Pleased

    Simple put a great piece of gear. I use it as my main signal path for vocals and everything else. Basically for a grand you get a real deal pre / comp / DI and you can take it out live. I plugged it in ran signal through it for a few minutes and just committed to it. God knows my sales rep Jeff Barnett knows how hard it is for me to just be ok with gear immediately if ever. Leans pretty heavy towards smooth and round. Big surprise considering It's Rupert's ... that was a joke.

  • from greenville, MI May 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Compact, Versatile, Sounds Great

    I'll get the Cons out first: it's impossible to tell if it's on. There should have been an LED on there to let you know it's on. Same with the Silk and Comp and Phase. Unless it's right on your desk in front of you, it's hard to distinguish when they are activated.

    That said: it sounds great. The comp is perfect for adding just a dab on vocals, which is my primary use for this preamp. an HPF is always welcome. It's warm, but modern.

    It's compact enough to fit in a shoulder bag so you don't have to get a separate case that screams "thousand dollar musical gear in here!" The size and ability to set internal jumpers to affect how the DI and Mic In work together make this easy to gig with in a solo setting; it's an all-in-one solution.

  • from New York December 2, 2013Music Background:
    Graphic designer

    Rupert Neve 5017 mic pre

    Very smooth, Just like other Neve gear.

Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs Portico 5017?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway