0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Rupert Neve Designs Portico 5012 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs Portico 5012?

Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs Portico 5012?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from asheville nc August 6, 2014Music Background:
    sony/jive recording artist...producer...multi instrumentalist

    workhorse!!

    Simple controls...easy recall...beautiful tone.....built like a tank....sleek design.....i have been in and out of studios all my life and have been recorded through tons of pres (from millenia to ssl to hardy Andy everything in between) and it's easy for me to see that my new neve portico is going to be a serious workhorse in my new studio. thus far I have only sent vocals and bass through this bad boy but I can tell it is going to perform on any source. One of my favorite features of this pre is the silk button......want it colored? turn it on. Need transparency? Turn it off. I would recommend this to anyone of any studio size. This whole portico line is a grand slam.

  • from Chicago, IL October 14, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Mixing/Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Love it

    It is a Humble preamp that is clean transparent and my go to on a lot of applications from over heads to vocals, to guitars you name it. Anything can sound crisp clear through this preamp. A lot of people would say the silk doesn't do much to the ear but I know when I enable the silk option I get a warmer more vintage feel from the pre because it is adding some low harmonic information to signal . if you want a solid preamp that is clean transparent and reliable and wont disappoint this is it.

  • from New York, NY October 17, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Amazing Pres

    You just can't go wrong with these pres. They work on every source you put through them.
    The Silk button adds a nice smooth bottom end. The HPF filters are perfect for varied sources.
    The stepped gain and variable trim knobs keep recall easy and make precise adjustments easy.
    The sound is so clear and smooth. Snares and kicks sound nice and fat.

  • from Miami Florida October 3, 2009Music Background:
    Enrique Iglesias, Shakira, Santana, Lester Mendez, among others

    Amazing Sounds

    Have great sound almost equal to those 1073.
    Super punch for the price

  • from cherry hill, new jersey September 11, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    This product is amazing!

    Ok so if you read my review on the portico before i reviewed the grace m101 as better on a different post. but i guess i was wrong. who knows what i was doing wrong. cause the portico does have a great air to it and depth to it that the grace m101 doesnt really have. it just has that very high quality preamp sound to it. make sure you get a good mic to, to go with it. i use the brauner phanthera and together there both awesome!

  • from Europe January 19, 2009

    A rare excellence...AMAZING SOUND

    This preamp is a must have if you like that big expensive sound. It sounds better than my Great River one channel pre, and alot smoother than my Focusrite ISA. The sound is silky smooth on vocals, it just melts things in a nice way. The bottom end is huge, and the air this thing blows out is just incredible. I have used this unit on both female and male vocals, voice overs, acoustic guitar, synths, and some other sources. I wish it had some eq, but I needed two preamps in a small box for portability. It seems to be my to-go preamp now, and I am looking to sell my Focusrite soon. The fact that Rupert Neve designed this unit for todays working engineers, this is a quality standout.

  • from April 5, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Songwriter, Performer

    Very Nice Rupert.

    Yummy

  • from Los Angeles, CA May 12, 2011Music Background:
    Composer / Producer

    Good sound, but not what I expected

    I got this device with the thought that since Rupert Neve himself designed this, it would have that 'neve' quality I heard when I rented (and loved) a neve 1272 previously. In that respect I was disappointed as it was not a 'night and day' difference that I was seeking from my current pre-amp, the difference was extremely subtle, and not enough to justify the cost. The 'silk' button's effect was barely noticeable as well.
    In all fairness, I was seeking a very flavored pre-amp, not a clean one. Otherwise however, it is a good pre-amp providing a fantastic signal / noise ratio. It was nice only having to turn up the volume knobs only two clicks to get a clean, large signal (as opposed to my current pre where it has to hit 12 o'clock to start working).

  • from March 17, 2016

    Great Sound, Short lived hardware

    I purchased 2 of the Portico 5012's and 2 of the 5043s exactly 25 months ago and one of each has failed already. If you need a device for less than two years these do have a fantastic quality sound to them. They are easy to use and have the options needed to get the sound you want. Rupert Neve support was helpful and knew immediately what the problem was and sent us a replacement dc/dc converter. This must be a repeat issue. Unfortunately removing the old part was very difficult and it won't be worth doing on the second unit that went bad and it only has a 12 month warranty.

Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs Portico 5012?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway