0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Electro-Harmonix 44 Magnum 44-watt Power Amp Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Electro-Harmonix 44 Magnum 44-watt Power Amp Pedal?

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix 44 Magnum 44-watt Power Amp Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Pacific Northwest January 24, 2017

    44 Magnum Power Amp

    This amp is wonderful. For folks who are tired of transporting heavy equipment around, like I have for decades, this amp is blessing.

    I purchased this to drive an Avatar G110, housing an Eminence Lil Buddy 10", 50W speaker. The simplicity of this amp is a blessing since it allows me to put together my own sound shaping modules - which gives me flexibility to alter my sound easily and effectively.

    It is very quiet when the correct input/output cable combinations are used, i.e. instrument in, speaker out in the most simple of cases.

    I have several pedals that I use as input to this amp and collectively it all works great.

    I would not purchase any other amp going forward and plan on purchasing another for backup as well as a stereo driven setup for home practice.

    Thanks again for the great service.

  • from Lafayette, Georgia January 6, 2017

    Simply amazing

    I'm running an RK5 fly rig into this and into a 1x12 cabinet. This thing is amazing. Nice and clean up to about half way. Pretty loud too. Running it past that then you get break up and natural distortion but not a real increase of volume. Fear not though this is loud enough to gig with in most cases. Everyone should have one of these to use with pedals or multi effects.

  • from Texas September 10, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician, but not may day job

    Small Package, Big Results

    Really impressed with the little (but big) Magnum 44. I use a Kemper profiling amp and needed a way to drive a monitor while going direct out through the Kemper. I have tested and used the Magnum to drive a Marshall 1x12 cabinet and also a big Mesa 4x12 cabinet and the results are great. It doesn't color the tone at all unless you flip the bright switch on, so you gig the sound you are after through your monitor. But this little pedal will drive the Mesa 4x12 without any problems whatsoever. In fact, I haven't even turned it up past 1/4 turn, it'll get loud quickly. I am very happy with this purchase and as always, Bob Furlong from Sweetwater rocks!

  • from Florida August 10, 2016

    This little thing is LOUD and clean.

    Absolutely blown away. I've been playing for 15 years now. Have owned a few halfstacks. Have had a few combos. Now I have a Panama 2x12, pod hd500x, and this thing. The combination is simply amazing. I can get any sound I want and it really sound professional. I absolutely love it.

  • from Space Coast Florida February 11, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Musician and engineer

    44 Magnum Kicks Butt

    I now have two of these to power my stereo effects speakers when I play live. These are very cool LITTLE amplifiers. I'm using it with a Fender X2 Champ speaker cabinet and it plays plenty loud but you should hear this driving a Marshall 1960 4x12 speaker, whoaaaaa, very big sound from this amp the size of a pack of cigarettes. The power supply is bigger than the amplifier but it's not a deal breaker by any means. I love these little amplifiers. The Sweetwater deal made them a lot better!

  • from February 10, 2016

    good tiny amp

    I got this to use in my home studio. I wanted something simple to replace my setup using the return input of a tube amp's fx loop. It does the job very well. I guess it could be a good amp for products like Kemper or Helix. I wish it was available as a rack mount device.

  • from Chicago January 12, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist

    HOLY ****!!!!!!

    All I can say is WOW!!!! I was absolutely floored at how loud this little guy was even at a low volume! Probably the best clean power you will ever need to run your pedal board (I'm using it to run my POD HD500X). Definitely worth every bit!

  • from Texas September 9, 2015Music Background:
    gigging professional, Church Guitarist "Grace Bible Church," studio endineer and session player, Mild Mannered Elementary Music Teacher by day

    Follow up to "WOW- WAY TOO COOL"

    I forgot to mention that my sales engineer "Carson McClain" was the one who sold me on this small but lethal power amp. I asked his opinion on the matter and told him that i was going to run my Zoom G5 in front of it and then into a 1x12 sealed cabinet, and Carson stated that this would be a great addition to my sound. Like I said, I'm grabbing another one of these to run stereo and also as a back-up for my church gig....

    Kudos to Sweetwater and Carson... Thanks again guys...

    Manny

  • from Texas September 5, 2015

    WAY TO COOL!!!!

    OKAY, so I had a gig at a private party on a Friday night and before I went I checked my mailbox and there was my new Magnum 44 power amp. I had already loaded up my Fender Princeton 1972 model... so anyhow.. when I got to the gig I decided to run the magnum 44 instead of my fender.... OMG!!!!!! THIS LITTLE AMP/PEDAL KICKS SOME SERIOUS BUTT!!!!! I ran it just below the 9 o'clock position and it was stinking load!!!! But yet I felt it had plenty of headroom if I needed more juice... anyhow... if you ever thought of getting one of these, YOU SHOULD..... it can be a great back up amp or your main gig amp... I am going to grab another one so that I can run my rig in stereo....no more lugging my old fender or my other back up amp.... WOW is all I can say..

  • from June 21, 2015

    Upgrading from a 22 Caliber

    Recently I bought the 44 Mag's younger brother, the 22 caliber (which sadly is no longer produced). I got a great deal for a functional but beat up Ebay variety and didn't expect much. I have to say--cranked up most of the way, through a home built 2x10 open back cab with Celestions, this thing really cranks. It's clean and strong up to about 2/3 of the way and then starts to distort/overdrive. (this is why I like the small amps--you can crank them to overdrive, but not go deaf from the volume)

    If the 44 has the same flavor, but louder, I am certain that it is exactly what I need. The younger brother 22Caliber is perfect for livingroom blasting. The 44 could actually power a small venue. I'm very happy with the smaller model, and seems to have withstood a lot of undue abuse. The 44 is going to be fantastic.

  • from Georgia April 17, 2015Music Background:
    Bassist, keyboardist, vocalist: officially in about 4 bands, subbing in a few others.

    Maximum Satisfaction

    As an older (67 yrs) bass player, I'm learning to appreciate the virtue of smaller and lighter equipment more with each gig. I plugged this little unit into my Bag End 10" and also my SWR 4x8 cabinets and was amazed at the volume and clarity of the sound. Tried it with my Martin Sigma acoustic-electric bass, my Cecelio electric upright and with my Music Man StingRay 5. Wow! the electric acoustics sounded huge, strong and clear-- just like they sound when I'm practicing unplugged, only louder-- and you crank the volume and get that old school saturation. Just for fun, I put my ancient Ibanez Bass graphic EQ between the guitar and the 44, and was rewarded with even juicier possibilities. Haven't had a chance to gig with it yet, but it seems loud enough for many of the coffee house/blues club gigs I do, and I can walk in the door with my gig bag containing bass and amp in one hand, and my small but powerful 10" cabinet in the other. I highly recommend it.

  • from San Diego November 24, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging musician, tone snob

    Could not believe my ears!

    I bought this little guy after blowing a fuse mid-gig on my tube amp head -- figured it would make for an easy back-up way to get through a gig if it happened again. It arrived today, I plugged it into a speaker cab...

    ...and I could not believe my ears. It sounds amazing. I'm running my Tech21 Fly Rig (with Sansamp, Plexi overdrive, reverb, and delay) into it, and the tone is fantastic -- every bit as tube-like as my actual amp head.

  • from Beardstown IL Area July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Have Played Guitar For 25 Years

    Who Would Have Known

    I tried this pedal out over the 4th Of July weekend and could not believe that a stomp box size power amp could sound this good with just a volume knob and a bright switch, but it does. I ran my pedalboard into it using my Mesa Boogie Toneburst pedal to function as a preamp. I ran 1 JCA12S and 1 JCA12S+ 1x12 speaker cabs on the output side and WOW. It recommends running it into an 8ohm speaker cab and mine are 16ohm each and this thing makes them talk with a strat copy and a Squier Classic Vibe Tele. You can also run an active EQ pedal into it for more tweaking ability. I have also read that other reviewers found this little jewel to work nicely with multieffect pedals. I can't wait to try it out with the new Line 6 Amplifi FX100 Floorboard. Now I just have to try out the Amplifi and make sure I like it as much as the EHX 44 Magnum. Try one. They can bail you out of a pinch if your main amp breaks down on you during a show. All you need is some delay, chorus and a littlle reverb in which the EHX Holy Grail Nano is a nice little addition before going into the 44 Magnum also.

  • from Indianapolis, IN May 26, 2013Music Background:
    The Blues, 60s, 70s & 80s Rock

    I've heard this thing in action...

    I heard and seen this thing in action by Scott Rolaf (a teacher and session musician check him out on face book) and I was blown away by the simplicity of this pedal!! Powering his rig, he ran it through a Marshall 1960A which was close by (at the store) and WOW it was FREAKIN loud! Sounded like early VH.*** This is not a plug for Scott, but for this pedal. When I can afford to spend the cash (everything in its own time), I will get one!

  • from Istanbul March 14, 2017Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Very Nice

    This is an ultimate solution if you want an ultra portable setup. I am using this amp with my 1x12" Blackstar cabinet. It sounds very good. I even used it with a Marshall 4x12" and some friends thought I was using one of my tube amps. Since this amp transfer the flat signals to the speaker, you would like to use use a transparent compressor pedal or an EQ pedal to get a better and more controllable sound. I even recorded with this amp and it sounded great. Warning; this unit has a high volume, and it starts from 5 and goes to 8. I mean it goes from zero to five with a slight turn of a knob. And after 8 you get an overdrive sound. It comes with a 110-240 V universal power supply which is very light weight but bigger than this pedal sized dude. Good job EHX and thank you Sweetwater.

  • from Florida July 31, 2016Music Background:
    Played pro for 25+ yrs full time; still gigging. Guitar, keyboards, bass, trumpet, drums.

    Magnum Power

    Great amp and handles pedals ok. Great for rehearsals or small club. The power transformer is as big as the pedal but a quality unit and item. Always make all connections first the final plug in the power. If Electro-Harmonix made a stereo 88 (or 100) I would purchase that as well (keyboard, small mixer) The 44 rocks and easily pushes my 410 marshall cab. Small package big punch, not a tube sound but it still kicks. Thx. (...cannot go wrong with Sweetwater; service is impeccable, all pro!!!)

  • from Earth September 7, 2015Music Background:
    old pro

    Bench tested truth

    I tried this and another brand of "portable mini amp." This one actually bench tests at a true 44+ watts of output RMS into 8 ohms. (actually mine tested at slightly higher 48 watts, but that was with a regulated AC power supply to feed the included power-supply.)

    The included wall-wart that comes with these is FAR better than most. It is HEAVY duty. That's important since any amp can only be as good as its power supply. A good power-supply does not guarantee a great amp, but a crummy power supply DOES guarantee a poor performer. This power supply also has sufficient cable between the transformer and the amp to prevent inducted EMI noise. Obviously you must not wrap power cables around signal cables for any amplifier. If you did not already know that, consider yourself so informed now. Ask any "sales Engineer" at Sweetwater if you don't understand. They are all trained to know that stuff and explain it.

    With high-output pickups, you can plug straight into this and get superb old-school clean tones that smoothly grade into saturated distortion just like real tube amps. That means you can use your guitar's volume knobs like a real musician.

    It does NOT go into stuper-gain metal madness without a pedal in front of it, and that's a good thing. With the bright switch ON and gain near max, it sounds AND behaves very much like a 18 watt Marshall or old-school plexi, just quieter.

    The sensitivity of your speakers has far more to do with perceived volume and tone than this amp does. Since I am a speaker-geek, I tried it with a wide variety of speakers including 8", 10", 12" and even 15" bass speakers. My extensive speaker collection includes classic Celestions, Eminence, B&C, selenium, peavey, Faital, Dayton Pro and others. The amp drives all of them well and you can actually hear the tone of your speaker and cabs. That indicates the AMP is neutral and cooperates with gear you already have. Just be sure to have the appropriate CABLE so you can connect this amp to your cabs.

    At moderate gain, It has a tube-like saturation and "sponginess" that feels very much like a modified tweed class A amp.

    With the gain at 12 o'clock and single-coil pickups, bright switch engaged, it is very clean and "strat-blues" sounding.

    With the gain above 12 and hot humbuckers, bright switch off, it can go from clean jazzy tones to smooth distorted leads without shrillness.

    The input stage is designed to handle a WIDE range of input voltages, so it is very "pedal friendly." I tested it with aCarl Martin Plexi-Drive, a Sansamp GT2, a ZOOM multi effects, a classic tube screamer and a Boss overdrive. All those worked admirably well and the amp allowed their unique characters to shine through. Depending on the preamp or pedals you use in front of it, you must adapt the volume (gain) to match the characteristics of that particular pedal.

    Bench-tested Signal-to-noise is better than most guitar amps at <91 dB. Obviously, when the bright switch is engaged, you hear more hiss since that switch is a simple treble-cut. Judging by the capacitor value and sound, I'd guess that switch cuts treble above 7 to 10 kHz. When ON, the bright switch sounds like a presence control of real tube amps. In noisy nightclubs, you need the extra high-end to get articulation above chattering patrons. But you won't notice that hiss above the din. In quiet environments, you might want the bright switch off, especially if you have sensitive ears or dislike clean articulation in favor of muddy grease to disguise less than perfect technique.

    I am surprised no other reviewer so far has mentioned what a great amp this is for blues harmonica! Because of its input range, a classic bullet mic sounds incredible through these amps! Think of Sugar Blue and the harp solo on Zeppelin's "When the Levee Breaks." I piped this through two 8-inch speakers in a closed cab using the Shure Green Bullet, gain on max, bright switch OFF. Almost made me want to start a blues band! ( except as a Jazz player, I'm already poor enough.)

    Kudos to EHX for honest power ratings and rugged design.

    My only criticism would be the large heavy wall-wart power supply, but that is a necessary compromise to skirt UL certification hassles and keep cost low.

    Thanks to Brian Lemert for letting me try both mini amps before selecting this one. He tolerates my technical questions and persnickety tone snobbishness.

    As a spare amp for emergencies that fits in your glove compartment, I can find no better amp or value. For a guy who likes to travel light and already has a nice assortment of pedals, this thing is awesome. I would feel perfectly comfortable using it as my main amp and so far it shows no sign of failure. Highly recommended.

  • from Louisville, KY July 14, 2015Music Background:
    Recreational player

    Cool little amp/pedal

    I've been using this with my pedal board > Mag 44 > Open backed Cab 1x12" Celestion Vintage 30 and it sounds great. I'm thinking about getting something like the Tech 21 Fly Rig to use with it and even lighten my load more. Plenty loud enough. My only Con is that the power supply is as big as the pedal and a power switch on the pedal would've also been nice. Otherwise it would've gotten 5 stars.

  • from January 7, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician

    Ultimate backup amp

    You really can;t beat this pedal for cheap, small, light bcakup or even main power amp. I run a Tech 21 Chracter pedal into mine as a preamp and a few pedals along with that. I have even used it as my main gigging rig from time to time. Nobody notices I'm not using a tube amp until I tell them. Great security blanket. It can even get you through a gig by itself, but to me it meeds a preamp to give it more amplike "feel".

  • from KY June 27, 2012Music Background:
    30yrs Rock Guitar

    EHX 44

    This thing is so dang handy, I use it in 3 ways... One, as the Stereo Right output from a Boss GT10 using the 4-cable method into a stereo-wired 2x12 cabinet, which saves me from having to carry another bulky amp-head around. In this setup , since the "tone" is coming from my primary Amplifier pre-amp, and the Magnum provides the output power, the sound is really articulate and awesome. The second way, is when I use stomp-boxes, I'll have a chorus pedal split to a Combo Amp, and to the EHX 44 into a 1x12 speaker. In this config, the Magnum yeilds a "direct into the board" tone becasue this is merely a power amp without any tone shaping circutry. This flat tone compliments the combo in sort of a wet-dry setup which is fine for a small stereo rig. The third way is to amplify my Rythym / Drum Machine output for at-home practice. Awesome clean power. I never need to raise the volume past 12 o'clock, and the Bright switch adds the desired high-end crisp.

  • from Rockfall, CT July 28, 2015Music Background:
    30 plus years, active in a band

    Yep

    It's tiny and works as good as any other power amp. Run a preamp and your effects into this and it's just as good as any decent solid state amp.
    Plenty loud to gig with . A no brainier as a backup and/or practice amp.

  • from Western MA. April 30, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician, electronics technician

    Does the job very effectively!

    Seems a little pricey....until you actually take it, and use it for a gig! I used mine with my usual pedal board as a front end [ a digitech in this case ], along with an individually sealed box, 8 ohm 10" speaker. Plenty loud, with ample headroom, and the thing sounded great with all presets that I normally use with my old Marshall valvestate power amp. I was quite surprised. The fact that it fits in a pouch of your guitar's case makes it worth every nickle. Just be mindful of the 8-16 ohm load specs. I suspect if there are any difficulties with it they would be due to not having a load attached prior to power up, or an ohm load that is too low. I'm certain this is a chip driven class D amp. I'll probably get another and use these as my normal stereo setup because of their size and weight. Get it under a hundred bucks, and you'll have a real winner!

  • from San diego, CA November 27, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician.

    Cool tiny box

    I bought this guy to replace using a tube head to power guitar cabs on stage for live shows. I am in a full time touring band and I travel to many countries so to cut rental costs etc down I bought this guy to run cabs on stage with my kemper. It has plenty of volume but it unfortunately cannot replace a tube amp for power. Most people's concerns are with head roomph and volume which this little guy has more than enough for, even for a death metal band like mine, but the sound is lacking cause it's solid state. I only gave it 3 stars cause I was hoping it would be able to do what I need live. I will continue to use tube power live as it has a better feel and sound than solid state. But it is a great tool for a practice or someone who isn't worried about solid state versus tube power. I need more time to tweak things with it but unfortunately I live in an apartment and cannot make that kind of noise, nor do I have room for cabs in there. But this pedal delivers on what is says. Great product.

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix 44 Magnum 44-watt Power Amp Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway